We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hermanus Backpackers

26 Flower Street, Overstrand 7200 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (135)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 4 hostels in Hermanus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Billiards
Bowling offsite
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
387Reviews5Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 119
  • 34
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sightseer756402 wrote a review Jan 2024
Boucherville, Canada1 contribution
Not a place for kids. They are not welcome. Bad experience. Dont recommend. Feel inconfortable during our stay. People living there are not friendly. Beds not confortables. Kitchen well equipped, garden ok but need love.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lappies85 wrote a review Dec 2023
Krugersdorp, South Africa19 contributions
Been my home till I find a home. Its great place with great staff! Backpackers lifestyle for the no frills and fuss people. Love the small piece of home where I have been. And the dog is the best part of my day coming home.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Beenthere429 wrote a review Apr 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom91 contributions76 helpful votes
Lovely warm welcome and perfect hospitality. Easy walk into Hermanus Town or beach. Comfortable, clean, quiet, helpful. Kitchen facilities very useful. Thank you Hermanus for sorting out a taxi to Cape Teon Airport, Joey got us safely therein plenty of time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Annali-Floris wrote a review Jan 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa59 contributions
+1
This is the place to stay. We booked a twin/double room for the weekend. When we arrived, we were upgraded at no extra cost. The room, bathroom, kitchen and the pool were all spotlessly clean and there was nothing shortcoming in our room. There is also secure parking. We even had our own barbecue outside the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is walking distance from the shops, restaurants and the old Harbour. Do yourself a favor and stay at Hermanus Backpackers. We had a lovely time there and everything was perfect. Our son and his family were also there, each in their own room with shared bathrooms and that was also perfect. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
frits v wrote a review Jan 2023
Abcoude, The Netherlands19 contributions5 helpful votes
So, great budget stay. Price vs quality: 10 out of 10. Don’t expect a luxury hotel. Just perfect for a stay in Hermanus. Staff is really friendly. (Hailey 👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾) hotel is About 10 min walk to center. Only minor; we had syntactic sheets, (makes you sweaty) we rather had cotton.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Nice tidal pool in 5 min walk. (Ask hailey @ reception)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trip47208920764 wrote a review Dec 2022
Worst place. False advertising on website. Reception is incredibly rude. Had an uncomfortable experience with staff and wanted a refund for our remaining nights. It was refused and were threatened to be kick out. Biased against young adults. They do not want to give our refund!! What can we do??
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Van Der Walt, Owner at Hermanus Backpackers
Responded 06 Dec 2022
Girls, the reason you had an uncomfortable experience with a staff member is because we had to repeatedly ask you to have some consideration for other guests. My advice for your future travels would be to get a private room, because dormitories are shared with other people who do not want to be constantly disturbed and awoken by drunk and noisy room mates.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laurent F wrote a review Mar 2022
Mauritius23 contributions3 helpful votes
Awesome location not far from the tidal pool, great ammenities one couldn't expect in a backpackers. Catherine is a super host, extremely helpful, very welcoming and a genuinely nice person ! We really enjoyed staying here. Will surely be back !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Richard wrote a review Oct 2021
Constantia, South Africa2 contributions
I'm staying in the dorm and I'm happy with my experience! Friendly management and friendly staff. Clean bathrooms, living areas and kitchen. I will continue supporting this business when visiting Hermanus.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gary wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I am a contractor working in Hermanus area from Durban, and this is my very first time staying in a backpackers..the staff is warm and friendly...and I would recommend Hermanus Backpackers to friends and family...its a home away from home... When you walk in from a hard days work..Jacqueline and James staff at Hermanus backpackers would greet you warmly and ask you how was your day...i find Hermanus Backpackers to be the place to stay...long term or short term...when you leave...you will leave with beautiful memories...Gary Short long term contractor at Hermanus backpackers
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jan wrote a review Apr 2021
Hermanus, South Africa1 contribution
Awesome place to stay,great and well mannered staff Very neat and organised "Feel like home" atmosphere Very pleasant staff Great location (walking distance from town) Very enjoyable (pool,bar and braai facilities)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hermanus area.
PRICE RANGE
R 592 - R 592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandHermanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HERMANUS BACKPACKERS - Now R 573 (Was R̶ ̶6̶1̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hermanus Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Hermanus Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Hermanus Cliff Path (0.8 km), Cape Whale Coast (0.6 km), and Hoy's Koppie (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hermanus Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hermanus Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hermanus Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hermanus Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Cafe & Deli, Char'd Grill & Wine Bar, and Cafè 1904 Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hermanus Backpackers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hermanus Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.