We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belvidere Manor

Save
Share
Lower Duthie Drive Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6571 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (174)
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (25)

About

#11 of 31 hotels in Knysna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 25 serviced cottages, each with a spacious sitting-room, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Enjoy a hearty pub meal at The Bell Tavern, Knysna's smallest and favourite pub, where kids can enjoy the play area. We offer preferential golf rates at Knysna & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 80 guests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 1 more
380Reviews2Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 103
  • 34
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
elizarenn wrote a review 19 Jun
Chattanooga, Tennessee356 contributions172 helpful votes
Have you ever seen the show The Prisoner? Belvidere Manor is a lovely place, with quaint individual stunning white chalets, tidily kept green lawns against a technicolor blue sky and aquamarine lagoon. It’s an idyllic and historic setting. Yet taken as a whole it’s oddly anachronistic and at times a little unsettling. Before you read my review, understand that we are probably not their target audience. I’m sure it’s great for some people. Stepping into the chalets is like walking into someone’s ultra-tidy grandmother’s house who just took the plastic off the furniture she purchased at the local store on Main Street in 1984. There’s nothing wrong with it, but everything inside is just circa 1980-ish grandma, including the scent. It was very clean, kind of like the smell of generic medicinal mouthwash. There’s a bathroom and kitchenette that also maintain the air of days gone by. Mind you, this isn’t retro in a cool, modern way. It’s not the furniture you wait for when Grannie passes on. It’s just a whole — kind of strange — vibe from not now. The chalet was icy, and although there was a bit of wood left for the fireplace, there were no matches. The plug-in heater did not work. Fortunately there were electric blankets on the bed, so after we returned from Bell Tavern, the fantastic on-site restaurant that I reviewed separately, we headed straight for the warmth of the covers, our only option to escape the frigid air. No complaints about the quality of the linens or bed. The electric blankets were top notch. The service at reception was friendly and helpful, although the breakfast, which was included in the price of our stay, was a bit confusing. We sat at our table and were given a plate of cheese and fruit. Others seated around us had menus and were served complete breakfasts, but we assumed they were patrons from the surrounding area and not staying at the hotel. After 40 minutes, as we prepared to leave (having eaten all we could of our cheese and fruit), our server asked us if we’d like to order our eggs, etc. Evidently we, too, were to have a complete breakfast, though it would have been nice to know maybe 30 minutes earlier as we had a long drive ahead of us. Sitting at the table for 40 minutes with no menu was a little long. In all, Belvidere Manor was a lovely but strange place, a place out of time. Like The Prisoner, it had the appearance of something it wasn’t. I’m sure there are other places in Knysna that are just as lovely. To be fair, the summer might be a much nicer time to visit as the widows could be opened and the pool might be enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Foxes99 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kenya23 contributions7 helpful votes
Great history to this Manor House as it was the home of Belvideres founder - Thomas Duthie. Duthie married the daughter of Knysna founder George Rex. so as you can imagine steeped in splendour. What a location - right on the banks of one of the worlds most stunning estuaries. Belvidere has to be one of the most beautiful villages in South Africa. Clean, immaculate, organised and safe. Have a walk around. Stay at the marvellous Manor - go to The bell pub and soak up those views and history.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Davidahendon wrote a review Feb 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom22 contributions8 helpful votes
Staying at Belvidere Manor is always a high point of any trip to the Cape. The peaceful setting around a garden overlooking the lagoon is very special and being able to spread out into one of the cottages, for all the rooms are actually entire cottages, is great. The Bell pub on site is a very good place to enjoy a bottle of wine or a coffee and the food is varied and attractive. They have recently upgraded their WiFi so that it is now free and this is very welcome for travellers from outside South Africa. However I can’t help thinking back to the time, maybe ten years ago, when the restaurant in the Manor House, Caroline’s, was really excellent. Unfortunately it has been merely adequate on our last few visits, but now it is to be avoided. We were told it had been relaunched as a seafood restaurant and so we ate there one evening and should have guessed from the fact that we were alone that it wasn’t going to work well. The food was still merely adequate and the service was friendly, but ground to a complete halt after the main was served. We were deeply unimpressed by this dispiriting experience. Anyway, I highly recommend Belvidere Manor, but suggest give Caroline’s a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Mills, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Dear David, Thank you for taking time to write your review, and its always lovely to welcome our guests back. However, I'm sorry your experience in Caroline's was unsatisfactory, and wish we could have spoken about this whilst you were here. Your comments are noted.
Read more
michaeldufty wrote a review Feb 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom163 contributions70 helpful votes
We have always enjoyed our Annual weeks stay in cottage 13 overlooking the Lagoon at Belvidere Manor.It is excellently appointed and caters for all our wishes and is in a great location. We find this quite a unique location which is why we have visited here for so many years. The only slight disappointment we found the breakfasts and service there standard had fallen.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose cottage below hotel on the Lagoon
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sam S wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions
We spent 2 nights here in December and had an amazing time at the Belvidere Manor and Knysna. There are 10-12 cottages in a huge garden surrounding a lovely pool, which has a great view overlooking the lagoon. The staff are excellent and friendly, especially Geoffrey who is a fantastic character and so helpful. The room and pool area was excellently clean, even if the rooms are a little dated, but this is in keeping with the style of the manor and estate. The buffet breakfast was excellent and there is also a pub where you can eat and drink all night with the locals. It is around a 10 minute drive from the centre of Knysna which wasn't an issue as we had a car and taxi's were quick, cheap and easy to arrange. Knysna is also a beautiful place where you can explore local history alongside the stunning lagoon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms cottages have an excellent view of the pool and lagoon, but nearer to the lagoon has a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Mills, General Manager at Belvidere Manor
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you for your positive review, and we hope to welcome you back to Belvidere again in the future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Belvidere Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Belvidere Manor?
Nearby attractions include Knysna Heads (7.1 km), Brenton on Sea (3.5 km), and Knysna Lagoon (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Belvidere Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Belvidere Manor?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Belvidere Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Belvidere Manor?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belvidere Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include East Head Cafe, African Bean, and Chatters Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Belvidere Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Belvidere Manor have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Belvidere Manor offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Belvidere Manor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Belvidere Manor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belvidere Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.