Summit Place Guesthouse

Summit Place Guesthouse

15 Summit Road Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806 South Africa
View of the garden.
Traveller (72)
View from verandah of the garden cottage.
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#5 of 16 guest houses in Constantia
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whatever your trip entails, you can be assured of our warm personal touch at Summit Place. Our beds have fine percale linen and our scrumptious breakfasts are served on the pool patio with amazing mountain views! We are located in the heart of the scenic Constantia Valley Winelands, close to Bergvliet, Tokai, Wynberg, Bishopscourt and Newlands. Located only 20 minutes from the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain, 15 minutes from Muizenberg beach and 5 minutes or less to the Vineyards - Uitsig, Buiterverwachting and Groot Constantia. Also only 5 minutes from the American Embassy. Fully equipped self catering suites, poolside suites, pool and patio area and a kids playarea in the garden, complimentary WiFi, DSTV, secure off street parking, laundry service and 24hour security.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

15 Summit Road Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Cape Town Intl Airport
17.7 km
See all flights
451Reviews2Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 370
  • 69
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nmpame728192 wrote a review Oct 2021
Western Cape, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The family’s very welcoming and quite accommodating. They really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and even helped us hire a reasonably priced vehicle. Tourist season was peaking for Cape Town so that was really helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Dear Mpame, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you at the guesthouse. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in future. Warm regards, The Summit Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clarke1013 wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockholm, Sweden109 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such an enjoyable stay! We have only positives to say about Summit Place Guesthouse as it is a true guesthouse in every sense of the word. Robyn, Lace & Family are just so genuine and friendly and incredibly helpful as well. They are real people who care about their guests, and this makes all the difference. They really go out of their way to make sure you have a great time and offer lots of helpful advice on the area and Cape Town in general. Our room was quaint and clean with a nice shower and bathroom. The pool was great to have right outside our door and the garden is so beautiful and peaceful, which really makes for a relaxing stay. It's very easy to get around anywhere in the area either by car or Uber, with most wine farms 5-15 mins away. We felt so at home here and this is down to the environment and place itself but also Robyn and family. We will definitely be back! Robyn and Lace, thank you so much for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear Clarke, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Summit Place Guesthouse. It was our Pleasure to host you.. Hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Summit Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nancy N wrote a review Mar 2020
The Netherlands38 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I arrived at Summit Place Guesthouse, I felt at home. Robyn, Lace and Nkumbi welcomed me with open arms into their "home". They were there at all times to give me advice and answer any questions that I had. They were warm and helpful people. The guesthouse is stylishly furnished with plenty of comfortable places to sit inside as well as outside. My room was light and spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen area. There was also lots of closet and shelf space. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the balcony was just lovely; I could sit at a table – with a glass of wine – and looked out onto the beautiful garden and swimming pool areas. Unfortunately, I had to cut my stay short because of the Corona crisis and was only able to stay 2 of the 9 nights that I had booked. I had to return to The Netherlands as soon as possible before “lock down”. These are difficult and uncertain days for all those involved in the hospitality industry. As soon as I am able to travel again to Cape Town, I will be sure to return to the Summit Place Guesthouse. It is simply a lovely place to stay and I am looking forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 28 Mar 2020
Dear Nancy Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you , short but ever so sweet. Good to hear you were able to get home safely before the lockdown. So look forward to having you back in Cape Town again in the near future. Stay well , fit and healthy over this trying time. Warm regards Robyn, Nkumbi and Lace
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hcarew332387 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice guest house and the garden is lovely. Our room was pleasant though the bathroom was tiny with no windows, being nether comfortable or pleasant. It is the only room with this problem but is worth avoiding. The breakfast felt over managed, almost parsimonious in that there was a very weak buffet with even the yogurt being dolled out by the staff in profiled small glass pots. Given that the guest house charges extra for breakfast, even charging extra for a pot of coffee, the breakfast experience felt poor by comparison to other guest house we stayed in in Cape Town. There was no complimentary biscuits or fruit in the room. The shared public space is lovely. It would be wonderful if there was an honesty bar so that one could enjoy sitting there in the evenings. The safe in our room was not bolted to the wall. This made the safe feel a bit useless as it was relatively light and could simply be lifted out and removed. All in all a pleasant place to stay and one which with a little more attention to detail and generosity of spirit could be really wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Carew, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Summit Place Guest House. We are disappointed to hear we failed to meet your expectations. We do not have a buffet breakfast as prefer to serve our guests individually . Do do serve fresh fruit salad, yogurt with our home made mules’ and a full hot breakfast Included with all breakfasts is coffee/tea, Orange Juice and 3 choices of cereal. Breakfast is not included in our room rates as per the website information. Guests are provided with complimentary coffee and choices of tea in their room. Guests who do not have breakfast and request to be served plunger coffee or tea pay extra. We have a stocked mini bar in each room and a drinks menu which has a selection of hot and cold beverages our guest are more then welcome to order from when lying by the pool area or any of the shared spaces. We thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity host you again in a different suite in our guesthouse . Regards, Summit Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian W wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Summit Place is situated in Constantia which was chosen as the location for the first vineyards in South Africa and for good reason. It is sheltered from the Atlantic weather and is high up against the eastern slope of Table Mountain. The staff at Summit Place make you feel as if you're visiting your friends.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Dear Brian Thank you for staying with us at Summit Place Guest House. Your review in much appreciated. Hope you visit again soon. Regards Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reinhard B wrote a review Mar 2022
Vienna, Austria45 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quiet and save location, beautiful garden, nice pool, fine room with big wardrobe and fridge and bathroom. Great hosts and service, e.g. we were not only welcome to have a swim on the afternoon we were collecting suitcases before leaving for the airport, but given towels also for a shower. We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, Other at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 03 Mar 2022
Dear Reinhard, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was our Pleasure to host you at Summit Place Guest House. Hope to see you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Summiteers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grahamdamp wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Summit Place Guesthouse is an outstanding place to relax and unwind amid the beauty of the Constantia mountain and suburb. It is extremely well located in the southern suburbs of Cape Town and the management and staff are tremendously friendly and efficient. We will definitely be staying there again when we are next in Cape Town
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Dear Graham Thank you for choosing to stay with us . Wonderful to meet your family this time . Look forward to having you back with us in the future. Regards Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelli L wrote a review Oct 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota27 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely one night stay here in September, though we wish we'd stayed longer. The guest house is very cute and cozy and obviously well cared for, including the grounds and the garden area. The staff were extremely friendly and kind (even after we needed two tutorials on the in-room safe!). The resident dogs were also friendly and happily greeted us when we arrived, much to our delight.

Our room was very comfortable and clean with access to a large patio. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning before we checked out. If (or hopefully when) we return to Cape Town, we will absolutely return to Summit Place to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, Other at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 06 Oct 2021
Dear Kelli Thank you very much for your excellent review. Much appreciated. Hope the rest of your holiday was as good as the start. Travel safely and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Robyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heleeng2014 wrote a review Jan 2023
Cortemilia, Italy357 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A guesthouse where you feel at home. You can relax around the great pool (nice poolbeds, umbrellas), but also sit in the large, comfortable living rooms with a great coffee. Or work remote, perfect WiFi.
Relaxed staff and management, like you are family. Beautiful garden with nice views.

Great neighborhood, close to fine dining, wine tastings, Constantia Village (shopping area) and Muizenberg and Hout Bay just nearby).
We’ll certainly come back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Fine dining (or lunch) around the corner (ask for suggestions), Bistro 1682, La Colombe,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 05 Feb 2023
Dear Heleen and Paul, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you back home. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, The Summit Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sparc2018 wrote a review Jul 2020
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I experienced a lockdown settle at Summit Place as I was stranded with no flight to return home. I can say with pleasure and confidence that the setting is top notch. The Owners and inhouse manager were professional and attention to 5 star service, personal and accompanying. The gardens and pool area are a delight. The soothing of a center garden Koi fish pond water feature was absolute zen. The go out of their way attitude to create a delightful stay made me feel welcome and as if lockdown was just a bad dream. Thank you Summit team for all your effort, safety concern for the reality of Covid-19 and attention. Im definitely returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Summit Place Guesthouse, General Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host you at the guesthouse. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Warm regards, The Summit Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
entlengumane asked a question Apr 2022
Mitchells Plain, South Africa
How many rooms are here ?
Answer from SummitPlace
Cape Town Central, South Africa18 contributions4 helpful votes
We have 8 rooms on the property. 4 of the rooms are self-catering and 4 non-self-catering. Our rates are exclusive of breakfast. Breakfast is charged at an extra rate per person. Regards, Summit Team
Pompeysunrise asked a question Feb 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom90 contributions49 helpful votes
How much is breakfast per day?
Constantia, South Africa
Breakfast is R120.00 per person
heleeng2014 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cortemilia, Italy357 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to all the nice wineries of Constantia. Close to shopping center Constantia Village, Kirstenbosch, golf course"
Read full review
heleeng2014 wrote a tip Jan 2023
Cortemilia, Italy357 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fine dining (or lunch) around the corner (ask for suggestions), Bistro 1682, La Colombe, Foxcroft, Constantia Glenn, Buitenverwachting, etc"
Read full review
Helen F wrote a tip Jan 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Self-catering rooms are available if required"
Read full review
gitap wrote a tip Jun 2019
The Hague, The Netherlands4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great cottages for families"
Read full review
LebogangCokile wrote a tip Jun 2019
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great trip"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Constantia area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,844 - R 2,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
summit cape town, cape town summit
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownConstantia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUMMIT PLACE GUESTHOUSE - Now R 2 174 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶3̶2̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Constantia, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Place Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Constantia Valley (1.2 km), Groot Constantia (1.1 km), and The Bike Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jonkershuis Restaurant at Groot Constantia, Peddlars, and Sepial's Kitchen at Uitsig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Place Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Summit Place Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Summit Place Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (1.1 km) and Fort Goede Hoop (3.5 km).
All Constantia HotelsConstantia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ConstantiaHotels near Summit Place Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire