We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atlantic Point Backpackers

Save
Share
2 Cavalcade Road Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/17
Priceline
StayForLong
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (72)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (123)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 170 Speciality lodging in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Cape Town's most interactive backpackers lodge is designed with you in mind. Situated in trendy Green Point, Signal Hill is our garden. Atlantic Point Backpackers is perfectly positioned 1km from the waterfront and 750m from the new Green Point Stadium.We offer an accommodation experience for all travelers. From double en-suite rooms to co-ed dorms we have something for you. Our staff will assist you with your needs while in Cape Town. AP will hopefully be a highlight of your South African experience
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Mini golf
Billiards
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
922Reviews12Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 643
  • 233
  • 38
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ivana wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa12 contributions
The property itself (private rooms) are nice. The room I occupied was very big as was the bathroom area. The windows were very small so I left the door open for the most part but there was a random stray on the property and I am allergic to cats so it became tricky. They didn't charge extra when my boyfriend's trip got moved up by a couple of days. Thanks for that. The cleaning staff truly did an amazing job cleaning rooms and making sure they changed linen and towels on the regular. Now for the bad. The kitchen was not up to par and the staff (Reception staff) acted like the property was their own personal love island experience. Guests they got on with got treated better even when they were being completely inappropriate while guests they did not befriend had to comply to rules and were barely greeted least of all treated as guests. At times I felt like the staff members felt they were doing me a favor by allowing me to be there even though I paid and was not there for free. Reception staff also felt the need to gossip about guest right within earshot of guests. I left before my stay was complete and got a refund after involving the "hellopeter" platform didn't get the entire 7 days I was promised but I did not see them giving back the rest as it was such a mission to get what I got in the first place. Should they get staff that are there to work and not party at the guests expense the place will do very well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask loads of questions so there is no back-paddling without consequences
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from tim louw, Owner at Atlantic Point Backpackers
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Hi Ivana, Thanks for your review! A few things to note: The stay was in Feb 2021, you stayed with us for 3 weeks and left 1 week early. We gladly refunded you the 1 week remaining, even though the rate was non-refundable, HelloPeter was no involved at all. There is a lot of missing context to the reasons why you chose to leave early, we don't have to go into that. For the rest, our current staff are doing a great job, the housekeeping team,intern team and security team. We will use the points that you have highlighted to remain on top of our service and procedures, being staff and kitchen as points to focus on for the future. We wish you well and hope that you are doing great.
Read more
adriangarden2021 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Solo trip to run a marathon. Communal space cleanliness was satisfactory. Service was good and overall atmosphere was also good. Dorm mates were considerate and generally not disruptive. The location is really good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Vins S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I'm a non working solo person that actually heard about this so called amazing back packers called Atlantic point back packers ..... So I made a booking online with my arrival they told me that the bed I was supposed to sleep on was already taken .. me not being from cape town not knowing anyone my luggage went missing from the airport i had to overnight on the cold streets of Cape town all by myself it was so scary well the next morning sunrise I went back to Atlantic point back packers they then told me that I can only book in after 2 in the afternoon so I sat outside in the street for some hours before I could finally go in to my room and have a shower I paid for breakfast including I have all the receipts bookings confirmation but as I wanted to go and have breakfast the next morning they told me that my name is not on the list so I just left with embarrassement thinking well maybe I made a mistake so I went back into where I had made the booking and saw but I never made a mistake so the next morning breakfast time I was there and then one of the other staff members told me that she did check on the computer and I never paid for breakfast but if I do want breakfast I can just give 50 rand extra every morning imagine that!!!!!!!!so after my 8 day visit at the Atlantic point back packers the morning of my departure I went inside and spoke to Helen so I showed her once again all the proof papers money exetra so she then said oh!! Yes I can see that u paid and yes your name is on the list what the hell!!!! This is so unfair and then to make things worse they refused to give me back my money what should I do!!!! I feel so used and frustrated please help me
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MalwaNgobese wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at Atlantic for 2 days. I wish I could have stayed longer. A very decent back packers accommodation. I booked a double bed private room with private toilet/shower. It was two single beds made into one. The space wasn't that big. Room was also hot, at least there was a ceiling fan to keep us cool. Overall it was a good stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Çağla e wrote a review Mar 2021
Istanbul, Turkey2 contributions
It was my second experience abroad and my first experience of staying in a hostel. Everything was above what I expected. The staff and guests of the hostel helped me make my first experience successful and beautiful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$29 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Atlantic Point Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Cape Medical Museum (0.4 km), Telkom Exploratorium (0.4 km), and The Melrose Gallery Cape Town (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giovanni's, The Butcher Man, and El Burro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Atlantic Point Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Atlantic Point Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Atlantic Point Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Atlantic Point Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (1.9 km), City Hall (2.8 km), and Irma Stern Museum (7.1 km).