We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parliament Hotel

9 Barrack Street Cape Town City Centre, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (73)
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (178)


#48 of 124 hotels in Cape Town Central
Travellers' Choice
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system, free WiFi & breakfast.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Afrikaans and 2 more
676Reviews13Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 302
  • 285
  • 73
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Enhance H wrote a review Jan 2020
Masvingo, Zimbabwe17 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms at parliament hotel are clean , amenities available and they even provide etra if you need . From preparation , they provide a reminder of your arrival date and when the room is ready , the receptionist service is exellent thats one thing i surely credit this place . If you are going for a short holiday and may end up having late night rest and want to catch a flight early morning , they surely give you an early wake up call so you wont miss flights. i recommend this place as its also central to CBD
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Binhq3 wrote a review Dec 2019
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam1 contribution
I stayed there during early December and not knowing that Cape Town or SA currently has severe power shedding problem. This has been a country wide issue and some hotel invested in backup generator to handle this problem. Unfortunately, this hotel does not have one. I have medical condition that need power so when the hotel failed to provide power for 2 , 4 hours per day with potential of losing power up to 9 hours/day, I had enough and decided to leave. My booking is non refundable but I felt since the hotel choose to not invest in back up generator, I don't have to stay and jeopardize my health conditions. I moved out and stayed at another hotel, aha Harbor Suites & hotel which has backup generator. I no longer have to worry about power problem. I tried to get a refund from
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Response from SadickDavids, Front Office Manager at Parliament Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2019
Good day binhp1q3, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel! It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time at our property. We try our best to assist guests where possible and give excellent guest services - as our reviews will speak for themselves. Had we known that you had a serious condition that you depended on power we would have been happy to assist however possible. Unfortunately I was only made aware of this the day before you left when your stay with us was at it's end. From our conversations with each other during your stay I am sure you could see we would have done our best to assist with your condition. While it is regrettable that you feel unhappy about your stay with us, we are taking your comments to heart and are looking into options for a generator following the inconvenience it is causing everyone nationwide. We hope that one day you will consider us again so that we can show you our improvements.
Read more
Annika J wrote a review Dec 2019
Stockholm, Sweden117 contributions20 helpful votes
This small hotell had large-enough clean rooms, nice bed, attentive staff and a very good breakfast buffet. It takes 20-25 minutes to walk to Waterfront area and the much more expensive hotels there. A very good alternative for a short stay. Septs our bags while we explored the town on the last day. Shuttle service provided for 300 Rand to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
m k wrote a review Dec 2019
london,uk6 contributions4 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the second time recently and we again had the most wonderful stay. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and no request was too much trouble . The hotel is conveniently situated to many attractions, restaurants and bars. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed . Breakfast came with the room and was delicious , catering to every dietary requirement . We can’t praise this establishment enough and can t wait to return .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Bansteadfamily wrote a review Nov 2019
Surrey, UK257 contributions78 helpful votes
This is a great city centre hotel. It is the perfect location to walk to all the sites during the day and for the evening, an uber is never more than 5 minutes away. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms have all the amenities you could want and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was a typical city hotel breakfast with a buffet and the offer of a cooked breakfast. Perfectly satisfactory for a day's sightseeing. It has a lift. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
US$50 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
parliament hotel cape town
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing