We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whale's Tale Guest House

Save
Share
86 Westcliff Road, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$100
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$160
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#55 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hermanus Whale’s Tale Guest House offers a magnificent ocean view, and is conveniently situated between the Hermanus New Harbour and the Town Centre. It gives our guests easy access to the famous cliff path where you will find magnificent scenery of the ocean meeting the cliffs, various plant species and of course the adventure of seeing a Southern Right Whale during Whale Season. The cliff path offers a scenic, relaxing walk to the town centre where you will find a variety of restaurants, art galleries, shops and the famous Old Harbour. The Guest House consists of 4 beautifully decorated bedrooms, each with air-conditioning, an en-suite bathroom, television with DSTV channels and complimentary wifi. Other facilities includes free parking, an outdoors entertainment area and an outdoor swimming pool where our guests can relax on the deck while enjoying the magnificent view of the ocean. Hermanus Whale’s Tale Guest House will enchant you with a tale of a memorable holiday in a beautiful seaside town, where guests stay in luxury and are treated like good friends.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Adults only
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
26Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Geoff B H wrote a review Jun 2022
Cape Town12 contributions7 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after. The room was super. The bed was kingsize and extremely comfortable with lovely bed linen. Breakfast was perfect - hot, fresh and plenty of it. Special thanks to Evelyn and James for their attention and great service. We will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nozzymtelequa wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The place was amazing, service was excellent, we really had a good time it was very neat, the breakfast was good I will definitely recommend people to book at whales tale guest house. Everything was just good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 11 May 2022
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Whale's Tale Guesthouse. We truly value and appreciate your feedback. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
skhan511 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had a lovely stay at Whales Tail and will definitely return Observations: The jacuzzi was not functional with no visual information explanation. . The DSTV channels were not working. The 1 pillow case had yellow stains on it. The toilet roll holder was loosely pointing down. When coffee is served coasters should be on the table to prevent stains or marks due to its hotness. The staff professionalism was of a very high standard and their attire was impressive. Definitely will return soon again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Whale's Tale. We truly value and appreciate your feedback. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Shaz D wrote a review Jan 2022
San Francisco, California7 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a really relaxing stay at Whale's tale. Evelyn was amazing! and the breakfast was really good as well. Very close to Hermanus' downtown. Super clean and we felt really at ease. Huge rooms and in a quiet part of town. We didn't get a chance to use the pool - but it has a great view out to see from the deck.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. It is particularly warming to receive a review like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality contributed to your memorable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hermanus!
Read more
stanley710 wrote a review Nov 2021
Somerset West, South Africa3 contributions
Lovely reception and departure. Very friendly. Lovely room, very neat and clean. Beds of exceptional comfort and quality. East accessibility after hours. Secure parking. Very well located. Breakfast was 5 star
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. It is particularly warming to receive a review like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality contributed to your memorable holiday. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your lovely room and excellent breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hermanus!
Read more
conwaycleaves wrote a review Sep 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa4 contributions
We had a lovely stay at this beautiful, clean and friendly guesthouse. The bed very comfortable and room luxurious. Close to all amenities. The breakfast was a lovely spread and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and felt welcome and would definitely go back if we had the opportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrie Visser, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Dear conwaycleaves On behalf of the entire team at the Whale's Take, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the lovely review! We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Maria Kropman wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We only stayed for two nights but wished it could have been longer. My husband has difficulty walking and I asked if it was possible to put us on the ground floor. The hosts did this with pleasure. The staff are very friendly, the owners make you feel at home. The guesthouse is spotless, secure, quiet and very well situated. There is a beautiful view from the sitting area and a lovely outside courtyard you can relax in. These are open to guests for their use. I can definitely recommend this guesthouse. We had a wonderful comfortable stay and will definitely choose this guesthouse again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adrie Visser, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 02 Mar 2020
Dear GrandTour646425 Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay at the Whale's Tail. It was wonderful to host you, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It makes all of us proud to hear that you were so happy with the service from our team, as well as the beautiful rooms. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Ken W wrote a review Jan 2020
Portreath330 contributions148 helpful votes
We booked the sea view suite here for five nights. The weather at this time of year is very hot and we really did want a place that had air con, the description on booking.com said that this was the case and as it also had what looked like a nice pool and sea view we booked privately. When we arrived we found that the bedroom was actually very small and had no air con, we spent an uncomfortable night there. The blind in the room was also not functioning properly and we asked the very lovely maid if it could be fixed, she said she would go and ask the owner and we then heard him raising his voice at her, he then came out to us and said that he had driven from Namibia that day and would do his best. We found him a bit intimidating to be honest. We were also a bit puzzled about why a sheet was placed on the sofa in the lounge we had booked and wondered if the owners thought we were dirty! (We weren't). The lady owner offered to move us to one of the upstairs rooms which were far more spacious and nicer all round but still no air con so we had to politely decline, settle up for our one night and then move on. I'd also like to say that in my opinion the photos on the various booking sites are inaccurate in that the 'pool' is miniscule and the premises are situated on a 'Y' junction on a reasonably busy road so the pool area is not private. So perhaps the owners need to revisit what they advertise in order to give the correct information to prospective customers. Breakfast was very good indeed and the lady owner very gracious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are cheaper and better
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaco Nortje, Marketing at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 24 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We truly value and appreciate your feedback, and we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We certainly hope to welcome you again one day.
Read more
Vinhyet wrote a review Oct 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We only stayed one night there but it was really enjoyable. First Ruth asked by email if she could make reservations for us, it was so kind of her. Then during the stay, Daniel made us really feel like home. They provided us the room on the first floor next to the terrace and the pool. The view was fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdrieV147, Manager at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 01 Nov 2019
Dear Vinhyet Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
Read more
Oliver wrote a review Oct 2019
Bordeaux, France1 contribution
We reserved at the last minute. Were exceptionally happy with our choice. Owners were very welcoming and staff fantastic. Breakfast perfect and place was really clean. Nice and quiet location which was just what we wanted. Would really recommend. Great view to the ocean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AdrieV147, Manager at The Whale's Tale Guest House
Responded 01 Nov 2019
Dear OllyParkhouse Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Guest House to other travelers. It was an enjoyment catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandHermanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Whale's Tale Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Hermanus Cliff Path (0.3 km), Fernkloof Nature Reserve (5.1 km), and Grotto Beach (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a view of the mountains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Cafe & Deli, Pear Tree, and Char'd Grill & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Whale's Tale Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does The Whale's Tale Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.