The President Hotel

Traveller (814)
Panorama of the One Bedroom Apartment at the President Hotel
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (348)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 2 113
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 2 220
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
R 1 917
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 7 hotels in Bantry Bay
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in Bantry Bay between the vibrant city and the Atlantic Ocean, the President Hotel welcomes you to Cape Town and all its breath-taking sights, thrilling activities and inspiring moments. Sophisticated luxury and personal service come standard while local style and innovative design set us apart. Relax in our bright, spacious rooms and apartments with an array of luxury facilities, smart technology and stylish design. Spend sun-kissed days beside the infinity pool, savour delicious locally inspired cuisine in our dining areas and bars. Explore the beaches, mountain, shopping and outdoor adventures just moments away. Experience Cape Town. At The President Proudly part of the Preferred Hotels and Resorts Lifestyle Collection
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
3,321Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,699
  • 1,016
  • 363
  • 136
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Val H wrote a review Feb 2020
15 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We started our honeymoon trip in Cape Town arriving on New year's eve and stayed at the President Hotel. We were greeted at check in by friendly staff and were given a welcome drinking sparkling wine which was nice and there was also a bottle of sparkling wine and small cakes in the room . We thought it was a good start, however, we had requested a mountain facing room, but overlooked the car park, no mountain view. The room itself was ok, however the shower sprayed up onto the ceiling and over the top of the screen, making things wet on the basin area and also the water didn't drain quickly enough so the tray was back filling from the trap with foul water whilst you were in the shower .  We reported this to reception and were told that maintenance would be sent, but they never came. 

On 3 occasions we were not left the complimentary water or any face cloths, and I has to call housekeeping to get them sent, on one occasion I had to call twice before they arrived. 

The worst experience was on our second evening there (Jan 1st) when we went to the restaurant at 9pm and despite it not being very busy we waited 40 minutes before we received any drinks, even water and 90 minutes for our food.  We had to keep asking different members of staff where our drinks were and why no one was taking our food order. Despite being assured someone was on their way, nothing happened.  We complained and eventually got 20% off the bill. 

By this time we struggled to get a drink at the bar as this closed at 11 30pm every night  despite there being several guests still wanting to be served, and bearing in mind a lot of guests there were England cricket fans who were using this hotel whilst the England v South Africa test match was going on for 5 days in Cape Town the hotel were not catering for their guests or making the most of their business opportunities.

We did enjoy the selection of food available at breakfast, and we did eat at the restaurant one other evening and the service was better, however, overall the hotel was below average for a 4 /5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff who are always helpful. Great pool bar and ground floor restaurant. Room was spotlessly cleaned each day and fruit and drinks were always left in the room. A very well run hotel which is well looked after and run by kind and friendly staff throughout. Thank you for a great stay. We look forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabriella Megan M wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa25 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I decided to take a drive along Campsbay and spontaneously decided to book a night at a hotel. We came across The President hotel, we walked in and the lady Rundo showed us the room types, BIG UPS TO THANDI!! in reservations for giving us a fabulous rate... Best bar man on site is Percy, he made us the best cocktails not to mention they have a happy hour from 17h00 to 19h00. My husband had the best birthday all thanks to the amazing staff and the sincere service.
Proud of the hospitality industry. The hotel has Sanatizer at every point and always reminds you to wear a mask. Thank you to Chef for the fantastic omlette with avo. We appreciate you guys, will recommend and will be back ********** STARS
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Desmond O'Connor, General Manager at The President Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Dear Gabrielle Reading your review was so heartwarming. I am very proud of my team and their commitment in making each stay a memorable experience, and have shared your comments with them. I trust that this will me The President Hotel your local hangout and we will see lots more of you. Kind regards Desmond GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
keith wrote a review Jan 2020
harrogate36 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I always prefer to do a review of hotels whilst actually in them and this is another such report on my 9th day here.

On arrival the meet and greet was top notch. Everything went smoothly even though I had a 10 minute wait for my room to be ready. In actuality the delay was planned to get me away from the other 2 in our mini group, so I could be told privately that I had been given a free room upgrade.

My room came with a separate living room , with 2 comfortable chairs, coffee table, tv, microwave, coffee machine, kettle and fridge. A separate double bedroom with tv and then a bath and overhead shower. Very impressive, immaculately cleaned and homely.

The hotel itself has a little play area for children, a kids pool attached to the adult pool, gym, resteraunt and bars. During the day there is some music played by the pool, at a level loud enough to hear but not annoy. The pool has 2 lifeguards on duty until evening time and they provide towels for you, along with waiter service.

The food is excellent. Plenty of choices for all at breakfast. Typical English and European, along with cereals, fruit, cheeses, omelettes and breads. Our evening meal, which we only had once, was also of a very high standard.

Uber taxis will pick and drop off right outside the front door and there are 24hr security guards at the main entrance and lobby.

The only reason I can.not give full stars is due to the speed of the service at your table. Drinks took up to 30 mins to arrive and 1 particular coffee never made it at all.

When I come back to Cape Town, which I will, I will stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michaelr wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland20 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 9 nights at the president with a group of family members.
There were lots of positives about the hotel. The location was perfect, the food was very good, the staff were friendly, breakfast selection was excellent. The deck bar was really nice and DJ entertainment was great. Room service was good and the tv channels in the room were also good.

There were a few things that require a mention that have taken away from the hotel as far as I'm concerned.

*The service is atrocious, servers are friendly but they disappear for far too long and other waiters cant take your order as you are on a tab. This became a serious frustration with our group and everyone felt the same. The system in play at the moment needs to change as the hotel is losing money this way. In addition to this, there is no cocktails after 10pm (Even on a Saturday night).
*Although the breakfast was very good the breakfast area was far too small for such a big hotel. On a few of the mornings we had to eat outside or wait for tables to become free.
*The pool was fun but was very busy. It was nearly impossible to get a sunbed unless you were up early to reserve one. Pool area was quite small and the pool was not heated. But a nice little pool.
*The gym was probably the smallest and worst equipped I've seen in a big hotel.
*The rooms were not the cleanest and the pull out bed was horrendously uncomfortable and cheap. The mattress was also very stained.
Overall good experience but service a huge issue.........
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stompy wrote a review Jan 2022
Nairobi, Kenya20 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the minute we stepped into the hotel, everything was on point. The wonderful folks on the front desk were absolutely helpful, patient and very accommodative. We felt very welcome

Room size is larger than what we had previously experienced a week ago in Durban and I was lucky to get a Lions Head view that following morning that blew my mind away. The room was spot on

Basically the location of the hotel is suitable and you can access restaurants, cool joints on foot or a short Uber ride.

Overall, highly recommend the hotel and more so the mountain facing rooms.

The only thing that I must say is that it must have been peak season since the hotel was quite full but everything was handled like clockwork especially room cleaning and breakfast buffet.

Huge shoutout to the folks who made our stay amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking can be a little full during peak season especially if you plan on having a rental to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Desmond O'Connor, General Manager at The President Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2022
Dear Tayshawne Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. Exceeding guest expectations is what we are set out to do. I am so delighted to know that you had such a great time while staying with us, I wish you could have stayed a little bit longer. Be assured I have already congratulated the staff on making your stay such a memorable one. Looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best regards Desmond GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HB525 wrote a review Jan 2020
Reading, United Kingdom233 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights in Jan and this is a lovely hotel, in a great location with a lovely team of people working there. It’s super cheap and easy to Uber around Cape Town or get the hotel to sort out a taxi for you. The reason for the middling review is that service is just a bit slapdash, even though the staff are friendly. We arrived at 7pm and our room wasn’t ready as they hadn’t put towels in it. We waited 20mins then went and asked again and they phoned housekeeping, looked confused and then said it was ready. However, when we got to the room, there were only two small towels, so we had to phone and order large ones. There were two other days where we didn’t get towels, the first they bought us two large beach towels which was fine, the second time, despite phoning twice, no one came and we went to bed, making use of the small towels left in the morning. Also, you’re supposed to get water every day but we had to phone down most days to get it replenished, and one day after phoning we got visited twice so got double water. So, in conclusion, a lovely hotel, in a great location, with great food and bars, just need to tighten up on service and it’ll be perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garythetraveller2023 wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The ambience as one arrives is mystical with the cold Atlantic waves buffeting the rocks a mere 100meters away. Behind you is majestic Table Mountain with its table cloth ready for serving up a dose of classical south- easter. The duty security man gives you clear instructions on where to park and how to get to the entrance foyer. Perhaps lacking is a porter to help with bulky suitcases , especially the fairly steep staircase to the hotel entrance off the parking bays.Checking in is a mere formality and the staff were neat, helpful and ready to help . I had booked a room with a balcony but I was a bit disappointed that although there was a sea-view, there was no view of the swimming pool area at all. The room at first glance was " tired"... the drapes and furniture were from the 1980's and the floor tiles where loose and extremely badly installed. The shower and toilet were also in a dire need of an upgrade . New generation tiles, shower fittings and soap dispensers are sadly missing. Although everything is functional, it certainly lacks the "wow" factor which would make it a stand out hotel. The staff were good, very courteous and helpful . The hotel carries a wide ranging menu for lunches and evening suppers., catering from wraps to burgers, steaks to chicken tacos- something for everyones palate. They also have a varied wine menu as well as pool side rum based drinks.Being a strong international based hotel, prices for cocktails at the pool are not cheap in SA rands, but would be extremely good value in pounds or euro's .Breakfast was the traditional buffet type with a good spread of fresh local fruits, yoghurts and several assorted cerial's . The big annoyance is the 2 toasters which should have been tossed 20 years ago. There are so many newer, faster models around and these need to be replaced. At one stage there were 7 persons waiting patiently for their toast as their breakfast slowly cooled in their hands. The poolside area is really nice with the quality of water being superb. Being a warm day, loungers were in high demand and a few guests simply turn around and returned inside when they could not be accommodated. A pity indeed. Overall a somewhat disappointing weekend treat considering the price of @ R 6200 per room per night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Desmond O'Connor, General Manager at The President Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2023
Dear Garythetraveller2023, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for your valued comments and constructive feedback. My team and I appreciate these and will make sure we implement your suggestions where possible. My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to your next visit and may it be soon. Kind regards Desmond GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thinchef wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom30 contributions46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at The President for a week and can honestly say it wasn’t worth the R2200 per night. I had so many bad experiences.

Another guest simply strolled into my room on day 2, while I was partly naked and working on my laptop. They apologised and said reception had told them it was empty. Customer relations called the next day for a general check, I told them about the incident, and they did nothing about it.

The next day my kitchenette drain was blocked. They came to fix it, and then left a horrible smell which surrounded the flat for a day.

The cleaner leaves each guest tea, coffee, etc with mugs and a kettle, but no teaspoons each day!

The breakfast is total chaos, and you have to wait up to 15 mins to be let in each time. On top of that breakfast is very average and not tasty.

The TVs in the rooms don’t work properly, signal is shocking, and only 2-3 working channels with English movies or series. They are very old TVs and not smart TVs so you can’t watch your own Netflix - I had to watch on my mobile each night.

My room was 3rd floor but above the kids playground so very noisy dawn till dusk.

The room service pizza is horrible.

The only positive things I can say is that the internet worked well during my stay, and the pool is clean and nice on a sunny day.

Pity the whole hotel isn’t powered by generators during load shedding though.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nikki Vardan, Other at The President Hotel
Responded 07 Dec 2021
Dear Thinchef Thank you for choosing to stay at the President Hotel and for sending us your valued feedback. I have read your survey and I am so sorry to hear of the challenges that you mentioned. This is not at all how we wish our guests to feel and I am sad to note that you did not have a true President experience during your stay. The Pizza restaurant unfortunately experienced a fire last week and thus our pizza's were not the wood fired ones we are renowned for. Thank you for also sharing the positive feedback on the wifi and pool. The only areas currently not powered by a generator is the lights and plugs in the room. We provide LED in the rooms currently and should have an additional generator in place soon that will have all outstanding areas on the generator. We are constantly aiming to ensure that our guests experience the very finest service and standards at the President Hotel and with this in mind please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of the President team. Kind regards Nikki Vardan Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hummingbird wrote a review Dec 2020
South Africa22 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A business run on willingness and ability.

Strict health protocols were followed without impact to atmosphere/vibe and friendliness.

Only suggestions: Floor cleaner used does leave a sticky residue which should be seen to. Staff could be more considerate around rooms with 'Do not disturb' signs on doors as there's more than one reason bei g displayed whether it's a baby sleeping or early / late flight and sleep required.

That said though, assistance and service with smiles; rooms were clean, scented and spacious with views to die regardless whether Sea view or Mountain (having stayed twice before I have stayed with both views and appreciated both).

The food and beverages selections is vast (breakfasts especially with either sealed packets, cling wrap or in enclosed warmer trays for heigene and freshness!).

A walk away from the beach or shops with easy access on the corner to the City Siteseeing Tours - Hop on Hop off bus stop, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Desmond O'Connor, General Manager at The President Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2020
Dear Heather Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. Exceeding guest expectations is what we are set out to do. I am so delighted to know that you had such a great time while staying with us, I wish you could have stayed a little bit longer. Be assured I have already congratulated the staff on making your stay such a memorable one. Looking forward to hosting you again soon. Best regards Desmond GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lewis S asked a question Sept 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, are there USB charging ports in the rooms?
Answer from Costanza F
33 contributions11 helpful votes
Not in the room I was, I am sorry.
Answer from Guadalupe M
11 contributions13 helpful votes
The hotel has plugs for European plugs, but only one in the room. Other plugs are specific for SA. I recommend to get cheap ones from Amazon. Not sure if the hotel has plugs for guests to borrow.
Answer from darrenp6969
Peterborough, United Kingdom92 contributions39 helpful votes
as long as you pay with a credit card you will be covered, but maybe not through an email, go direct to the website to pay, never click a link in an email if you are even slightly unsure.
MauiandSon asked a question Aug 2019
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania26 contributions27 helpful votes
We are planning to rent a car. Is parking free?
Answer from Gary C
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes there is a small daily fee.
elaine E wrote a tip 11 Apr
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not good value for a family with children "
Read full review
Jon savage wrote a tip Mar 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely try to get an ocean facing room."
Read full review
Carina B wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A new Chanel on tv, like BBC or CNN "
Read full review
Jack L wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very busy in December with visitors from UK and Johannesburg."
Read full review
FarAway20264580789 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please book early if you want to stay at the President Hotel over December, January, February and March "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bantry Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,185 - R 3,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea hotel bantry bay, protea hotel president
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel President
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownBantry Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
349
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PRESIDENT HOTEL - Now R 2 188 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶8̶1̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Bantry Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The President Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The President Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Point (0.4 km), Saunders' Rocks Beach (0.3 km), and Blink (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The President Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The President Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The President Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The President Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The President Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include NV-80 Grill & Bar, JARRYDS Brunch & Bistro, and Regent Burger Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The President Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The President Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The President Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The President Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Bantry Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The President Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The President Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Bantry Bay HotelsBantry Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bantry BayHotels near The President Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire