3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel

3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel

Traveller (249)
Panorama of the Cottage at the 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
360
Panoramas (18)
View of Twelve Apostles from Mountain Rooms
Room & Suite (316)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#4 of 17 B&Bs in Camps Bay
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This luxury 16 bedroom guesthouse offers a quiet retreat close to Camps Bay beach. Magnificent sea and mountain views. Within easy walking distance to the famous Camps Bay beach, with its trendy restaurants, shops and sidewalk cafe's.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Greek, Portuguese

Location

27 1st Crescent, Camps Bay 8005 South Africa
766Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 621
  • 119
  • 19
  • 7
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa Y wrote a review Mar 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in room 14 ... wonderful outlook. Early evening, I enjoyed a glass of wine while surveying the beautiful sunset.
Although Covid-19 has hit the area, my stay was extremely pleasant. As a precaution, breakfast was no longer a buffet but a-la-cart, and all tables were well spaced from each other. I also appreciated the hand sanitiser which the staff encouraged every guest to use before entering the breakfast area. I only spent one night as I was on a business trip. My room was spotless and the hosts were extremely obliging and pleasant. I hope to visit again in better times.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
richard l wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted 8 nights in Camps Bay but had to split between 2 hotels for 4 nights each due to availability. So we stayed here for the last 4 nights in January and were so glad we booked this lovely Accomodation. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were so warm and friendly and were able to assist in any matters we needed help on.
Location was also spot on, being a 5 minute walk down to the facilities along the beachfront Breakfasr was excellent with fresh fruit, choice of cooked meals and cheeses, cereals and cakes to choose from. Sitting on the veranda leading from the penthouse at sunset was stunning ! Thankyou to all the staff at 3 on Camps Bay for making our stay so memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are very good but may wish to book the sea facing rooms for the views at sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bankmoss27 wrote a review Mar 2020
bankmoss27
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 6 nights in March and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone except the less mobile as the walk up from the beach front is quite steep. The staff are all friendly and ready to help and the room we had was large and has everything you would normally require.

The hotel organised a transfer from the airport and Uber was quick and cheap for trips to the V&A.

Camps Bay itself seems to shut down quite early (10pm) and has a number of bars and places to eat on the beach front.

Already missing the views from the hotel and Milan the cat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hall_UK wrote a review Feb 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at this hotel after a 4 week road trip from Durban. We had stayed at 8 different luxury/boutique hotels during this trip. All had been fabulous and of a similar price to what 3 on Camps Bay were charging for a standard/deluxe room.

Yes the hotel is in a good location with stunning views and is clean. But after these positive points it is definitely trying to punch above its weight and is failing.

Tamara gave us a tour of the hotel to show us the good points and raise our expectations before she showed us our ground floor bedroom with garden view. It was the smallest room I have ever seen in South Africa. The bathroom was about the size of a downstairs cloakroom in a U.K. house - with a small shower to one side.

But the icing on the cake was that this room is immediately off the breakfast room. And I mean immediately- you opened the bedroom door and.a table for 6 is laid up just outside your bedroom door. I asked Tamara if this would be very noisy in the morning as we would like to be able to lie in as we were on holiday. She told me that this wouldn’t be a problem! She and the management team are obviously very aware of this noise problem as they have constructed a “screen” which you fold out across the door as a so called soundproofing aid. In realty it’s a cheap construction of MDF wood which serves no purpose at all apart from making the room look even worse.

We asked if we could be moved to another room but nothing was available
So it was grin and bear it. First morning we were woken at 7am by the noise and the second morning we were woken at 6.15am. Our bed may just as well have been situated in the middle of the breakfast room.

No where in any of their marketing material or on their website did they mention that this room was located just off the dining room. Had this hotel been open, honest and transparent with their information we would never have booked this room. Just be honest with your guests.
I suggest that Tamara or maybe the owners spend a night trying to sleep past 6.15am to experience the quality of sleep and rest that their guests experience in a so called luxury hotel.
You cannot rely solely on your location and views to call yourself a luxury hotel. It has to be an all round experience.

Judged on our experience this was not a luxury hotel:
Dreadful bedroom with cheap fittings
Tiny bathroom
No dressing gowns
No suitcase stands so suitcases have to be left on the floor so you have to scrabble about on the floor to retrieve items from your case

So Room 5 on the ground floor receives my award for the Worst Bedroom out of a survey of 8 fabulous hotels.
This hotel was over priced and hugely under delivered for the room we booked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Three On Camps Bay, Owner at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Colin and Lyn Hall Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback and Apologies for not meeting your expectation's We are proud to say we go the extra mile in making sure our guests are happy and have a perfect stay! I'ts unfortunate that we were fully booked during your two night stay with us and we were unable to move you to a room more to your comfort Our 2 Standard entry level rooms are on the Ground floor with Garden facing views and our website shows the exact size pictures and description of each one It's perfect for the traveller that is spending their budget on exploring Cape Town and not on their accommodation We understand that room size is important for you ... Its a great pity you did not take the time to enjoy and mention our communal areas with their breath taking views for our guests to enjoy the best picture perfect sunset's from our penthouse , dining area and pool terrace Thank you once again for your review and we will certainly attend to the room noise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noc389 wrote a review Dec 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing place to stay, very kind, accommodating and helpful staff. Rooms have everything you need and the location is within 5 minutes walking distance of all local amenities. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Camps Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nazmeen Malik wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for two weeks over Christmas and New Year as a solo female traveller from the UK. It was my first time in Cape Town so I was a little nervous however everything fell into place as soon as I arrived at 3 Camps Bay. Staff here are pretty switched on and are good fun too, especially Tamara and Chris. They were very helpful when booking activities and always went out of their way to make enquiries on my behalf. Maria and George who own the place will just as happily help out when staff are on holiday etc. The views at the top terrace are beautiful. You'll just see the perfect sunsets. Rooms are kept to a high standard and cleaned every day. Location is great too as you're not far away from anything. I used Ubers which worked perfectly and were the safest as well as most reliable option.
You won't be disappointed if you book this place.
Cape Town being a cape can get windy so you need to bear this in mind and bring some ear plugs if you are sensitive to the occasional wind at night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BondFan wrote a review Oct 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This establishment is in a great location in Camps Bay - literally no more than 10 minutes to the amazing beach front.

Please bear in mind that this is a small hotel and as such the reception is not manned 24/7, breakfast had to be ordered 24 hours in advance etc.

However, thee rooms are great: clean and modern. Whilst there isn’t a restaurant on site - as stated you’re no more than 10 minutes walk away from plenty of eateries! Area appeared to be very safe.

The staff were very friendly.

Overall, great location, staff and rooms and would definitely choose to stay here again if ever in Cape Town!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting cape town for a wedding and also part of our honeymoon.
We were welcomed by the lovely staff after a long flight from the UK.
Overall we had a lovely stay, the staff could not do anymore for you.... I am dairy free and usually have soya milk with my coffee, although they did have the almond milk option, the next day they made sure I had my soya milk for my coffee in the morning.
The house itself was in a great location and spacious, clean and just very pleasant. Definitely would recommend this and if we return to camps bay will visit this guest house again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shep8471 wrote a review Feb 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just about to check out of this hotel. We had room 4 in the garden area. Very quiet and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the main street of camps Bay. I would strongly recommend this hotel. Fantastic views from the public areas and some of the rooms. Excellent breakfast and very attentive staff. Is around a 10 to 15 minute walk uphill on the way back from the main beach but this makes it quiet and peaceful. There is an honesty bar which is very reasonably priced. R120 for a bottle of wine for example. If I was ever to return to camps Bay I would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saras Moodley wrote a review Jan 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is located at 3 Fulham road Camps Bay also known as Camps Bay Loft . The host was excellent.
I really got worried when I saw the staircase,however the host was so helpful and reassured us that he will get our bags to the loft.
A very well kept and clean place. The scenery is outstanding and the environment is particularly comfortable.
A beautiful location for a holiday break .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Three O
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Good day We have invertors and a generator and this is only for Lights and WiFi to work during load shedding A Superior room is partial Sea Facing and a Luxury room is full Sea facing Kind Regards
Answer from Three O
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi thank you for your message Unfortunately the answer is no
Answer from Three O
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Jade Thank you for your message. We provide pool towels. This is a standard requirement for 4* graded property's Looking forward to having you stay with us. Kind Regards 3 on Camps bay boutique hotel
Answer from Three O
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear EllsBells14 Thank you for your message. All our Luxury rooms are sea facing and our Premier rooms are mountain facing. The penthouse (Top floor) has 3 bedrooms but the public areas such as the lounge and kitchen is available for all the guests use. Kind Regards 3 on Camps bay boutique hotel.
Answer from Three O
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Sue Thank you for your message. Apologies, we only saw the message now. The main difference between the premier rooms and the classic rooms is that all the classic rooms is on the ground floor where the Premier mountain facing rooms is on the first floor. All our classic and premier rooms either have 1 x king sized bed or 2 singles (twin beds) We do have ample on street parking and we are situated in a cul de sac with video surveillance, therefor quite safe. Kind Regards 3 on Camps bay boutique hotel
elaine1408 wrote a tip 14 Jun
United Kingdom458 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No lift few flights of stairs"
Read full review
Edwin P wrote a tip Apr 2024
Eibergen, The Netherlands94 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to restaurant The Codfather! The best fish restaurant with fresh food. Robben island is a must-do, but also very touristic."
Read full review
AlisonOnlywood wrote a tip Mar 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom39 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Getting into Camps Bay is down a steep hill. The Ubers are plentiful and very reasonable."
Read full review
Suzanne Q wrote a tip Feb 2024
hampton middlesex27 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Continental breakfast is served with plenty of variety. A cooked menu is available at extra cost. "
Read full review
jtc2008 wrote a tip Dec 2023
New Haven, CT40 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be mindful of "Load shedding." It effects the whole country. Bring a flashlight."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Camps Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,418 - R 3,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
3 on camps bay boutique hotel camps bay, 3 on camps bay boutique hotel and spa
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCamps Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

3 ON CAMPS BAY BOUTIQUE HOTEL - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Camp's Bay Beach (0.9 km), Theatre on the Bay (0.4 km), and Maidens' Cove (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House, Mantra Cafe, and The Hussar Grill Camps Bay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Camps Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Greek, and Afrikaans.
All Camps Bay HotelsCamps Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Camps BayHotels near 3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire