The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa

The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa

201 The Promenade, 75 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005 South Africa
The Marly Camps Bay
Traveller (307)
Panorama of the Deluxe Suite at The Marly Hotel
360
Panoramas (15)
Deluxe Suite
Room & Suite (246)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 13 hotels in Camps Bay
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Life is Better at The Marly Nestled perfectly between the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and Camps Bay Beach, our 38-room, five-star boutique hotel is a fresh take on luxury – an intricately sophisticated showpiece where everything is effortless. Complete with a boutique spa, mountain- and sea-facing rooms and suites, and a rooftop that boasts exquisite views of the city’s most iconic landmarks, this is truly Cape Town at its best.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Spa
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

201 The Promenade, 75 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005 South Africa
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 94 out of 100
94
Cape Town Intl Airport
20.8 km
See all flights
486Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 396
  • 48
  • 19
  • 8
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rahallny wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am rating this as a very good (but not excellent) urban beach hotel.

First, the room. We had a superior ocean view room, with a balcony. The room was very good, although perhaps a little on the small side. Excellent bathroom and balcony. Well decorated, although the style in the room and the hotel itself is idiosyncratic. I strongly recommend the ocean view side. Overall, 8/10.

Second, the physical layout. The Marly is spread across three levels within a multi-level shopping complex. This makes the physical layout very quirky. You reach the reception desk by car by driving to the top level of a multi-level commercial car park. You reach the hotel restaurants by leaving the hotel premises and entering the shopping complex. It also results in the hotel having something of a cramped feeling as you navigate around. The hotel doesn’t have what a lobby or a lobby bar. It is, however, just over the road from a great beach, although the hotel doesn’t have chairs or beach service or anything comparable. The pool is very small. The gym was small but serviceable. The promenade in Camps Bay is generally a very good location, with a number of restaurants and other sights close by. Because the hotel is spread across multiple levels, it probably isn’t great for guests with mobility issues. Overall, 6/10.

Third, the services. Very good. Check in and check out (once we found the reception desk) were smooth. Concierge service was OK. Housekeeping, bell desk were very good. Service around the pool was very good; service at the main restaurant fell a little short. We did not use room service or the spa. Overall, 7/10.

Overall, a very good hotel that suffers somewhat from its physical layout.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen R, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your detailed feedback which will be used to address service challenges. We continuously strive to provide the very best in five star hospitality and it is through feedback from guest like yourself that we are able to do so. Kind Regards Hannalie Greyling General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samson F wrote a review Sept 2020
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here last year and the hotel had recently re-opened following refurbishments, so we booked one of the new rooms overlooking the bay. It was a truly magnificent view but that certainly didn’t detract from the efforts on the inside. The room was equipped with every essential mod con and the interior decor had the perfect balance of elegant yet very chic. Whilst we were spoiled for choice with restaurants around Camps Bay, we were sure to make the most of the restaurants on site and none of them disappointed - particularly breakfast, which served up some sensational a la carte options for both the health conscious and hungry :-) We would definitely come back and the price definitely matched the quality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen Assistant General Manager, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Thank you for your very kind review, it was lovely to have you back. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurants. We hope it becomes a yearly visit. Kind Regards Hannalie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Franglaiseausud wrote a review Feb 2022
Le Bar-sur-Loup, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent a week at The Marly. The location in Camps Bay is fabulous, with views of the 12 Apostles and stunning Atlantic ocean beach. You are super close to everything. The rooms, rooftop pool and spa are everything you would hope for...chic, cool and beautifully appointed. However it is the staff which really elevate this hotel into another league. Unfortunately my husband fell ill with a serious bug while in Cape Town and the staff could not do enough for us. Their support was invaluable...from the maids, to Max the concierge, to the amazing front desk team Marcelle, Lungi and Malandri to the rooftop staff at Baptiste. I've travelled all over the world and stayed in some amazing hotels and the attention to detail and friendly efficiency here is well worth experiencing. A big thanks to you all for your support at a difficult time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The seafront position means some noise from the restaurants in the sea view rooms. A mountain...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alphen General Manager, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 06 Mar 2022
Thank you for your very kind review and for complimenting the team. We hope your husband has had a full recovery and that we will see you back soon! Kind Regards Hannalie Greyling General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mario_BS_1988 wrote a review Feb 2020
Basel, Switzerland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the reception was very professional and always extremely kind.
Rooms and the facilities were clean
The location of the hotel could not be better

After staying at the Marly for almost a week, we came to the conclusion that the staff at the pool and breakfast were far away from the service of a 5-star hotel. That being said, the service in the restaurant where we had breakfast, was not consistently providing the same level of service that it should for this type of hotel.
Also, the staff at the pool was extremely pushy and wanted us to continuously order drinks & food. We would suggest that you train the staff to distinguish between hotel guests and external guests, as I paid quite an amount of money to stay at the hotel and I should be able to enjoy the facilities without being almost forced (in a very unprofessional communication) to spend more money. Once we were even asked why we don't order at least a bottle of water or coke. I definitely don't need to explain why I am not thirsty, especially not after declining to order three times within 30 min!

The rates are the same as for 5-star hotels in Europe, but the service does not come close to these type of hotel standards. We were really disappointed by the service and therefore felt very uncomfortable - especially at the pool area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen A, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your detailed feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating each point with the greatest of care. We strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality. It is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we seemed to have failed and for this I can only apologise. We certainly hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Hannalie Greyling
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zaheer2022 wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated like a royalty. Our bags were taken to the room and complementary juice was given to us for our honeymoon stay. From the gym to the pool, the hotel has perfect facilities and even offered us a beach bag filled with water and towels for us to enjoy. The location is perfectly situated with the beach a few steps away and a variety of resturants for us to enjoy within walking distance. Despite the traffic outside the noise never once bothered us. Such an incredible stay and I cannot wait to return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alphen General Manager, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you back for your first anniversary if not sooner! Kind Regards Lianke
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hrogan492044 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Off to a rocky start, two rooms in two nights due to wind/an issue with the window seals that meant we had sleepless nights. However, Marcelle made a great effort to make things right and were moved to a beach facing room (including being greeted by rose petals and a bottle of bubbles to celebrate our honeymoon) where we were finally able to get 2 nights of solid sleep. We are very appreciative of the efforts that Marcelle and her team made to make sure our stay at The Marly memorable from that point on.

Great location with a great rooftop, the sunsets with the mountains in the background are truly remarkable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen R, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for complimenting Marcelle and the rest of the team. I appreciate your detailed feedback which was brought to my attention during your stay and we have since had the seals replaced. We sincerely hope this will not stop you from returning to The Marly and we hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Cape Town. Kind regards Hannalie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked and stayed at The Marly for a much needed time out. When we paid the exorbitant price, we thought we would be arriving to an amazing treat. Through our own fault, we missed that the exorbitant price did not include breakfast. The room does also not even have a bath, even though the website we booked with stipulates a bath. When addressing with the hotel, they merely shrugged and said its a mistake. As regular visitors to Cape Town, and Camps Bay in particular, we have stayed at many hotels in and around the area and have never been as disappointed with a hotel as we were with The Marly. Its only saving grace is the sea view but overall The Marly is overpriced, a rip off and not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The sea view rooms are not worth the dramatically increased price of the mountain view rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alphen General Manager, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 05 Sept 2021
Dear Mrs Cox Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our offering, specifically as we continuously strive to provide the very best in five star hospitality. The 3rd party website through which you made your reservation has since removed the image inadvertently attached to the room type reserved. Kind regards, Hannalie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela D wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Monterrey Bay Plaza hotel & Spa is 4 * in Pacific Grove CA with Bad service at high costs.Design of hotel isn't convenient for guests.From the lobby you have to get a lift to the lower level and then walk a long way past Schooners rstnt to another elevator to get to the rooms.The hotel has 5 floors with a Spa on the 5th floor.Guests staying on the 4th floor would have the displeasure of loud pounding sounds at 7AM daily from the Spa above them.Front desk staff have varied standards of service and when calling them from the room it takes a long time to get through. Lobby bar is busy thanks to the excellent service provided by Imed the bartender who has excellent customer service.Without Imed,the bar wouldn't be busy.Schòoners rstnt makes mistakes by serving the incorrect dish to the guests instead of what has been ordered.This rstnt also takes a long time to answer their calls.Pisces,Monica and Sam at Schooners provide good service including a few other staff.Guests floors lack signs opposite the elevators informing guests NOT to speak loudly along the corridors after 10pm at night thus disturbing the sleep of other house guests.Rooms aren't soundproof.Toiletries in room are minimal unless U ask for it.Pillows aren't comfortable.I definitely wouldn't Recommend this hotel to Tourists or others.Cannery Row where this hotel is located also lacks great restaurants.The view of the ocean is the best but tourists require the entire trip to Pacific Grove to not simply be about the ocean view.An appropriate description of Pacific Grove is that it is for old timers or ppl into watersports.It isn't a VIBRANT place to visit.We spent 15 nights there at high rates only to be greatly displeased.Shops shut early at night as well & there are only a few of them.Holidays should be fun with great hotels,shops and restaurants especially if the Tourists aren't into watersports and sleepy towns like Pacific Grove.What a disappointing and expensive trip for us at US$20,000.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Alphen General Manager, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Angela I trust you are well. The review posted does not relate to The Marly Boutique Hotel and Spa which is in Cape Town, South Africa. Would you kindly remove at your earliest convenience. Regards Lianke Botha Assistant General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LEAH T wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is chic and has excellent service, but we were a little taken aback to find that it's actually located on the third floor of a mall. It does have a view of the sea, but it's across the street from the beach so there's distance and a lot of roofs in the way. Our room was on the smaller side, but the balcony made up for it when the weather was pleasant. Our last night we had to change to a mountain view room, and that was, in fact, quite stunning. Breakfast is particularly good, served outside in one of the adjacent restaurants, offering all the choices on its standard menu. Drinks on the roof by the pool to watch the sunset proved to be far better than any of the recommended (and crowded, noisy) restaurants. Ultimately, we enjoyed the casual, outdoor vibe of the area, coupled with the high standard of service of the hotel itself.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen A, Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip. Kind Regards Hannalie Greyling
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erin a wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay at The Marly. Marcelle and the front of house team provided impeccable hospitality. The rooms were gorgeous — we had an ocean front stay, and I could have just lived on our little balcony. Don’t miss out on the new rooftop pool, or a visit to the spa. My husband and I both got phenomenal Swedish massages that left us relaxed and ready to walk the beach! The restaurants onsite are top-notch, and the entire service team pitched in when my husband was ill one day of our trip. I can’t tell you how much their kindness meant, and I’ll definitely recommend The Marly to all our friends (or anyone looking for a great visit to Camps Bay!)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are spectacular
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alphen R, General Manager at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 17 Jan 2020
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear you made use of all the hotel has to offer. Highly recommend trying one of our facials next time as well. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Hannalie Greyling General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoe F asked a question Mar 2015
Maresfield, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
does the hotel welcome children?
Ruud S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The road is crowded and super noisy. Nog the 5 star experience, more like 3 stars at 800 euro per night"
Read full review
Mark S wrote a tip Feb 2024
Darlington, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We felt safe walking around in the evening."
Read full review
Allyson wrote a tip Jan 2024
22 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"While the sea view rooms are probably spectacular, I couldn't get over the view of the mountain from our room. "
Read full review
nurse0ncall wrote a tip Dec 2023
California67 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"book months in advanced, they are likely to sell out"
Read full review
RealWomen wrote a tip Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom131 contributions118 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The waterfront seemed quite noisy and the roof terrace overlooks some of the balcony's so I'd go for a view of the hills for quiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Camps Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 8,888 - R 10,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCamps Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MARLY BOUTIQUE HOTEL & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Camps Bay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Camp's Bay Beach (0.3 km), Theatre on the Bay (0.2 km), and Mountain View Horse Trails (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House, Mantra Cafe, and Codfather Seafood & Sushi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Camps Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Camps Bay HotelsCamps Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Camps BayHotels near The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire