We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Place on the Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Place on the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of The Place on the Bay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent experience at The Place on the Bay and cannot fault it at all. It's not a luxury hotel but it's not luxury hotel prices. I was travelling with my mother and 3 month old baby so we stayed in a 2 bed apartment right on the sea front. The living room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Alison H A big thank you for this review and I am happy that you were looked after and that you enjoyed your stay. Nice way to end this chapter. Marlie

Bhopal, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights. Though the bathrooms were not that good. But the staff was excellent. We booked a sea view villa that was excellent with some good views. All in all the lodge is very good in all ways. Location was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shrmankit
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear shrmankit Thank you for your feedback. Happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Marlie

Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place was very nice, the rooms were well equipped and confortable. Plus being in front of the beach and close to different bars and restaurants made it spectacular. But, the service was ok. Not very good. It is hard to describe. Because it was not bad, but it was not great either. For example, they fixed our router in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franco D
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Franco D Thank you for this review although I do not really understand it. Kind regards Marlie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay at Place on the Bay. We were allotted a beach view room, just as we had requested on the booking request. The view of the Camp's Bay Beach from the upstairs balcony is simply superb. From the Place on the Bay you have a breathtaking view of the Table Mountain and the Lion's Head. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunitha U
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sunitha U Thank you for this review and yes Place on the Bay is a good location to stay. Close to almost everything. Kind regards Marlie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We started our 2 week South Africa trip with 5 fabulous days at this hotel in Camps Bay. The location was perfect and allowed us to easily explore all the best parts of the city and its surrounding districts. We found all the staff extremely friendly, very professional and helpful and the hotel itself was a charming art deco style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinFletcher74
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear MartinFletcher74 It is sad to close after so many years but we need to upgrade. I am happy that you enjoyed your last stay with us. Kind regards Marlie

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We had a great time in Place on Bay. Best location (including parking, essential!!), with a spacious, clean and comfortable apartment in Camps Bay. You will not find something comparable in Camps Bay. There are only 2 hotels on the beach a cross the street. The other option is much more expensive. Friendly staff. Nice view to the beach. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando D
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Fernando D Thank you for this positive feedback - much appreciated. So happy that you had a good time. Have a nice day!! Kind regards Marlie

york
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We have stayed here a few times, mostly because we like the penthouse. It's spacious and private with great views and of course the location is brilliant. After a 4 year break it was noticeable how tired the place has become and there was no working lift to the penthouse which meant a hike up and down 49 steps, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate234
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Kate234 We usually tell everybody when they make a booking for the penthouse that the lift is not working so that they can make a call if they still want to book the unit. Kind regards Marlie

Newcastle UK
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Location was spot on, accommodation was fine, yes it does need updating in places, but could not fault the cleanliness of our room and also the outside area, had a large terrace overlooking the ocean. Staff were always friendly and helpful. If we return to Camps Bay, would definitely consider staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshlieK
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Ashliek Thank you for this review - much appreciated!!! You made my day!! Have a Blessed Christmas!! Kind regards Marlie

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and myself with our 2 month old baby booked a night at The Place on the Beach through TripAdvisor, to celebrate a our wedding anniversary. After a long day of activities, we headed to the hotel to feed and clean our baby before heading out for dinner. As we arrived at the reception, the lady helping me told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jp d
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jp d The receptionist did her best to help you because you did not have any confirmation, just a reverence nr from Agoda that you gave to her verbally - no confirmation was find even on their web site. No bookings can be made on Trip Advisor - it directs you to other OTA`s We could not give you...

Williams Lake, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed for a week at Place on the Bay. We were expecting a fantastic room after reading reviews and checking out the website. The reality of our room was disappointing. The 2 bedroom unit was more suited to a family than two couples. One room with a king bed and the other with twin beds. Neither bedroom had an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CydNeuf
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback. Although we offer to make the 2nd bedroom a king-size bed, you did not want it. All the other complains you had, were fixed. You were issued every day with amenities and beverages. And the FOH went out of their way to be helpful. All the necessary info is correct on our web...

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
261 reviews
0.2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
616 reviews
2.4 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1 052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 km away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
192 reviews
0.2 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: R1 771 - R4 983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Place on the Bay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Brigantine, New Jersey

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Place on the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views on the front but the traffic may be a little noisy for some although we all slept perfectly well.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonhQ8833SE, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms with the beach view.”
  • View of the beach from the room. you just need to cross the road to access the Camps Bay Beach.
  • View from the bed room. A small balcony with a table and chairs adds to the charm.
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“penthouse the best”
 of 5 bubbles kate234, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible request a room at the front of the hotel to maximize the view.”
 of 5 bubbles V4934EDchristinak, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get Oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles chrisgort, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5