Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

7 Chilworth Road Near the Glen Apartments, Camps Bay 8040 South Africa
Traveller (424)
Panorama at the Camps Bay Retreat
360
Panoramas (13)
Suite Balcony View
Room & Suite (209)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 2 960
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
R 2 812
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
R 2 489
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 13 hotels in Camps Bay
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

7 Chilworth Road Near the Glen Apartments, Camps Bay 8040 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Cape Town Intl Airport
20.6 km
See all flights
614Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 417
  • 100
  • 34
  • 31
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
teppin wrote a review Nov 2021
Rawcliffe, United Kingdom97 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Camps Bay Retreat is a lovely hotel, in spacious grounds at one end of Camps Bay.

It has easy access down to the bay (as long as you don’t have problems with walking down a gradient) and good taxi/Uber connectivity to Cape Town itself.

The main hotel is very olde worlde in style with more modern touches. Lots of wood and an amazing fireplace which is very cosy when it’s chilly on an evening.

For our first night, we ate at Himitsu, and the food was divine. We were very impressed, the Asian fusion menu was delicious. We also had a great bottle of wine, and coming from the UK, the price was good for the quality of the food.

We tried different breakfast menu items for each of our 3 mornings, and all were wonderful. The eggs Benedict had a more spicy take which was definitely enjoyable.

Most of the staff were friendly, especially the restaurant/bar team and the housekeepers.

One of the concierge team was also very good, however the other did not really have the front of house skills I’d have expected. It’s the little things. We discovered the welcome pack (inside a reusable carrier bag) whilst we were packing to leave. It had one useful information/vouchers which we would have used had we known, he was not the best communicator.

Car parking at the hotel is easy and safe. Our room was located over the rope bridge which was fun, I was just glad that I didn’t have to carry the cases over it! We were in room 11 which was large and had a great view across the bridge to the sea. The room could probably do with a bit of updating and blackout blinds. It also is on the side of the hotel nearest the road and so ear plugs are a must, especially on weekends when the racer boys like to zoom up and down the street.

If you like cocktails, you also won’t be disappointed, we tried a few and the plum wine is delicious as an after dinner drink.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 11 if you are a light sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lizzyc69 wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellingborough, United Kingdom48 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very late review but my friend and I stayed here as we were going great white cage diving for our 40th birthdays. We decided to stay at Camps Bay Retreat as it was a bit unusual and we were not disappointed.
We decided to stay over the rope bridge away from the main house it was like staying in a tree house and as it was low season we chose which room we wanted which was the front one on the first floor which was lovely as when we returned every day the sun was still shining onto our decking so we could relax with a wine or two.
The room had everything you would need including a stand alone bath which if you wanted a private bath not ideal as room open plan but quite nice to have a bubble bath with a glass of wine and a chat with your mate.
We had breakfast included which was great as you could have the usual cereal, toast etc they also put out cheese and meat selection and you could choose from the menu as well which was very tasty especially the eggs royale.
The main house was like a creepy mansion with josticks burning and a real fire going with wooden panelling and floors we loved it and the view if you wrapped up warm to sit outside in the morning was amazing.
To get down to Camps bay we would walk down through this small forest which was like going through a secret garden it had a natural
pool and different paths to get you there which was really peaceful and unusual and we would go through the gate to the main road.. not so great coming back in the dark ( more like the Blair Witch ) as no lighting had to use our phones and all uphill and very creepy.
You could get the hop on hop off bus from down there which we did a few day’s unless we were out on day trips and the views with
Table mountain especially with the fog around it are out of this world .. beach is just beautiful although be prepared to be hassled to buy paintings from beach sellers.. a handful of restaurants and shops to choose from if not eating at the hotel.
We did wine tasting, swam with sharks, climbed part of Table mountain , went whale watching and did some paragliding also touring the city on the bus there is so much to do.
Thoroughly recommend Camps Bay Retreat as a base the staff are so polite and helpful, views are stunning and it is a different experience from a usual hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark F wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom224 contributions127 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an absolutely beautiful small estate a short walk from the Camps Bay strip. The main hotel is a mansion house, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, offers short walking trails and stunning views of the ocean and the sunset. Camps Bay is lovely and is a 10 minute stroll (or short uber ride). The rooms are away from the main house and ours was accessed via a rope bridge and was a lovely suite with a balcony. This is a lovely place to escape to and has very helpful staff as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike S wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
An overall very disappointing experience.
With a few exceptions, staff is mostly unmotivated, lazy and lack professionalism for a supposedly high-end hotel.
Cleaning job half-done in the rooms with dirt collecting under the furniture. Standard things like replacing water or removing used cups etc. done.
In the main house, the rooms are old and shabby, and you hear the constant kicking of balls from paddle court right next door, which is open to the public.
Across the bridge rooms are a little more modern, but you have to cross a wabbly and slippery suspension bridge.
Mattresses are old, poor quality and much too soft.
Beware if you stay in the new part: the generator doesn't reach that part of the hotel, so during load shedding you are fully without power.
Avoid the restaurant if you have any food intolerances because you are unlikely to be adequately informed by the kitchen. Chef randomly changes ingredients and dishes you order without informing first.
Management's handling of guests is also below standard. We were originally quoted one rate, and then upon arrival they wanted to charge us a higher one.
I had to stay an extra night alone because I fell ill, the hotel did not even offer single occupancy rate for the night.
To top it off, a silk jacket was "lost" from our room. Hotel management extremely uncooperative, took no responsibility and offered no compensation.
All in all, absolutely sub-standard. The only positive was the view and surroundings, but don't go there expecting anything in terms of service and quality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaheen booley, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat
Responded 04 Mar 2023
Dear MikeS583 - Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We strive to offer the highest standards in our facilities and services. Your review enjoys much attention as it assists us to elevate our service standards through identifying where staff need training and development. We regret that you did not receive the high-standard we strive for. Please be assured that the concerns you raised will be dealt with and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RazzMoosa wrote a review Sept 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted to give you personal feedback on my recent stay at camps bay retreat. Firstly I have been wanting to go stay here for some time and was really looking forward to the experience. It’s a beautiful peaceful place with great scenery but there are many improvements you need to make. The security guard was asleep 2 nights and we returned late, we had to call the 24-hour line and precede to go knock on the guard door to get help we informed you in the morning but nothing was done. On one of the days the room was not made even with us hanging up signage no one bothered to come to refill water change towels and make the bed, that’s absurd. The waiters don’t have the right menu I spent time arguing with one about the mimosa charge but eventually the restaurant manager Shaun came and gave her the correct menu and told her I was right. I called the spa on Thursday when I arrived they asked me for my details and would call me back to arrange. And no one called and
I didn’t follow up cos I expect more from you guys honestly, that’s basic. We made them aware of all these issues but nothing was really done just a mere sorry. If all you want is to go see the place just spend a day there but if you appreciate good service and basic things I have mentioned above, I would rethink booking a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaheen booley, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear RazzMoosa - thank you for sharing you're recent experience at our hotel, you're review requires much attention as this will assist us in elevating our standards and improving on service all round. We regret that the experience you had was not up to the standards we strive for, please be assured that the concerns raised have since been dealt with and we hope that you will allow us to welcome you back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa S wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our last stay here, was incredibly disappointing, the rooms are a bit tired (Beds are old), the service was awful and the 'breakfast included' was too little for all the guests staying there. If you have been here you know the rooms are across the bridge with some rooms up 2 flights of stairs. With the luggage we brought, we had to navigate them ourselves to our room. During our stay, we asked if we could order two bottles of water & they outright refused. It is really sad, as they are in a gorgeous location, with beautiful grounds, there is even a waterfall on the property. We stayed here Sept 2019
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
drossi420586 wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay at Camps Bay Resort in February 2024. If you choose to stay there make sure that you stay in the Villa part of the hotel and not the main Manor. The 2 sections of the hotel are completely different with the Villa being clean, modern and comfortable and the Manor being dark, tired and dirty.

We stayed in Manor for the first 2 nights but were moved to the Villa for our third night. On our first full day we had low water pressure and no hot water in our room. On the second day we had no water at all including no way to flush the toilet in our room. We were told that this was a "municipal water issue" and outside the hotel's control. When we had no water in the room we were told that we could use the toilet in a recently vacated but not yet cleaned room down the hall from our room. When I told the management that we wouldn't be walking down the hall to use a toilet in another room they provided us with a bucket of water to flush the toilet in our room and another bucket "just in case" we needed to flush it again. After complaining to management about this they finally agreed to move us to another room in the Villa. On the final morning of our stay, 2 members of staff who knew we had a poor experience in the main Manor came to speak to us before we checked out to see how our stay in the Villa was. They both said words to the effect that "it is much nicer in the Villa isn't it?" It appears as though it is an open secret amongst the staff that the Villa is much better than the Manor and that you're unlucky if you get stuck in thre Manor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Drossi, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable and greatly appreciated here at Camps Bay Retreat. Your valued feedback is quintessential for us to constantly improve on our product and service and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have investigated the various factors that you have raised, and our team has been in touch. Camps Bay Retreat is built on the uniqueness of what it has to offer. With some of the most beautiful gardens and best views in Camps Bay, what separates Camps Bay Retreat from other hotels is that we have different room specs; from the heritage, antique style Manor House which forms part of national heritage space, to the lodge style deck house, as well as our contemporary villas and our modern villas. We have a taste for everyone. Many returning guests insist to stay in the Manor House for its old age colonial aesthetic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tandc wrote a review Mar 2023
Canterbury, United Kingdom48 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely location with expansive, hillside grounds and a spectacular sunset sea view - but wind picked up in the evening. Our room was in the Manor House that oozed colonial comfort. Attentive & friendly staff. Good breakfast options (included in our rate) and the one night we dined there the food was very pleasant. Easy to get back into Cape Town by taxi (bus also available) or 10 mins taxi ride to Table Mountain cable car. We walked into Camps Bay proper one evening for drinks at the Beach Cafe & dinner at The Codfather. We also did a self drive day trip around the Cape peninsula to enjoy Hout Bay, lovely Simon’s Town, the Penguins at Seaforth, wild ostriches in the National park and, of course, the Cape Point lighthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaheen booley, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat
Responded 04 Mar 2023
Dear TandcLondon - Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you had a great time at Camps Bay Retreat and we cannot wait to have you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori B wrote a review May 2021
Durban, South Africa29 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Camps Bay Retreat was a wonderful way to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in the villa which was spacious and luxurious and very private. I'm sure most of the rooms at the Retreat are designed to make the most of the most fabulous views of the Atlantic ocean, just a few minutes walk away, and the Twelve Apostles and Lions Head mountains which feel so close you could touch them. The bounty of unusual Asian style food at Japanese-cuisine Himatus is sublime and we took great delight in choosing our breakfasts and dinner and were never disappointed. The staff are friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay even more special than anticipated. The garden set on 4 acres of natural reserve was a constant surprise as we walked along the various nature paths discovering little benches, sculptures, tinkling streams and a mountain pool. Close proximity to the Camps Bay strip of bars and restaurants makes it perfect as there's no need to drive if you feel like some action and the stunning beaches of Camps Bay, Glen Beach and Clifton are an easy stroll from the pedestrian gate. We indulged in a 2-hour couples treatment at the spa which left us feeling blissed out and beautiful. There is so much to do here and so many options of where to do nothing but meditate, read or simply be surrounded by ndepeaceful nature and the spectacular scenery of Cape Town. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
22rj2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we were welcomed by Kouthar through the large brass-knobbed wooden doors, we knew we had chosen the right place for a romantic stay. I had packed a picnic in a backpack and was planning a hike up the mountain due to the convenient location of the Retreat, but abandoned that idea in favour of exploring the property itself. One can't help but relax on this property after exploring the grounds and then being served excellent refreshments on the verandah of this ancient colonial mansion overlooking the sea with the majestic Table Mountain behind you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from shaheen booley, General Manager at Camps Bay Retreat
Responded 19 Sept 2022
Dear 22rj2022 - Thank you for all you're kind words, we recently put a lot of effort in maintaining our nature reserve and we are glad that you have reaped the rewards. We have passed on the message to Kauthar and cannot wait for you to return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from mrfastidious
London, United Kingdom138 contributions203 helpful votes
They pretend to care, pretend their CEO has contacted the victim of the crime whilst in reality they do nothing
LuxuryGipsy asked a question Jul 2017
Berlin, Germany130 contributions152 helpful votes
Is the beach under construction?how long the crane will be there?
Answer from CampsBayRetreat
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi. We are happy to report that the crane has recently been removed
Ines K asked a question Apr 2017
Stuttgart, Germany307 contributions54 helpful votes
Kann man vom Hotel aus Tagesausflüge buchen?
Answer from CampsBayRetreat
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, Yes the hotel reception can assist with booking tours.
Devon W wrote a tip Mar 2024
7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re looking for luxury in Cape Town, stay here! "
Read full review
donaldkjohnston wrote a tip Feb 2024
16 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid room 22 at all costs"
Read full review
Henry G wrote a tip Aug 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom36 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of the delicious (and free) cream tea they serve each afternoon."
Read full review
bombaybeauty wrote a tip Jul 2023
New York City, New York272 contributions159 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms have private pools or hot tubs or both. Don't be put off by the brown water in the hot tub - this is the natural tannic water. "
Read full review
Laura P wrote a tip Jun 2023
Boston, Massachusetts14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is cold and windy and rainy in June! But the CBR has heaters and beautifully lit fireplaces to keep you warm."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Camps Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,837 - R 3,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
camps bay retreat hotel camps bay, hotel camps bay, retreat hotel camps bay
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCamps Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAMPS BAY RETREAT - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Camps Bay Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Camps Bay Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Cosy Bay Beach (0.3 km), Donald Greig Gallery & Bronze Foundry (0.5 km), and Glen Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Camps Bay Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Camps Bay Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Camps Bay Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camps Bay Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tiger's Milk Camps Bay, The Roundhouse Restaurant, and Mynt Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camps Bay Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Camps Bay Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Camps Bay Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Camps Bay Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Camps Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Camps Bay Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Camps Bay Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Camps Bay Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (4.3 km), City Hall (3.8 km), and Iziko Bo Kaap Museum (4.2 km).
All Camps Bay HotelsCamps Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Camps BayHotels near Camps Bay Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire