We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites

17 Breda Street Gardens/Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (40)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#52 of 80 guest houses in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on the lower slopes of Table Mountain and dating back to 1852 these two mansions have been restored to their former glory to host you in either The Guest House or Harrow House Executive Suites. A 4 star Guest House and Executive Apartment Suites. A tree-lined oasis and architectural gem in the heart of Cape Town -. away from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet only a 10-minute walk through the scenic Company Gardens into the City Centre shopping center, are within easy walking distance. There are many restaurants within walking distance. A home from home atmosphere prevails with Cape Historical charm. Luxury white cotton percale linen, white absorbent towels, and antique fittings. An Honesty bar, swimming pool, and travel desk information as well as a business center with conference room, Computer, and printer, and Fibre line available throughout are all available for our guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bowling offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
185Reviews0Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 61
  • 23
  • 15
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Audrey / Sanityfound wrote a review 22 Feb
St. Petersburg, Florida26 contributions27 helpful votes
I've stayed at a few different places when I return to Cape Town for a vacation but it's been a while since I stayed in such a beautiful historic guesthouse! Everyone was super friendly and helpful, the breakfast absolutely delicious, and the overall look of everything was made to make you feel at home and relaxed. The rooms were super clean, beautifully decorated, and so so comfortable! Location wise - it is perfectly located to near downtown, making exploring Cape Town a breeze. I don't drive on the wrong side of the road so walkability was a must when looking for the perfect place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Auds, it was a pleasure to host you and I'm so glad you appreciated our little touches for your comfort. We look forward to hosting you again when you next visit. Safe travels home Michelle
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vuvub wrote a review 14 Feb
1 contribution
The toilet leaks throughout the night and makes a sound. When I reported it nothing was done. They knocked at my door at my door shortly after 10am to remind me of checkout My stay was just terrible here
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Vuyo, Thanks for your review - your toilet WAS fixed immediately - Let me teach you WHY a toilet would run. If you push the toilet handle down too hard so that it sticks in the down position, it will run until the handle is lifted. I do belive that my manager did explain this to you. We knocked on your door at precisely 10.15 am (I went to check the cameras) to remind you that check-out was at 10 am as you had failed to arrive for breakfast too. As much as you think this is rude, we also have deadlines to adhere too in re-making and cleansing the rooms for the next guests. A knock on your door is a very polite way of "waking you up" if you had overslept - what would be rude is us using our staff key and just walking into the room. Kindly try to have some respect and stick to check-in and check-out times - they are in place for a reason. I hope you find a better place to stay next time, as the majority of our guests really enjoy our facilities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage64488089898 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Had an amazing stay at Mountain Manor! The location is perfect - just a short walk or Uber ride to the beach, many restaurants, shops. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and went out of there way to make sure I had a comfortable stay. I would highly recommend this guesthouse for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Cape Town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TheAlienProf wrote a review Mar 2023
Grahamstown, South Africa30 contributions9 helpful votes
My wife and I spent a night here in March 2023. The location is excellent, with the Gardens shopping centre just around the corner. The rooms are well furnished, and Peggy was very friendly and very helpful. The parking is a little tight, but this is central Cape Town, and having off-street parking available is a bonus.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 09 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mountain Manor and thank you for the compliments, especially for Peggy, who is absolutely amazing. We hope you had safe travels and that you will visit us next time you are in Cape Town. Kind regards Michelle
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Redcoco wrote a review Mar 2023
Kent, United Kingdom103 contributions62 helpful votes
Booked this very late as i was let down by a booked house. Was met by Michelle the proprietor at the gate and was soon shown where to park hire car in secure gated area. Its a lovely old house oozing character. I had Suite 19, very nice with high ceilings and big windows. Very Comfy Bed with crisp white linen. !!!! Balcony looking out to the pool area. Grapevines on the balcony. Smiley happy courteous staff. Lots of quirky places to relax with an honesty bar to boot. You must book a table at Nelsons Eye Restaurant. Location is perfect for everything you need with Huge Supermarket 5 min walk away. Stayed for 4 nights. Could have stayed for 2 weeks easy. Taxi to airport was approx 40 mins. Would certainly recommend. Top Notch.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 09 Apr 2023
We are SO happy that you appreciated all that we have on offer. It was an absolute pleasure to host you. Hoping your next trip is sooner than later..... Stay well KInd regards Michelle
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Excursion820482 wrote a review Jan 2023
6 contributions5 helpful votes
loved the whole set up - the gardens, the birds, the pool and the food. while I was there I also got to experience a few networking events that Michelle hosts- like curry night, and singles night. fab idea
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
A8512IFchrisw wrote a review Oct 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
After a long day in the office Mountain Manor was a friendly atmosphere to kick back and relax at the end of a busy. Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds for a good nights sleep. All in all a most enjoyable experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 07 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Michelle (owner)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chica wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I had a lovely sports afternoon at Mountain Manor on Saturday watching the Springboks beat the All Blacks. Super venue, super service. It was a lovely sunshiny day, and even if it was wet and rainy, the venue would have been perfect with the fireplace ready for any change in the weather.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janet v wrote a review Dec 2021
Hermanus, South Africa1038 contributions193 helpful votes
+1
Worthwhile if you want to be on the center of town and within close proximity of the waterfront and other tourist attractions. The Manor House has an olde world feel with wooden floor boards and antique furniture. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are cosy. Michelle is very hands-on. We would have appreciated proper coffee and milk in the rooms instead of Nescafé. We also needed a mini-bar for our white wine but were able to use the refrigerator in the kitchen at least.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get the blue route sightseeing bus down the road near to Mount Nelson.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sunshine66374 wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
I booked a business meeting at Mountain Manor again yesterday in the breakfast room, and as always the service was professional, friendly and competent. On the way back I popped in to the nearby Gardens shopping centre and I just thought again how very central the Manor is to so many shops and restaurants in the vicinity.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Whitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Responded 05 Dec 2021
It is always a pleasure to host such a wonderful, cheerful person. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,152 - R 3,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town CentralOranjezicht
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN MANOR GUESTHOUSE & EXECUTIVE SUITES - Now R 1 672 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶9̶7̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Nearby attractions include Cape Town Holocaust & Genocide Centre (0.5 km), One Day Cape Town (0.4 km), and City Hall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Woodlands Eatery, Nelson's Eye, and Aubergine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mountain Manor Guesthouse & Executive Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.