We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Kings Hotel

Save
Share
Piazza Da Luz 94 Regent Road, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$133
US$114
View deal
PricelineUS$133
Booking.comUS$119
Orbitz.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
Trip.comUS$125
CheapTicketsUS$114
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (7)

About

#58 of 128 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The New Kings Hotel is centrally located in cosmopolitan Sea Point with panoramic views of Lions Head and the Atlantic Ocean.Situated within walking distance of the Sea Point Promenade and close to the world renowned V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Clifton beaches famous for their Blue Flag status.The New Kings Hotel is a chic boutique property, offering 42 designer rooms and a well appointed restaurant, cocktail bar terrace with sea views and attention to detail to meet all the international travelers’ requirements.In the Piazza da Luz below enjoy the vibrant lifestyle of the Cape with various eateries, food stores, beauty, health, hairdresser, clothing, art, business services and a wellness spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Babysitting
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
412Reviews2Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 148
  • 49
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BronwinSerfontein wrote a review Jul 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
A must visit, totally provides a full overall and well rounded stay, pure bliss :-) Perfectly located, extremely convenient, secure, and close to all amenities. We slept like babies :-) Just a pity we visited during adjusted level 4 lockdown, as we were looking forward to a dining experience at the Zest Restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Martine WOOD, General Manager at New Kings Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Bronwin Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at the newKings Hotel. My team and I always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are delighted that we met with all your service expectations, including of the high standard of cleanliness that we implement in complying with the covid19 protocols. Zest restaurant and conferencing facilities were launched at the beginning of the month and will be in full operation from Wednesday 28 July. You will be able to book any functions and enjoy our full service for breakfast, lunch and dinner from the restaurant including of room service. New Kings Hotel is in the heart of Sea Point, walking distance from the sea point promenade surrounded with many more attractions. Please enquire with us when doing your next booking. We hope to see you at The New Kings Hotel again soon Your business is important to us Kind regards, Martine Wood General Manager
Read more
tmontanari12 wrote a review May 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Our stay at New Kings Hotel was great. As a previous guest, it was wonderful to see how the hotel has evolved. The hotel staff were great and with COVID-19, the cleanliness was important - New Kings took this very seriously and we felt safe staying there. Overall, we loved our stay and will be back again soon. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Martine WOOD, General Manager at New Kings Hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Dear T Montanari, Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at New Kings Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are delighted that we met with all your service expectations. We are almost done with our refurbishment, with equipping and upgrading, to further improve the comfort in our rooms. Our restaurant and conferencing facility will be re- launched on 1st July. You will be able to book for any functions and enjoy our full services, breakfast, lunch and dinner from the restaurant including of room service. New Kings Hotel is in the heart of Sea Point, walking distance from the sea point promenade surrounded with many more attractions. Please enquire with us when doing your next booking. We hope to see you at New Kings Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Martine Wood General Manager
Read more
Aiste wrote a review Mar 2021
London, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
so we had quite a few problems in the hotel! There was no hot water, the internet didn’t work two days in a row there were some constructions happening, the door keys didn’t work, basically everything you could think of, but it wouldn’t be so bad as not about the manager of the hotel! She was the worse person I ever had an encounter with! Poor staff of hers, poor people in the hotel! The owners or directors of the hotels should def look into it! Such a rude and lack of manners person wow! I DO not recommend to go ! As you will see by yourself! On the other hand the rest of the staff was quite sweet!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Martine WOOD, General Manager at New Kings Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Dear Aisteee9, we thank you for your review. I would like to response on all that you mentioned that was not working in the hotel. You you said that you reported not having hot water and yet our front office maintained that you did not report it, as we have a Duty Management report where all incident or issues of maintenance happening in the hotel are being reported and attended, and this was not the case. When you came to front office eventually to report it, I personally addressed it, and went with our maintenance team to find out what was wrong, to find out that the switch had tripped and once reinstated, within one hour the hot water was back. The WIFI, our front office staff attended to you by assisting you to connect. He explained that your rooter kept on switching off when connecting and eventually he succeeded in assisting you. Regarding the door keys, we are aware of this problem and have attended to it. The world has closed down due to Covid19 and we are still waiting for the parts to arrive from overseas and unfortunately this is out of our control but apologized profusely for the inconvenience. We are busy doing refurbishing in the hotel as well as building a new restaurant and a board room. Sadly this can prove to be disruptive. We are mindful of it and we try to inform you within our welcome letter. Further letters are also sent out to all our guests to apologize for the noise if breaking or drilling occurring on the premises. As the manager of the hotel, I tried to assist you to the best of my ability. I went as far as writing you a letter to apologize for all inconvenience caused by offering you a complimentary night for the unfortunate incidents which you declined. I regret to have upset you, and hope to see you back for a better experience like many others have shared on this platform.
Read more
Roving773838 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
This hotels staff are an absolute dream, so lovely and helpful to my husband and i when our previous accommodation messed up our booking turning my panic into a thing of the past.This accommodation is so perfect, it is walking distance to the beach and local attractions. I cant fault this hotel or the staff! Well done on pure perfection!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Martine WOOD, General Manager at New Kings Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Dear Roving 773838, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review about your stay at New Kings Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are pleased that we could assist you and that we met with all your service expectations. I will surely share this with all my team, as this is truly rewarding in knowing that we are appreciated, and are achieving our goal in delivering 'service by excellence'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Jen wrote a review Mar 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
All round terrible but mostly the service. Obviously expected so much more during lockdown. There are many other great options in the area that I would recommend and of course opt for next time. Hope this review helps
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Martine WOOD, General Manager at New Kings Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Dear JenBen2021 thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were so unhappy about the service you received at our hotel. I tried to look at our data base in order to call you but sadly cannot find your email address. I would appreciate it if you could make contact with me at the hotel in order to assist. We take your review very seriously and would like to address it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about New Kings Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to New Kings Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mojo Market (0.5 km), The Point (0.2 km), and Saunders' Rocks Beach (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at New Kings Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at New Kings Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at New Kings Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at New Kings Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to New Kings Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include NV 80, JARRYDS Sea Point, and La Mouette Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at New Kings Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does New Kings Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at New Kings Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to New Kings Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (3.6 km), City Hall (3.7 km), and Iziko Koopmans-De Wet House (3.7 km).
Does New Kings Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.