Keedols Inn & Backpackers

Keedols Inn & Backpackers

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#6 of 16 limited service properties in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing

Location

4 Queen Street, Knysna 6571 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Plettenberg Airport
26.3 km
See all flights
George Airport
58.6 km
See all flights
14Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joline wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and a friend had a fantastic stay at Keedols! The room was very nice and clean and the lovely oner cooked a delicious Durban style curry for us, perfect for a cold winter evening. She helped us with booking a wale tour and advised a cute restaurant in Knysna. We really recommend this place!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Joline, thank you sincerely for your rexcellent review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friend and we look forward to seeing you again. Travel safely and remain blessed. Keedols & team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johan W wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The pillows are the flafiest and keedols is the best in knysna and she have the rooms all nicely decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Keedols is in the middle off everywhere and it's very safe. I will advise any person who would love to come visit, to visit keedols first before going anywhere else and spending to much money. My review is 120%
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Walking distance to waterfront and bus services
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 29 Jan 2023
Dear Johan Thank you sincerely for your excellent review. Its an absolute pleasure to host you. Your observation of the improvements that I've made to make Keedols Inn comfortable is appreciated. You are welcome back always. Remain blesses Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry M wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent most of the month of March of 2022 here. Knysna was my destination for my trip from the United States. Most enjoyable time spent in a very pleasant environment. Found the inn to be very well kept with the Inn Keeper concerned with comfort and cleanliness.

The inn is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the downtown area and the more touristy area. Their curry is most excellent. Recommended.

I am very much looking forward to my next visit to this most delightful spot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Outside rooms are, perhaps, best for couples.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Henry. Thank you sincerely for your excellent review. We were thrilled to host you again in December 2022 and are grateful that you appreciate our efforts to make Keedols Inn comfortable, clean and reasonable for all tourists, both local and international. We look forward to seeing you again. Remain blessed Keedols & team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thavan M wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice settings at very affordable rates.
I fell ill after eating bad-fish in Knysna area. The hosts were accommodating, allowing me to sleep in late to recover and even made me a GINGER, HONEY etc drink to assist recovery.
A personal touch that "makes a difference ".
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Thank you Thavan for your excellent review & rating. Your sincere appreciation of our efforts to make you feel comfortable is well received. We look forward to seeing you again. Remain blessed Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jace Alf wrote a review Sept 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Keedols in is quant Inn located within walking distance of the high street of Knysna and the waterfront. The room was spotlessly clean, well-appointed and very comfortable with down duvets etc. Keedols was an excellent hostess. very helpful, friendly and is an excellent cook. I stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed my stay immensely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Jayson, thank you for your excellent review. We're so glad that you returned for a longer stay and that you appreciate our efforts to make Keedols Inn comfortable and a place to call home. You will always be welcome here and will continue serving you your favourite curries! Remain blessed Keedols & team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth T wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Three of us shared the family room. Room was cramped with 2 bunk beds and one double.

The toilet was grimy, when we complained it was cleaned. Half a roll of toilet paper on arrival.

WiFi stopped working after half a day. No emergency lights or candles during loadshedding. No pots or pans. No access to communal kitchen. Room has fridge and kettle only.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Elizabeth, we are disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your room. You booked the Family dorm which is not a self catering unit hence there were never any pots and pans. You realised this after enquiring from the other guests whether they had any pots & pans! in their private rooms! We are pleased to announce that the service provider has since improved on wifi connectivity. at Keedols Inn. You were not given half a roll of toilet paper, remember you shared the room with two other friends? They were very understanding about the grimy toilet situation (which they realised could have been an oversight) & we ended up cleaning the bathroom and toilet again just to satisfy you. We do provide loadshedding lights at Keedols Inn & regret that you were not given any. It could have been due to you not being in your room when the lights were handed to guests. All rooms are equipped with fridges and tvs and Keedols Inn does have a self catering unit. You may enquire about this in future. Remain blessed Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic accommodation, friendly staff that are eager to help. Ideally situated with shops and restaurants nearby. Great value for money! Clean rooms with great amenities. The host/owner is always available to help with any questions!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 02 Mar 2023
Dear Nick. Thank you for your excellent review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. We look forward to seeing you again & wish you safe travels. Remain blessed Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Excursion47201715969 wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I thought Keedols was exceptional. Everything was clean, I really enjoyed the staff and owner. They made sure you were safe and locked in. They gave you the codes to be able to get in and out and even had nice recommendations for things in the area. I ended up needed one more night and thankfully my room was still available at last minute. Pricing is also nice. Overall I had no issues or complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The location is good. Not too far from food or stores.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time out to review us. We lsincerely appreciate your excellent rating and look forward to hosting you again. Remain blessed Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michael h wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely couple and so friendly. Vicus even drove me to Plettenburg to go swimming .
Ideally situated in the center of town. Best value accommodation in town.
If you come to Knysna you cant do better than stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: all the rooms are nice from what I saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Michael, thank you for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoyed this part of South Africa and look forward to hosting you again. Remain blessed Keedols
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard W wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for three nights and Keedols and Vicus were amazing and generous hosts. I had dinner and breakfast at the inn and the food was amazing. Keedols is a fabulous cook. A South African brai one night and a delicious chicken curry on my last night. And Vicus drove me around Knysna for two days and also taxied me to Plett! Highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keedols Bosch, Owner at Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Dear Richard. We miss you already! Thank you sincerely for your fantastic review. We look forward to hosting you again & wish you safe travels. Remain blessed Keedols & team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Johan W wrote a tip Jan 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to waterfront and bus services "
Read full review
Excursion47201715969 wrote a tip Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is good. Not too far from food or stores."
Read full review
michael h wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all the rooms are nice from what I saw"
Read full review
Henry M wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Outside rooms are, perhaps, best for couples."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Knysna area.
PRICE RANGE
R 493 - R 548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KEEDOLS INN & BACKPACKERS - Now R 491 (Was R̶ ̶5̶4̶5̶) - UPDATED 2023 Lodging Reviews & Price Comparison (Knysna, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Keedols Inn & Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Holy Trinity Church (0.5 km), The Art Café on Queen (0.1 km), and Metelerkamps (0.07 km).
What are some restaurants close to Keedols Inn & Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Freshline Fisheries, Anchorage Restaurant, and Chatters.
Is Keedols Inn & Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Knysna.
Are there any historical sites close to Keedols Inn & Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St George's Anglican Church (0.5 km).
All Knysna HotelsKnysna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KnysnaHotels near Keedols Inn & Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire