We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

About

#1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, German
233Reviews0Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 81
  • 19
  • 2
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Global01978111891 wrote a review May 2019
Luanda Province, Angola1 contribution
It was a pleasent stay I am glad to come back and recomend to my friends. We had a special and kind attention from Veronica and Cintya. We only suggest that the kitchen and bathroom windows from the flat 21 have to be blind for a sleep quality, and the tree from the small garden needs to be care to avoid rabish above the garden furniture, but I have to say again that I am enjoy a lot staying at Sunshining.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 05 Jun 2019
Good day Global01978111891 This review is posted to the wrong account. We do not have any ladies by the name Veronica or Cyntya working here. None of our rooms have kitchens. I do hope the next time you are in our beautiful city that you give Villa Sunshine Guesthouse a try. Kindest Regards Jarryd General Manager
Read more
Meander62937826028 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
Bethany is very friendly as well as cleaning ladies. Very comfortable studio having everything you would need to stay , kitchen is well equipped. We liked that it is just 3min walk to the supermarket and restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 05 Jun 2019
Dear Meander62937826028, We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We are very fortunate to be within 5 minute’s walk to popular restaurants and shopping centres, 10 minutes to the most popular beaches in South Africa, The V&A waterfront is just 12 minutes away and Cape Town international airport 25 minutes away. Attention readers, just to clarify we are not a self catering property. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance Your Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
Cruiser31512584300 wrote a review Apr 2019
Antwerp, Belgium1 contribution
I had a nice stay in Villa Sunshine. I had some questions before my stay and the owners responded my emails very quickly. They are very helpful and make sure that you have everything you need to enjoy your stay in Villa Sunshine. The rooms are very big with a nice balcony. The view on the sea is rather limited.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Dear Cruiser31512584300, We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance Your Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
Paradise59694935973 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
This is Home away from Home. Good location. Very good to relax after a hectic day's work. The Staff are very friendly and ready to help. The location is very quiet and easily accessible. The nearness to Shops and Restaurants is one of the factors that make the location rated as Very Good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 24 Apr 2019
Dear Paradise59694935973, We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We are very fortunate to be within 5 minute’s walk to popular restaurants and shopping centres, 10 minutes to the most popular beaches in South Africa, The V&A waterfront is just 12 minutes away and Cape Town international airport 25 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance Your Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
proprone wrote a review Apr 2019
4 contributions
We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our trip and absolutely loved it. Nice break from the noise of long street, safe to walk around at night, and lots of really nice restaurants around. 5 min walk to the beach, laundry around the corner. the property itself is nicely appointed, comfortable beds, beautiful sea facing rooms. Both the managers that we met during our stay were extremely helpful, moved us to an different room to make us more comfortable, and were always available to help with anything. Taxis in cape town (uber or bolt) are so cheap, i'd reco for anyone to stay at this property in sea point and taxi everywhere instead of taking risks walking around long street at night. A taxi downtown is 40 rand, to table mountain 55.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 05 Jun 2019
Dear Proprone, We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We are very fortunate to be within 5 minute’s walk to popular restaurants and shopping centres and The V&A waterfront is just 12 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance You Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
Sightseer19465785629 wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
Hi, The lady that checked us in was very friendly, no complaints. Couch had a huge burn mark, and bathroom basin cabinet looked like had water damage or maybe just tired. generally clean and very comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 17 Apr 2019
Dear sightseer I am responding to let you know that you have posted this review to the wrong guesthouse. Villa Sunshine Guesthouse is a B&B and this review is definitely not meant for us because our couches are from coricraft and are snow white in colour with absolutely no damages. Also to clearly point out this review is not for us - we have no female worker for the past few months. Kindly remove this post from our account or post it where it belongs. Kind Regards Villa Sunshine Guesthouse
Read more
Vacation13186230910 wrote a review Mar 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa1 contribution
This is very comfortable accommodation with a large room. There is also a swimming pool on the property. The place is situated at a walking distance to the beautiful promenade, close to the centre of Cape Town and the Waterfront.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 29 Mar 2019
Dear Vacation13186230910, We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We are very fortunate to be within 5 minute’s walk to popular restaurants and shopping centres and The V&A waterfront is just 12 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance You Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
Passport39254300140 wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was gobsmacked to find such a dirty broken double mattress in the first little room. we were then moved to the next room where there were 2 single beds with mattresses in the same state as the first. Jarred agreed with me but could not offer us any better. The shower towels were so soiled that all that he could comment, was how embarrassed he was. the lady smoking and shouting making use of the ashtray on my door step in the middle of the night was not an issue because it was impossible to sleep on a mattress that belongs in a homeless shelter. Leaving the car out in the street with no security guard is not an ideal relaxed atmosphere. I have stayed in many 1 star hotels in my life that leave better memories. To sum up this was a disappointment of note.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, Owner at Villa Sunshine
Responded 25 Mar 2019
Dear readers. We will not stoop so low as to write a duplicate response as this guest has written a duplicate review. The title, wording and everything is identical to the review below. If you would like to read a response to this review please direct your attention to the response for the below review Regards Villa Sunshine
Read more
Basilchait wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed at Villa sunshine last week for a 3 nights. Management agreed that the bed and mattress were suitable only for a homeless shelter and transferred us to another room with 2 single equally abused and dirty beds. The shower towels were so torn and soiled that jarred (manager) expressed his embarrassment when I brought it to his attention. The fungus on the pathetic poky bathroom wall remained in place from our arrival till our departure. You are warned About a R1000 charge if you loose the bunch of keys handed to you after filling in arrival documents in the dining room. Do not buy or bring any perishable food because there is no fridge in your room. If you get a downstairs tiny room, you have the managers office virtually on top of you with staff only kitchen along
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, Owner at Villa Sunshine
Responded 25 Mar 2019
Good day Basil, Dear readers - let me point out that this guest stayed for FREE!!! He informed my staff that his brother had payed for his accommodation as the 5 star villa he had booked for himself had been fully booked hence had to find alternate accommodations for Basil. His brother had booked a standard room with no view suited for 1 guest, we upgraded for FREE to a deluxe room and Basil did not appreciate this as it was not good enough so we upgraded again for FREE to a room leading out onto its own terrace, steps away from a 55 000 litre saltwater pool, which I see you did not complain about. So you come and stay at my property for free, and you harass my staff from beginning to end. Keeping Jarryd in your room for long talks when he needs to be tending to 10 other guests at breakfast service, who all shared a very different experience at the same time you did I might add. Dear Trip Advisor readers, please do yourselves a favour and read the reviews below this one and the one above as I am sure you copy and pasted the same review and used your wife's account to double up the review. I cannot believe you would dampen your own vacation in such a way by reading so much into the on goings of the guesthouse... Obviously guests are not allowed into the kitchen - you tell me what hotel allows guests to walk into a food preparation area... NONE, that's how many. and yes of course there is a charge if you lose the keys as it poses a major security threat seeing as though each guest has the front gate and front door key as well as a room key with a number on the tag. We take security very seriously here to ensure the safety of each and every guest. I am unsure as to why you would call a textured wall decorated with beautiful seashells pathetic when every other guests comments on how nice the attention to detail is. We provide food and refreshments for all guests at Villa Sunshine and on the odd occasion when guests bring their own perishables we advise each and every guest about the honesty bar fridge. The lady sitting outside your room on her phone who you befriended just the day before? Yes you told my staff that you had taken her contact details and when my staff asked you if we should advise her to take her calls in her room or around the pool you advised my staff that this would not be necessary but now on a public platform it is an issue? You knew there was no parking on the premises and yet still went to hire a car the day after checking in? What a direct contradiction to your own statement. Dear readers, there has never been inside parking for hire cars, but we have the top security company in Sea Point who patrol every 30 minutes or less as well as our 24/7 monitored HIK Vision CCTV security system. Here is Cape Town is nothing like Johannesburg, where the above gentleman is from, We do not need to barricade ourselves in our own homes and don't need barbed wire on our walls. A few months ago, Sea Point received a beautiful write up in the newspaper stating that it has become one of the top safest areas in the Western Cape along with Camps Bay. Exactly the reason that we do not need a pool fence because we have a no child policy. You were made aware of the DSTV and you being a local know exactly how many repeats are aired on DSTV. If you were unsatisfied with what you were watching out of the 900+ channels you could have made use of Netflix on the Smart LED TV in your room. Dear readers, this guest threatened my staff upon departure that they want a refund for the full stay (When they didn't even pay for their own accommodation - but wanted to receive the cash funds from us) I can't think of any company following through with such an act. In our industry we learn to not cast judgement towards our guests but the whole behaviour and approach to this situation seems like you are possibly trying to dupe your family member out of money for the accommodation that was gifted to you, and you say if we did not refund you the cash that you would write a bad review and get all your friends and family members to team up and write bad reviews too, well clearly you did not receive the refund. I notice that in your wife's response above she mentions that you have more fun staying at 1 star rated properties... Nuff said. In future, please enjoy the other 1 star properties as you are not welcome back to Villa Sunshine. We will not take part in this fraudulent activity nor will we subject ourselves to such bribery. We will much rather spend our time catering for and tending to legitimate travellers who are here to enjoy our beautiful city. Regards Villa Sunshine
Read more
Jonzito wrote a review Mar 2019
7 contributions
The hospitality of the staff was super awesome especially Evans, I’m definitely staying there when I go back to Cape Town. The guest house location is a walking distance to Clifton, Greenpoint, Camps Bay and the Waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HenningP156, General Manager at Villa Sunshine
Responded 06 Mar 2019
Dear John, Myself and Evance really enjoyed accommodating you last week. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful experience in our lovely property. We pride ourselves on service and strive to make each guests stay with us as memorable as possible. We are very fortunate to be within 5 minute’s walk to popular restaurants and shopping centres and The V&A waterfront is just 12 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Henning, Jarryd & Evance You Villa Sunshine Team
Read more
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownBantry Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing