We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 695: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
 Click to rate
CT
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Protea Breakwater twice, once for two nights at the beginning of a trip, and again for 5 nights at the end of the trip. Our review is mixed. The location is excellent, being less than 10 minutes' walk to the Victoria and Albert waterfront. The rooms are a bit quirky, which likely comes from converting a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CKF
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel has excellent location and to get to V&A waterfront you only need to walk several sets of stairs. Our room was very small, but we spent very little time at the hotel, so that was not a problem. Water in the shower was constantly changing from warm to hot, and that was unpleasant. Breakfast was very good, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liu S
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liu S, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel. Location is important when selecting a holiday destination, and saying that, we are delighted that you choose our Hotel which is within walking distance of the popular V & A Waterfront. The V & A Waterfront boosts many interesting shops and charming...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business. The property is shared with a university campus. It is overcrowded with large tourist groups and groups of travelling students. It is noisy all day and night. The breakfast is located in a separate venue and it is very difficult to find a seat at breakfast. The food at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyLou W
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear WendyLou W, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our establishment. It is with regret that we read that your stay at our Hotel was not up to par. We will take your feedback into account as we work toward improving the way we do business. Our commitment is to deliver 100% GUEST...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't beat the price for this location. It was so convenient to be so close to the trendy Wharf with all the wonderful shops and restaurants. The Hop on Hop Off bus was just a block away. I had a room in the main building. It was small but updated and very pleasant. I even had a view of Table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank go2go2
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear go2go2, We appreciate and thank you for the time taken to write a review on our Hotel. WOW! We can’t begin to tell you how awesome it is to read your words of encouragement, appreciation and praise. My TEAM takes pride in what we do and it is through feedback like yours that we renew our commitment to always...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel really clean, staff were friendly and was interesting the fact that ppl also study here aswell. I wouldn't say its value for money but I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ish986
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ish986, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our Hotel. My TEAM takes pride in what we do, and it is through valuable feedback like yours, filled with affirmations and encouragement, that we renew our commitment to striving to giving our best. We share our premises with the University of Cape Town's...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our travel agent booked us here because she heard it was a great property. We had traveled all night from Washington DC and wanted a shower and a nap. Arrived at noon, but couldn't have the room until 3PM. Our room was in the "C" building which is part of the university that shares space with the hotel. The smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperSpy
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Superspy, We are truly sorry that your experience at our property was not to your satisfaction. One of our goals is GUEST satisfaction, and we clearly failed to deliver. We are looking into the situation and taking the necessary steps to correct it in order for us to avoid any re-occurrences. We can't fix the past but you have...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe because of the unexpected cycling tour but things with this hotel started to go in the wrong direction from the time of booking. Booked on Marriott.com as free cancellation and I was asked to provide full payment by the hotel via email under cover in contradiction to Marriott policies. I canceled and rebooked via Expedia. On arrival the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raiday
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Raiday, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel. Everything we do is designed to deliver superior GUEST satisfaction and it appears we have failed you. From the moment you walk into our Hotel it is our responsibility to give you the best possible service and deliver what we promise. Clearly this...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights, our room was large but on the front so a lot of traffic noise from the road. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. My only complaint would be not a lot of wardrobe spade. Tea coffee was provided and topped up daily. Towels were changed daily. Our bed was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esther913
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear esther913, We appreciate and thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that the traffic noise was a problem. You are welcome to request a room away from the traffic, and if availability allows, we will gladly grant your request. We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and reading that you enjoyed...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located a short (and safe) walk (approx 5mins) from the busy waterfront area the hotel is ideally situated and we stayed 4 nights. There's parking and we didn't have any problems finding a space whenever we returned after a drive out. Check in was a bit chaotic but it all got sorted in the end. Our room was a de-luxe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear nnmercman, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. You chose a hotel with an ideal location, the location being an important factor when selecting a holiday destination. The V & A Waterfront is a major tourist attraction to both the local folk and international visitors. It boasts many delectable restaurants as well as...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights between 27-31 January 2017. The location is very good and in close proximity to the Waterfront. As a Prokard and Mariot Rewards member, i expected more in terms of service and quality. However i was allocated the most basic room , even though i booked a year in advance. So Prokard members...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Segran M
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Segran M, We are truly sorry your stay at our Hotel was not to your satisfaction. Our goal is GUEST satisfaction and we clearly failed to deliver. Please receive my most sincere apologies for this and know that I am looking into the friendliness an helpfulness issue. We glad to read that you enjoyed the housekeeping and restaurant service....

378 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
0.2 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1 124 reviews
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1 413 reviews
0.2 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 404 - R3 655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you are in the main building. Ask for a view of Table Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles go2go2, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to stay in the "A" building.”
 of 5 bubbles SuperSpy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles esther913, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms higher up overlooking the waterfront are much better. Rooms at ground level have no views and are claustrophobic.”
 of 5 bubbles segranm, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard view was quiet and perfect for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Brina58, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5