Cape Rose Cottage

Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (7)
Everything you need to have a great breakfast
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 17 B&Bs in Camps Bay
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Car hire
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Sun terrace
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
451Reviews3Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 13
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rayandjoanb wrote a review Mar 2020
Widnes, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cape Rose Cottage is a great place to stay in Camps Bay in a quiet area. We stayed in the Gardenia Suite which was furnished and decorated with such good taste and attention to detail that it felt like home. Standards were very high. Pam and Steve welcomed us into their home and were so friendly and helpful, always available to book restaurants for us and for a chat. The Suite was very well equipped and breakfast was lovely. Nice patio and garden and close to the pool. We hope to return and Cape Rose Cottage will be our first choice for accommodation in Camps Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorraine0761 wrote a review Feb 2020
Portishead, United Kingdom8 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pam and Steve were fantastic hosts, welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for them. The housekeeping staff were lovely and our room was kept spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Lavender Room which was bright and airy with a perfect view of the ocean. We shared a very large lounge area with two other guests though most of the time had it to ourselves. Breakfasts were great...fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, eggs, bread, jams and a meat and cheese platter if requested at no extra charge. In addition to this Pams home made shortbread biscuits were the best we’ve ever eaten. Don’t stay here if you want to be in the thick of the hustle and bustle, this is a quiet and peaceful haven. Thank you for a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Rose Cottage after already spending 7 days in Cape Town and Franshheok. Rose Cottage was hands down the most relaxing part of our trip.

We were welcomed on arrival by Pam who went out of her way to show us around and ensure that we had everything that we needed for our stay. The room was extremely comfortable, bright and homely, with fantastic views over the ocean. Any minor issues that we had (hairdryer not working, wifi signal low etc.) were quickly sorted out by Steve, for which we were very grateful.

When we went out to explore Camps Bay we realised how close we were to everything, and even getting to the V&A waterfront or any other touristy areas outside of Camps Bay were only a short Uber ride away.

Staying here was great as it felt a bit like being at home. We were well looked after, and yet still afforded our privacy. We really appreciated the bottle of sparkling wine we were given as a gift to say Happy New Year, as well as the selection for breakfast. Pam even took the time to make sure we liked what we were being given each day.

If we were ever to stay in Camps Bay again (which we hope we will!), then we would certainly be wanting to stay here again. Thank you Pam and Steve, no wonder you have so many positive reviews already :-)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed at the blue room upstairs with ocean view - was fantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bendicht luginbuehl wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cape rose cottage is situated close to the twelve apostels mountain range on a beautiful spot in camps bay. the view is outstanding, the cleanness and cozyness of pam and steve's cottage is perfect. I enjoyed their hospitality and support during my entire stay. always note that the stay in this cottage is far more homely than the stay in a hotel room. it is personal, it gives you the feeling you'd always wanna have being abroad.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If ever you're looking for friendliest and helpful hosts, go for the cape rose cottage and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dsor wrote a review Mar 2014
Paarl, South Africa215 contributions141 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Camps Bay is a great location and Cape Rose Cottage sits high above it, with great views of the ocean. It is secure, well organised and comfortable.

However, surely it should be listed as a Self Catering establishment rather than a B&B. If it is a B&B, then the breakfast falls far short of what ought to be expected from the number one B&B in Camps Bay, consisting of no more than commercial sliced bread, butter and a few small jam packets, some cereals, a few yogurts in the fridge, and tea/coffee making facilities. In that regard, at the price we paid, we felt very disappointed that we had to go out to find a supermarket to buy fruit and croissants to make up.

Also we found a notice to say that we needed to be out of our room by 10am on the weekend if we wanted it serviced that day was a bit unreasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CapeRoseCottage, Owner at Cape Rose Cottage
Responded 08 Jun 2016
Thank you for the time taken to post your review. We sincerely regret that your 2 night stay in our home was not entirely satisfactory as we try our best to please our guests wherever possible so they have an enjoyable stay. One thing that you don’t mention in your review is that on your request we made a special arrangement for you to watch the Ireland rugby game. We do politely ask guests to vacate their suite by 10am on a Saturday and Sunday if they would like their room servicing as our staff finish at 12 noon on those days. However, on the Sunday we advised that you could stay on in the suite as we didn’t have guests coming in on that day. Nothing more to add other than to thank you for staying with us and to wish you well. Kind Regards, Pam & Steve Cape Rose Cottage.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MuchtravelledCheadle wrote a review Mar 2016
Sutton, United Kingdom12 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking forward to staying here but we're so disappointed. The night before we stayed atv21.Roux Street Franschhoek and what a difference. The room was poorly decorated with a green theme. Curtains had no lining to shut out light or the sun. They were however, green. Bed was a normal double where every else in SA they have been King or Queen. This is a self catering b & b. In four days we had a single loaf of bread that wasn't changed. Eggs were provided with various ways of cooking them in a microwave. The most worrying was fruit juice in a bottle with a broken seal that suggests it was being topped up each day. If the place wax cheap still wouldn't have been happy. Should have stayed at the Bay Hotel where they do great cocktails and fantastic sunsets.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CapeRoseCottage, Owner at Cape Rose Cottage
Responded 08 Jul 2016
To the reader - Our response is in reply to a married couple who each put on a review, one rated ‘poor’ headed ‘Disappointing’ and the other rated ‘terrible’ headed ‘A really bad experience’. It would be unkind and unfair to deter you as the reader from choosing to book the Cape Rose Suite/Studio because of these two spiteful reviews as you can read many positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay in the studio because of the garden ambience and the privacy it provides. With regard to the standard of the studio it has been graded 4 stars each year since its inception in 2006 by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, the latest assessment having been done in May of this year. It is less expensive than our upstairs suites, yet has the same facilities. To the reviewers - We sincerely regret that your 4 night stay in our home was not satisfactory as we do our utmost to please our guests wherever possible so they have an enjoyable stay. In booking through an agent you chose the ‘Deluxe Garden Studio (our Cape Rose Suite/Studio) with a Sea View’ as correctly described on the agent’s website. At the time of your booking, we personally followed up with our own confirmation, providing you with a full description of the suite you had booked and how we provide breakfast. At that time, you could have chosen one of our upstairs suites with panoramic sea views as these were available for you to book, although at a higher daily rate. On your arrival, and during your stay, it was evident from your complaints that you were unhappy with the room choice that you had made. However, as other guests were already booked in our upstairs suites it wasn’t possible for us to offer you one of these suites, nor was it possible for us to offer you any compensatory refund for making the wrong choice. In our opinion, the content of your reviews is spiteful, untruthful, vindictive and malicious, and clearly intended to cause maximum harm to our reputation and good-standing within the guest house community. In respectfully reminding you that your were guests being hosted in ‘our home’ it was shameful of you to take pictures of individual items in the room and to post them on Trip Advisor to try and show us in a bad light. Throwing the cushions used to dress the bed on the floor and photographing them was a particularly despicable act. Kind Regards, Pam & Steve Cape Rose Cottage.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia H wrote a review Nov 2018
London, United Kingdom43 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived for 3 nights- could not believe our luck as this was the ideal setting for us. A view to die for and the facilities were superb. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful, booking restaurants and giving recommendations to make our time here perfect! 100% recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pat d wrote a review Mar 2016
Gatley28 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot believe how many good reviews this BnB has got. We were so shocked when we were shown our room, in fact we should have left. The room was narrow and long, poorly equipped kitchenette, bathroom opening directly from the kitchen, small double bed, tiny patio area outside cut off from the rest of the property by hedges, hideous decor. Breakfast was self catering with nowhere nice to eat it...fruit juice bottle was topped up each day rather than replaced, milk was sour, a loaf spent the entire five days with us. The noise from the guests above woke us when they used the bathroom at three every night. The radioactive green luminescent sunlight through the unlined curtains woke us at dawn every day. There was no access to the beautiful room shown on the web page. This room was only marginally cheaper than the rooms on the first floor. We felt tucked away in a tiny corner!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: DO NOT choose the green room!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CapeRoseCottage, Owner at Cape Rose Cottage
Responded 08 Jul 2016
To the reader - Our response is in reply to a married couple who each put on a review, one rated ‘poor’ headed ‘Disappointing’ and the other rated ‘terrible’ headed ‘A really bad experience’. It would be unkind and unfair to deter you as the reader from choosing to book the Cape Rose Suite/Studio because of these two spiteful reviews as you can read many positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay in the studio because of the garden ambience and the privacy it provides. With regard to the standard of the studio it has been graded 4 stars each year since its inception in 2006 by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, the latest assessment having been done in May of this year. It is less expensive than our upstairs suites, yet has the same facilities. To the reviewers - We sincerely regret that your 4 night stay in our home was not satisfactory as we do our utmost to please our guests wherever possible so they have an enjoyable stay. In booking through an agent you chose the ‘Deluxe Garden Studio (our Cape Rose Suite/Studio) with a Sea View’ as correctly described on the agent’s website. At the time of your booking, we personally followed up with our own confirmation, providing you with a full description of the suite you had booked and how we provide breakfast. At that time, you could have chosen one of our upstairs suites with panoramic sea views as these were available for you to book, although at a higher daily rate. On your arrival, and during your stay, it was evident from your complaints that you were unhappy with the room choice that you had made. However, as other guests were already booked in our upstairs suites it wasn’t possible for us to offer you one of these suites, nor was it possible for us to offer you any compensatory refund for making the wrong choice. In our opinion, the content of your reviews is spiteful, untruthful, vindictive and malicious, and clearly intended to cause maximum harm to our reputation and good-standing within the guest house community. In respectfully reminding you that your were guests being hosted in ‘our home’ it was shameful of you to take pictures of individual items in the room and to post them on Trip Advisor to try and show us in a bad light. Throwing the cushions used to dress the bed on the floor and photographing them was a particularly despicable act. Kind Regards, Pam & Steve Cape Rose Cottage.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janetfarr wrote a review Oct 2018
10 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This guest house is a real gem. Steve and Pam the hosts welcomed us like friends and the accommodation is first class and spacious. Every little thing you could possibly want has been thought of. The decor is very tastefully done and is really pretty. The breakfast which Is left in the room is more than ample and it was lovely eating it on the balcony looking over Camps Bay. If we are lucky enough to go back to Cape Town we would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
donroman82 wrote a review May 2017
Ilmmuenster, Germany6 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a wonderful stay at Cape Rose Cottage to start our vacation in the Cape region.
We rented the small apartment for 4 days and enjoyed it very much.
The terrace of the apartment offers a great view of the sunset, and the apartment was really nicely decorated by the owners. Pam and Steve made us feel very welcome and provided us with a great breakfast every day.
Additionaly, they were very helpful in giving us good advice and reserving restaurants for us.
We would definitely return, the Camps Bay area is just great and the views of the sea and the 12 apostles outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Go619766
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I just saw this. The location is safe but would suggest taking Uber to the cafes etc at sea level, especially at night, if you are alone. It’s about USD 2 a ride.
Answer from Dr_Who_13
Cape Town Central, South Africa49 contributions52 helpful votes
Hello, thank you for your enquiry. Cape Rose Cottage is in Camps Bay and Sea Point is the next village along the coast. Green Point is a little further. In a car it would take you about 15 mins to get to Sea Point from Cape Rose Cottage. Hope this helps! Pam and Steve
bendicht luginbuehl wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If ever you're looking for friendliest and helpful hosts, go for the cape rose cottage and ask for pam and steve!"
Read full review
Bryan wrote a tip Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed at the blue room upstairs with ocean view - was fantastic"
Read full review
Iva wrote a tip Dec 2019
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Lavender Suite for the views and size; The Gardinia Studio for having a private little garden for yourself and views too."
Read full review
Christine wrote a tip Dec 2019
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For privacy choose the downstairs green room."
Read full review
Diane McKeag wrote a tip Oct 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstair rooms had a huge living room area with honors bar and best ocean and mountain views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Camps Bay area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCamps Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAPE ROSE COTTAGE - B&B Reviews (Camps Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Rose Cottage
Which popular attractions are close to Cape Rose Cottage?
Nearby attractions include Table Mountain (3.9 km), Victoria & Alfred Waterfront (7.9 km), and Shimansky (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cape Rose Cottage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Cape Rose Cottage?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cape Rose Cottage?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cape Rose Cottage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cape Rose Cottage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House, Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, and Mozambik V & A Waterfront.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cape Rose Cottage?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Cape Rose Cottage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (7.8 km), Iziko Slave Lodge (5.8 km), and City Hall (5.0 km).
Does Cape Rose Cottage have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Camps Bay HotelsCamps Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Camps BayHotels near Cape Rose Cottage
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire