Lord Caledon Guest House

Lord Caledon Guest House

35 Caledon Street Camphersdrift, George 6529 South Africa

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#33 of 37 guest houses in George
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
LOCATION ! LOCATION ! LOCATION ! A stylish, deliberately small and exclusive guest house situated in the upmarket suburb of Camphersdrift, George - heart of the Garden Route. Centrally located, the perfect destination for leisure or business traveler alike. Accommodation consists of seven en suite rooms. The establishment has a private lush garden, large sparkling pool and braai(barbecue) facilities with Wifi internet access. Each room has a king size extra length bed, air conditioning, satellite television, tea/coffee making facilities, laptop safes, mini bar fridges (stocked on request), hairdryers and en suite bathrooms with either a bath and shower or a shower only. The honeymoon suite offers a fireplace for those chilly winter nights.The first guests stayed at Lord Caledon in December 2009, a group of golfers. Needless to say they enjoyed the rooms, facilities and most of all the hospitality. The Phillips family are very proud of the Lord Caledon and wish you a pleasurable and memorable stay
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Internet
Outdoor pool
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Minibar
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Laptop safe
Electric blanket
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quaint

Location

35 Caledon Street Camphersdrift, George 6529 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
George Airport
35Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Capey wrote a review Aug 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at The Lord Caledon . Booked a pool facing room which was exceptionally comfortable and offered more than we expected . The room was private, wifi excellent , and spotlessly clean .Comfortable sunny lounge area and perfect location close to the main city . Will certainly be back .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PriBa8 wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a family of 5, and stayed here for 2 nights. The pool facing room was a decent size. Our second room unfortunately was just too small, the bathroom even smaller, and facing, essentially a wall. I found it strange that a bathroom due to its sliding doors had so little scope for hanging towels etc. Apart from the size of the rooms, the place was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious, the lounge area spacious. The beds were extremely comfortable. This is not a place for a long stay but for a night or two, as a stopover, works fine.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gardener1920 wrote a review Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice place to stay. Nice pool and outside sitting area. Good shower very clean room and also an honesty bar which was really a nice touch. Good breakfast which was very well cooked. Would stay here again they also had a lounge area to sit in.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jswane148251 wrote a review May 2023
East London, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed would be an understatement what you see online isn't what you get we where greeted in a rushed manner and told we have the convenience room "more like the domestic quarters " switches not working hanging wires and right next to dustbin that smelt then the next morning when I asked what time breakfast was I was told to wait till other guests are finnished then they can help us. This made me feel like I was a 2nd rate citizen. Not worth then money!!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gunyazile Nelso... H wrote a review Feb 2024
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Lord Caledon Guest House - George ZA
I booked 2 rooms for December 22 - December 2023. I changed my mind and canceled before the 21st of November 2023, but to my surprise, 50% of the money was debited before November 21, 2023. This was free cancellation before November 21, 2023. I called them and emailed them. At first, they denied debiting my credit card through paybridge accommodation and after they blamed booking.com, then it was excuse after excuse, I have sent them the POP, but now they have gone quiet and booking.com.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aarthi S wrote a review Jun 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly unwelcoming guest house.
Room was freezing and air con for heat wasn't working.
Broken bathroom cupboards, rusty sanitary bins, leaking toilets.

The pros:
The room is large and there's an electric blanket at least.
Close to restaurants

Lots of barking dogs in the morning from neighboring houses.

Didn't bother going to breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oii wrote a review Dec 2022
Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Place is clean and there is everything you need. Breakfast is ok but no more. Staff was not very friendly. The room was noisy. After load shedding a beeping guard alarm kept me awake for the whole night. There was no staff during the night. Would never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lhulland wrote a review Oct 2018
Durban, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel very strongly that we must report the appalling service of the management of this establishment in George. We were quite a big group and Lord Caledon ticked all our boxes of requirements on paper. Sadly, that was all. My husband and I had specifically requested NO steps and twin beds, we arrived to find an upstairs room and king size bed. Our room key lock was a problem and when we asked about this and requested it to be fixed were told it was a ‘special’ key so tweak it at an angle!! In other words - fight the lock! I must add that there was no management to meet us but after my my daughter phoned the manageress was told our key was on the front desk. The group asked if it would be possible to have a braai and were told it was definitely possible, and that would be no problem. This seemed to cause huge problems the next day.
Our first breakfast were cold and not what we ordered but as time was not on our side we didn’t complain at the time. The manageress asked if the last 3 people wanted the same breakfast as they had had the day before and when the answer was no This lady then exploded and she told us that she had preempted the order and had cooked so the wasted food was completely unacceptable. Might I remind all that this meal had been paid for! As a result of this We asked if we could confirm our breakfast orders for the next day when back at the venue later that day, we got no response from the manageress to this request, And later there was no staff to be seen. No forms were put out either. The next day was just horrid and some of our group were accused of living like animals and were warned that no breakfast would be cooked for us again. We were also informed that a ‘cleaning fee’ of R150.00 per couple would have to be paid by us all. She then proceeds eeded to lock up everything ensuring that we had no access to ice, milk, coffee, cereals, fruit, toast etc. How sad it was to have to pay R1100 per night to be abused and have to put up with a manageress like this. Our entire group were verbally abused with some even been sworn at by this particular person, in one way or the other throughout the time spent there. On leaving on the Sunday she appeared at 8.00am and did not acknowledge any of us or even respond to our good mornings etc. Her poor staff were devastated at her rudeness towards as us and tried so hard to assist us in any way they could but they also could not get us milk, coffee etc., never mind breakfast. So although George was outstanding, sadly this particular facility Lord Caledon is to be avoided by all at any cost. I can assure you all that during this entire ordeal numerous attempts were made to contact the owner of this establishment to no avail, hence this review to the public.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry H wrote a review Oct 2018
Kloof, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After a wonderful weekend in George our only disappointment was the service & poor management received by the BnB hostess / Manageress at Lord Caledon.

As a group booking - we had booked all 7 rooms for our traveling party for 4 nights - Wednesday 3rd Oct to Sun 8th October.

The rooms themselves were well maintained comfortable & tastefully decorated - Pity we cant say the same about the hostess attitude towards her guests.

My family in particular was reprimanded for not eating breakfast on one day - which we had in fact NOT ordered she had assumed on her own accord that we would want to eat what we had ordered the previous day - without double checking. Afraid I personally don’t need a full English breakfast each & every day - and as I’m Paying for breakfast in my daily rate - I should have the option to order or not.

The first night we were asked to complete an order form for breakfast - which we all duly filled in per guest & room - however these were never seen again - surely a simple task of leaving out each night for all guests to complete would have avoided her this inconvenience “that we supposedly caused”

We never saw the manager in the evenings other than the night we arrived - when it would have taken 2 min to double check plans for the next day. One night I did sms her to say we please needed an early start - as our matches started at 7.45 - her staff only arrived at 7 -we had to leave by 7.30 and they did not manage to serve us - when some of our party did not eat their full meal - the hostess was again furious. in all honesty my breakfast was served cold - I did not fuss or complain - which In hind sight I wish I had done at the time.

The one night we had a braai on the premises which we were told was not a problem - as our group were together & they did not have any separate guests. After the braai we had stacked the plates & glasses in the kitchen as I would have done in my own home. This was apparently unacceptable behavior & we were to each pay a R150 cleaning fee. So short sighted to insist on this in a rage & rant. The following night every cupboard was locked to ensure we could not even have a glass for water or clean coffee cup & spoon - treated like naughty children again. Another upset on our behalf was that some of our guests rooms were not serviced on the Saturday after the shouting incident - perhaps another punishment.... for not eating our breakfast.

On our last morning the hostess arrived just before 8 - ideal timing when you state in each room that breakfast will be served between 7.15 - 8.30 - sadly we had waited since 7.15 & our flight was at 9 - again poorly timed on her behalf.

We had tried to follow up with the owner of the BnB but sadly he has had not had the courtesy to respond to any of our messages to date. Seems lack of communication a priority in this establishment.

Whilst we loved our time in George & will definitely be back it won’t be to stay at Lord Caledon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeatherCpt wrote a review Apr 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 5 weeks at Lord Caledon Guest House on a business trip to George. Comfortable and large rooms ideal for long stay. Lovely outdoor area where you can relax after a long day at the office. Had use of kitchen facilities which is great so we could reheat food and eat with real crockery and cutlery (I do not enjoy eating with plastic knives and forks). Friendly staff, good breakfast and great coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Monika F wrote a tip May 2017
Bensheim, Germany26 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms around the pool"
Read full review
richardcfc wrote a tip Jun 2014
London, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room with the mountain view has its own entrance and secure car parking space"
Read full review
Mmeli K wrote a tip May 2013
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 6 is the best."
Read full review
LynCJ wrote a tip Apr 2013
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa83 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top room has the best view,"
Read full review
Sazzer73 wrote a tip Mar 2013
Aberdeen, United Kingdom56 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mountain view room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the George area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,077 - R 1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeGeorge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LORD CALEDON GUEST HOUSE - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (George, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lord Caledon Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Lord Caledon Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Garden Route Botanical Garden (0.3 km), George Museum (0.5 km), and Dutch Reformed Mother Church (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lord Caledon Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill George, RocoMamas George, and The Fat Fish.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Lord Caledon Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Lord Caledon Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Lord Caledon Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Lord Caledon Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Montagu Pass Old Toll House (7.9 km) and The Old Slave Tree (0.7 km).
All George HotelsGeorge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GeorgeHotels near Lord Caledon Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire