Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse

Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse

Volmoed Volmoedstreet 1, Oudtshoorn 6620 South Africa
Traveller (371)
Room & Suite (86)
Pool & Beach (51)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 farmhouses in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Mooiplaas Guesthouse is situated 10 km outside Oudtshoorn with magnificent views over the Swartberg Mountains. We do Farms tours that will give you more information about the Ostriches and the history of the Farm and Keller Family. We do serve dinner, real South African cuisine on the open fire with true Klein Karoo hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Entertainment staff
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German
536Reviews4Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 140
  • 41
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
short_scuba_diver wrote a review Mar 2023
UK285 contributions160 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mooiplaas is the perfect antidote after a long drive. This stunning location is perfectly complemented by the large garden rooms comprising a lounge area, bedroom and large bathroom. There’s a front door (you can park right outside - perfect for carrying in the luggage) and a back door leading to a veranda with views over the beautiful countryside. The evening meal was amazing - tasty and beautifully presented - and there is plenty of choice at breakfast. We didn’t try the spa but it would be the perfect place to relax and unwind. The pool has lovely views over the surrounding area. Our hosts did everything they could to make us feel welcome and ensure we enjoyed our stay. We wish we could have stayed a few extra days!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise H wrote a review Jan 2020
Cotswolds, United Kingdom49 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way through the garden route. What a place. The staff were all very attentive, they couldn’t do enough for you.
Our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. All the meals were taken on the veranda style restaurant, overlooking the beautiful pool and the ostriches. Very tranquil and relaxing place to stay. The food was fantastic and well presented. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. It was a real find. Thank you all for your kind hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HanlieKeller, Owner at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Guests Thank you for your message We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mooiplaas! We look forward to your next visit! Kind regards Hanlie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine wrote a review Jun 2021
Stellenbosch, South Africa11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a relaxing and absolute fantastic weekend with absolutely exquisite service and the friendliest hosts and team I have ever encountered making our stay with our kids one to always remember. The food was fantastic. The accommodation was 5 star. The restaurant and swimming pool and overall running area for our kids made us all relaxed and feeling at home away from home. Thank you Andre, Marshall, John and Hanlie and Viljee! We hope to visit you soon again. The kids wants another trip on the donkey car and interact with the ostriches ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hanlie Keller, Owner at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Thank you Christine Kindest Hanlie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rogboy wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom50 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When I made my booking there was no mention that we would be accommodated in the Annex. This meant we had to drive to the main building if we wanted dinner and to have the full breakfast. We were greeted by Johnny, who was fantastic, and apologised that we could not be accommodated in the main building as they had a very large party staying there. There was no mention of a reduced rate for not staying in the accommodation which we booked , which was very disappointing and underhand. All I wanted was what we had paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HanlieKeller, Owner at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback Mooiplaas annex are part of Mooiplaas, not a different property We apologise that you had to drive 500 meters for dinner, most guests enjoy the walk to the dinner area, but it seems as though you did not like it Take care and we look forward to assist again in the future! Kindest regards Hanlie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melissalab2024 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked and paid for the family unit but unfortunately we were allocated in 2 separate rooms which were inconvenient and did not make us feel safe that our sons had to sleep separately from us. We were advised that we could move the next day to the room we originally booked but was not available for us as we had to be at my sons' sports event very early the next morning and didn't get to the guest house until after 19:00 again.

The dinner is also very expensive for what you get. It was indicated that we would get rump but unfortunately it was sirloin which was terribly tough and full of tendons. Unfortunately, it wasn't cooked to our liking either. Unfortunately, the breakfast also neglects a lot. For example, cannot order omelettes or French toast.

The aircon in the room in which our sons slept unfortunately did not work and we called the number indicated on the receipt letter, but no one answered and only sent a WhatsApp at 12:00 that evening which we only saw the following morning. The aircon was fixed the next day, for which we were grateful for.

The pool was also very dirty and full of insects (especially dead bees).

The hairdryer in our room could not be used due to the fact that there are no suitable plugs / wall plugs in the room for it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The first few hours at Mooiplaas was fine, the food was nice and the rooms were spacious.

However on the first night something very disturbing happened. I was staying here with my mum and my sister. Whilst I was taking a nap the bartender made a comment to my mum.

He said: "I will give you 10 gin and tonics if you leave me alone with your daughter".

My mother is quite easy going and did not bother reacting to this. However things then got worse.

My mother had already had 5 gin and tonics and at home she is a heavy drinker. She ordered another drink and the same bartender made this drink so strong that she was unable to drink it. She said there was more gin in this drink than tonic and thought he was trying to get her drunk so that she would go to bed, leaving her daughter alone with him.

When I heard what happened I was immediately very angry and concerned for my family's well-being. I walked over to the manager and when I told her the first comment the bartender had made, the chef tending the BBQ burst out laughing, literally in my face. I did not even manage to tell them about the attempt to incapacitate my mother as they seemed to find it all very funny.

I then returned to the apartment with my mother and sister, the bartender behind all this then turned up to aplogise and tried to shake my hand; which I refused. I asked the man, "why was my mothers drink so strong" and he replied "it was the last bit of the bottle so I poured it all in". Just one minute later I asked him the same question and he said "I wasn't looking what I was doing because I was preoccupied with other work, I must of poured too much in".

An innocent man does not have 2 different stories. His intentions to use alcohol to take advantage of my family are very clear. I believe he tested the water with his first comment and when no reaction was given, he began an actual motive.

I am not the type of person to leave bad reviews, but I feel concerned for other families and partners that may visit this place in the future. The staff seemed to think it was all a laughing matter, which makes the whole thing that much more disturbing. Please think twice before coming here and stay safe.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bakenskraal1, Owner at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear sir Thank you for your feedback. Although I answered your review three times already what the truth was behind your false accusations, I would no longer proceed in answering your reviews as well as those you are asking your "friends" to post. Clearly you are trying to hurt us. We as the accommodation establishment has little, if any, control in reviews posted by guests and all I can say, is that I hope that anyone reading this awe full review that you posted, will realize it is not true. Thank you for your wonderful mother that apologized in the morning to all our staff and the waiter you so falsely accused, she is a great woman and so are your sister. It is a pity that you were not able to proceed the vacation with them and left for your own country in the morning. They left a huge tip and asked us to forgive their son that is not himself lately. We wish you a wonderful 2020, but please do not come back, Mooiplaas does not welcome people like you, we are a respectful and honest business and so are our staff which you hurted very badly All the best and take care! Hanlie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gems Bok wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Except for John who always saved the situation and very few other staff members, the staff of this beautiful establishment is absolutely useless and ignorant. We woke up three times to the noise of an alarm during our XMAS holidays here, once at night and on two days in a row around 8AM. The staff simply responded to our numerous complaints with phrases such as "that must have been a bird, but we don't know" and "we are in the main house, and not at rhe manor, that's the problem."

Only after I skelled at them after the third incident at 8AM and sweared at them with a considerable noise in front of other guests ordering them to relocate us to another unit, they eventually did so. Interestingly, they told me in public that I would be the only guest complaining, at first, obviously in an attempt to blame me for their laziness and incompetence. Only later on, we were offered a relocation with the admission that the alarm was indeed faulty.

New unit did not have shower gel. Staff member who brought it was unwilling to give me the correct wifi password and just walked away while I was still calling her and asking her if she deems walking away an appropriate behaviour. Instead, other guests had to come give me the password.

It took them a day and a half as well as two complaints to bring us a dirty braai with two dirty grids and to place it somewhere in the middle of the lawn in front of our unit instead of our stoep.

This is merely a selection of the highlights of our stay.

I really don't know why this beautiful place is destroying its own business by displaying such lack of interest and respect towards the patrons.

After we decided to just get done with the last days of our holidays, we will not come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Munira A wrote a review Mar 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This must be one of the best places I stayed at. Warm, friendly, welcoming, accommodating and efficient from beginning to end. Our stay was peaceful and relaxing. The room was clean and it came with a separate kitchen area with a microwave oven and fridge. My son was happy there was a smart tv and we could use our own subscriptions. On the first morning the waiter (John) saw me reading outside at 7.30am and promptly brought me a fresh cup of coffee. He called me by name. He had practiced it before hand! I asked for an iron and the lady took my clothes to iron them herself. Service was exceptional.
We required a halaal meal and they accommodated us with making our eggs separately to order. The pool was clean and amazing. An overall great and memorable experience. Highly recommend staying here when in Oudtshoorn.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pumpkin_ciccio wrote a review Mar 2022
Paris, France64 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We took the R62 from Plettenberg back to Cape Town without bookings and Mooiplaas was a beautiful find, just outside Oudtshoorn. The grounds are really beautiful and we took long, quiet walks observing the shrubs and the resident ostriches. The hotel was also able to organise a tour of the ostrich farm and provided a nice dinner to finish our day. We were very happy to stumble on this hotel and would highly recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pkober298254 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is out of Oudtshoorn but in a lovely tranquil setting. The 25 metre swimming pool is a great asset and the open dining area perfectly located next to this.
We asked the hotel to arrange a tour of the Swartberg Pass for us and they exceeded our expections, providing us with a lovely guide (Jean) and a very considerate driver (Hendricks). The tour included the family’s ostrich farm, a waterfall and the Cango Caves as well as the Pass. The picnic lunch at the top of the pass was excellent and the whole trip was exceptional value.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brianbW3791GX asked a question Feb 2020
Newcastle, Australia32 contributions
How much is the 4 course set dinner menu?
Answer from Louise H
Cotswolds, United Kingdom49 contributions10 helpful votes
It’s a 3 course set meal at about 17 pounds each.
Answer from HanlieKeller
Oudtshoorn, South Africa4 contributions
Hi, thank you for your question. I assume you are ok with all the advise given, but if not, please e-mail us so that we can assist you Kindest regards Hanlie
Tracy wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"In the summer months, be sure to enjoy a gin and tonic at the pool! Staff are willing to assist at all times. "
Read full review
Hein K wrote a tip Jan 2024
Knysna, South Africa41 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Needs some TLC"
Read full review
Campbell wrote a tip Dec 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa119 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring money, beautiful things in the gift store"
Read full review
Shilpa S wrote a tip Aug 2022
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"When booking ensure to tell them of any special diet requirement so they are well prepared."
Read full review
stefan van Ginkel wrote a tip Jul 2022
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the ostrichtour, this is a Very educative excursion for the whole family."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oudtshoorn area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,518 - R 2,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOOIPLAAS COUNTRY GUESTHOUSE - Now R 1 634 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶3̶8̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Farmhouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Oudtshoorn, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Highgate Ostrich Show Farm (1.0 km), Safari Ostrich Farm (3.4 km), and Meerkat Magic (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arbeidsgenot (9.1 km) and St Jude's Anglican Church (9.4 km).
Does Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Oudtshoorn HotelsOudtshoorn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OudtshoornHotels near Mooiplaas Country Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire