We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belvidere Manor

Show Prices
#18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belvidere Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Belvidere Manor
 Click to rate
Notts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Belvidere Manor staff greet you like long lost family. They are a real credit to the place. The bungalow we had was facing the lagoon with the most wonderful view from the veranda. We had a 2 bed cottage and it was very clean and provided very comfortable accommodation. Some areas had been modernised, like the second bedroom ensuite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Pretoria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Belvidere Manor hotel is a once in a lifetime experience. Fantastic location, breathtaking views, excellent meals, friendly staff and spacious clean accomodation. 3 Nights was not enough, I sincerely hope to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray P
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After driving from Cape Town it was like an oasis. We arrived at 4:00 pm and were shown to our cottage........very private and very clean ! It felt like home, away from home. We opted for a dinner at the Bell Tavern, not 50 steps from our cottage. The meal was delicious and so was the wine :-) The next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerberpm
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we knew it was going to be special. We were travelling with 2 friends and we had adjacent bungalows in the gardens. They were absolutely fantastic. We had quite a large kitchen, beautiful lounge, large bedroom with ensuite facilities and another bedroom, with twin beds and separate shower room. The double doors opened onto a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnandpam103
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I stayed with my wife and two sister-in-laws for 3 nights in February, in a two bedroom cottage. It was definitely not four star, utilitarian at best - décor dull and dowdy One bedroom was totally unsuitable for adults, small, with no headboards, no dressing table, no luggage rack, no safe. The cottage was in very poor condition - bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 853chasp
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This family owned hotel offers guests a sublime setting on the Western Head about a 10 minute drive from the Waterfront area and right on the lagoon. The cottages are very private and comfortable and a short stroll from the Manor House, The Bell pub and the dock. There are nice walks and it's very safe although the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eckingtonrooms
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Very poor accommodation and most definitely not 4*. Basic is an understatement. Very dated, bathrooms and kitchen awful, rooms dirty with stained carpets, mould in bathrooms and hairs everywhere. Also smelt horrible (think it was lavender but smelt like an old peoples home). We booked for 3 nights but only managed 1 (not sure how but we had no choice)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

We were sorry not to have had the opportunity to discuss this with you personally, as we take pride in our standards of service and accommodation, and were sorry you were disappointed. We have been in consultation with your travel agent and have reached an amicable understanding.

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. It's more like a small village. Lovely cottages or houses set in beautiful grounds with stunning views over the lagoon. We had a 2 bedroom cottage with 2 bathrooms, sitting room, dining room & kitchen. You could live there. Great "village" pub that serves good food & drink. Staff are very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for your positive review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do feel that our staff are one of our greatest assets, and glad you enjoyed your interaction with them.

henley in arden
Reviewed 28 February 2017

we have now stayed here for over 15 years and we really enjoy staying at one of the lagoon cottages which we book every year. The cottages are really well appointed and have self catering facilities and this is really an idyllic area and we always enjoy breakfasts at the manor and occasional evening meals at the irish pub there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeldufty
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review Mr Dufty, and we look forward to seeing you again in 2018!

Saint-Raphael, France
Reviewed 7 February 2017

A very nice hotel with a great view on the lagoon and the mountains surrounding it. Informal but stylish. The restaurant is just cozy inside and outside when the weather is nice, very relaxing. The food is tasty and well prepared. On the premises is also the "Bell Tower", a typical English pub where they also serve simple dishes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambert S
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again one day.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.0 km away
The St. James of Knysna
5.8 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
8.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.5 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.7 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: R1 781 - R2 834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Knysna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belvidere Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden chalets are very private and spacious.”
MurrayP621, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cottage No. 1 is close to the Manor house and Tavern. It also provides a beautiful view :-)”
  • A view from outside cottage no.1
  • Cottage No.1
gerberpm, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bungalows around the garden are superb.”
Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get written confirmation that cottage has been recently renovated - judging by other comments, standards vary hugely.”
853chasp, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“cottage overlooking the lagoon”
michaeldufty, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5