We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whale Coast Hotel

Save
Share
Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/06/09 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/06/09 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 12 hotels in Hermanus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
910Reviews3Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 574
  • 278
  • 38
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jacques c wrote a review 10 Jun
Oudtshoorn, South Africa10 contributions3 helpful votes
We were extremely surprised by the great concept of the Whale Coast Hotel. As a South African I rarely ( if ever) stay at these accommodation types. But what a surprise! Profesional reception,friendly quick and efficient booking as a walk inn. Well maintained clean and secure apaetmenys with a modern touch..best of all...a braai on the balcony!! Loved it
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, General Manager at Whale Coast Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. It is particularly warming to receive a review like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality contributed to your memorable holiday. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern apartments and friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hermanus!
Read more
Judy wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Myself and my partner stays at the hotel from 2May till 7May 2021. Check in was smooth and everything went accordingly. Apartment was nicely equipped and staff was friendly. On Monday morning we decided to get breakfast in our room as we checked with receptionist the Sunday when we checked in and was confirmed we could however Monday morning we were told we can't have breakfast in our apartment which was very disappointing to say the lease. The wifi speed was extremely slow and our dstv was suppose to be full package only to discover its not. The add says rooms are soundproof which I even confirmed with there whatsapp line before I booked the place for me and my partner just to find out that it's not so. In day time we were asked to put our music softer due to noise complaints and it wasn't even 5pm yet which I felt disappointed in as I would've understood if it was late and manager of hotel informed us that rooms is soundproof only room to room which is ridiculous. I honestly feel you need to educate your staff more on what to say to traveller's and what not instead of misleading me cause the main reason we chose to stay at the Hotel was the fact that it's soundproof. You say your rooms are fully equipped, however I had to request an iron from staff and there was still a few things missing which is mentioned in advertisement.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, General Manager at Whale Coast Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. I am so glad that you had such a smooth check-in and you found the staff to be friendly. We are sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay, but it your review seems a bit contradicting. You originally mentioned the friendly staff and well equipped apartment. Yet you later say the apartment is not equipped well, and the staff is not educated well enough. It seems the main reason for your review is because your were requested to turn your music down, because other hotel guests complained about your loud music. Unfortunately when staying in a hotel a person need to consider the guests staying around you. I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Read more
Alexander K wrote a review Apr 2021
Bat Yam, Tel Aviv, Israel5 contributions
End of January 2021 I stayed 3 nights in Whale Coast Hotel Hermanus in South Africa. During my stay, the money ( cash ) were stolen from the safe in my hotel room. The money were stolen partially, not to draw the immediate attention. The hotel recommended to store all valuables in the hotel’s safe, so I did so. The last day before the checking out, I discovered, that part of the money is stolen. Attention of hotel personnel does not bring any answer. I recommend all travelers to stay away of Whale Coast Hotel Hermanus and learn on my bad experience. The file of theft is registered in Hermanus police department with official case number.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, General Manager at Whale Coast Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Alexander. Thank you for your 4th review of this topic, on yet another platform. You really meant it when you threatened to smear our name all over the internet if we don’t pay you for your silence. As explained before, your need to slander the name of the hotel with such false accusations is really sad. As you know, the police case number CAS61/3/2021 shows your complaint of alleged theft has been investigated by the police and also hotel management, and no evidence of theft was found. Like said before, it was and still is absolutely impossible for anyone else to open your electronic safe without entering your secret pin code. And saying it was "stolen partially" would mean you saw less money in the safe each day. If this was true, why wait until you check-out to report this and then threaten us with slandering our name if we don't pay you? I'm sure every reader would realise this accusation is not true.
Read more
Alison C wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
We have stayed in Hermanus before, but this was one of the nicest properties. The location is fabulous above a shopping centre within walking distance of sea front/village. We stayed in apartment 10 -a 2 bedroom apartment with a large balcony overlooking the car park which got sun all day. I think on the other side you would overlook the road also. The only downside is some traffic noise which is a small price to pay for being in the centre. Basement parking was a bonus and the lift services that and the shopping centre/reception. the check in staff were organised and friendly and got a porter to help with luggage. The apartment was open plan downstairs with a large kitchen/dining/lounge area. The kitchen was well equipped with fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc. Upstairs were 2 great sized bedrooms, both en suite, and both had massive wardrobes. All in all a very comfortable and modern apartment. 1 comment I have is reception didn't have enough cards to work the barrier for the car park, so if we went out in the car, we had on our return to go to reception and get a staff member to let us in to the car park. Also the kitchen area needed teatowels and oven gloves-we had to use a bath towel to take hot food out of the oven The apartment was a great size, very comfortable, good value for money, and I would recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, General Manager at Whale Coast Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our hotel is indeed situated perfectly to explore all that Hermanus has to offer, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the spacious apartments and wonderful service from our team. Unfortunately we are experiencing a shortage in parking cards, since the property management as in the process of renewing the parking system and will provide us with new cards once complete. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Lady S wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions
What a lovely experience it’s been, Whale coast hotel officially gave hermanus a lovely reputation. The rooms were clean and spacious, great breakfast, convenient location and 6 star 😃 service in a perfect world.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, General Manager at Whale Coast Hotel
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. It is particularly warming to receive a review like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality contributed to your memorable stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our spacious apartments, delicious breakfast and excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hermanus!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandHermanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Whale Coast Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Whale Coast Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cape Whale Coast (0.5 km), Hoy's Koppie (0.4 km), and Lembu Gallery & Studio (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Whale Coast Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Whale Coast Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Whale Coast Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Whale Coast Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whale Coast Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Cafe & Deli Food Store, Betty Blue Bistro, and Pear Tree.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Whale Coast Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Does Whale Coast Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Whale Coast Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.