We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Save
Share
21 Marine Drive, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$92
View deal
Expedia.comUS$121
PricelineUS$97
Hotels.comUS$121
TravelocityUS$121
eDreamsUS$92
Orbitz.comUS$121
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (409)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/06/28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Updated 21/06/28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel. Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. Now by Travelers Choice One of the Top 25 Hotels in SA 2019 outsourced their restaurant to popular fisherman's heritage restaurant next to the lovely garden, pool and whirlpool! Hotel is a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding and scenic quad-bike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as additional luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests and sport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1033Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 637
  • 274
  • 81
  • 21
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marie Gauche wrote a review May 2022
Durbanville, South Africa1 contribution
Excellent service, spacious room with beautiful docoration. Lovely gardens. Jason very kind and friendly. Restaurant clean with nicely prepared food. Walking distance from Hotel. Will defenitely visit again. Good recomendation to all family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Norman F wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
Excellent decor, with antique furniture in the piblic areas. Amenities include a reading room with a bookcase full of books, Big rooms with balconies and ocean views. Charming and efficient staff. The best we have stayed in in Hermanus.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alix F wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Our room was exquisite and sea facing. Gorgeous colossal bed. Lovely balcony. Huge bath. Extra touches like chocolates, water, gowns etc were an added treat. Any problems they sort out in a flash. Amazing owners and staff. Can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and they will assist you with the perfect room for you. Go for sea facing...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear Alix What a lovely review. Much Appreciated! Regards Maxie and Management
Read more
Laura Ndukwana wrote a review Feb 2022
21 contributions12 helpful votes
The reception on our arrival. We we warmly welcomed were even early for check in and it was no hassle very friendly staff. Codie was warm and accommodating everything the bathrooms absolutely stunning and clean. The bed so vey comfortable and the amazing views
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear Laura Thank you for this lovely comments. We and our personnel love to receive such a feedback. Kind Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
Hein wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
What an absolutely fantastic stay. This is the best place to stay in the Western Cape. Clean rooms, friendly staff, Beautiful sea views and so much more. Cant wait for our next visit. Hein Uitenweerde
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Dear Guest What a stunning review. Highly appreciated! Comments such as these are adored by our personnel as they really deserve it. They love to attend to our guests and to assist in every possible way. Will show them your review. Kind Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
Jan Jafel wrote a review Feb 2022
Stellenbosch, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hotel. We always enjoy it here. Very friendly staff. Close to good restaurants and stunning walks on the seaside cliffs. Deffinately a must for a quick break from the city. In whale season you can see the whales in front of the hotel in the water. Linnen is good, room is good - very enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just remember to enjoy this special place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for this lovely review! Highly appreciated! Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
bdeeks2018 wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Great room, fantastic location if you enjoy the incredible walks along the coast, very welcoming friendly service from everyone at the hotel & wonderful restaurant. What more could we add, keep up the great work. We’ll be sure to come back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for this lovely review! Would love to welcome you back. Kind Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
Nico G wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Upon arrival Jason and the staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The facilities and rooms were beautifully decorated, lovely and clean. The classical esthetic of the hotel is very relaxing and the pool amenities was inviting and refreshing to relax at. The central location of the hotel made experiencing Hermanus by foot very easy, and everything we wanted to experience in our short that was within walking distance. If anything can be improved we would suggest the management to offer better value for the breakfast options. For the price more was expected than a selection of muesli and fruit salads. Hats off to the waiting staff at the restaurant who were very eager to tend to your needs. We would definitely recommend a stay at Misty Waves Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Dear Guest What a lovely review. Thank you very much. (The restaurant is outsourced and run by a different company. We receive a lot of compliments for this restaurant. The buffet table is just a starter and you had a full choice of hot breakfasts to choose from if there was a slip and you did not receive a menu to that effect, contact me immediately directly and we will discuss. You are correct Hermanus is a very popular village offering various experiences. Nature and other. Would love to welcome you back. Kind Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
Judy v wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
There is no sense of interior decorating. It looks like furniture was bought on auctions and randomly put together. Very old. The rooms do not live up to the pictures as advertised. The signage say it is one of the top 25 hotels in SA 2019 - I really can not see why. I got booked into the wrong room. I asked for the link to their review page and was ignored. Vacuum cleaner was in front of my room the whole time of our stay. It was never put away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 19 Jan 2022
Dear Guest Goodness what a totally unfair review? But if that is your opinion different from 99% of our visitors then so be it. This is a boutique hotel and of course the furniture and decor will be totally different from the average. Our staff and personnel give 5 star treatment to all our guests and are complimented as such. The pictures are 100% in line with our website and advertisements. I really do not know why you felt the need to even mention. that. Most of our furniture are imported with huge care and of the best quality ever? I would suggest in future rather book an establishment that suits YOUR specific taste. Regret to convey this terrible review to our loyal staff. One star? They are all heart and soul in this property for so many years and nothing pleases them more that to get a well deserved compliment. Kind Regards Maxie Lerm
Read more
Jarryd K wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We are beyond happy with the hotel and staff. Our wedding had ended a bit late unfortunately arrived late at the hotel. Jason accommodated our dilemma and treated us with professionalism. We enjoyed the amazing room that was decorated with flower petals as well as the delicious breakfast the following morning. Our checkout was a breeze and the staff’s assistance with luggage was too-shelf treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxie Lerm, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for the lovely comments. Glad you had memorable stay with us. Kid Regards Maxie lerm
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
misty waves boutique hermanus, hotel misty waves boutique
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandHermanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Which popular attractions are close to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Nearby attractions include Cape Whale Coast (0.3 km), Fick's Pool (0.1 km), and Romantiques (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wine Glass Hermanus, Just Pure Bistro, and Heritage Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.