We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cascades, Sun City

Save
Share
Sun City Road Sun City Resort, Sun City, Moses Kotane Local Municipality 0316 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
US$232
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/22
ZenHotels.com
US$241
US$214
View Deal
SAVE US$27
eDreamsUS$223
Prestigia.comUS$241
Booking.comUS$223
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (502)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (243)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Sun City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tumbling water flowing through a tropical forest gives The Cascades hotel in South Africa its name and firmly positions it as one of the most sought-after Sun City accommodation destinations. Experience the romance of the elegant Cascades hotel as you discover the Big 5 in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve or meander underneath the lush forest canopy. Waiting a stone’s throw away from Johannesburg is luxurious accommodation, sophisticated entertainment and the Gary Player Golf Course
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Babysitting
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
841Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 223
  • 269
  • 162
  • 92
  • 95
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
IND wrote a review 13 Feb
1 contribution
No valet parking offered !! As described No bathrobes / Slippers available No turndown service Had to call housekeeping to get our kids bed made! Waited 30 minutes for toast at breakfast and it wasn't that busy Coffee capsules doesn't get replaced Missing all the finer details off a 5 star hotel !!! In my opinion it should be rated a 3 star hotel!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessa Hoover, Owner at Cascades, Sun City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear INAZDI, Thank You for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience here at the Cascades Hotel. Your comments are taken seriously and can assure you that measures are put in place to avoid a reoccurrence. We thank you for patronage and look for ward to welcoming you back to the Sun City Resort. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover
Read more
Lornah Mlungwana wrote a review Dec 2020
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
I was not really impressed with this hotel, I arrived 2 hours after my scheduled check in and had to wait 45 minutes for my room. Even then the room was not ready, the reception staff then decided to give me a different room. The room had dirty water in the basin, the room was dark with natural lighting at all. The rooms have single beds that are presented as King beds. I requested a room move, a gentleman at reception by the name of Shiba gave me an excellent service and even offered to have porters help me move. Now that's what I call ☆☆☆☆☆ service. Little did Shiba know was that the room had no water in the fridge but an old slice of cake. I mean can 2 people sleep in two beds with one duvet. I guess i expected a lot better from an establishment of this calibre. Nonetheless, gentlemen like Amos from housekeeping made up for all these with his prompt response. Prescious also ensured my room was clean with fresh towels just the way I like it especially considering she was on late shift the night beforeas she was the one who converted our beds. Now those are people that this establishment should look well after. Best parts for me was Shiba, Amos and Prescious
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessa Hoover, Owner at Cascades, Sun City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lornah08 Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your experience. Your comments are taken serious and put measures in place to avoid a reoccurrence. Glad that the team were of assistance. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover General Manager
Read more
ShannLage wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
We recently stayed at The Cascades Hotel at Sun City. A place we have always loved to go to and thought even through our tough year, let’s splurge and spoil ourselves and our 9 month old son to a great trip. Things I can appreciate are that the breakfast food on offer was always good, the rooms were cleaned everyday and the hotel facilities are great. I am not one to usually complain, but we would expect the hospitality industry to appreciate any business they receive after such a shocking year of Covid. Unfortunately this was not the case and the service was less than adequate for a 5 star hotel. We arrived at breakfast to find out there is only one baby chair in a family hotel that has 241 rooms. Luckily we brought our own from home and had to use that everyday as no one thought to try get more from somewhere else. We then weren’t offered any coffee or tea for 45 minutes, until I complained. No one informed us that we had to order toast from the waiters - again, no one offered until I had to get up and inquire for myself. The restaurant constantly ran out of plates, waiters standing around looking less than happy to be there and management running around like mad men. There is no control at breakfast and things quickly get frantic for everyone. Our phone in our room didn’t work for 2 days, people arrived to fix it at 10pm?!? Half the channels on the television didn’t work. When you have a rainy day and a baby, you are bound to the room most of the day - the tv was most frustrating. We then had no hot water for 2 days. Just an apology was given - no solution is ever on offer. We bathed twice in our 5 day stay! Our son had to make do in some like warm water. The fire alarm was going off for 2 days, construction happening down the passage from us on the 3rd floor. Constant noise in a 5 star hotel that doesn’t have fire doors to alleviate the noise. We got stuck in the elevator with our son and I see this has been a recurring issue at the hotel - clearly not enough maintenance is done here. One of my white jerseys was hung over the chair in the dining room and it left a brown stain right across the front - either from furniture polish or sanitizer. All that was offered was that I didn’t have to pay to get it cleaned - needless to say that it didn’t come clean. No one cares again and no solution is offered. All the manager said was sorry. We were then checking out, called for a porter to assist with all our luggage and baby essentials. We waited 30 minutes and then decided to lug everything to our car by ourselves. Again, staff just waiting around, watching 2 people struggling with luggage and a baby in hand as well. I informed the manager that we had a terrible stay, my clothing still stained, porter didn’t arrive and that we definitely won’t be back at The Cascades Hotel and all he said again was “sorry” Feeling very frustrated and deflated after having high expectations for the Cascades Hotel - or should I say, realistic expectations of a 5 star hotel. It was the most disappointing holiday we have ever had and we regret spending all our money there. We will not be back until the service is justifiable for a 5 star hotel. The right people need to be put in place for the hotel to come to life again. We really thought the service would be impeccable after such a rough year we have all had - no appreciation for business was shown and no solution to any problem was ever offered. Shannon Lage
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessa Hoover, Owner at Cascades, Sun City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Shannon, Thank you for for your email. Please check your email as I made direct with you. Looking forward to hearing from you Warm Regards Vanessa.Hoover General Manager The Cascades Hotel
Read more
Lauren C wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa21 contributions3 helpful votes
My family and I have recently returned from a very expensive 3-night stay at the Cascades. From start to finish it was appalling. We will neither stay there again nor recommend it to anyone. Check-in was a nightmare. We tried to check-in after 2pm (check-in time) and were told the room wasn’t ready. No one’s room was ready as the lobby was filled to the brim with people and their luggage. The staff didn’t give a damn. When we were finally given a room, it was not the one we booked, had a balcony and we specifically requested no balcony (we have a toddler), and it was a disgusting room. We asked to be moved. We were then moved to a gloomy but better room. On check-in we were not given any information. We weren’t told breakfast times, WiFi codes, which restaurants were open when or what activities there are to do. Breakfast was another disaster. An impossibility to get milk for your tea (if you could get tea at all), no teaspoons provided and a 20 minute wait to get one, long queues to get an omelette. Breakfast was average. Also, not one single gluten-free option for pastries and bread. The plastic usage and complete disregard for the environment that this hotel shows is what actually disgusted me the most. Presumably due to the COVID-19 pandemic, every single thing is individually wrapped or encased in plastic. One piece of salmon in a whole plastic container. This is single use plastic that I also suspect they re-use, which is also a health risk. Why can’t they just have the meat/fruit/etc behind a partition and someone serving it instead of destroying our planet even more? Housekeeping was also inconsistent. Water bottles were not replenished daily. Housekeeping knocks on your door at all hours for random things. They even knocked on our door at 9pm one night. Given that it’s a family room and therefore likely to have sleeping young children (as ours did), we found this not only completely unnecessary, but also invasive. Terrible experience. Waste of money. Not even a 3-star hotel frankly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessa Hoover, Owner at Cascades, Sun City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear LSC1, We are saddened to hear about your experience at the Cascades. With the reopening of the Cascades we did have some teething problems and our sincere apologies for this. We have put all plans together to avoid a reoccurrence. Warm Regards Vanessa Hoover General Manager
Read more
edkjjjd7 wrote a review Dec 2020
Pretoria, South Africa11 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked a family room for one night. The positives were that we were able to check in early and the room was clean. The breakfast was tasty and there was lots of choice. The Valley of Waves was great fun. The negatives were that the lights and sockets didn’t work in the 1st room so we were moved to another. In the 2nd room, the lights worked but the television was blasting at us and there was no remote to turn it off. We eventually got one after asking 3 different people. We had a family room and we had to phone reception to ask for the sofa bed to be made up. There was no extra linen in the room so we couldn’t do it ourselves. The aircon gave us the same temperature no matter what button we pressed and the room was hot all night. The lift got stuck between floors so we took the stairs after that. Overall it was ok, but far from a 5* hotel service and we will try a different Sun City hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessa Hoover, Owner at Cascades, Sun City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Edkijjd7 Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your experience here with us and can assure you it is not our usual standard. We have put in measures in place to avoid a reoccurrence. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cascades Hotel. Warm Regard Vanessa Hoover General Manager The Cascades Hotel
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cascades hotel sun city, cascades sun city, hotel cascades sun city
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMoses Kotane Local MunicipalitySun City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
243
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cascades, Sun City
Which popular attractions are close to Cascades, Sun City?
Nearby attractions include King's Tower (0.08 km), Valley of Waves (0.3 km), and Sun City Resort (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cascades, Sun City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Cascades, Sun City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Cascades, Sun City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cascades, Sun City?
Conveniently located restaurants include RocoMamas Sun City, The Raj Restaurant, and Mohican Spur Steak Ranch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cascades, Sun City?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Cascades, Sun City have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Cascades, Sun City offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cascades, Sun City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cascades, Sun City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Cascades, Sun City have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.