We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Wandel Street Dunkley Square, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (22)

About

#85 of 126 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Cape Town Central, look no further than Ikhaya Lodge.

While staying at Ikhaya Lodge, visitors can check out Iziko Slave Lodge (0.5 mi) and Oranjezicht City Farm (0.8 mi), some of Cape Town Central's top attractions.

Ikhaya Lodge features 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and a coffee shop. Plus, guests can enjoy a lounge, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Cape Town Central. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the sushi restaurants, including Willoughby & Co, Harbour House - Waterfront, and Beluga Restaurant, all of which are a short distance from Ikhaya Lodge.

Cape Town Central is also known for some great art galleries, including Streetwires, State of the Art Gallery, and The Cape Malay Art Exhibition- Bo Kaap, which are not too far from Ikhaya Lodge.

The staff at Ikhaya Lodge looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
103Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 49
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chamalow123 wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York35 contributions34 helpful votes
We booked an apartment with airconditioning and we got one with a fan, ground level with a view on the parking. It was impossible to swap for the one we booked for. The manager was never present and never answered to our requests and messages, even when Booking.com contacted her and that she was supposed to contact us. The location is great and some rooms have a view on the mountains. There is a café and a restaurant on the square (though they may be noisy until late in the night) and the parking is free and safe. Breakfast is average.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Most of the rooms have no aircon and are old, Beware of the fleas. Some rooms have a nice view on...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Janet C wrote a review Dec 2019
London4 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Ikhaya Lodge, particularly the rooms in the main hotel building. The hotel has great authentic, African charm. A real celebration of Africa’s rich culture. The owner, Ruth arranged for a personalised day tour with Franck Mountanda. Franck delivered exactly as Ruth had outlined - knowledgable and great company. My sons 14 and 12 loved Franck’s tour too. I recommend Ikhaya Lodge if you want a personalised, authentic, African experience with great attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations58, Owner at Ikhaya Lodge
Responded 01 Jan 2020
Dear Janet, Thank you so much for such an in depth and complimentary review. Both the team here at iKhaya and Franck are delighted that we added to your visit in Cape Town. We hope you will come this way again in the future, and we can have the pleasure of having you stay with us and also show you even more of what our beautiful corner of the world has to offer. In the meantime, we wish you every good wish for a wonderful new year! Kind regards, Ruth
Read more
Priscilla M wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions
I loved the place. We had an apartment to ourselves, 2 bedrooms with 1 full bath . The rooms were spacious enough, the main room accommodated the baby cot . Clean and quiet environment and we had a partial view of the table mountain .the hotel staff were friendly and ready to help. The breakfast was yummy and had a good variety Loved the place and will definitely recommend it to all !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, Wow! thank you so much for your description of iKhaya and the people you found here. We enjoy being of service and adding the the experiencing this beautiful place we call home. We hope other's will pick up on your recommendation and give us the opportunity to welcome them. Go well and kind regards, Ruth
Read more
Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
I run a not for profit in the city and we have booked rooms and conference facilities at Ikhaya Lodge for over ten years. We recently booked a seven day stay for a guest attending an event we had organised. I personally recommended we book at Ikhaya Lodge, simply because I thought we had developed a relationship of mutual trust and understanding. On the day the guest was meant to check in she informed us she could no longer take up the room. We immediately informed Ikhaya Lodge about this, hoping they would consider a partial refund.I am aware their policy stipulates certain requirements for a refund but I had hoped they would at least give us credit or a partial refund, which they refused to do. I am so deeply hurt and disappointed that I will not use Ikhaya Lodge or recommend them ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge
Responded 04 Jul 2019
Dear Client, We value every client and have been very fortunate to establish long relationships. As a result we are transparent in our booking procedures and endeavour to treat all our clients with respect. In this instance, as you would be aware, the guest arrived in Cape Town but opted to stay with family. We offered to have anyone else from your NGO stay in their stead, even though a no-show is 100% cancellation. This offer was not taken up and the the cancellation policy was effected. A second guest from your NGO was unable to check-in within the same week, and we accepted to make a full refund including waiving the fee of the independent shuttle provider, because we recognized the emergency related to that no-show. In both respects, we believe we have been consistent and fair. It is regrettable that you feel differently, but we respect your position. Thank you for your support in the past and we wish you every success.
Read more
Nadia wrote a review Dec 2018
Enschede, The Netherlands389 contributions83 helpful votes
A great hotel on walking distance from a lot of sites in the city center. With rooms with a view on table mountain and lion's head. A great place to stay and explore Kaapstad. The service is great and breakfast delicious. The staff will help you with anything you need.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guestrelations58, Manager at Ikhaya Lodge
Responded 10 Mar 2019
Dear Nadia, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay. We are very encouraged to continue to offer the best of what we know to everyone who walks through our doors. All the best for a great 2019 and hope you come our way again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town CentralCity Bowl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ikhaya Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ikhaya Lodge?
Nearby attractions include South African Jewish Museum (0.2 km), Cape Town Holocaust & Genocide Centre (0.2 km), and Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ikhaya Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ikhaya Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ikhaya Lodge?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ikhaya Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nelson's Eye, Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, and Aubergine.
Does Ikhaya Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ikhaya Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ikhaya Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ikhaya Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (0.8 km), City Hall (0.4 km), and Irma Stern Museum (5.4 km).
Does Ikhaya Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.