We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kwena Chalets - Sun City

Kwena Gardens Trail, Sun City, Moses Kotane Local Municipality 0316 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#5 of 8 hotels in Sun City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our 14 luxury thatched roof chalets are decorated in warm, authentic African colours and relaxing themes, providing all necessary comforts. Breakfast is included in your chalet rate. Serving breakfast and light meals while overlooking our beautifully landscaped crocodile ponds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
78Reviews4Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 19
  • 3
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Reshika G wrote a review Jan 2018
1 contribution15 helpful votes
In December 2017, I unfortunately used the service of Kamp Kwena Creche. The ladies that were "supposed" to take care of the kids left in their care were pathetic to say the least. I left my 1yr6m and 4 yr old in their care, together with 2 older kids and when I returned to check on my baby as he had woken up from his sleep, i had the opportunity to witness the height of incompetence. There were other older kids there as well that were playing really rough and the ladies hired to care for our precious kids ignored the fact that there were kids playing so rough and other kids could get hurt.... they were busy on their phones the whole time i sat with my baby there. and to top it off, they looked as miserable as ever being there. Who hires such people to care for our kids? Does the management of Kwena Creche even have some sort of surveillance to monitor the care our kids are given? Or is the money all they care about? I honestly will not be surprised if i read about a tragic incident taking place with such people there. I will never use them again, not even to watch over my precious dogs. From one parent to another.... DONT LEAVE YOUR PRECIOUS LITTLE ONE AT KAMP KWENA..... Just the thought of what i witnessed angers me to my core........ They should Close down if they cannot take proper care of our kids.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay away from Kamp Kwena Creche
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BenLaxLost wrote a review Sept 2017
Blaydon, United Kingdom93 contributions18 helpful votes
I came here on business but fell in love with the reserve and the Safari / golf. The chalets are great for what is needed, they have everything you could possibly need. The supermarket on site is extremely reasonable and has everything you could need. Sun City itself is top quality and definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CTandyou wrote a review Nov 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa205 contributions75 helpful votes
NIce place with an exotic feel that takes you away from your daily life and routine. It is clean, Service is good. Staff very helpful and kind. You re not very far from the markets and crocodile farm. It s nice and confortable and makes you feel you are in Africa in a very nice way.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
marynorris wrote a review Nov 2016
2 contributions
Stayed for 3 nights and if we could have we would have stayed longer. Fantastic room, service and amenities. Bus service fantastic too. Will absolutely go again though not sure when as I live in England. Thank you to everyone at Sun City
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sunrisedh100 wrote a review Aug 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions9 helpful votes
We are here for the Sun City CANSA cycle race and specifically booked Kwena for a couple of reasons. Perfectly positioned for the start, quiet and out of the main hustle of sun city itself. Sadly, this year, Sun City has erected a hideous conference centre in the car park and appears to have had event after event. We have had permanent noise pollution, blaring music from 6:30am on sat morning, ALL afternoon and right now, I feel like I owe someone a cover charge for the disco I feel is happening in the room. There is NO escape, no quiet and no rest. Good luck Cabana Chalets, I don't see a bright future for you, with this model. Be aware of you are looking for any rest, if traveling with kids or are looking for peace and quiet out of the city. This is no longer the place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brightgalaxy wrote a review May 2016
Raleigh, North Carolina113 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
This lodging location is located within the sun city and if you are staying here, you will get free pass to enter the Sun City (which is normally about 60 rand). Excellent breakfast compared to American hotels. Whoever want the experience of staying in an authentic Chalet should choose this lodging place. Safe place and staff are very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Responded 25 May 2016
Dear Brightgalaxy Thank you for taking the time to rate our accommodation. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic week ahead Regards Vanessa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PCW131 wrote a review Mar 2016
Gauteng, South Africa34 contributions7 helpful votes
Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Emily assisted with the booking and she was wonderful and very helpful in every way. Better priced than accommodation within Sun City, and includes free access into the valley of waves. Breakfast was plain but sufficient The down side : Catching the free shuttle into sun city was difficult. We had to wait long and ask many times. Coming out of sun city, the sun city staff were very rude and unhelpful. There seems to be a perception that guests at Kwena should not be assisted with the shuttle even though this is clearly part of the package. The staff at Kwena seemed helpless on this. Kwena needs to urgently resolve this issue with Sun city as it really takes away from the experience. Will definitely stay again and hope that the problem improves.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Responded 04 Apr 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to send such an amazing report. We are pleased that we have met some of your expectations. During the peak season it is difficult for the sun city transport to come within minutes (which they normally do). We will take this up with their managers to ensure this will not happen again. The best we can do is ask them to please assist us (which i believe my staff has done) and the rest is up to them. I ensure you that we will turn around every rock to make sure our guest has the best of both (accommodation and transport) Once again thank you for your feedback. We value every comment and review we receive to make it better for our guest. Regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CandiceWyatt wrote a review Mar 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa15 contributions8 helpful votes
Kwena Chalets is the poorest accommodation within Sun City. Hugely over priced for what you get. We could have stayed at the main hotel for the same amount and received far more value. Our son had to share a bed with us on the first night as the forgot to make him up a bed, when they did it was a dirty old mattress on the floor. The breakfast was awful. The poorest quality one could find. Everything is cheap. The crocodiles are ill treated, being hit with rubber hoses on the noses. The beautiful gardens are tired and old. Transportation to sun city is limited and takes a long time. There is no relaxation area at the lodge so most of your time is spent at the other hotels. Our bathroom was falling apart and I think we had the oldest tv in South Africa in outlet room. Nothing luxurious about the place Waste of money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vanessa800, Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Responded 04 Apr 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is with great disappointment that we have not met your standards and we will strive to do better in the future. There was a miscommunication from Bookings.com when you booked for 2 people and No children. We are busy upgrading the premises and We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our chalet. Our main aim at kwena is for each and every guest to be heartly welcomed and treated like family. We will definitely improve on the status of the staff as well as the chalets. We are constantly repairing and improving our facilities and appreciate your feedback.The chalets are being upgraded but due to the busy season we have had very little time to do renovations. Our crocodiles are well fed and taken care of. We will have a look at the statement you have given above and take serious steps to ensure that this will not happen. As for the Gardens, due to drought and water shortages we try to water as much as possible but during this summer we had no rain and have to use water sparingly. Transport within sun city has been very busy and during peak time they are doing the best they can with driving between all the hotels. I sincerely apologize if you had to wait long and ensure you we will report this and improve this. Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize if you have not enjoyed your stay at our chalets Regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stevie-lee H wrote a review Feb 2016
Miranda, Australia19 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I really enjoyed staying here the service was fantastic everyone was very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions we had the rooms we're really nice and clean the croc sanctuary was really great to see as soon as we arrived we were informed that the croc feeding was about to start and we were taken there to watch that then handed a baby croc to hold then shown back to reception where we were given our key to our room and showed to our room very easy to get around and close to everything we just went to reception and they called a shuttle for us to anywhere inside sun city and the shuttle was there within 5 mins every time some of sun city was shut down due to renovations but still an amazing experience we would definatly stay here again and recommend it to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Responded 22 Mar 2016
Dear Stevie-lee Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves in making every experience as personal and memorable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we have met your expectations. Regards Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark J wrote a review Feb 2016
Taipei, Taiwan56 contributions22 helpful votes
Sent couple of emails..no answer...phoned from overseas....no answer..tried again a few times eventually get through when someone answered the phone..spoke to someone about wanting to book and enquired rates..get passed between two different people one of them could barley understand / speak English (I am english south African). They were not very polite on the phone I asked some questions regarding certain things and the feeling you get is that you are interrupting them and they want to hang up as quickly as possible and were not very friendly on phone. very slack. going to stay somewhere else as I have overseas visitors joining me in SA for the first time and with service I got just trying to make enquiries its too risky!! No Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from vanessa800, Guest Relations Manager at Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Responded 22 Mar 2016
Dear Mark I sincerely apologize for the booking experience you have received. I ensure you proper training is given to every staff member. With every guest booking with us we try to make this experience as easy and pleasant as possible to meet the expectation of every guest. I do sincerely apologize once again and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to show you the best quality of service from Kwena chalets. Regards Manangement
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sun City area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
sun city kwena chalets hotel sun city
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMoses Kotane Local MunicipalitySun City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KWENA CHALETS - SUN CITY - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kwena Chalets - Sun City
Which popular attractions are close to Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Nearby attractions include King's Tower (0.3 km), Waterworld (0.4 km), and Sun City Casino (0.00 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Conveniently located restaurants include RocoMamas Sun City, The Raj Restaurant, and Casa Bella Sun City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kwena Chalets - Sun City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Kwena Chalets - Sun City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.