We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakhurst Hotel

Traveller (49)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (10)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George”
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
106Reviews
59Photos
1Q+A
19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 50
  • 17
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
from all the other places advertised, the Oakhurst hotel stood out for me with the lovely ambiance shown in the pics and it really lived up to its expectations. The staff are really friendly, no request too big, smiles all the time and the place overall was cosy. Breakfast was
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
After a long drive to George and full days of meetings, I found it worth while to return to the Oakhurst. Although situated right next to a relatively busy road, my room was quiet and I had no trouble resting when I felt so. The service was professional and the hotel itself was
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We highly recommend Oakhurst Hotel to visitors coming into George and needing a safe, well appointed hotel to stay in. The food, accommodation and service were absolutely excellent and of a very high standard.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Oakhurst Hotel is a beautiful, well maintained building with friendly, helpful and truly efficient staff. It stops there. The food ( rock hard hamburger pattie and dubious chicken roulard ) was not up to 4 star standard, the internet did not work for us, the rooms are noisy (
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
It is a beautiful hotel, with old time charm. Unfortunately, it is in a very noisy part of town and we hardly had any sleep during the night. No shower in our room. Linen is crispy white, but old and torn here and there. Sad to say but will not go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Megan C, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Dear Karen I am so sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay at the Oakhurst Hotel. We strive for excellence in everything we do and appreciate the feedback we receive. It is unfortunate that you had this experience and I can only apologize for inconvenience. Please feel free to email me directly manager@oakhursthotel.co.za on your next booking with us as I would like to personally assist you with your reservations and give you a special rate for the inconvenience. Thank you, Kind regards, Megan Combrink General Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
PreviousNext
12
Pet friendly?
It would be better if you enquire directly.
0 votes
"We have stayed in rooms on the front & on the wing & both are comfortable with great bedding ..."
"Home away from home hotel"
"No internet in the 1 st floor"
"Family Room with younger kids request a room with sleeper couch"
"Wifi limited to 1gb and poor signal strength"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeGeorge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing