Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place

Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place

Traveller (577)
Panorama of the Pool at the Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
360
Panoramas (15)
Table Mountain
Room & Suite (394)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#46 of 116 hotels in Cape Town Central
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
This iconic building is located in the heart of Cape Town’s cultural quarter, redefining spacious and contemporary living with luxurious all-suite style apartments. In close proximity there is a host of leisure options where you can meet, shop, relax, dine and explore the myriad of both business and cultural landmarks. The apartment five-star amenities, including a rooftop swimming pool, wireless internet as well as undercover parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Coffee shop
Walking tours
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cape Town Intl Airport
17.5 km
See all flights
1,277Review43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 657
  • 432
  • 104
  • 44
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trek755263 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I stayed a week in a superior apartment overlooking Table Mountain. The apartment was absolutely fantastic: fully equipped kitchen with modern over, stovetop, microwave and as a bonus, a washing machine. A spacious living room with a dining table and couch as well as a desk. We had a separate bedroom with a double bed, nightstands and a spacious cupboard. The bathroom was spacious as well and everything was spotlessly clean. If I have to find something to complain about, I found the bed not up to the same standard as everything else, as I could feel the springs of the mattress and did not have full comfort on the bed. This might be a matter of taste though.

The pool in the property is one of the best hotel pools I've seen. It's about 1.5 metres deep and 20 metres long, so you can actually have a proper swim and not just a splash.

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Stober Tours has an office right next to the reception. You can get airport transfers and a variety of tours in the city and the surrounding area from them. Their service was immaculate, highly recommended.

The location of the property is very good. The only better location would be the V&A Waterfront, which is one of the best going out and shopping areas I've seen anywhere in the world. But it's a 10 min taxi drive away (prefer Uber btw, taxis try to rip tourists off and Uber works very well) from the hotel. The downtown area is safe to walk around in. The only nuisance are the beggars that are sometimes annoyingly persistent but we never felt any danger coming from them. Keep your normal street-smart wits about you and you'll be fine.

Cape Town is a fantastic holiday destination and staying at Mandela Rhodes is surely going to make you enjoy your stay in full!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandelaRhodesPlace, Manager at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest We want to thank you for taking the time in providing us with your realistic and honest feedback. It is always heart warming to receive such excellent feedback from our guests. We would like to invite you back soon and by offering you a special loyalty discount!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wendy50harvey wrote a review Feb 2020
Suffolk, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Cape Town in South Africa and stayed at this great hotel called Mandela Rhodes in the town centre. It was the first holiday that we have ever tried booking a two bed apartment. The flat was within this hotel and had a large sitting room/lounge kitchen, fridge, freezer, washing machine and dryer. The flat was cleaned daily, new linen supplied. We paid for breakfast and went to one of the three restaurants at the base of the hotel. Motherland was a coffee house, fresh coffee, choice of fresh pastries and anything you wanted, the staff great always greeted with a smile. We visited South Point, went on Safari, walked on Table Mountain, hopped on and off the blue and red buses and visited a the vineyards. To top it off at the end of the day there was a outdoor swimming pool on the roof. The receptionist were so helpful and kind, particularly Wendy. We give it 10 out of 10 please don’t miss going, wonderful weather, England v South Africa cricket and such cheap meals in Resturant’s all fresh food. Left beautiful weather 29 degrees and came back home to rain and 2 degrees. The memories will stay with us a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandelaRhodesPlace, Manager at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Harvey Family Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased that you had a memorable time in Cape Town. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dazcon29 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was straight forward the apartment very spacious and clean. Free bottle of wine was a nice touch and we enjoyed it on the large balcony with stunning views of table mountain and the city. The apartment is quite well equipped but there were a couple of minor maintenance issues. That and the area outside the hotel being a little unsafe after dark mean that the hotel loses a star.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a high floor with mountain view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandelaRhodesPlace, Manager at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Dazcon Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Together with the CCID (as any other hotel) we strive to do our best in keeping the streets safe. We even go as far as advising our guests on safety tips around Cape Town. There are lovely restaurants in our Mandela Rhodes Place building with 24hour security, to ensure all our guests are taken care of. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nazlig63 wrote a review Apr 2024
Gauteng, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow upmarket! stylish, contemporary urban apartment, in the heart of Cape Town surrounded by historical buildings, how epic and fitting for it to be called Mandela Rhodes place and acknowledge our own iconic father of our nation! I took a walk around this area and remembered 37yrs ago as a Uct drama student frequenting this popular area; If you need to experience the above and be near the waterfront, table mountain, st George's cathedral, the gardens etc, and feel close to our father of the nation, Madiba watching over you while you soak up the sun lounging on the roof top near the pool. then,I urge you to book in here! this month its freedom month, so do the right thing, Thank you Mandela rhodes place, Jaco, Janice and the staff for supporting Safta award winner Nazli George Aunty Ivy from 7de laan work soon to be seen as Ragel in Skemergrond on Kyknet. A gem in the heart ❤️ of the city.I can't wait to be back, lots of love to you all 🙏 ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: A must in the heart of Cape Town city
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Revenue Management, Revenue Management at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 07 Apr 2024
Dear Nazli, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your kind words about our staff and amenities truly made our day. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay wrote a review Nov 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival when opening the unit there was a very bad odor from the carpets, as someone with sinuses the smell hit me instantly. There was zero room service, we stayed for 5 nights and only after complaining and begging we got towels changed for us on night 4! The unit was only cleaned once for the entire duration we were there. We didn't have an iron either and reception was unable to help and we went knocking on other peoples units asking for an iron as we were pretty desperate, on a daily basis we knocked on other peoples units to borrow their irons. That was very insulting to say the least. Personally I would never ever go back and it really made our holiday a little damp, we only found joy when we left the building.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Revenue Management, Revenue Management at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 05 Nov 2023
Dear Tebatso. We are extremely sorry to hear about the experience you had – as this vicinity is a mixture of residents, Airbnb and other short term outlets, this listing often gets mistaken with all the units in the building and hope your host will resolve. Kindest Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
manvanstaal2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Average stay. Breakfast options were great but quality of room and service was only ok. Fittings (toilette, shower, basins) were loose, roof had water damage stains, and phone system did not work. Lots of space though and location is good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MandelaRhodesPlace, Manager at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear Manvanstaal Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to extend our email address to receive in depth feedback. It is always disheartening to hear that there were minor details to your stay that stood out for you to perhaps create a bad experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on marketing@mandelarhodesplace.co.za
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nico wrote a review Mar 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would avoid this hotel at all costs, poor customer service. I had to cancel due to covid as I could not travel out of my country and despite having a fully refundable booking, several months later I am still awaiting a refund. The hotel do not even have the courtesy to respond to emails.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam543913 wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at Mandela Rhodes for my Cape Town cycle tour . I is closer to the start point . I enjoyed my stay there. I also enjoyed seamless communication and extra services offered . The check in process was also seamless
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Revenue Management, Revenue Management at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 19 Mar 2024
Good day, thank you so much for your feedback - delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M6563DLarung wrote a review Nov 2023
Bengaluru, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Service is terrible. Plan your visit accordingly if you have no choice but to stay here. They don't even respond after office hours. Even if you pay for wifi they say it's under maintenance. Better stay in economical hotels instead of these service apartment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Revenue Management, Revenue Management at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Good day. We are extremely sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay – we believe that your issue was resolved and clarified that your wifi was not included in the rate you paid with your agent. Thank you for staying with us and we do apologize for any misunderstanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Sept 2020
Alamogordo, New Mexico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing trip clean, comfortable, safe and very affordable accommodations that one would expect in any major city. Internet. modern, friendly staff and in the center of it all. Was able to travel easily to the wine country to see 7 Sisters Winery, the Cape and even the Pink Zone of Cape Town. Safe, reasonable a must stay when visiting Cape Town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Paula F
Cape Town Central, South Africa83 contributions32 helpful votes
Yes there are safes in all rooms at no extra cost. The area around the hotel is all well lit, you are right in the centre. The beggars can be quite persistent at night, particularly if they see you coming in and out of the hotel (understandable!). Just be firm and polite. During the day there were a lot of visible policing around. Long Street is fairly notorious however, I never took a handbag out with me
Answer from Dazcon29
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Was there 2nd to 11th Jan the pool was open.
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes there are it's called Bukhara in CBD Cape Town, it's a Indian, Asian restaurant they are vegetarian friendly. When you in Cape Town call 021-4240000
Lynne D asked a question Jul 2019
Detroit, Michigan184 contributions36 helpful votes
Is there a car hire at the hotel? Thanks.
Answer from MamaAyinde
Stanford, CA249 contributions101 helpful votes
I don’t recall but I rented a car using one of the car rental websites for pickup at the Cape Town airport, and that worked out great. And there’s parking in the hotel. Uber is common in Cape Town too.
Nazlig63 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Gauteng, South Africa659 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A must in the heart of Cape Town city "
Read full review
Dazcon29 wrote a tip Jan 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a high floor with mountain view."
Read full review
Travelfromhampshire wrote a tip Aug 2019
Guildford76 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher the better for views"
Read full review
Hotdaddy wrote a tip Mar 2019
New York City, New York8 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the 3rd floor are noisy but great views to Table Mountain"
Read full review
Taylor-Made Adventures wrote a tip Oct 2018
Cape Town, South Africa50 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher the better the view of the city and table mountain"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 862 - R 1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mandela rhodes place hotel cape town central, mandela rhodes place cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town CentralCity Bowl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APARTMENTS IN MANDELA RHODES PLACE - Now R 945 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶2̶7̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Which popular attractions are close to Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Nearby attractions include Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve (0.2 km), Company's Gardens (0.4 km), and St. George's Cathedral (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, room service, and paid wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cousins Trattoria, FYN, and Bouchon Wine Bar & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cape Town Central.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (0.1 km), City Hall (1.1 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (0.5 km).
Does Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near Apartments in Mandela Rhodes Place
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire