We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
2017/12/24 2017/12/25
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Aquila Private Game Reserve

    R46, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017/12/24 2017/12/25
     2 people are viewing this hotel
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$301
    View Deal
    Traveller (375)
    Room & Suite (42)
    Dining (21)
    Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
    328 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
    234 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Durbanville
     
    Willowbrook Country House
    205 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
    1 576 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Milnerton
     
    Overview
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good27%
    • Average16%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “game drives” (55 reviews)
    “outdoor shower” (17 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Spa
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Laundry Service
    Shuttle Bus Service
    Babysitting
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
    328 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
    234 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Durbanville
     
    Willowbrook Country House
    205 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
    1 576 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Milnerton
     
    Write a ReviewReviews (360)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 299 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We were picked up from our accommodation in cape town right on time and were driven the two hour journey on roads that were very wide and safe ( I had had concerns about the journey to the reserve but I had asked other trip...More

    Thank Jackiethetravelbug
    Response from AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game ReserveResponded 2 days ago

    Hello, Jackie. Thank you for your detailed review about your recent Aquila experience. We are glad to note that you had a good stay with us. We hope you treasure your Big 5 safari memories for a lifetime.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    The rooms were clean and have nice views from the Lodge. The Safari was the best part of the experience. Don’t go for a Spa or anticipate anything but average food and service. Of five Safari experiences over ten years I would rank this last...More

    Thank EugeneCooper
    Response from AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game ReserveResponded 2 days ago

    Hello, Eugene Thank you for writing to us about your recent Aquila wildlife experience. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your safari and accommodation.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Although this is a private reserve, we were able to see up close 4 out of the big 5 of South Africa, the beautiful animals were very close almost 10 feet away. Our guide explained so well the habitat, nature and breeding of each, how...More

    Thank Dorothy Y
    Response from AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game ReserveResponded 2 days ago

    Hi, Dorothy. Thank you for the 5-star review. We are glad that you had a memorable wildlife experience at our place of magic. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    This review is for unreasonable and poor customer service received by Aquila Game Reserve. I had booked a Saturday tour, the Thursday prior(so within 48 hours of the trip) and tried to cancel and get a full refund or partially refund that Friday since my...More

    Thank letdasunshine
    Response from AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game ReserveResponded 2 days ago

    Good day Thank you for writing to us. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated with all booking confirmations, as well as listed on our website. It also follows standard industry practice. It is unfortunate that you have not experienced our facilities and services.

    Reviewed 9 November 2017

    If you want to be driven to animal and even be able to pet the elephants then this would be for you.... but it's not a proper game experience, The private bungalows are good and positioned on the hill so when we arrived we saw...More

    Thank Thelma B
    Response from AquilaSafari, Public Relations Manager at Aquila Private Game ReserveResponded 2 days ago

    Good day Thelma Thank you for writing to us. It is clear that the Aquila story was never properly communicated to you on your visit. Our lions are rescued from the canned hunting industry and therefore are slightly overweight due to their horrible earlier life....More

    Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
    328 reviews
    #2 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
    234 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Durbanville
     
    Willowbrook Country House
    205 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Somerset West
     
    Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
    1 576 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Milnerton
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Babysitting
    • Breakfast Available
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$202 - US$504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 77
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquila Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Western Cape >
    • Cape Town >
    • Cape Town Central
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (375)
    Room & Suite (42)
    Dining (21)
    Pool & Beach (8)
    Hotel & Grounds (298)
    Bathroom (10)
    Family and Play Areas (7)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Nuy On The Hill
    190 reviews
    49.06 km away
    Four Cousins Restaurant
    160 reviews
    50.71 km away
    Strictly Coffee
    103 reviews
    51.08 km away
    Bourbon Street
    437 reviews
    51.05 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Veldskoen Padstal
    33 reviews
    25.54 km away
    Montague Tractor Ride
    101 reviews
    50.57 km away
    Leidam Bird Sanctuary
    53 reviews
    51.34 km away
    Owl's Rest Olive and Lavender Farm
    48 reviews
    49.79 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Deon L
    14 November 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Sophia-Helen | Reviewed this property |
    Please contact the Reserve. I was just a visitor. Hope you enjoy the stay!
    0
    Votes
    travelboy71
    6 November 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from AquilaSafari | Property representative |
    Good day. Yes, we offer optional extra transfers from all major Cape Town hotels.
    0
    Votes
    lindsayk323
    15 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from AquilaSafari | Property representative |
    Good day. We still have occupancy available, but our weekends are already mostly fully booked. Please confirm via the live chat function on our website detailed availability.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Choose a room outside of the lodge."
    Read review
    "Go for the private rooms as the block rooms looked like a high rise in some city rather than in the bush"
    Read review
    "We stayed on the 3rd floor with inter leading room for the kids"
    Read review
    "Higher rooms give you a better chance of sighting an animal walking to the watering hole."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing