We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
36 Sawtooth Lane Thesen Islands, Knysna 6571 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/17
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (519)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (52)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 31 hotels in Knysna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café restaurant and Gastro Pub, as well as twenty six individually themed rooms and suites of the highest standard. The Turbine Spa offers pampering treatments to indulge and relax weary souls, while the Turbine Water Club arranges lagoon cruises, whale watching, forest hikes, city tours and mountain biking for adventure seekers and explorers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
929Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 602
  • 224
  • 60
  • 21
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gthoma662671 wrote a review Jun 2021
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
The views and the rooms was superb,comfortable and luxurious,enjoyed our stay there.The staff friendly and helpful will definitely stay again,our breakfast was delicious and the menu variety catered for all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
rokkyusenak wrote a review Jun 2021
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
I truly enjoyed my weekend at your property. I shall return soon with my family. I love the fact that all the requests I made for assistance where acted on expressly. It was an absolutely enjoyable atmosphere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Braden T wrote a review May 2021
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa6 contributions
Absolutely amazing, great food , both dinner and breakfast were scrumptious, great atmosphere, the design layout and fixtures on point, excellent and attentive staff ,from reception, to bar and restaurant , only regret is not going there sooner Well done to the Turbine Hotel and Spa for ticking all the boxes
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
jsher2020 wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
The Turbine hotel is a wonderful-looking hotel with great amenities, however the service is severely lacking and not on par with a 5 star hotel that they claim to be. Everything about our stay was good except for the service, and the quality of food at the restaurant. these two areas need serious upgrades if they wish to compete with other 5 star hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Schutte, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Responded 09 May 2021
Dear Mr. Sher, thank you for your response received. We have also received a review from your wife, thank you. This is a disappointing read following all our interactions and service recovery for the Monday morning breakfast incident. As mentioned in person we apologised for this and did our best to improve from there. We did try and accommodate with additional hanging space. I have shared your feedback with the WaterClub manager and apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Read more
lauraO5514VP wrote a review May 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
My husband and I stayed here for 8 days. Front desk was very friendly and they have great spa specials. The service at the Island Cafe was beyond terrible, the breakfast in the morning was not great. We sat outside by the pool deck for 45 minutes before my husband got up to ask someone to assist us with something to drink. The rooms have no cupboard space. The location is great but don't expect 5 star service. Also wouldn't recommend the turbine water club as the staffs attitude is terrible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Schutte, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Responded 04 May 2021
Dear Mrs. Sher, thank you for your response. This is a disappointing read following all our interactions and service recovery for the Monday morning breakfast incident. As mentioned in person we apologised for this and did our best to improve from there. We did try and accommodate with additional hanging space. I have shared your feedback with the WaterClub manager and apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Jandreart Studio (0.3 km), The Waterfront Knysna Quays (0.9 km), and The Motorcycle Room (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Freshline Fisheries, Chatters Bistro, and île de païn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.