We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Knysna Quays

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 30 hotels in Knysna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Massage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1,146Review18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 375
  • 525
  • 189
  • 29
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gavin A wrote a review 01 Apr
Johannesburg, South Africa10 contributions2 helpful votes
You will have to go very far and wide to find a gem like the Knysna Quays hotel Excellent value for money Very friendly and smiling staff- very efficient Location of this hotel is second to none- get the Pool King or double rooms - ie. With Two double beds- en-suite with stunning lagoon views- just awesome! The breakfast- wide array of foods available- from fruit to cereals to eggs , bacon , suasages and even a chicken dish Lovely breads and cold meats- all so well presented- very well priced too! Five star hotel should pick up some tips from the Knysna Quays! Lovely clean and neat, spacious room- just all round great value for money! And secure parking just R30/night My family and I have been visiting the Knysna Quays for decades and we always leave planning our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont worry, you WILL enjoy your stay at the knysna Quays
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Aprilsurgery Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We value and appreciate your positive feedback as well as the feedback in the areas of improvement. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KRISHGEN B wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Terrible service, overrated, feels biased against Indians. No access to restaurants for dinner as understaffed when we requested to have dinner, staff at the restaurant and the reception were rude, argumentative and totally unprofessional. Not worth the Marriott brand.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear krishgenb Thank you very much for taking the time write your review, I would like to ensure you that this is not the standard we as Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays offer. As for dinner, we do not offer dinner service at our Hotel, we refer our Guests to the Waterfront Restaurants. Once again thank you for staying with us. Safe Travels! Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louis B wrote a review Feb 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Initially booked three nights, I went to front desk to extend the stay on day 2, no problem. When I retuned to the room at !:00 PM was asked why my possessions were still in the room. I explained that I had extended my stay. The reply was an emphatic no you did not. I was given just a few minuets to relocate my things to another room at a higher rate. Could rent an entire 3 bedroom home and be treated properly for the price. That is what we will do next time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 24 Feb 2024
Dear V3372RNlouisb Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience of your stay is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Paul Fielder General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stuart1 wrote a review Feb 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom435 contributions296 helpful votes
More like a budget motel. A bit on the basic side but good location. Rooms are clean and functional but basic. The bed was comfortable but the pillow a bit firm for my liking. For guests on tours there is an iron and board in the room as well as tea / coffee making and a free safe. The internet network is unreliable as the network was down at times. We experience our first ‘load shedding’ experience which lasted on a few minutes. You need a torch if your phone don’t have a torch. The electrical socket provision is limited two available plugs one suitable for travels from the U.K. the other you must have a South African adapter (other two pin adapters will not fit - it MUST be a SA specific adaptor). Located by the waterfront where there are some shops and a few restaurants. It is a short (0.5km) to the centre of town where there are supermarkets and liquor stores.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear StuartRon Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the entire leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
joyc150 wrote a review Feb 2024
Bourne, United Kingdom100 contributions66 helpful votes
The rooms are not large, the breakfast is fine, but not great. Having stayed elsewhere in South Africa and had great service from lovely friendly staff this hotel is a totally different experience. The pool is not very big, there is no restaurant on site except for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 08 Feb 2024
Dear joyce150 Thank you for taking your time to review the Protea by Marriott Knysna Quays. We strive to meet all Guest expectation and we sincerely apologise for falling short of meeting yours. As a breakfast only hotel we do not offer dinner, we do however have some lovely restaurants available at the waterfront. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team. Warm regards Paul Fielder General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LittlePuffsMallorca wrote a review Jan 2024
Palma de Mallorca, Spain28 contributions23 helpful votes
Not a good start promised a room over the Quays, did not happen, staff did not seem to care. Room not very big, wardrobe a rail with hangers on No Doors, Could not have window open due the buses having their engines constantly running. The Breakfast left a lot to be desired if you serve hot food, then it should be HOT. The fridge was not turned on, when it was on everything got frozen. My opinion needs a massive update, and is Definately NOT a 4* as being advertised. I know many people who stay at the same time we did had many complains too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 26 Jan 2024
Dear LittlePuffsMallorca Thank you for taking your time to review the Protea by Marriott Knysna Quays. We strive to meet all Guest expectation and we sincerely apologise for falling short of meeting yours. As a breakfast only hotel we do not offer dinner, we do however have some lovely restaurants available at the waterfront. Your feedback has been shared with our entire team. Warm regards Paul Fielder General Manager Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wayne G wrote a review Jan 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa245 contributions70 helpful votes
The hotel is right on the Knysna Quays Waterfront. You can park your car and just walk everywhere. The rooms need a little upgrade perhaps but they are clean and perfectly sufficient with lovely beds and awesome showers. There is a pool and bar. Excellent buffet breakfast with sufficient items for every taste. The breakfast was delicious! What really stands out at this hotel is the staff. Friendly, helpful and efficient. No request is too much, offering helpful tips and always with a smile. I cant reiterate enough, the staff here are amazing. We had a wonderful stay and will return again when in Knysna. Oh and Knysna is incredible! We love it so much. Cant wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The suites overlooking the water and boats only has two double beds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 08 Jan 2024
Dear WayneG758 On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your stay_. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mfranks911 wrote a review Dec 2023
Edgware, United Kingdom940 contributions470 helpful votes
Perhaps not as good as other Proteas we have stayed in but the quayside setting is lovely. Rooms are reasonable size and functional but lacking in charm. Breakfast is good enough, there is no restaurant but many in the Quayside development. Plenty of private parking (charged at 30 Rand per day) and staff were all friendly. Nice pool area overlooking the quayside although recliners not so comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Quayside views thebest
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Dear Mfranks911 Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the entire leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alibalio wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom56 contributions48 helpful votes
Big chain hotel done very well. Nice room and comfy bed with a wonderful view of the lagoon. Professional, friendly staff. Not as cosy as some of the smaller boutique hotels but has an excellent location on the waterfront and runs like clockwork. Breakfast was good and, although it has no restaurant, there are 4 or 5 very close by to chose from. Pool area lovely. Some nice touches - selling shoes and beads for good charity causes. Had a little hiccup with our laundry not being picked up but was sorted and returned same day. No complaints and can recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room with a view as others face the car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 12 Nov 2023
Dear Alibalio On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to see we met all of your expectations. Your positive feedback has been shared with the entire team. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HolgerG909 wrote a review Oct 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates488 contributions301 helpful votes
Booked 3 nights through the Bonvoy App. Arrived at 2 pm - room was not ready. Room quality is average. Location of the hotel is good, secure parking is offered @ RS 30 per day. The complimentary breakfast is nothing to write home about. The buffet does not get replenished, at least the person at the egg/omelette station takes her job seriously. Overall an ok stay - but certainly not up to Marriott standards. TIA.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Fielder, Owner at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear HolgerG909 Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the entire leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent this from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Knysna area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,022 - R 2,346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea hotel knysna quays
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PROTEA HOTEL KNYSNA QUAYS - Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Nearby attractions include Featherbed Nature Reserve (0.4 km), The Waterfront Knysna Quays (0.07 km), and Knysna Fine Art (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Conveniently located restaurants include Freshline Fisheries, 34 South, and The Drydock Food Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Protea Hotel Knysna Quays located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Knysna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Knysna Quays offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.