Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa

Traveller (333)
Room & Suite (92)
Knead breakfast
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 01 Jun
R 1 414
Fully refundable before Sun, 02 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 327
R 1 291
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 6 boutique hotels in Cape Town Central
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain lies Cloud Nine Boutique Hotel perfectly placed in the trendy Tamboerskloof area of the Cape Town city bowl. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the hip & vibrant Bree, Kloof and Long Streets with their many shops, restaurants, bars, clubs & cafes. The property comprises of 5 heritage Victorian buildings dating back to 1892. As part of our preservation original elements including marble fireplaces, pressed ceilings & wooden floors have been retained. Cloud 9 offers the guest original Victorian architecture combined with modern standards of services & accommodation, making this prestigious luxury boutique hotel the venue of choice for tourists, executives & other discerning travellers. All of this blends seamlessly together to provide the guest with a relaxed environment of contemporary elegance at the foot of the mountain. We now have Solar Power!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

12 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Cape Town Intl Airport
18.3 km
See all flights
609Reviews14Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 172
  • 61
  • 19
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CHWinelover wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place should get a 5 but there were some challenges they could not overcome. The location is wonderful, in a vibrant and safe neighborhood. The rooms were super clean and the staff very accommodating. Breakfast was included in the restaurant next door and a great spread (the cappuccino was excellent). The had issues with the lights that they were not able to fix so they moved us to another room. In both rooms, the TV did not work at first. The second room had not bathrooms mirrors only telescopic mirrors mounted to the wall. Both rooms were beautiful with plenty of space.
The rooftop bar has a great view of Table mountain and you can eat there too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hi Rolf Thank you again for your lovely review of our property! We are so glad you enjoyed the location, cleanliness of our rooms , breakfast and the service received from our staff! Electricity units have been replaced and everything in working order regarding the lights. Because we are 5 Heritage buildings we had to make use of the unique space of each building. This is why each room has a unique look and feel to it. Unfortunately the room you were in we could not do add mirrors above the basins hence the mounted mirrors and the reason we put a beautiful loose standing full length mirror in the bathroom as well:) We loved having you here with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your African Holiday!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janosch wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a family we had the pleasure to stay a couple of nights. We booked on a very short notice and Shadré and her team helped us fast and uncomplicated. Special parking was organised and we felt almost coming home after we booked for the third time.

The team is what you need. Very helpful and welcoming but not overly "staged" friendly.

Pictures on the page are a good reference to what you will find- wonderful place to relax and still be central in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Basson Liebenberg, Owner at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Dear Janosch and Family During these strange and very difficult times it really makes ones day to get a review like this! Thank you very much for your kind words, it was wonderful to meet and host you and your family and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marcj c wrote a review Aug 2021
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a little getaway from the kids, and made use of a special offer for Cloud 9. I can honestly say that it would be well worth the visit at far higher prices than we were lucky to get. The decor is simple and unpretentious, the building itself is quite quirky and characterful, and the facilities are great. Amazing views from the rooftop bar and the pool areas. Staff are friendly and efficient, and although a mistake or two was made with orders, they were quick to correct or suggest alternatives. And the food was truly superb. We had a sushi lunch which was beautifully presented and delicious, and the tapas we had for supper was excellent, not a dish among our selection was anything other than top notch. Negatives? The only thing I'd say is to do your research regarding which room you book for, because due to the complex of interlinked old buildings which makes up the hotel, the size, light and views seem to vary greatly. You can have views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Lion's Head, the city, or a wall. I'd highly recommend this place, and will be returning for a meal at the very least. Big ups to Gina who looked after us, she was great. Thank you Cloud 9!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 50 large but dark & no view. 5 Table Mountain balcony view. Street quiet after 10pm curfew...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Basson Liebenberg, Owner at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Wow, wow, wow!! Thanks Marc for such a lovely review regarding our property but especially our staff!! We really appriciate you taking the time to review us and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Will make sure all the staff, especially Geena sees your review and get to enjoy this wonderful list of compliments! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Shadre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anders L wrote a review Mar 2022
Mölndal12 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms.

We were a group of seven people and had five rooms, all of the rooms felt nice.

The roof top has a beautiful view over table mountain and the lions head.

The pool area and pool are quite small but nice.

The location is great, close too a lot of restaurants and stores.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Liebenberg, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and staff! We so glad all of you enjoyed our rooms, friendly staff, location and views from our rooftop restuarant! We hope to welcome you back real soon!! Kind regards Shadré
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben Ungermann wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa12 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Cloud 9 is so convenient. The foyer is welcoming with a lush plant wall with modern stylish African photos. The reception staff are accommodating, welcoming and very friendly.

Cloud 9 also has a roof top restaurant that produces innovative delicious and affordable meals.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Liebenberg, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Dear Ben Lovely meeting and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cape Town, with friendly service and great food:)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fazlin Ebrahim wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
CLOUD 9 hotel and spa in kloofnek made my anniversary very special I would recommend newly weds or even if you celebrating your honeymoon 😊Or any celebration

THank you Cloud 9 for making my 10th anniversary one to remember.
Friendly staff the room looked amazing.
Thank you for going out of your way with the flowers for making it extra special.
Will definitely recommend Cloud 9 to all my family and friends.
Had a lovely time..

Regards
Fazlin
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear Fazlin Its was an utmost pleasure spoiling you guys on your 10th year anniversary! Here at Cloud 9 we like to go the extra mile for all our guests and we so glad you enjoyed the personal touches we did to your room! Happy 10th Anniversary and wishing you healthy and happiness for the next to come!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arturo J wrote a review May 2023
22 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is absolutely gorgeous inside. Rooms had nice decor, and they were maintained very well. All employees from reception, to breakfast, to housekeeping were very accommodating and friendly. I hope to revisit this beautiful city and hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Owies, Revenue Management at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 25 May 2023
Thank you Arturo for your review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us - our facilities as well as our staff service. This in turn will hopefully ensure that this property becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flyingturtle69 wrote a review Mar 2021
Cape Town, South Africa39 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for pre birthday drinks. We were accommodated on the mezzanine level below the bar and above the pool/deck area. 5 outdoor stools for smokers very airy as the sliding windows allowed on the hot Sunday enough air to come in. We had drinks, bubbly and snacks. The music was lovely a little to quiet and as it was busy too little staff but I enjoyed the whole afternoon and we only left at 21h30. Hope it stays as it is and the mezzanine level gets a little more lounge atmosphere, other colours and candles or oil lamps. I loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Basson Liebenberg, Owner at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 04 Mar 2021
Thank you for your lovely review, we so happy you enjoyed your pre birthday drinks at our venue. Also thanks for the tips, we always looking at ways to improve our establishment. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajeev B wrote a review Oct 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa65 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is quite eclectic, with multiple small wings. Location is at the centre of a vibey neighbourhoud with many good restaurants and bars a short walk away. Supermarkets and other shops also very close by.

The rooms are average, with creaky wooden floors that let you know when your neighbour is walking around in their room. Cool-white lighting remove any feeling of warmth in the room. The hotel is not suited for business travel, as breakfast is only available from 8am and there isn't really a provision for working space in the room (eg no desk light on the table).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: View you room first, as they have different views of Table Mountain. Also the bathroom config may...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadre Liebenberg, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 04 Nov 2021
Hi Rajeev Was lovely meeting you and thank you for taking the time to review our property, we always look at ways to improve and better ourselves. So glad you enjoyed the look and location of the hotel. Most of our rooms have warm lighting and vinyl flooring and we would have gladly moved you to a room more suited for you needs if we knew. The restaurant is also open in full swing and open from 7am to 11pm, daily. Kind regards Shadre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marianne V wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia42 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
lovely boutique hotel with a family feel. Set in conjoined grand buildings, rooms are nice, great king bed, good bed linen, but could improve with better light in bathroom and thicker towels.
This is minor though, as rooftop and breakfast is good, girls in the Spa are wonderful (have a massage, great value too) and Jeanette on reception was always up for a laugh and happy to help.
Surrounding area has a real restaurant and bar vibe, with the fabulous Kloof Street House just 5 minutes walk away. Felt like a cool neighbourhood and easy $8 taxi into Capetown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Room 37 was huge!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Revenue Management, Revenue Management at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 08 Oct 2023
Good day, Thank you for visiting us recently and sharing your experience. We are delighted to note you enjoyed your stay with us. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Cloud 9 becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 16Bonnie
Parker, Colorado407 contributions110 helpful votes
I'm sorry, I didn't see this until now. We didn't park there. We had transfers our consultant set up for us. It didn't look like there was super easy parking, but I would contact the hotel and ask. They were very helpful with all our questions. Enjoy!
Rasmus P asked a question Sept 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark53 contributions98 helpful votes
Does this hotel have its own generator for when loadshedding takes place?
Answer from happydays356
Glasgow, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes it does.
Answer from Arie K
40 contributions19 helpful votes
The waterfront is a bus ride or a short taxi ride. The Hotel is closer to the Table Mountain location than the waterfront. I do not recall a water kettle, but the staff is extremely accommodating. As to the best room for you - since we stayed in one room and were a couple, I am not sure I can answer. Again I suggest you communicate your concerns to the Hotel staff
Melanin Queen asked a question Mar 2018
21 contributions14 helpful votes
Are guests allowed to use the pool during the water shortage?
Answer from Cloud 9
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Our main swimming pool on the rooftop bar will stay open. Hotel Cloud9 has further implemented the following water saving measures: • Tap aerators have been installed in hand basins • Bath plugs have been removed • Laundry operations have been reduced - linen is changed every 3-4 days only • Laundry will be outsourced to ‘borehole’ laundry operator • We educate guests in welcome letters and with posters to save water • All bottled water for resale at the hotel is sourced from areas unaffected by the drought • Our rooftop swimming pool will be topped up with harvested water and/or non-municipal water purchased from outlying areas unaffected by drought. • Free drinking water in coolers is available to guests and is sourced from outlying areas unaffected by drought. We have a minimum of 2500L bottled water in safe storage. • We are fresh water in tanks with a total capacity of 12.500L. If necessary we will refill them with water sourced from areas unaffected by drought. • Downstairs swimming pool can be converted to an additional water reservoir with a capacity of 7500L Summary: based on council statements we don’t expect disruptions in water supply but if this happens we have 20.000L available from our reservoirs to guarantee uninterrupted supply to our rooms in addition to 2500L bottled drinking water. Refilling will happen from non-municipal sources.
Lars N wrote a tip Mar 2024
Copenhagen, Denmark5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Uber app (taxi) works perfect. In the app: Choose "black car". It is more expensive, but the taxis arrive on time and are clean."
Read full review
geezers2 wrote a tip Dec 2023
geezers252 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look out for the weird pool (bird bath) at the end of the restaurant, very weird."
Read full review
Hannah J wrote a tip Nov 2023
103 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking around the back for those who have a car, great WiFi so easy to order Uber"
Read full review
Björn P wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in room 20 during winter :-)"
Read full review
Marianne V wrote a tip Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia42 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 37 was huge!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,418 - R 1,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Leeuwenvoet House
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town CentralCity Bowl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLOUD 9 BOUTIQUE HOTEL & SPA - Now R 1 487 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶8̶3̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Black Sheep Agency (0.7 km), Vortex Shisha (0.3 km), and Christopher Moller Gallery (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller's Thumb, The Black Sheep Restaurant, and Thali.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (1.2 km), City Hall (1.1 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (1.1 km).
Does Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire