Adderley Hotel

Adderley Hotel

31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Traveller (126)
we wedged the door for security after someone had been in room the night previous while we were
Room & Suite (42)
View from pool area
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#79 of 117 hotels in Cape Town Central
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Adderley Hotel, your Cape Town Central “home away from home.” Adderley Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

While staying at Adderley Hotel, visitors can check out Iziko Slave Lodge (0.1 mi) and Inverdoorn Game Reserve Safaris (0.2 mi), some of Cape Town Central's top attractions.

Adderley Hotel is a hotel offering a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free internet access is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, guests can enjoy a rooftop pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Cape Town Central.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Cape Town Central's popular tapas restaurants such as The Pot Luck Club, Kloof Street House, and Gold Restaurant, all a short distance from Adderley Hotel.

Should time allow, Long Street and Greenmarket Square are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Adderley Hotel puts the best of Cape Town Central at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Internet
Rooftop pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Trendy

Location

31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cape Town Intl Airport
17.3 km
See all flights
249Reviews4Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 99
  • 33
  • 6
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
christine s wrote a review May 2012
preston uk
3.0 of 5 bubbles
picked up from airport on time ,girls on reception very friendly as were girls in bar (especially girls from retreat).the only real complaint was someone entering our room at night.only realised in the morning and when we told both managers they didn't seem to take it seriously.we didn't feel safe after this so wedged the door,apart from that the hotel is clean and tidy with good service.good location and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly wrote a review Mar 2017
Perth, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 12 nights during our stay in Cape Town, the location was perfect.. close to everything, especially the red bus tour which we used almost daily. The staff were lovely and always had a smile, i would recommend this to anyone looking for a good, affordable place in central cape town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimbo_and_Franny wrote a review Sept 2013
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures of the adderley (outside of the room) are very flattering. We only stayed for 1 night & were not disappointed to move on. The pool bar is lousy, the charge for internet is 1(RAND) per MB, the gym facilities aren't in the hotel but located next door.

The area doesn't feel too safe, so I'd recommend having a car to drive to restaurants etc. as it gets quiet in the evenings.

The rooms however are very nice (modern facilities, exposed brick work), clean, reasonably sized & the reception staff are very friendly.

When returning to Cape Town, we won't be visiting the Adderley again. For an extra 20% we'll be checking back into the 'Cape Royale'.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 02 Oct 2013
Dear Jimbo_and_Franny Thank you for taking the time letting us know about your experience during your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to appologise that you did not enjoy all the aspects of the product we have on offer. Being in the center of the CBD is one of our key advantages as we are located close to some of Cape Town’s best tourist attractions. Safety is always a concern doesn’t matter where you travel in the world and we always encourage our guest take caution on their travels. I am delighted to advise that we will be implementing a free WiFi service in the next month or two which will be a great addition to the current service we offer to you as our guests. The Pool deck is also due for an upgrade and will commence once the weather has improved. We highly appreciate your feedback as it assist us improving the product we have on offer to our guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ckimball34 wrote a review Dec 2013
Singapore, Singapore
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst hotel stay in over 25 years. The location is not safe and every person we spoke with talked of significant precautions. Service was HORRIBLE. When asked for phone information the clerks didn't know how to help and when call backs were promised, they never came. AC was poor, amenities limited, staff were friendly but didn't have a clue, and the place never felt safe. Would not recommend for Capetown.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 03 Feb 2014
Dear ckimball34 Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. I am concerned that you did not have a good experience and would like to apologize for this. Your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate staff. I can also confirm that I have been in contact with your agent and have rectified this matter. When planning your next trip to Cape Town, I ask that you contact my office to make all your reservations, so that we can give you the true Adderley experience that we pride ourselves in. I look forward to the opportunity of restoring your faith in the Adderley Hotel Cape Town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dietvb wrote a review May 2015
Isidule, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Its a 4 star but not as we know it. Conglomeration of old buildings converted to an "hotel" with studio type rooms - kitchenette micro wave basin, mini fridge (unstocked - not even bottle of water) and cutlery. just one desk without a desk light and only one guest chair - impossible to work at night with no light - no additional space should 2 occupants want to share a meal. Rather bizarre touch a cheap magnifying mirror on the desk. No two point plugs and or internet connection. Small screen TV tacked to the wall far from the bed -virtually unusable. Advertised wifi on a pay extra voucher system simply does not work. Food in the Bowl restaurant extremely average - white wine not cooled and calamari tough. Room service breakfast missing some of the order - bizarre dry bread slice (no toast) without butter or jam. Reasonably clean but some gunk stuck to carpet and human hair on wall of bathroom.Well situated if you are working in town, but there are so many much better choices in the vicinity. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 21 May 2015
Dear Dietvb Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our valued guests. We highly appreciate your feedback and I have shared all your comments with my Team, as this will assist us on improving the high standard we normally so proud to offer all our guests. We also currently in the process of changing our WIFI and going forward will offer all our guests complimentary WIFI during their stay. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jacquiahrends wrote a review Jun 2011
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
unfortunately within 2 days of my stay my credit card details were cloned and large withdrawals of money were attemted to be withdrawn by a member of hotelstaff. I know this as this was the only place i used my cards!!!! No-one took it seriously untill i suggested calling in the police and although they said they would investigate the general manger didn't even meet with me! I am trying to follow up as i wouldn't want other guests to experience this but they have closed ranks, suspect they're all in on it so trying to find the owners to go through them.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
matias r wrote a review Apr 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My girlfriend and I booked in november 2014 for a double room. Today after several hours of travel we arrived. The manager told us it was overbooked and we shpuld change of hotel. They never offered us something to drink or to eat. We asked them to call a taxi and they did it. 1 hour later the taxi arrived and sent us to the new hotel. For our surprise when we asked in the reception they didnt have a clue.We kindly said if they could call Adderley and they did it. They were confused again, IT WASNOT THE HOTEL..... we wait for another hour and the taxi showed. Finnally we arrived to the Capetonian a worst rated hotel and We still are waiting for an apologize and a compensation. Conclusion never book in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 08 Apr 2015
Dear Matias Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent visit to Cape Town. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our valued guests. Please except our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused due to the overbooking and change of Hotel. I have shared all your comments with my team and we highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We would still wish for you to experience the Adderley Hotel next time you looking to come to Cape Town, please do not hesitate to contact me direct if I can be of any assistance. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harvestmouse2 wrote a review Feb 2015
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Power cuts nearly everyday, beyond the control of the hotel, but all everyone got was a candle. Would have thought with the power cuts so often they would invest in windup lanterns in every room. Asked front desk to order me a taxi, was told ( rather abruptly ) there are taxis at the front, which there is but these are unlicensed, no seat belts and no handles to get out, also no meters so overcharge. Overall good location, but two very disturbing demonstrations ( in the street outside) in the short time we were there. Nice rooms but not very good value for money. Wouldn't visit cape town again,. Would recommend avoiding South africa.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2015
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We welcome all guest feedback, positive or negative from our valued Guests. We highly appreciate your feedback, and rating of our spacious rooms and overall good location. Please accept our sincere apologies for the power cuts the country is currently experiencing. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DXBTeesside wrote a review Feb 2015
TEESSIDE
5.0 of 5 bubbles
PARKING: Brilliant. 50R per day. Enter via Parliament Street level F and check in from the car park.

SECURITY: Busy during day with lots of tourist police everywhere. After dark a little caution is required or take taxis to avoid a few beggars and miscellaneous loonies. Generally felt very safe throughout and is improving having visited 3 times now.

LOCATION: Very central and everywhere is walkable.

STAFF: Smiley, humorous, respectful and obliging

GENERAL: We stayed in an upper floor luxury room which did not lack every facility required. Comparatively good value especially regarding large room sizes. Getting a little bit scuffed in some areas but perfectly acceptable for our high standards.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR A LONG TERM STAY.

Thank you and well done to all the staff - we really enjoyed our week with you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel
Responded 09 Feb 2015
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our valued guests. We highly appreciate your feedback, and high rating of our Hotel location, spacious rooms and friendly staff. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings. Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Awaysfromhome wrote a review Nov 2012
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were nice and BIG! Clean. Great location. It was just a walk away from Long Street. Would've given it 5-star rating if it had free wi-fi. Luckily, due to its great location, it is just across Twankey Bar, which has free wi-fi.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from General-Manager S
Cape Town
Dear AmitaDelhi Thank you for enquiring about Adderley Hotel’s secure undercover parking. Please note we have parking available for all our guests at R55.00 per night. We looking forward to welcome you at Adderley Hotel. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
521happytraveller asked a question Mar 2015
St. Helier, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
What does it cost for a taxi to airport. what is the cost of taxi or shuttle from cruise port ?
Answer from General-Manager S
Cape Town
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for the interest in Adderley Hotel. Shuttle service from the Airport to Hotel will cost R280.00 and can be charged to your room account. Shuttle service from the Cruise Port to Hotel will cost R50.00 and can be charged to your room account. Please contact the Hotel directly, if we can be of any assistance in booking the shuttles on your behalf. Kind Regards, Dewald van der Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Answer from General-Manager S
Cape Town
Dear Sharon Adderley Hotel would be happy to arrange an Airport pick up for you. Kindly provide the Hotel with your arrival information in order for us to book a shuttle at additional cost. Kind Regards, Dewald vd Berg General Manager Adderley Hotel
Stella G wrote a tip Sept 2016
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the floors above second level to avoid hearing the taxi noise."
Read full review
Angelawotzername wrote a tip Mar 2016
Northwich, United Kingdom172 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Floor 2 is fully refurbished,if you don't like ANY traffic noise ask for room at the rear of hotel"
Read full review
Joan J wrote a tip Feb 2016
Benalmadena, Spain111 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We booked double nd ended up with a nice suite!!"
Read full review
SB1229 wrote a tip Jan 2016
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room away from the elevator as the doors are relatively loud"
Read full review
Nathan B wrote a tip Jan 2016
14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher up the Better"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 979 - R 1,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADDERLEY HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Adderley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Adderley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include District Six Museum (0.5 km), Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve (0.4 km), and Company's Gardens (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Adderley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Adderley Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Adderley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Adderley Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adderley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cousins Trattoria, FYN, and Madam taitou ethiopean restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Adderley Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Adderley Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Adderley Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Adderley Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Adderley Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (0.1 km), City Hall (1.1 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (0.6 km).
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near Adderley Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire