We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 606: English reviews
Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

For two weeks over December ( including Christmas) we were given wonderful individual attention. All our "unusual" requests, like additional parking for our trailer and Harley were accommodated with amazing grace. The service was exceptional, the rooms spotless, and comfortable and the little extra touches, like fresh cut rose everyday and a Christmas gift truly made us feel special. Like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonpeterroche
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Roche, Thank you for your lovely comments. It is a wonderful feeling to know our guests appreciate our efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards, Samantha

Isle of Man
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

What a surprised gem! Rooms were massive and such a surprise for what we thought would be a guest house room. So much variety at breakfast and staff couldn't do enough to help. Close to town too - 5/10 min walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasheb
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2017

A very nice reasonably priced hotel, just off the waterfront in Hermanus. Great views over the ocean and a very short walk to the central area with most of the bars and restaurants. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. A few quirks - Wi-Fi did not work for us anywhere in our room (but was ok in the small lobby)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear David E Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed the views, location and especially our friendly staff. Wi-fi in Hermanus over the Christmas period is always rather slow due to the increased population of the town! However, I apologise that you could not access it at all in your room. We are hoping this...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We had an extremely good time at Misty Waves. Excellent accommodation with well trained and informed staff. Luxury accommodation at very affordable price and as a bonus good food. Within walking distance from town. We specially enjoyed the dolphins and walking paths along the sea side with breath taking views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marielouiselouw
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We all really appreciate your wonderful comments. See you soon, Samantha

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was the 3rd stop we had on our recent trip to Cape Town celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed for 3 nights at Misty Waves and I couldn't get myself to pack my bag the morning we were due to check out. This is a beautiful place. My jaw dropped when we walked into the check-in area. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rina M
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Rina M, Thank you for your lovely review. Three days is just not long enough to experience all that The Misty Waves & Hermanus has to offer, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. We have a variety of room options, but can easily make the bed as one if it has twin beds. – please just...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Very neat, great views, great service, calm atmosphere. We stayed in room 501, which is on a higher floor and quite spacious and private. The restaurant and road might be disturbing if you are a light sleeper. In that case i suggest you book in the Annex to the rear of the site. Will most certainly go back and can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabrie C
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2017

One of the nicest places you can stay in South Africa, let alone in Hermanus. They aim for excellence and succeed! Attention is paid to the smallest detail, wonderful friendly service and stunning facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prodermsa
Ireland
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two young daughters; we stayed in the Annex so that we could all share the room; the entire staff were very friendly and helpful; the breakfasts were top class. I particularly liked the way the restaurant manager at breakfast dealt with her staff; when a plate dropped to the floor and smashed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis R
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed over last night in room 506. Was very impressed by the attention to detail in terms of the decor. The hotel has this gorgeous european theme. This was complete with Misty the cat who liked to nap in his favorite chair in the lounge :-) The rooms were complete with white gowns and slippers as well as roses. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaNaidoo
cape town
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

What a lovely enjoyable stay. Staff friendly and we were pleasantly surprised with the lovely decor. Very Downton Abbyish but also chic. Service was great and local restaurants are within walking distance.Beautiful scenic walking trails. We enjoyed the breakfast too. Would recommend them

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antoinelleh

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
665 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
890 reviews
0.8 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
4.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
399 reviews
0.4 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: R1 144 - R2 819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lifts are available in the annexe”
SSharma1178, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book a room with a sea view, it's well worth it.”
Buncha13, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front, one floor up is best.”
grahamee, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“splurge on the sea view - it is absolutely worth it!”
KRS331, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use the cinema - you can select a film !”
982JohnP982, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5