We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rosedene Guest House

Save
Share
28 Upper Kloof Street Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#32 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Cape Town Central? Then look no further than Rosedene Guest House, a charming guest house that brings the best of Cape Town Central to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Rosedene Guest House offers guests free wifi.

The guest house features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and newspaper. Plus, Rosedene Guest House offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Close to some of Cape Town Central's most popular landmarks, such as Oranjezicht City Farm (0.8 mi) and Iziko Slave Lodge (1.3 mi), Rosedene Guest House is a great destination for tourists.

If you’re looking for an Asian restaurant, consider a visit to Willoughby & Co, Beluga Restaurant, or Nobu, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Rosedene Guest House.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Long Street (1.1 mi) and Company's Gardens (1.0 mi), which are all within walking distance of the guest house.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Rosedene Guest House as you experience everything Cape Town Central has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Patio
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
366Reviews5Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 280
  • 69
  • 14
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jig P wrote a review Mar 2020
Croydon, United Kingdom22 contributions25 helpful votes
Beautiful guest house tastefully furnished. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Secure, right under table top mountain. Good breakfast selection. Spacious rooms (creaky floor boards). No obvious satellite tv (not an issue for me). Really recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Monty Stoller wrote a review Mar 2020
Stäfa, Switzerland312 contributions120 helpful votes
During our stay in Cape Town we were allowed to spend 4 nights in Rosedene Guest House. The hotel is very centrally located and all sights are within a few minutes drive. Innumerable restaurants are also within walking distance. We stayed in the family room, which is actually a row house with its own kitchen. The rooms are lovingly furnished and offer the necessary comfort. Also the living room is cosy and the two wet cells are excellent for a family. The hotel has a beautiful garden, which invites you to relax. The small pool also offers a wonderful cooling off. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very tasty. The hotel also fulfilled our special request to pack our breakfast for the hike on Table Mountain. Finally, we already started at 06.00 o'clock. Also we could use the daily Wine Tasting. The always friendly staff is also to be emphasized. From the check-in to the breakfast and the cleaning staff. Everything always helpful and friendly. Internet signal was strong. Only and alone the electricity failed at times. But unfortunately this is due to the electricity problems of the city. The hotel informed us if always early or installed candles depending on the time of day. Since we parked our rental car on the hotel's own parking lots, we used exclusively the hotel's recommended driver "Tiger" for the sights in the city center. One of a kind! Tiger is super punctual, always available and a perfect driver. Especially we enjoyed his joy of life! If you feel the same way and want to leave the car behind, book Tiger! You will not regret it! Many thanks to the whole team - Rosedene Guest House is absolutely recommendable!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, Front Office Manager at Rosedene Guest House
Responded 12 Mar 2020
How very kind of you to give us such wonderful feedback! We take pride in making our guests feel welcome and special and we are so pleased we were able to look after your every need. We thank you for choosing Rosedene to stay at whilst in Cape Town and are thrilled you had a great holiday. We hope you return one day to see a bit more of our Mother City and spend your inbetween time with us. Warm regards, All the Rosedene Staff
Read more
cwadki862284 wrote a review Feb 2020
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
Staff always helpful, organised taxis, helped us with directions. Rooms were spacious. Breakfast buffet was excellent followed by cooked breakfast. Sundowners were people can mix or sit out in gardens.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, Front Office Manager at Rosedene Guest House
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Thank you for staying with us at Rosedene. we hope to see you again sometime.
Read more
Peter wrote a review Feb 2020
Antwerp, Belgium8058 contributions604 helpful votes
Perfect location, in view of Table Mountain and in the proximity of several restaurants. Good night's rest, decent breakfast, very friendly staff in this small sized guest house. Unfortunately, there is no generator in the compound. So, whenever the power authority decides to take the light, one has to wait patiently for the light to return. Food for thought for the management.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Rosedene2019, Manager at Rosedene Guest House
Responded 08 Feb 2020
Hello Peter, Thank you for choosing Rosedene Guest House. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comment, we certainly agree and have been researching the best possible option for a generator. The biggest concern is the noise factor, considering that the outages happen most often during the night hours and early morning ie. off peak hours as the Municipality likes to call it. Looking forward to your next stay Best Regards Rosedene Guest House
Read more
sandrasthlm wrote a review Jan 2020
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
Calm and nice location. Lovely garden with lot of space for relaxation. Nice (but cold) pool, perfect for a plunge after a long, warm day. Nice decor, clean and comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Lovely view of Table Mountain, Lions Head. Great breakfast with lots of choices, loved all the fresh fruits and the eggs made on order. Lovely stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from RosedeneGuestHouse, Front Office Manager at Rosedene Guest House
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and that you had a pleasant stay with us! We are pleased you were able to stay a few days and enjoy our hospitality. Warm regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town CentralCity Bowl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rosedene Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Rosedene Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Planet Bar (1.1 km), India Venster (1.1 km), and De Waal Park (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rosedene Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Rosedene Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rosedene Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Rosedene Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rosedene Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miller's Thumb, The Black Sheep Restaurant, and Lord Nelson Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rosedene Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Rosedene Guest House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Rosedene Guest House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rosedene Guest House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rosedene Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Rosedene Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (2.1 km), City Hall (1.6 km), and Irma Stern Museum (6.4 km).