Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments

Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments

missing room safe
Traveller (41)
One bedroom apartment
Room & Suite (38)
Magnificent views direct from the pool over the western coast
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#41 of 50 apartments in Cape Town Central
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
For guests who prefer a little “home away from home” we offer 28 fully equipped and serviced apartments. Most rooms have magical views of the Atlantic Ocean, whilst other rooms have views of the unique Lion’s Head Mountain. The fully serviced apartments are ideal for families, long stays and self catering holidays.The apartments are located across from the Ambassador Hotel and guests have the full hotel service available to them including room service, pool access and complimentary wireless connection for the duration of your stay.The 1 and 2 bedroom self catering apartments are comfortably decorated and are equipped with air conditioners, king, queen or twin beds, fully fitted kitchens and are serviced daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury

Location

28 Victoria Road, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Cape Town Intl Airport
21.1 km
See all flights
68Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 18
  • 11
  • 6
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
waukeen wrote a review Oct 2014
Perth, Australia39 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great spot in Bantry Bay. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with sea views. Right across the road from the hotel, so access to the hotel facilities but more room than the hotel rooms. Loved the valet parking and other small touches such a lemons in the apartment and chocolates and water with room service turn up. So convenient with walking access to beaches. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Responded 13 Oct 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us. We are extremely lucky to have such a beautiful location, and to add great service to this makes for an all round exceptional stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Vassiliki Evripiotis Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nkosana M wrote a review Aug 2014
34 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The great reception is always important as it gives an assurance that the stay will be enjoyable, indeed that is a recap of my stay at the self catering apartments. Was disappointed at first when I got to the room and it was still smelling with fresh paint. The scaffolding on the balcony of the apartment was a definite "NO".

Luckily I was given another room which had the best view without any sight of scaffolding. The two bedroom apartment had everything one can wish for on such a travel. The main bedroom was very spacious with a huge bathroom boasting a separate shower and bath. The lounge area was homely but definitely needs new couches. The cleaning staff is very efficient and move in quietly cleaning around YOU with little distraction. The location definitely makes up for other disappointments....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Responded 13 Oct 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, and your kind words about the apartment itself and our staff. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially once we were able to accommodate you in another apartment due to the refurbishment that was taking place. The refurbishment is now complete, therefore no more scaffolding! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Vassiliki Evripiotis Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
colleenct wrote a review Jul 2014
CT27 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the two bedroom apartment for a weekend away. We wanted to do tourist outings in our own city. Check in was efficient. Staff friendly and helpful. The apartment was exactly what we required. Lovely sea view. Comfortable beds. Breakfast included in the price is served at Koi, the restaurant at Ambassador Hotel across the road. Continental and hot breakfast is served. You pay for extras such as capuccinos. We walked to the promenade where we hired bikes from Upcycles and cycled along seafront to Green Point Park. We went to a show in Camps Bay and took the boat to Robben Island so the position of apartments are perfect for walking and taking the bus. The bus stop for hop on hop off bus is around the corner. It is convenient that there is a kitchen in the apartment for light meals to be made when you don't feel like going out. Our friends stayed in the one bedroom apartment which had a separate lounge with couches and dining table. The staff brought a single bed into the lounge for an extra child and there was still enough space for all of us to visit that apartment! The apartment numbers we booked were 1403 (one bedroom) and 1406. Only complaint is that the key cards are very sensitive and we had to call for replacement cards twice in order to gain access to room 1406. Will most definitely stay here again when next we feel like a city escape.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vassiliki E, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Responded 13 Oct 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everything from the location, to the hotel and the service was up to standard. We strive on our professional and friendly service, therefore I am glad you got to experience that first-hand. It seems that you did and saw every aspect of Cape Town that you wanted to, and it is lovely to hear that this was all very convenient to do by staying at the hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the key cards. We have recently had all our locks on the hotel side and the apartments serviced, and we are now noticing that guests are complaining less and less. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Vassiliki Evripiotis Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hooggenoeg wrote a review Jan 2016
Cape Town, South Africa3,006 contributions432 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Ambassador Hotel will shortly close, as it has been sold and will be developed into apartments that will be sold. The service yesterday was very poor. At the cost of R1500 I got a room without a mini-bar and only a shower, with a shocking view - see views attached. Even the chairs in the restaurant are broken!

They should rather close this place down immediately, it has become a back-packer lodge, while marketing itself as a top-notch hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shane S wrote a review Jan 2016
2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay anywhere else the place is foul. ..have to fight your way past a swarm of other complaining guests to get to reception, rundown nothing works and not clean. Manager refuses to deal with guests seems messages through untrained and unhelpful staff. room was downgraded but refused to discuss refund.
Pic of the bath says it all!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Eaton wrote a review Jul 2014
Cirencester, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in apts which were terrible with workmen hanging outside your bedroom window. Entrance covered in dust sheets and smell of paint.Moved to hotel which is shabby and desperate need of makeover. Have left comments before but somehow removed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt G wrote a review Oct 2013
Houston, Texas85 contributions100 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the misfortune of staying here for 2 nights!

The Ambassador is billed as 5* accommodation the first misrepresentation, it is also billed by them of course to be quality accommodation, second misrepresentation!

To summerize the accommodation, dirty, smelly, dank, outdated I was disgusted!

Do not eat at their onsite restaurant KOI either, it is run by idiots, rude ones at that, and the chef must come from the bush as he / she has no idea about Asian food. I REFUSED TO PAY MY BILL

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS - PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: None of them
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AmbassadorCPTManager, General Manager at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Responded 04 Apr 2014
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. At the same time, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in the apartments and for the poor service experienced at KOI restaurant. We have started with major building and interior upgrades last year November. We unfortunately had to halt the project in December 2013 due to high occupancies. We plan on continuing with the upgrades from May 2014 and hope to have the project completed by August 2014. Please send us your contact details as we would like to invite you back once the renovations have been completed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
479Liz wrote a review Oct 2012
Amersham, United Kingdom59 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked on the basis of the advertising blurb saying it was luxury accommodation with good sea views. It turned out to be sparsely furnished, in a run down tennement building, with sea views across the hotel roof opposite. This was a real let down given how much I looked forward to my arrival in Capetown.
immediately complained to the Ambassador Hotel just across the road and within a day I was moved into the hotel. Which was better, but I am disappointed that I had to deal with this after a long flight and consider the advertising to be total misrepresentation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
savant wrote a review Dec 2015
London22 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As the other recent reviewers mentioned, the view is excellent. But everything else is terrible, from service (clueless employees), to the facilities (pool area falling apart, weak breakfast). The hotel is actually closing down mid 2016 and will be converted to apartments. But the management apparently decided to squeeze some extra money out of travellers during the 2015/16 season with minimal cost on their part. Well, TripAdvisor users know better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
583antoinettet wrote a review Nov 2015
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at this hotel and was quickly disappointed. Apart from the view and the excellent location the place is dismal. The building is old and while the studio flat I rented was roomy and clean the facilities were not good. One morning there was no hot water, the TV didn't work, the remote of the aircon didn't work. They advertise that they have WiFi, they do not! It didn't work throughout my stay. The quality of service terrible. The staff are rude and make promises they cannot keep. The room is quite expensive considering what you get. Not value for money best be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
christophws wrote a tip May 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa60 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"book a other hotel"
Read full review
Katarina O wrote a tip Mar 2016
Bournemouth, United Kingdom49 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a clue"
Read full review
Chris H wrote a tip Mar 2016
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from home to home facilities"
Read full review
TDCM8 wrote a tip Feb 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a sea view room"
Read full review
Maura Rose M wrote a tip Feb 2016
Dublin, Ireland87 contributions65 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Apartments across the road may not have views. For my birthday, staff arranged chocolates and champagne!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMBASSADOR SELF-CATERING APARTMENTS - Apartment Reviews (Cape Town Central, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Mojo Market (1.0 km), Sea Point swimming pool (1.0 km), and The Point (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include NV-80 Grill & Bar, Jarryds Brunch & Bistro, and Grand Pavilion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (3.8 km), City Hall (3.8 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (3.4 km).
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near Ambassador Self-Catering Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire