We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dock Road Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$714
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$715
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/12
Trip.com
US$652
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/12
PricelineUS$712
TravelocityUS$715
Agoda.comUS$718
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1535)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (526)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#20 of 129 in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
One&Only Cape Town provides a comprehensive range of luxury services and accommodation, and serves as a gateway to the myriad of experiences in the city and on the continent – from safaris to pristine beaches to the exploration of the world-renowned Cape wine region. The resort’s feel is contemporary whilst drawing on Africa’s culture and heritage. The rooms and suites, the largest in Cape Town with a minimum size of 63 square metres, all have a private terrace or balcony. The rooms in the Marina Rise have panoramic views of Table Mountain, and the rooms on the resort’s adjoining island have a distinctive resort feel and convenient access to the infinity pool and separate Spa Island. The resort’s main pool area, located on one of two private islands, features a 350 sqm freeform, infinity-edge swimming pool, a private sitting area with double chaise lounges for sunbathing, and shaded trellis pavilions for those seeking respite from the sun. The exclusive Spa Island features the most comprehensive and expansive spa in Cape Town. An oasis of serenity and privacy surrounded by water and dense vegetation, the 1,000m2 One&Only Spa offers 12 treatment suites of which two have private wet areas for couples treatments. Two vitality pools complement the relaxation spaces, sauna and steam rooms, and a relaxation lounge offers snacks and beverages. The 200 sqm One&Only Fitness Centre, located in the main resort building, features state-of-the-art fitness equipment from Technogym® with personalised workout programmes developed for guests and residents. A dedicated Kinesis training room offers tri-dimensional pulley system training and there are spacious studios for Yoga and Pilates. Qualified Personal Trainers may be booked by guests for assessments and individual training sessions. One&Only Cape Town also has a specially-designed KidsOnly Club for younger guests from 4 years and older. This offers both indoor and outdoor games and activities, as well as full and half day programmes. These are all supervised, and ensure younger guests are educated, safe and happy. For guests with a large function in mind, there is an extensive Ballroom measuring 216m2 - able to host up to 250 people for cocktails and 120 guests for a sit-down meal. The space can also be divided into two separate rooms for a smaller setting. For meetings, the adjacent Meeting Room seats 40 and the Business Centre Boardroom seats 12 people. On the dining front, the resort boasts a selection of dining options and locations for in-house guests as well as visitors. The signature restaurants on the resort are Nobu. These are in the main resort building, and are on either side of the lounge, bar and deck known as Vista. A treat for wine lovers is the impressive tri-level Wine Loft with a mezzanine tasting room. On the resort’s own island is another venue called Isola. Between these, our banqueting department which services group events and celebrations and our in-room dining that services guests 24 hours a day, every culinary wish can be fulfilled. One&Only Cape Town displays the hallmarks of excellence found in all One&Only resorts around the world. It offers an unparalleled commitment to the finest experiences, attention to detail, luxurious accommodation, a wealth of activities and programmes, and state-of-the-art facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
2278Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 862
  • 269
  • 77
  • 32
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AbrieDeV wrote a review 01 Jun
Cape Town, South Africa93 contributions24 helpful votes
We visited the One & Only Cape Town Vista Bar & Lounge for a high tea to celebrate our mother’s 90th birthday, as it was a bucket list item for her. We weren’t disappointed! Pearl and her team gave us great service, from the wheelchairs used for our folks to get from the car to the lounge, to the care taken with ensuring they were ready for their experience, to their friendliness and professionalism, we can’t thank them enough for a wonderful afternoon! 🎉🎂👏 The food was excellent and what couldn’t be eaten during the sitting was taken home for later enjoyment. 😁 We had 5 different teas to sample as well as any style coffee, as well as a special cupcake to take home. Thanks again Pearl and team!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Abrie Thank you so much for such a wonderful review ! I am so delighted to know that you had such a wonderful experience at our Vista Bare & Lounge. Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us. Our resort strives to create joy for each and every one of our guests , so I appreciate that our team was able to do just that for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon ! Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Kirandeep S wrote a review Apr 2022
50 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
What a way to kick off our honeymoon. The first thing to hit you walking into the One and Only is the smell. The unique smell that I simply could not get enough of! Such a beautiful touch! Waking into our room bought me to tears, the view alone stopped me in my tracks. Cape town truly is a magical place and stole my heart, but I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! I don't know how people can not rate this place 5*! I would give it more if I could. The staff were incredible, in fact I couldn't get my husband to leave the hotel to explore of an evening because he loved our time sat at the bar interacting with Ashley, Elton and Musa! Everyone was just so incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much of an ask! Also the food on the bar menu had us repeat ordering, mouth watering! Our room was newly renovated, BEAUTIFUL doesn't cut it. We had the choice of choosing our own personalised pillows, room scent and bath salt/scent! We were very lucky to be able to stay 4 nights here. On our last day we were meant to leave at 10am to be transferred to our next stop, we had to get in touch with our agent to beg her to change this to later in the day, we simply did not want to leave! We also got to enjoy a meal at Nobu, which is situated within the hotel. This was the only part of our stay which wasn't up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Simply because the 3 out of 5 things we wanted to order were all out of stock :( Service was still incredible however. After none stop posting of this place on my Instagram (even thought pictures do not do it justice) I have a list of people waiting to book, hounding me for information, One and Only you need to give me my own discount code to share with people as I currently feel Iike a travel agent after sharing a few (or many) special pictures online! Thanks for making me honeymoon so special. We will be back...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 07 Apr 2022
Hi Kirandeep, Wow, what a wonderful review! Our number one goal is to create joy and in this case, it's safe to say we achieved this!. Having you choose us to be a part of such a special event in your lives does not escape us and we are honoured to be a part of it. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon, to help create even more special memories. Kind regards, Anne Scott, One&Only Cape Town General Manager
Read more
faheemp20221 wrote a review May 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
A Hotel located and the heart of the V and A water front, found the staff and personal very friendly, willing to help, however the same cant be said for the staff at breakfast they seem to be very unfriendly with poor service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi faheemp20221, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We apologise that your breakfast service was not held to the high standard that we are accustomed to providing and we will be actioning change based on this feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
jmono2016 wrote a review May 2022
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our first time and Cape Town. The wonderful accommodations and service at One and Only made this first time in the city spectacular on all fronts. The friendliness of the staff and quality of the room / restaurant / front desk was exceptional.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jmono2016, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we were so pleased to host you! We are incredibly proud of our staff and resort and I’m ecstatic to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us. We hope you return to Cape Town again soon, where we look forward to hosting you once more. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
amodpointofview wrote a review May 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates38 contributions13 helpful votes
Overpriced for what you get. As a local this price is ridiculous. If you have Euros or USD, there are far nicer places to stay that offer greater value for money. It does have a great position but that is all if you ant to be in a shopping area. Cape Town is a large area and has lots to offer. The Waterfront is just a short Uber away. stellenbosch, Simons Town, Muizenberg & Camps Bay offer nicer and cheaper alternatives without reducing value.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid the Waterfront as a venue to stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi amodpointofview, we are so sorry that you do not find the resort to your satisfaction. We always strive to make sure that all guests, local or otherwise, feel welcomed and enjoy their time with us. Should you have any queries or suggestions as to how we may improve, please let us know at marketing@oneandonlycapetown.com so that we may continue this conversation. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Dianne W wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Rooms are great. Recent refurbishment is a nice uplift! Staff always very helpful and accommodating for restaurants, tours/tickets to nearby attractions. Will always return to O&O Cape Town when I am back in town!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 20 May 2022
Hi diannew706, wow, what a wonderful review! We love that we are your go-to when you are in town and that we can always be of service to you and your loved ones - Cape Town has so much to offer and we want to make sure you experience as much as possible! We look forward to many more memories and adventures together in the future. Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Tris S wrote a review May 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom236 contributions164 helpful votes
Part of a skip around the area but the stay at this hotel was sublime. From the welcome to the suite overlooking Table Mountain, to the bar and concierge and not forgetting the important room and restaurant staff. Chapeau it was ll as would be expected and people could not do enough for you. Great position with V&A docks on the doorstep. Found Nobu good but a bit to pretentious, but it was full of tables ordering 1 plate and taking photos for their pages..... Overall excellent stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Suite 17 3rd floor is massive and great views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 20 May 2022
Hi kippersharp, thank you for such a sublime review! We are so proud of our resort, our staff and the high level of service that we look to provide, always. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
andrekrynauw wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Everything about the One & Only Cape Town is fantastic. The teams attention to detail was incredible. We were travelling with a 9m and 4yr old - they pre-loaded the room with all the baby stuff we needed (Dove body wash, shampoo, lotion and whipped, a nappy bin, a baby bath, etc.). The service was excellent and made us feel at home away from home. It an excellent base with everything you need, that’s close enough to head out to explore the waterfront and surrounds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 20 May 2022
Hi Andrekrynauw, what a lovely review to receive! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves so much and are honoured that it felt as though it was your home away from home. We think of our guests as family and like to treat them as such so please, always feel free to come back your South African family anytime! We can't wait to see you again soon. Best, Anne Scott General manager
Read more
Lech R wrote a review May 2022
St. Gallen, Switzerland174 contributions49 helpful votes
Amazing experience from The Barman Ashley. He made 5 different cocktails based on our taste preferences and all were just perfect. What a lovely chit chat after - we felt relaxed and left the bar with good mood. We will return definitely with our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 20 May 2022
Hi 565lechr, how lovely to hear that Ashley was able to create such a wonderful time for you! We strive to make every interaction and experience at One&Only Cape Town one to remember and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to many more cocktails and chats in the future! Best, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Liao wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
What a dreadful high tea! We were left to our own devices. No one took the time to explain the food to us. We were not offered tea or coffee until we found someone and asked them to assist us. The food at best was lack lustre too much sweet mousse and not much else, but again no one explained the food to us. Don’t waste your time!! The selection of tea was less than I have at home. And the staff were very disinterested in us. Our chairs weren’t pulled out, no napkins were laid on our legs. We didn’t get clean plates . There was no ambiance, no music was playing in the background. Not at all what I would expect
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid the one and only
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from OneOnly CapeTown, Owner at One&Only Cape Town
Responded 20 May 2022
Hi liao218, we are so sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. One&Only Cape Town holds itself to extremely high standards and to hear that these were not met is disappointing. We have also taken note of your suggestions and comments above and thank you for taking the time to let us know - this is how we improve! We are sincerely sorry that the food and service was not what you have come to expect of our resort and we hope that you return in the future to allow us the chance to rectify your experience. Kind regards, Anne Scott General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$574 - US$781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
one&only cape town hotel cape town central, one and only cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about One&Only Cape Town
Which popular attractions are close to One&Only Cape Town?
Nearby attractions include HintHunt Cape Town (0.3 km), Watershed (0.3 km), and Two Oceans Aquarium (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at One&Only Cape Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at One&Only Cape Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to One&Only Cape Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dash Restaurant & Bar, Pigalle Restaurant, and V&A Food Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does One&Only Cape Town have an airport shuttle?
Yes, One&Only Cape Town offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does One&Only Cape Town have airport transportation?
Yes, One&Only Cape Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at One&Only Cape Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.