Villa Contessa

Villa Contessa

28 Voortrekker Street, Beaufort West 6970 South Africa
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 villa in Beaufort West
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
68Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 11
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Palmer66 wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A gorgeous property filled with art and careful attention to detail in the individual rooms named after film stars. A warm welcome from Idith and her dogs after a long drive. The rooms are lovely and aircon quiet and effective. The food is amazing!! Home cooked delicious lamb curry, lamb roast and salads, olives, hot fresh bread, pudding, wine and beer. Breakfast a huge omelette containing bacon, peppers, fresh tomatoes, cheese and onions-all eaten al fresco with plenty of tea/coffee from our lovely hostess. Idith asks what food you don’t eat and cooks accordingly - really is a beautiful place. Thank you so much!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mlee602798 wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful overnight stay - beautiful rooms, but the hostess is the highlight! The breakfast was 5 star. The upstairs deck to view the Karoo sunset is unique. The pool is just right to cool off in, and the parking convenient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andi wrote a review Mar 2021
Hermanus, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Home from home
I have lost count of my wonderful stays here at V Contessa. Edith is the most kind and fascinating host ever. She is a world traveller and is also a very talented artist which is noticeable when you browse around the house and outside rooms. Her guest house is a treasure trove of interesting detail around every corner. Always a delicious welcoming platter awaits you when you arrive. Luxurious rooms with comfortable beds and attention to even the finest detail like good quality linen, pillows and towels! Coffee, tea and very tasty rusks awaits you in your room. A new addition is a lovely splash pool which will contribute to an even more relaxed atmosphere after travelling the N1. Surely a place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the Karoo. Not to be missed when you have to stay over in Beaufort West! 10/10!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
choltz118812 wrote a review Feb 2020
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful little place. The host was extremely accommodating and friendly and the food was great. The room was very spacious and very clean with a homely feel. Would recommend Villa Contessa and would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Basil wrote a review Dec 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night enroute to our final holiday destination but wished we stayed longer. A Karoo feel, welcoming and accommodating host that makes you feel as though you are visiting family and unique accomodation that is almost as if you entered a different country for a moment...loved this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Le-Reece Maynard wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
One can actually forget they’re in the middle of Beaufort West when visiting this place. It has a charming Spanish feel.
The room itself was a little dark, but generally clean.
Our host was friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emalhe245069 wrote a review May 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a warm and personal welcome from the owner! The room felt cosy and the unique elements surrounding the rooms are interesting as is the garden. The quaint art gallery adds to the relaxing atmosphere of the guesthouse.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christa H wrote a review Jan 2022
Edenvale, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed overnight on our way to Cape Town. What a wonderful experience, from Edith phoning while we were on our way to check about supper plans, to the check in, in our lovely themed room (Freddy Mercury) to the sundowner drinks in the Lookout point, to the lovely home cooked dinner and breakfast the next morning - we could not fault anything. The decor in the whole venue is unique, eclectic absolutely unique - something new to see in every corner. Edith is a super host and we felt as if we were guest in her house. Absolute value for money for the accommodation as well as the meals. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It is dog friendly - as long as the dogs are medium sized and smaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klauns118127 wrote a review Mar 2023
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been asked to take my previous HONEST review down to get my refund. When I phoned Edith now to get feedback on this I was told that she doesn't like me and will not refund me. She said that R900 is nothing to her, it might be a lot of money to me :-( Unfortunately this has been a nightmare experience from the start and I cannot even rate them on the service as there is NO SERVICE.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Villa Contessa, Owner at Villa Contessa
Responded 24 Mar 2023
Klauns Yes this was a nightmare expierience and i will fight this because you did not even stay here and this girl that write all the reviews for you talk too much She never gave me a chance to talk Her review on booking.com was terrible for someone that did not even stay here And yes i will not pay your money back you could have cancelled your booking and then would get a refund but you preferred to give the review So that review cost you R900 and i got a 1 out of 10 and it brings my rating down terrible So you can review wherever you want if it makes you happy I know that we were not in the wrong and it could be handled differently Fire the girl that do your bookings or send her on a course for public relations We have very good review because people are happy to stay here Sorry you could not expierence it Your choice ! Edith
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sbause267912 wrote a review Jan 2022
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Villa Contessa was an ideal stop over place in town for us on our way to Cape Town. It had space for our large trailer which staff helped to unhitch and park.
Villa Contessa provided a room with two single beds for my adult son and myself, which is quite difficult to find.
Edith was friendly and helpful. Villa Contessa has a unique feel and flair.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Christa H wrote a tip Jan 2022
Edenvale, South Africa53 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is dog friendly - as long as the dogs are medium sized and smaller"
Read full review
Hotskirt wrote a tip Nov 2017
Cape Town, South Africa48 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms were all large and beautifully decorated. They all had aircons."
Read full review
harktobounty wrote a tip Oct 2017
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom69 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the Omar Sharif"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Beaufort West area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeBeaufort West
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA CONTESSA - Reviews (Beaufort West, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Contessa
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Contessa?
Nearby attractions include Beaufort West Museum Complex (0.5 km), Dutch Reformed Church (0.6 km), and Spinwiel Antique Shop & Village Museum (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Contessa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Contessa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Contessa?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Contessa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Contessa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karushi - Sushi and Pizza Restaurant, Joe's Easy Diner, and Donkin Deli.
Is Villa Contessa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Beaufort West.
Are pets allowed at Villa Contessa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Contessa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Contessa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blockhouse (0.7 km).
All Beaufort West HotelsBeaufort West Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Beaufort WestHotels near Villa Contessa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire