AfricanHome Guesthouse

AfricanHome Guesthouse

17 Bickley Road Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
Traveller (187)
Pool area
Pool & Beach (38)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#2 of 48 B&Bs in Cape Town Central
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built in 1790 as the hunting lodge of Lord Nelson, the AfricanHome guesthouse is one of the oldest buildings in this suburb of Cape Town, situated only 2 blocks away from the Atlantic Seabord. It is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of this buzzling city, in walking distance to many restaurants and to the Waterfront, just 3 km away from Clifton Beaches and famous Long Street. German owners who offer a fabulous breakfast buffet. Enjoy a relaxing day at the sparkling salt water pool being spoilt from our service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Xhosa

Location

17 Bickley Road Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Cape Town Intl Airport
20.1 km
See all flights
388Reviews4Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 368
  • 14
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JewlzReadingUK wrote a review Mar 2020
Reading, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We very much enjoyed our stay and Ralf and Stefan are perfect hosts. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. A wide range of top quality fresh, or cooked produce is available for breakfast, which can be taken on the patio, or inside. You can relax in, or by the pool, which it located within the private walled garden. We felt the area was quite safe and it is a 40 or 50 minute walk to the Waterfront. Alternatively you can jump on the hop on bus at the stop approx 200m away on the sea front. There are some very good restaurants nearby and we were happy to walk back to the accommodation late at night. Ralf was extremely helpful making various bookings on our behalf as we were not using our phones in SA. Overall, we had a fabulous 4 nights at AfricanHome and enjoyed various conversations with other guests and Stefan and Ralf. We hope to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas H wrote a review Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were with Ralph and Stefan for six days and they were the best hosts we ever had.

The accommodation is very central, restaurants supermarkets, the ocean and the bus stations are within two to five minutes walking distance. The rooms are lovingly furnished and very clean, breakfast is wonderful and our dinner together on the terrasse will be unforgetable.

We will definitely come back and are already looking forward to it.

Steffi & Tommi
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are beautiyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shinyshow wrote a review Mar 2022
Bowdon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location in a quiet residential area, easy walking distance to the sea front, very short walk to bars and good restaurants, and short uber ride to the waterfront area. Uber in Cape Town is fab and super cheap!
The room( and indeed the whole guest house) was very clean and nicely decorated, our room had a lovely large shower and a useable balcony overlooking the beautiful garden and pool. Breakfast was served outside in a serene courtyard area, with hot breakfasts cooked on request, with a really high quality continental style buffet each morning, changing daily. The hosts are fabulous, genuinely lovely guys who are passionate about their guesthouse and South Africa. There is a reasonable size pool area with lots of sun loungers and a few tables and chairs that we didnt get a chance to use, but other guests spent time there and it looked very inviting. There are also a couple of car parking spaces off the road. We thoroughly recommend this gem to you for all the above reasons... and we can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf Fiedler, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time at our place and in this vibrant area - and we were indeed highly overwhelmed from the beautiful flower bouquet that you sent to us from your next stop...amazing! We sincerely hope that you will soon get a chance to come back to CapeTown and stay with us again in case we will still be around. With lots of sunny greetings out of CapeTown - the fairest Cape in the world (that is what they say here sometimes ..)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kara234 wrote a review Feb 2020
Coleraine, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 4th time staying at African Home and we can’t wait to go back again. Ralf and Stephan are perfect hosts and the staff could not do more for their guests. The breakfasts are delicious with a wide choice of hot and cold foods. Seapoint is great as a base to explore Cape Town and Ralf is so informative and helpful in booking day trips to wineries, Penninsula etc. If you like high quality, personal service then you can’t go wrong with African Home.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf F, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 06 Feb 2020
What can I say? Thanks a lot - it means so much to us that you guys still enjoy your time here… And we are already counting the days…
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria P wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed with Ralf and Stefan over the busy new year period and had a fantastic stay. It’s a little oasis in the middle of the lively Sea Point area and within easy reach of everywhere else worth visiting in and around the City .

Both hosts were also really accommodating especially at breakfast where my fussy vegetarian partner was concerned sorting out little non meat treats for him every day.

They even helped with organising some of our trips getting us our own driver as well which was fantastic too.

Well definitely be coming back here so we’ll some Ralf and Stefan ..(and the lovely Milka the cat)

Maria and Graeme
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf F, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Maria and Graeme- thanks for your kind review about your stay at our AfricanHome during the busy cricket period here in CapeTown around New Year`s. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to satisfy even the vegetarian desires of your partner- who in fact was lots of fun for us (despite his vegetarian touch , LOL) . I am so sorry that I still do not really understand the principle of cricket - and why so many people would spend so many hours there not being able to find out who has won or lost, day after day ....that I also shared with Graeme !! ...so you can be sure I am a complete cricket idiot! We would be happy to welcome you again here at our place - and maybe until then I will have picked up a few of these game laws. Best regards out of the AfricanHome
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alain R wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We occupied the cottage and enjoyed being apart from the main building which nevertheless deserve more than a look. Ralf and Stephan are perfect hosts.The breakfasts are somptuous with a wide choice of hot and cold foods. Seapoint is an excellent base to explore Cape Town. Around Africanhome, many restaurants are available.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The room in the cottage benefits A.C. and a large shower room. The street is very quiet. An...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf Fiedler, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Dear Alain- We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and also liked our breakfast. Thanks a lot for the kind words...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anni H wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After our first stay in Cape Town, we knew very quickly that we would be back. This was the second time we were guests of wonderful and first-class hosts. A big thank you to Ralf and Stefan.
Upon arrival, our holiday began in this paradise in the middle of Cape Town, Seapoint. From this accommodation, you can reach everything in Cape Town at any time, whether Table Mountain, the V&A or wonderful coastal roads. It is the perfect place to experience small and big adventures. Our lovely hosts offer a unique and individual service and are always available for help and advice. The rooms are tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. The breakfast leaves nothing to be desired for an optimal start to the day. Thank you very much Ralf and Stefan for making our trip unforgettable once again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf Fiedler, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 07 Nov 2022
Dear Anka and Silvia- thanks a lot for your wonderful review - and we also enjoyed the time with you at our place again as well... so much fun and nice chats.. Stay well Ralf
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Petra Dreyer wrote a review Mar 2023
Hagen, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Once again it was a great pleasure for us to find our home in the AfricanHome Guesthouse for our stay in Cape Town. It really felt like coming home to friends who made our stay as pleasant as possible. AfricanHome Guesthouse offers beautiful cosy rooms, a great breakfast, a nice pool and caring hosts who always have a good tip for all activities. Thanks to Ralf and Stephan (and of course and not to forget: Milka) who create a familiar atmosphere. You will always be our favorite address in Cape Town!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf Fiedler, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 28 Mar 2023
Thanks a lot for this kind review - you made us smile again after a not so long, but because of a lack of staff still fairly busy season is coming to an end now. it gives the cherry on top of a nice creamy cake to get this feedback from our guests as this was always our intention to create some sort of a familiar atmosphere for our guests- and unfortunately not too many of them allow this to happen. It was a pleasure to have you here with us - any time again please!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mel wrote a review Feb 2024
Mont-Vert les Bas, Reunion Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was an amazing stay. Out host were really welcoming and give us good advices to visit.
It was really a pleasure to be here. We felt safe, and the place is really peaceful. Everything was clean, the room is pretty big and the house itself is beautiful. The area is safe with lots of restaurants and a lots of Ubers if you needed to.
For sure, we will come back !
Thank you for all
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you have a car you can let them know and park it inside. It is really easy to take Uber...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peterhayhurstkilham wrote a review Feb 2023
York, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
outstanding establishment comfortable homely and nothing is to much trouble for ralph and stephan who run and own the guesthouse. cant recommend AHG enough. try it you will not be disappointed. close to both the sea and restraunts
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ralf Fiedler, Owner at AfricanHome Guesthouse
Responded 18 Feb 2023
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your 2 stays at our place this year again despite the challenges that you had to face this time.- and we can`t wait to see you again next year. Stay well, with lots of sunny hugs our of Sea Point Ralf and Stephan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanettelang asked a question Mar 2017
Joubertina, South Africa1 contribution
Hi how far to the waterfront on foot?
Answer from munichmuc
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
The V&A Waterfront is a 50 minute walk away if you are going on the Promenade (right at the coast), and 30 minutes walk away if you take the busy Main Road. To the beachfront, the Atlantic Seaboard, it is a 5 minute walk down the hill.
Answer from Ralf F
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Sehr geehrte Frau Weimer- , Dear Mrs Weimer- es tut mir natürlich leid, dass Sie keinen Platz mehr in unserem AfricanHome Guesthouse gefunden haben, aber so kurzfristig ist es recht schwierig bei uns während der Hochsaison. Aber es gibt so viele Guesthouses in Capetown, sodass es mir unmöglich ist , Ihnen ein spezielles zu empfehlen weil ich ja nicht weiß was genau Sie so suchen und in welchem Stadtteil Sie wohnen möchten...Versuchen Sie das Olafs Guesthouse, nicht allzu weit von uns in Sea Point gelegen,, ein schönes altes Haus. Liebe Grüße aus CapeTown Best regards Ralf The AfricanHome Guesthouse
Jan F asked a question Aug 2016
Bloemfontein, South Africa7 contributions3 helpful votes
Is safe parking available?
Answer from Ralf F
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Good Day Jan- yes, in my eyes parking in Sea Point is absolutely safe, especially in the small roads and from my experience in no way any different from what I am used to in Germany (that is where I come from) - this answer often seems to irritate our South African guests as this is certainly not a common feature in this country - but here it is! In 5 years nothing ever happened to any of the cars that were parked outside from all our neighbours and all our guests and our own car which we also leave outside all the time. But we also offer 3 parking bays on our premises and another one behind bars and fences which is about 100 meters away from our house due fo the lack of space in this busy part of town. Regards Ralf
Mel wrote a tip Feb 2024
Mont-Vert les Bas, Reunion Island30 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have a car you can let them know and park it inside. It is really easy to take Uber around and go shopping."
Read full review
Alain R wrote a tip Feb 2020
Paris, France2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room in the cottage benefits A.C. and a large shower room. The street is very quiet. An excellent base to visit C. T."
Read full review
Thomas H wrote a tip Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are beautiyul"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip Mar 2017
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we had a lovely room overlooking pool and garden"
Read full review
JC F wrote a tip Jan 2017
Syracuse, New York26 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have the r own unique décor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AFRICANHOME GUESTHOUSE - B&B Reviews (Cape Town Central, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about AfricanHome Guesthouse
What are some of the property amenities at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at AfricanHome Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Does AfricanHome Guesthouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town CentralHotels near AfricanHome Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire