We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Backpack

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (146)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“long street”(80 reviews)
“fair trade”(10 reviews)
“table mountain”(92 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
All hotel details
Offers from The Backpack
Special Price: 10% off direct booking
Offers from The Backpack
Special Price: 10% off direct booking
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
398
158
33
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
398
158
33
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetfair tradetable mountainprivate bathroombed dormtownship tourcommon areasrooms are cleanenjoyed my stayfelt very safethe location is perfectkloof streetstayed here for nightsstay in cape townsouth africahome away from homehostel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 609 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The atmosphere is very chill and friendly. Guests would gather in the common areas to socialize. The staff is friendly as well and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and have their own charming touch to them. The location is amazing, close to...More

Thank DanielBzs
Reviewed 1 week ago

very disappointed, didn't correspond to what was written in the travel guide ! I booked a single room for 60€ per night in March, which is the price for a 3 stars hotel on that period. For that , I didn't even get a cupboard...More

Thank leslilas2011
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is really cool. The only thing is (and why it is average to me), that it is extremely noisy: noises from outside (busy road) and from inside (ventilation screen in door didn't help). Also if you are a tall person (as myself) the...More

Thank HBr01
Response from Lee H, Owner at The BackpackResponded 1 week ago

Sorry that the room was not suitable for you whilst you were here as we could have moved you if we had space. So happy that you loved everything else especially our buffet breakfast and of course us! We are super excited you got your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is without a doubt one the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Apart from a perfect location, super friendly staff, great breakfast and just good quality overall, this hostel distinguishes itself because of the friendly atmosphere. Whether you're travelling alone, with friends or family,...More

Thank Vincent C
Response from Lee H, Owner at The BackpackResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you had a good time and enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We hope you will be back again soon The Backpack Team

Reviewed 26 February 2018

On an exploratory trip of Cape Town to find places for my groups to stay I was impressed that The Backpack put so much work into being socially conscience. I emailed The Backpack to see about ways my group could be involved and was told...More

Thank Heather M
Response from Lee H, Owner at The BackpackResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Heather I am so sorry that we never got back to you its not our intention to ignore future business or volunteers as they have proved so beneficial for the Heideveld community we are involved in. On our web page there is a direct...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (47)
Pool & Beach (25)
Amenities (25)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
echomurmur
26 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JaneMangnall | Reviewed this property |
Not sure but you can do better with Uber and get wifi at the airport.
0
Votes
Sioned J
20 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from tembi1 | Property representative |
our prices do change from time to time seasonally and we also run specials so please watch our web page for exciting specials.
0
Votes
MicheleTravel23
18 February 2015|
Answer
Response from tembi1 | Property representative |
we do arrange airport transfers from R220
0
Votes
Room Tips
"surrounded by 2 main streets, so noisy anyway..."
Read review
"discuss location of the room in relation to the common areas before booking if you desire a quiet, smoke free..."
Read review
"No AC prepare yourself!"
Read review
"Rooms away from the entrance are quieter and somewhat cooler."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing