ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square

10 Greenmarket Square, Cape Town Central 8000 South Africa
Traveller (249)
Panorama of the Family Room at the ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (137)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 1 326
Breakfast included
R 1 338
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#52 of 115 hotels in Cape Town Central
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
ONOMO Hotel CAP TOWN - INN ON THE SQUARE 'WAMUKELEKILE' (BIENVENUE) A L'HOTEL ONOMO CAPE TOWN L'Hôtel ONOMO Cape Town - Inn On The Square est le nouvel hôtel du groupe ONOMO (depuis mai 2017). Il propose une large gamme de services comme 165 chambres sur-mesure, une connexion wi-fi gratuite et illimitée, une cuisine sud-africaine, un bar-lounge à cocktails, une salle de sports et un spa. Situé dans un des plus anciens bâtiments du Cap - classé Monument National, à quelques minutes du Centre de Convention (CTICC), l'Hôtel ONOMO Cap Town - Inn On The Square comprend 165 chambres sur-mesure, dont 15 Supérieures, qui proposent toutes une connexion wifi gratuite et illimitée, un espace de travail, une télévision écran plat et des chaînes internationales, un accueil thé et café, un coffre-fort électronique, une douche et toilettes séparées, un système individuel d'air-conditionné et un service de restauration en chambre. Les 15 chambres Supérieures de 35 m2 peuvent accueillir jusqu'à 4 personnes. Un centre d'affaires est disponible dans le hall de l'hôtel et propose 2 ordinateurs connectés en libre-service ainsi qu'un service d'envoi de faxs et de photocopies. Un spa est situé au 8ème étage et propose une large gamme de soins. Une piscine extérieure au dernier étage de l'hôtel est ouverte toute l'année et vous propose l'une des plus belles vues sur Le Cap. Une salle de sports est également accessible 24/7. Le restaurant vous propose une cuisine sud-africaine agrémentée d'une sélection de vins du pays. A déguster notamment sur sa terrasse donnant sur le marché d'art africain. Le bar-lounge Cobble & Stone vous propose une variété de cocktails et de douceurs du pays. SÉCURITÉ La sécurité, le groupe ONOMO Hotels en fait sa priorité pour tous ses invités, hôtes et collaborateurs. Son approche innovante, sous le label "Priorité Sécurité" est le fruit d'une étroite collaboration avec des experts en prévention et gestion des risques sécuritaires. A l’avant-garde des standards hôteliers en la matière, la gestion de la sécurité des hôtels ONOMO a été internalisée et les équipes sont formées et encadrées par nos experts. Hommes, technologies et dispositifs matériels garantissent quiétude et confort durant votre séjour. Divers Africa’s Finest Ce label crée par ONOMO est une exigence et une ambition forte du groupe. Intégrer à l’architecture de tous les hôtels le meilleur de la créativité et savoir-faire des artisans et créateurs africains. En partenariat avec les ressources locales, vecteur de développement économique régional. Visant également à privilégier les initiatives écologiques et la responsabilité sociétale. UN ART DE VIVRE En Afrique du Sud, l'Hôtel ONOMO Cape Town - Inn On The Square est situé sur la place historique 'Greenmarket Square', construite en 1696 et où a été annoncée en 1834 l'abolition de l'esclavage. La place piétonne 'Greenmarket Square" accueille encore aujourd'hui des bâtisses datant du 18ème siècle ainsi qu'un marché d'art africain. Le bâtiment de l'hôtel ONOMO Cape Town - Inn On The Square est un bâtiment historique, transformé en hôtel en 1979 et désormais classé "Monument National" en Afrique du Sud. Il est entouré d'une zone piétonne où se trouvent de nombreux restaurants et des boutiques les plus surprenantes les unes que les autres. Attractions à proximité Galerie Nationale d'Art d'Afrique du Sud La Galerie Nationale d'Art est située à 1 km de l'hôtel, propose un aperçu historique et moderne de l'art en Afrique du Sud et présente 3 collections autour de l'art d'Afrique du Sud, de la période coloniale entre les 17ème et le 19ème siècles et une exposition de perles et de sculptures indigènes des plus respectées. Robben Island Museum La prison-musée de Robben Island est classée au Patrimoine Mondial et est un symbole d'abnégation et des Droits de l'Homme en Afrique. Vous y visiterez - accompagné d'anciens détenus politiques - notamment la cellule occupée par Nelson Mandela, Prix Nobel de la Paix. Table Mountain Cable Way Retrouvez l'une des attractions les plus populaires du Cap en gravissant la "Table Mountain" au crépuscule pour profiter d'un panorama unique sur Le Cap et sa côte. Un téléphérique est également disponible. Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Situé à quelques minutes de l'hôtel, le "Victoria & Alfred Waterfron" accueille plus de 80 restaurants et des centres commerciaux. Toutes ces visites sont disponibles auprès de la Conciergerie de l'hôtel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

10 Greenmarket Square, Cape Town Central 8000 South Africa
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cape Town Intl Airport
17.5 km
See all flights
404Reviews44Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 174
  • 151
  • 54
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JenCas wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa37 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel over the December holidays and although the hotel itself is in a good location it is currently experiencing the challenge with a large group of people living on the square which is directly in front of the hotel. This obviously poses some challenges. When we arrived the room which we booked via Bookings.com could not accommodate a family of 4 even though it indicated that it could on the booking form. The management at the hotel were extremely helpful in resoling the matter and eventually we were accommodated in a family room for an additional fee. The family room is fairly spacious and with a double and 2 single beds, side by side. Please ensure that you put out your "clean my room" sign in the morning to alert someone to clean the room. Breakfast is a buffet with a good range of fruits, yogurt, muffins, croissants, pancakes etc as well as the usual American type breakfast being served. The hotel has valet parking as there is no parking at the hotel. So ensure that you remove everything you need from you car when having it parked for the evening. Overall baring a few small hiccups we had a good experience at the hotel. Lets hope that the issue with the people living on the square is resolved amicably which will assist in improving the experience at the hotel and the city.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Confirm if you have a room suited for the size of your travel party.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear JenCas I am truly blessed to receive a review like this. Thank you for being mindful and understanding at the time. I am glad that we could assist you with the family room in the end. We have sorted out the issue with the online reservation system. Super happy that you judged the hotel, staff and management on what we are in control of and not harping on the events out of our control. I am positive that there will be a positive solution the the issue and we can return to the beautiful property with great food, accommodation and super service that we are know for. You know whom to contact on your next trip to Cape Town Travel safe Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy E wrote a review Feb 2020
Brighouse, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very good, most of the staff are helpful and friendly, the food in the restaurant is good, the breakfasts are first class and the room was cleaned to perfection every day. Although the rooms were running out fast when we booked, the hotel still managed to allocate us an accessible room for my wife who has MS. The bathroom was very good for her but not for me as the shower is on a ‘riser' which has been fitted to the wall so the highest position means that the flow of water from the head is about stomach level. Whoever fitted it has no idea how these work as it should accommodate a tall person at its highest level and the disabled person, sitting on the shower chair at its lowest.
The bar is an absolute joke. They ran out of certain bottled beers after just two nights and these were not replenished for another two days. A city centre hotel bar ran out of Sauvignon Blanc for two days.... unbelievable. A manager, a lovely , helpful man called Jaco, arranged for some bottles of Corona when I told him that it was favourite drink. Two nights later, they had all been sold according to the bar staff but unknown to them, there was another case in a back room. The bar closes at 11pm but this is not uncommon in SA, but it is still far too early.
We were not warned of the refugees outside the hotel. apparently there are 600 inside the church and 200 outside. Whilst I have every sympathy with these people, it is not a problem that I can sort and should be dealt with by the Cape Town authorities in some way as it is ruining this hotel and the surrounding area. The market smells strongly of urine and is most unpleasant. This wonderful space in the square is utilised by street traders all day but could be made into a place to equal the V&A Waterfront with a little planning. If this was Spain, it would be full of top restaurants and bars and buzzing at night. It would help the hotel in many ways but unfortunately, at the moment, it is not doing the hotel any favours.
I am being super critical here and it is not (apart from the bar) the hotels fault. It is a good location, the price is very competitive and would urge you to give the hotel a chance to prove itself but be aware of the current issues.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear michaelandrewe2016 I cannot fault your review at all. Your review is precise, accurate, factual and where we failed you, which we miserably did in the bar, you were once again objective and called it what it is. Thank you for highlighting a default in the room. Then hotel, as per the yearly assessments, was assessed in January 2020 and I have made it very clear to the grading council to please check all the possible issues in the "accessible" room in order for me to be able to have a plan of action to fix all the possible issues and make it an effective as possible room for guests with special needs. I will action this accordingly. As mentioned earlier we failed to provide you with the service you required in the bar, but I can assure you that Jaco has taken full ownership of all the short comings. He Will ensure increased stock levels and better service. Our application for extended operating hours are at the liquor board and we await their next sitting to hopefully have the trading hours extended. The outcome of the court case is on Monday the 17th of February. The situation does have a negative effect on all the businesses in the surrounding areas, not forgetting that there are people that is desperately in need of assistance amongst the group, not all. Thank you once again for a great review. Travel safe and please keep in contact for your next visit Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KStoneman wrote a review Feb 2020
Reading, United Kingdom69 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As mentioned by a lot of other reviewers, the hotel is right on the Green Market Square. This will either be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on your point of view, requirements and expectations. The square is currently (at time of writing) still being occupied by a group of protesters/refugees. I am not going to go into the details of their situation as I don't know enough about it. However, they did not cause us any issues when we stayed at the Onomo. Our room was on the third floor directly overlooking the square, and we were not only able to witness the daily activity of the protestors, but the market being put up and taken down every day should we wished to have done so. The double glazing of the hotel was very efficient and meant we did not hear a thing, particularly when the aircon was on in our room.

Breakfast was more than adequate, the room functional and clean. The only observation I would have is the size of the bathroom is very small.. and not designed that well with the bathroom and shower doors, both occupying the same space when being opened.

All of the staff, without exception were polite, helpful and efficient. The hotel is literally less than a five minute walk from the red bus hop on/hop off tour office which is a perfect way to get to know your way around the city.

Apparently the hotel was designed to look identical to the Shell offices in London, and was once their HQ in Africa. It's not a 5* hotel, some parts need "freshening up" (just cosmetic really, paintwork etc) the location is very central and has easy access to all the main tourist attractions, the food was good, and staff exceptional.

It's also handy for the free walking tours that start in Green Market Square, on the corner diagonally opposite the reception door of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There is a lift to all floors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mynhardt De Jongh, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear KStoneman More comprehensive reviews I am yet to find. Thank you so much for your very accurate review and information. Please note that the refugees will be removed very soon due to the court order that was approved and applied. Loking forward to your future visits Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Feb 2020
Gretna Green, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While on my first visit some four years ago, I give this hotel a four star review, this second visit was very disappointing. The staff at reception were slow and unsmiling. In the restaurant dismal and incompetent, the bar staff having accused my party of not paying a first round of drinks before us showing the receipt! The baggage and concierge staff only interested in getting tips. The hotel decor itself has deteriorated some and give that there is a refugee camp outside their front door is heartbreaking. I thought that by contacting the hotel direct I would have got a good price for two doubles, it was a big big mistake and cost me a lot of money. Do not contact direct!! You are better going through a .dot com co. You would also think that the staff might explain that it is cheaper to go through a .dot co com and also that there is a refugee camp at their front door. The market outside sets up at six in the morning and if you are on the first floor you will certainly hear it. The noise from the refugees at night is also quite high, however seeing these poor people will have an effect on you. Children with nothing. Give them what you can.
The bar run out of basic drink but still showed empty bottles on the display! The bar man could not change a barrel and while snacks are big they are not particularly nice.
The price I paid by going direct was equivalent to me booking a five star hotel ( which this is certainly not) to one of the top Scottish golf spa hotels and of course it does not come close to comparing.
When I go back to Cape Town, which I most certainly will, I will book an apartment/ hotel down by the Waterside and not this hotel. I wonder who the manager is and what training he provides as it it very poor.
A great country and The Western Cape is fantastic. Great people generally but head to Hermanus or Kamps Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: For noise levels get up high.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear H1126CUdennish Thank you for your feedback Sir! I will take to heart what I can justify as valid positive and constructive criticism. As a team, we will continue to do better every single day, even though my training is insufficient and of poor quality. Luckily, guests that have previously stayed at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town, can testify that this is not the norm and the general experience at our hotel is rated much higher. Sometimes it happens that one just do not gel with the property that one booked or at any hotel that one booked considering your previous reviews at other properties. May you continue to travel safely. I thank you once again for your review and rating. Kind regards, Mynhardt de Jongh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
homeiswhereyousleep wrote a review Feb 2020
Goole, United Kingdom15 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I contacted the hotel before my parents were due to visit for their anniversary and asked if they could arrange some treats for my parent's room: Champagne, chocolates etc. Princess, the 
Reservations Supervisor, was incredibly helpful and arranged this at a very reasonable price. I was thrilled with the result and how easy the process was. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mynhardt De Jongh, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Great to read that your parents enjoyed the treats. I am grateful that we could assist in a small matter and over deliver That is true hospitality Travel safe Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wolves2014 wrote a review Jan 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third year running at this hotel for ten days over Christmas. As always all the staff and security were excellent with a special mention to Lerato who after the first day greeting us each time she saw us by name a friendly hello Mr & Mrs Arnold and helped us to get a fridge for our room. Our room on the 7th floor was always cleaned to a good standard we were overlooking Green Market Square. Yes there were refuges by the church but we were never approached by anyone but hope the situation can be resolved soon. Thanks again for a great stay and hopefully we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Wolves2014 aka Mr & Mrs Arnold Thank you so much for your great review. I am blessed to have been at the hotel for my 3rd December and I am blessed with my team to have you return to ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square You are now officially family and ambassadors for ONOMO Hotel Keep travelling, be safe and we wish you all the best health for 2020 and obviously looking forward to welcoming you back in December...or any other day in the year. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
martinBartonLeClay wrote a review Jan 2020
Henlow, United Kingdom122 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every member of staff has a smile on their face , their all helpful , especially the reception staff , rooms airy and well appointed , breakfast so much choice hot or cold ...view of the market excellent ...plenty of choice around the hotel to eat if you fancy eating out . central location ...perfect stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Market ...you also can see the mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear martinBartonLeClay We are super delighted to hear that you have had a teriffic experience at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square. Thank you for bei ng such a pleasure to deal with and we wish you all the best for your year. Travel safe Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher W wrote a review Feb 2020
Orpington, United Kingdom41 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 10 days during the England Cricket Test match in Cape Town and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is in a great, central location - just off Long Street with all that it has to offer in the way of bars and places to eat, right next door to the Open Top Bus Routes main office (which we have now done 3 times and is one of the best I have ever done!) - a 5 minute taxi ride to the V and A waterfront and all that it offers.

Our room was large and spacious and cleaned every day with no complaints at all. I was rather disappointed by the size of the rooftop swimming pool and gym but that wasn't going to have a massive impact upon the second half of my holiday. It a nice touch that the hotel has its own pub attached, however it was rather disappointing that it often had run out of beer on tap and closed what I call relatively early!

It very sad to see every morning leaving the hotel that there is currently a massive refugee camp directly outside the hotel with people from all over Africa - I can only hope these people are helped in the future but I can also see why a number of people, there with ladies, older people could have felt uncomfortable.

All in all a great stay for the cricket and watching England win another away Test Match completed yet another great trip to South Africa. I would happily stay at this hotel again as it ticked all the boxes that 2 single guys required.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Dear Christopher W Thank you so much for staying at ONOMo Hote;l cape Town again. Your feedback is great and we are all pleased that what we have contole about we deliver really well according to your review and 5 star rating. The only concern for me is that England won! It was again a pleasure to have so many English supporters flock to South Africa and that we could be part of your successful trip. Keep travelling, do it safely and we look forward to your return. You never know, maybe after a years practice we stand a better chance to win the next round Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher W wrote a review Aug 2023
Orpington, United Kingdom41 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fantastic second visit to this hotel from the UK! Its been really well done up since I last stayed here and is a superb hotel. If you want a hotel as a base to explore Cape Town then look no further. Based on the square with its market its just off Long Street and all the bars and eateries that it has to offer. You are literally a stones throw away from the main office of the open top bus route that allows you to explore all Cape Town and the surrounding area has to offer ... its a short taxi ride to the V and A waterfront and all that has to offer. The hotels rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated. The breakfast options were really good and the staff most friendly and helpful. I would happily stay in the hotel again, my only negative would be that I was extremely disappointed that Russians were allowed to stay here! Apart from that slight negative - this really is a wonderful hotel that allows you to explore all of Cape Town from a superb central location,
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle Allen, Guest Services / Front Office at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 01 Apr 2024
Dear christopherw592 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that we could host you for a second time at our hotel. Kind Regards Kyle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul14hc wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom144 contributions107 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped at this hotel in 2005 & enjoyed it so when a return visit to Cape Town was planned it was our immediate choice, however it never achieved the previous standards.

The first thing to mention is the refugee issue by the church, this makes the use of the outside terrace uncomfortable and therefore we decided to eat & drink elsewhere most of the time. I would also add that I was approached a number of times whilst waiting for a taxi but the security at the hotel was good and this never amounted to anything although it was quite obvious that the visitors to the market are down as a result of this issue.

The hotel used to have a good bar with a great wine selection but not anymore in fact they didn’t have much stock of anything & it closes at 11pm.

There used to be a fantastic steak restaurant there as well but again what’s there now is poor by comparison.

I have no issues with the rooms as they are perfectly functional although I did have to ask the cleaner for drinking water as it wasn’t replaced on one occasion.

In conclusion I won’t be staying at this hotel again which is a shame as I do like the location as it’s it works well as a base but they need to resolve the refugee issue and try to get the hotel back to where is was in 2005.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MynhardtD3, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear paul14hc Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though there were minor issues like water replenishment. I will focus on a wider variety of wine availability and I am glad to announce that we are currently launching a new a la carte menu. The liquor license is under review in order to change the closing time to later, but for now we have to be compliant with the National Liquor Licence Act. For the refugees: It is a pity that you decided to mark ONOMO Hotel down for the lack of service delivery from National Government. If the situation was management controllable it would have been resolved long time ago. Keep travelling safely. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from NeilC
Newlands, South Africa20 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes, and the hotel is one block away from the official tourism office of the City of Cape Town.
Answer from jack k
Goes, The Netherlands17 contributions5 helpful votes
Have dinner at the restaurant and go to other places, like this for example mesopotamiarestaurant (also at the square) Prices are about the same (160R main dish if I'm correct) The Onomo has great people! Because of them we had dinner at the hotel several evenings.
JIMOC55 asked a question Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom42 contributions3 helpful votes
is there a safe in the room
Answer from paul14hc
Birmingham, United Kingdom144 contributions107 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Mynhardt D
Dear Rohit26 We do not offer complimentary parking. We do however offer valet parking, off site, in a 24 hour CCTV monitored, guarded underground parking facility at a rate of R85 per day. We have a drop and go parking facility outside the hotel. You are able to park on the street if you would like at own risk and it will cost R180 for the night. Better to pay the R85 per car per night and we look after it well. Travel safe Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Glyn U wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bridgend, United Kingdom30 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to go up table mountain Get hop on hop off bus. Book tickets in office Go early"
Read full review
bev p wrote a tip Feb 2024
Vancouver, Canada37 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the people."
Read full review
beegal wrote a tip Feb 2024
Iowa City, Iowa171 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The breakfast area can get crowded, but there is plenty of seating, indoors and out."
Read full review
Trevor Leadley wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always a space by the pool great views from the roof of the hotel "
Read full review
Larissa Maggi wrote a tip Feb 2023
Sao Paulo, SP4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid walking alone around the hotel after 6pm. Use their transport to go and back. They charge you more but it is safe."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,126 - R 1,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn on the square hotel cape town central, park inn cape town, greenmarket square park inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AHA Inn on the Square
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ONOMO HOTEL CAPE TOWN - INN ON THE SQUARE - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cape Town Central, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Which popular attractions are close to ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Nearby attractions include Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve (0.2 km), St. George's Cathedral (0.2 km), and Iziko Slave Lodge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cousins Trattoria, FYN, and Bouchon Wine Bar & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square have airport transportation?
Yes, ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (0.2 km), City Hall (1.3 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (0.5 km).
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire