Villa Castollini

Villa Castollini

Brenton-on-Sea Road, Knysna 6571 South Africa
Traveller (82)
Panorama view
Room & Suite (21)
pool area
Pool & Beach (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 801
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#19 of 58 B&Bs in Knysna
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Villa Castollini sits perched high up on the prestigious Western Head of the Garden Route town of Knysna. This remarkable Tuscan styled 5 star guest house is known for having one of the most spectacular and breathtaking views in South Africa. If your idea of a great getaway is a haven of privacy, luxurious and comfortable accommodation, superb breakfasts, warm and nurturing surrounds and hosts that offer genuine hospitality and a "nothing is too much trouble" philosophy, then the Villa has to be your first choice. The management, staff and our friendly resident dogs will ensure that you have a wonderful stay at the Villa. "Enter as Strangers and Leave as Friends"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Billiards
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Special diet menus
Darts
Table tennis
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
175Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 24
  • 10
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chantál Fourie wrote a review Oct 2020
Knysna, South Africa315 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Carin was just so amazing!!! She answered my every question and helped me plan the perfect wedding. To top it off, they even surprised us with some champagne, rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed and some snacks for our wedding night. The rooms and the view from Villa Castollini is quite exquisite and definite must for anyone wishing to have their dream wedding in Knysna. Thank you so much Carin and team Villa Castollini!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig S wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow wow wow, what a venue, what great service and all around magical trip with our closest family and friends, we had an incredible weekend celebrating our wedding and can’t recommend the Villa enough! Carin was so attentive to all our needs and accommodated us right through Covid which we truly appreciated. Having a destination wedding isn’t easy, but Carin made it easy. Look no further for the best wedding venue in Knysna and likely South Africa
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: October weather is amazing, cool enough to be comfortable but hot enough to use the pool. This...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely amazing venue with a breathtaking scenery. Photos don't do it enough justice. Carin was exceptional and went above and beyond to make our day and stay perfect. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and their attention to detail made it even more special. Can't recommend Villa Castollini enough!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ombuds wrote a review Feb 2024
Reading, United Kingdom67 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful views of the lagoon. Our room was comfortable enough. However guest house felt a little tired. A few housekeeping slips ups and poor TV channel selection. Breakfast was pretty disappointing with very limited choice and quirky service. Villa needs to step up its game to charge the rates it is charging. More attention to detail. Better value elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark W wrote a review Feb 2024
Sotogrande, Spain32 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fantastic place to stay for a few nights.

Well run with a great swimming pool and a view to die for. Breakfast is provided but no other catering is available. A great pub with food and beach restaurant are within five minutes.

We loved it here
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
reintdykema wrote a review Feb 2020
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect stay to kick off our 25 wedding anniversary. Carin and the staff were excellent. The room was very clean with flowers and champagne for the occasion. Villa Castollini have a very lovely view over the Knysna lagoon and with the full moon the view was something very special.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
max4321 wrote a review Mar 2011
England45 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lets start with the positives. Wonderful views, very nice pool, good sized room and good bathroom. Interesting town.

We have returned from 3 weeks in South Africa. The hotels were all either very good or excellent and the food throughout superb. We were recommended this hotel by a South African friend who stops there.

The cost was R 1500 for the night plus 3.5% surcharge if you want to pay by credit card. Quite expensive.

We found the decor of the hotel lacking in taste. . Think Up Pompei set design + upmarket Blackpool landlady. The paintings were truly awful and the decor poor quality copies of originals. Very non African place.

We had a faulty towers incident involving the landlady and her partner trying to replace the batteries in the safe but these were amusing.

The breakfast was the worst we had in 3 weeks. Stale croissants presumably from a cash and carry ( and bread is normally wonderful in S Africa) really poor quality bacon which we left on our plate. Hash browns had come out of a packet from presumably the local cash and carry and were hard and exceedingly well done . I know that others have liked this place but this was the most disappointing and we thought worst value place we stayed at in a three week trip
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nanapie, Manager at Villa Castollini
Responded 14 Mar 2011
I am truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience at the Villa. However, I must confess to be a bit confused. With regards the breakfast, the review just prior to yours was written by a guest having the same breakfast as yours that morning. Perhaps you could have sent it back and asked for it to be redone if it was not to your liking. With regards the decor, we are advertised as a Tuscan Styled Guest House and am therefore at a loss as to what the "African" theme has to do with us. Poor service rating. After carrying your bags, offering you tea, making you comfortable, recommending a dinner restaurant and enquiring the next morning as to how your dinner was and whether you had a good night, both of which got a positive response, I am not sure what else I was supposed to do. February is our high season in South Africa and paying R1500.00 for the night for 2 people in our Luna suite, including the poor breakfast, is by no means expensive. I sincerely hope that you have a better experience elsewhere if and when you next visit the Garden Route.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erik B wrote a review Jan 2016
Carcassonne Center, France17 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights. Everywhere you can read the words: arrive as stranger and leave as friends. Sorry to tell, but we did leave as strangers.... The room and bathroom were spacious, we had a amazing view, but the bathroom was not a very high quality! We payed a lot for that room, but it was not worth it ! And this room (nr 5) was very noisy. You here everything of the room below you. The staf was friendly, but they did not make any contact with us. If you want the gast leaves as friends, you have to make some contact!! The swimming pool is very smal and it was not very clean. Breakfast is good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Savin Sam wrote a review Jun 2019
Chandigarh, India212 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my wife during our SA visit...The hotel is perched astride a cliff looking into the knysna lagoon, the view is spellbinding, ambience of the hotel is outstanding, hospitality way above the mark, food is super yummy and the rooms are amazing. Superb option to stay if visiting knysna, 🇿🇦. Cheers 🍻.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Soniaclaassen, Owner at Villa Castollini
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Thank you for your lovely review. It warms our hearts to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we take great pride in ensuring all guests enjoy a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Castollini in the near future. Happy Holidays, and please travel safely. Kindest Regards The Villa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob S wrote a review Jan 2019
York, United Kingdom142 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We felt very lucky to find Villa Castollini, chosen with only some light research online, as it turned out to be a highlight in our Garden Route drive. The views across the lake are magnificent, our room was large, clean and very well appointed, the staff were lovely, the two sweet dogs very well behaved, the breakfast very good... altogether a beautiful and peaceful place to relax in Kynsna.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Soniaclaassen, Owner at Villa Castollini
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thank you for your lovely review. It warms our hearts to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we take great pride in ensuring all guests enjoy a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Castollini in the near future. Happy Holidays, and please travel safely. Kindest Regards The Villa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Craig S wrote a tip Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October weather is amazing, cool enough to be comfortable but hot enough to use the pool. This villa has it all, super comfortable."
Read full review
corrie h wrote a tip Nov 2019
Knysna, South Africa5 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a family room that is secluded and very spacious with a big kitchen."
Read full review
Adventure_Chris wrote a tip Feb 2019
Knysna, South Africa185 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They all have amazing views"
Read full review
DPLowcountry wrote a tip Nov 2018
Seabrook Island, South Carolina64 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have excellent views."
Read full review
Martin5192 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Birmingham, United Kingdom618 contributions190 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Solo and Luna are both good with lagoon views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Knysna area.
PRICE RANGE
R 715 - R 862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeKnysna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA CASTOLLINI - Now R 552 (Was R̶ ̶9̶0̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Knysna, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Castollini
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Castollini?
Nearby attractions include Knysna Heads (5.7 km), Brenton on Sea (2.1 km), and Knysna Lagoon (6.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Castollini?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Castollini?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Castollini?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Castollini?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Castollini?
Conveniently located restaurants include Freshline Fisheries, 34 South, and The Drydock Food Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Castollini?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Castollini?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Villa Castollini offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Castollini?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Castollini?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St George's Anglican Church (4.9 km).
All Knysna HotelsKnysna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KnysnaHotels near Villa Castollini
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire