We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Commodore

Portwood Rd Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (649)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (444)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#42 of 116 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, German
1923Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 765
  • 839
  • 223
  • 56
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jonathan Williams wrote a review Today
Coventry, United Kingdom116 contributions57 helpful votes
As I compose this review, I’m lounging by the hotel pool; folk are quiet, reading, relaxing and enjoying the warm sun and the sound of the nearby waterfall. If you need what I’ve described, book to stay here. We’ve been here twice now, 6 nights in total. The service is exemplary. The food, excellent. Cleanliness of the room, impressive. Service from Guest relations lady, Giji, above and beyond expectations. Reception staff, most helpful. Concierge very good taking care of luggage and security. I can’t recommend this hotel more highly. It’s in a great position near to the V&A waterfront where we felt very safe. There were numerous security men patrolling and they were very visible and engaged. An ideal hotel for visiting Stellenbosch, Constantia and of course, Robben Island; all of which are not to be missed. We are already planning a return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mojoblue717 wrote a review 17 Feb
Manchester, United Kingdom2967 contributions364 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for one night only prior to joining our cruise ship. Decent, if old fashioned hotel, decor based on a seafaring theme, but well situated for the Cruise Port, & only a short walk to the V & A Waterfront & all its attractions. Good service from friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet in the Clipper Restaurant, as well as an ok meal the night we arrived. Comfortable lounge attached to the Admiralty Bar, nice outside dining area in a pleasant courtyard, with a small pool area attached. large comfortable standard bedroom, though lighting was poor. Never made use of any facilities, as only a short overnight stay & probably would want something with more about it, if staying in Capetown for any length of time. Recommended as a pre-cruise hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Cape Town 💃💃💃 What a way to start my morning, thank you for the awesome review. We are ecstatic that you had a wonderful stay and such detail feedback❤️❤️❤️ I love it We hope next time you can stay abit longer with us. Kind Regards Gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael O wrote a review 13 Feb
Lancashire, United Kingdom39 contributions37 helpful votes
We had a four night stay at the Commodore with friends in January and would definitely recommend it as a safe and well located base in Cape Town. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent - breakfast had a good choice including freshly cooked omelets etc and we also ate there one night, which was very good too. The pool area is a pleasant and quiet spot and you could always find a lounger. No issues with the room - it was large and comfortable. Safety is, sadly, a concern in some parts of Cape Town, but there were absolutely no problems here - it was literally a 2 minute walk onto the V&A waterfront and we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Reception staff are very helpful - for example they arranged a minibus with driver for a day trip...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Michael, Thank you for the 5* rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff service exceptional. We pride ourselves in the service we deliver, and it is always good to hear that the staff are friendly and exceptional. Hope you had a wonderful trip filled with memories to last a lifetime! Wishing you a wonderful year ahead until you return again. Kind Regards Gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Riffman1 wrote a review 07 Feb
Chester, United Kingdom63 contributions28 helpful votes
As others have said- great location to visit capetown. Breakfast very good and a fantastic choice Rooms a bit dated- and why have a balcony then no table and chairs to sit on it ? Biggest gripe is the old noisy air conditioning unit in the room - choose to sleep in a sauna or bring earplugs
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Riffman, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review & thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding the noisy air conditioners, and I will definitely look into the concern. Chairs are on request for the balcony, as this is just a step out balcony. Best Regards Gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
crickets12345 wrote a review 07 Feb
Greater London, United Kingdom299 contributions35 helpful votes
Our second time staying here and it was excellent as usual. Staff are brilliant, breakfast is probably the best I have had anywhere in the world. The hotel and grounds are spotless .my only slight moan and it is very minor is please buy some new umbrellas for the pool area they are stained and falling to bits. Great location and only a two minute walk to the V&A Waterfront area which has some lovely restaurants 10/10 from me
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Cape Town :) We trust you have reached back home safely or enjoying your next vacation 💃💃💃 Thank you for taking the time out to review us. Thank you for bring the umbrellas to our attention, I will surely take it up with the area manager. Wishing you a wonderful year ahead, we hope to welcome you back. Kind regards gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter H wrote a review 06 Feb
Bath, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
This is my first time in South Africa, on a work trip spending 5 weeks (!) in the Commodore. So I've had a good while to experience the hotel & leave a balanced review. Good things: * Clean & spacious room * Excellent room service * Good unlimited breakfast * Friendly & accommodating staff * Reasonable prices - food & drink * Very close to V&A Waterfront * Air conditioning works fine (if a little noisy, but what do you expect?!) Not so good things: * Price of laundry is really high - luckily there's a launderette nearby which does same-day service washes & will deliver back to the Commodore front desk by end of day * No stairs (there are stairs for an emergency, don't worry, but during the day they're staff only) so you have to use the lifts * Lifts are a bit temperamental Overall very impressed - the stay's been a pleasure & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pete, Greetings :) We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff service exceptional. We pride ourselves in the service we deliver, and it is always good to hear that the staff are friendly and exceptional. Thank you for listing the Good and Not so good, we appreciate your listing and noted them. Have wonderful season ahead. Best Regards Gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
scott d wrote a review 06 Feb
Southampton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Loved the location, service and food (big portions). Staff were friendly and helpful delight to stay there. Rooms are of a good size clean linen and cleaned daily. Highlight of the stay BEST Breakfast in town, so much too choose from all fresh. Also they have the best omelette Chef. You will not wrong by staying in this hotel, 5min walk to the V&A waterfront
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gordanach wrote a review 04 Feb
Glasgow, United Kingdom17 contributions8 helpful votes
Enjoyed a great 8 day stay at the Commodore Hotel. The location is ideally situated being a short walk to the V & A Waterfront where you will find plenty of restaurants, shops and tours including the hop on hop off bus. Our room was spacious and had a view of Table Mountain. The queen bed was very comfortable and the room clean. Flatscreen tv on the wall with a fridge under table for use. Toilet and shower spacious enough too. Room was serviced every day even though we had a few late morning lie ins. We had plug options beside the wardrobe and beside one of our bedroom cabinets to charge our iPhones and IPads as we had brought SA adaptors to for UK plugs. There is a small pool area with loungers accessed via an outdoor seating area where drinks and food can be served. The Admiralty bar had a mixture of seating options and bar prices we found were very reasonable for a hotel. We opted to eat out for dinners but the adjacent Clipper restaurant looked nice and was always busy when we were there. We did have the occasional lunch from the menu including toasted sandwiches which were delicious. There is a gym adjacent to the pool which features a mixed selection of equipment both machines and a good variety of dumbbells with some barbells too. Within the gym are changing rooms with toilet facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful from front of house to waiting staff. Always greeted you with a smile. We will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool area is small so if you plan to sunbathe make sure you do so before folk start returning...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Commodore Guests, Guest Services / Front Office at The Commodore
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gordan, Greetings from Cape Town :) We are delighted with your wonderful review, Made my day ❤️❤️❤️Thank you so much we appreciate it. What a way to start my morning, thank you. We are ecstatic that you had a wonderful stay. Hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Best regards, Gadija
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cityl0ver60 wrote a review Jan 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom158 contributions70 helpful votes
Good location, not far from the Waterfront but far enough away from the late night hustle and bustle and noise. Pleasant enough hotel, in fact better than we originally thought after a grumpy greeting on the morning of 16 Jan…not welcoming at all and were not forthcoming with any detailed information about hotel facilities. When we did check in and were given a room, it did not have all the advertised (their website) facilities so had to change. Room was generally okay but a few things need attention to make it a more comfortable stay: inaccessible sockets (under furniture), USB socket in 5021 did not work, balcony but no seats (so what is the purpose of the balcony?), no in room information about hotel facilities (all on TV but difficult to navigate and look at specifics without going through everything), unable to make outside calls throughout our stay - had to go to reception each time we needed to make a call, no in place emergency procedure if the whole telephone system went down, which it did one day during our stay (perhaps an emergency mobile should be available), hairdryer lacked oomph. Breakfasts were good: service and offering. However, if sitting on the terrace there is not an enforced smoking area so be prepared to be smoked - or move indoors. Bar area is comfortable and service very good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Keith L wrote a review Jan 2024
Steeple Claydon, United Kingdom15 contributions29 helpful votes
Near the Victoria and Albert Waterfront location in Cape Town the Commodore was ideally situated for trips or just a gentle stroll to the Waterfront. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful We found Tatum on reception to be excellent and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Highly recommend staying at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,101 - R 4,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the commodore hotel cape town central, commodore hotel cape town, commodore cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
236
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COMMODORE - Now R 2 702 (Was R̶ ̶4̶ ̶5̶4̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Commodore
Which popular attractions are close to The Commodore?
Nearby attractions include HintHunt Cape Town (0.1 km), Watershed (0.1 km), and Two Oceans Aquarium (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Commodore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Commodore?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Commodore?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Commodore?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Commodore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, Mozambik V & A Waterfront, and Karibu Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Commodore?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Commodore have airport transportation?
Yes, The Commodore offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Commodore?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Commodore?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.