We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (718)
Room & Suite (310)
Pool & Beach (81)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Hermanus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the slate roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1415Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 669
  • 458
  • 146
  • 75
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
James Savage wrote a review 27 Feb
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
My Wife and I go to Harbour House every February: because of the excellent service and kind, attentive staff. Every year we agree that the experience was better than the last somehow. the Deluxe Suites are perfectly appointed, spacious and comfortable. Kevin, the GM made sure of it that we had a perfect stay and his staff certainly did not disappoint. The food at the Hotel is superb, notwithstanding the several great eateries and cafe's in walking distance. As always, we cannot wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nancydavis2024 wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution
We were so looking forward to staying here after seeing it whilst walking past in previous years we were very disappointed on arrival to be over the road but after this initial setback we still had a fabulous holiday and the staff are helpful friendly and generally amazing. Food choices a little hut and miss but fabulous homemade bread for breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maxine wrote a review 22 Feb
Welwyn16 contributions4 helpful votes
Fabulous location and wonderful views. Very clean and equipped apartment overlooking the bay. Lovely swimming pool. Very attentive & helpful staff. Would definitely stay again. Hermanus is a nice town with stunning cliff walks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Welwyn/151959 Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
michrobmartin wrote a review 22 Feb
2 contributions
We stayed in Room114 in the Sky Residence ( Harbour Square ). Nice big apartment with great views. No complaints ! Building is central within easy walking distance of restaurants and attractions. Hope to go back...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Michrobmartin Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angela C wrote a review 21 Feb
Harrogate, United Kingdom43 contributions14 helpful votes
Well located hotel with car parking underneath. Good size rooms with small kitchenette and small balcony and super comfy beds. Easy 2 minute walk to cafes shops art galleries and restaurants. Very nice cliff top walk to the marina with beautiful views of the bay. Good swimming pool and comfy loungers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Breakfast service was slightly chaotic however the food was delicious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Angela Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
_hannecorbett wrote a review 10 Feb
Cape Town, South Africa114 contributions65 helpful votes
We just returned from a wonderful stay at Harbour House Hotel. The rooms we stayed in were across the street from the reception. Modern and clean and even had a terrace. Very close to restaurants in walking distance. We chose the Greek Tavern across the street which was awesome and glad we booked ahead because it was full. All in all combined with the beautiful views from out cliff path walk and a drink at Fils pool restaurant a perfect getaway with family visiting from New York 😊
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hane Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
j0ules57 wrote a review 03 Feb
1 contribution
The location is excellent, we loved the pool. Fantastic experience enhanced by the superb attention from the whole staff team. Lovely to sit by the pool and enjoy a freshly cooked breakfast. Plenty of great restaurants nearby for an evening meal.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Joules Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geoff & Natalie wrote a review Jan 2024
Deal, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
A stop off at Hermanus to see the whales but unfortunately they didn't get the memo. A quant little place with plenty of walks during the day and nice restaurants for the evening. While here we managed to go on a Shark Dive with Marine Dynamics. No white sharks but plenty of Bronze Whalers and a greedy seal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Gad3ARM Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. Our Whale Season is from mid-July to Mid-November for the Southern Right Whale and unfortunately there are no Great White Sharks and only Bronze Sharks, however we are hopeful that the Great White Sharks Return. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue G wrote a review Jan 2024
12 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Booked via trailfinders who offer a good standard. Hotel is in 3/4 parts and our room was in the “village” number 17. Room clean/fresh/ well equipped / bed & shower excellent( that’s my key need! ) Overlooked other apartments which wasn’t a problem but a voile/ net to close the window would have been sufficient - we had to close with curtains unless we were fully clothed after shower etc The location is perfect right in the hub with free parking. Service v good and felt safe after 4 days in Cape Town. Breakfast more than adequate. Pool quite small but enough to freshen you up. There is a plunge pool in the Village building. For location I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 143sueg Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
OutOut72 wrote a review Jan 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom13 contributions20 helpful votes
Excellent rooms in a great central Hermanus location. Restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner, but breakfast was excellent, there are numerous good restaurants nearby.Staff very attentive and helpful. Would definitely use this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Masson, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2024
Dear Anon Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at Harbour House Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. Many thanks for the kind words, I will indeed share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We will continue to strive to make your experience the best stay in Hermanus. We hope to see you at Harbour House Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Harbour House Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hermanus area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,286 - R 3,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quarters Hermanus
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandHermanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HARBOUR HOUSE HOTEL - Now R 1 691 (Was R̶ ̶6̶ ̶3̶4̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Hermanus, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Harbour House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Harbour House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cape Whale Coast (0.4 km), Lembu Gallery & Studio (0.05 km), and Hermanus Waterfront (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Harbour House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Harbour House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Harbour House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harbour House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Cafe & Deli, Char'd Grill & Wine Bar, and Cafè 1904 Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Harbour House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Harbour House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Harbour House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Harbour House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Harbour House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.