We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palace of the Lost City

Expedia.comUS$278*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$287*
US$278*
US$287*
US$278*
US$287*
US$279*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Palace of the Lost City
The Palace of the Lost City
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1 833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,356: English reviews
Start your review of The Palace of the Lost City
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Awesome buffet breakfast! The restaurants are ok - best roam Sun City for your taste preference - plenty options available. Service generally good and most staff are friendly. Spacious room with everything at your fingertips. Good stay overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We completed our holiday in South Africa with 5 nights at the Palace in Sun City which was intended to be the down time part of our holiday. Key points: Room - This was incredibly spacious and worked well for us. - It was handy having a bathroom with an additional toilet off the living room. - We were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CM73_12
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

After all these years the palace of the lost city still looks amazing! From the moment you arrive here you don't know where to look this place really looks like a African kings palace and that's how you will be welcomed here. You will love the entrance and the building so much to see and do around this place and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank isnotin
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms and bathroom were very spacious. the breakfast is grate. Had everything. A good selection of coffee, omelet station, waffle/pancake station with a lot of toppings, carving station, cheese and crackers, a lot of fruit and berries and smoothies. And off course champagne. The two restaurants/bars that we tried was no the best. We tried the Tusk bar, here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M0nicaN0rway
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was okay but they loaded the wrong coffee ampoules so the machine spilled the contents. The hotel was full so service during breakfast times were hectic and we had to wait. Turn down service was so late that I thought we were forgotten, in fact 2 nights we were! I'm sorry but the vegetarian curries served during breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moodlean
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear moodlean Thank you for your review. We have noted your comments and will most certainly strive to improve on them. Kind regards

Delhi
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are very spacious with an equally spacious bathroom. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Complimentary Shuttle service is a big plus. Of course the Jungle Safaris were mind blowing. A must visit place and hotel with family or for a romantic getaway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raman A
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Raman A Thank you so much for your review.!! It is appreciated Kind regards

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to stay at the Palace, as a treat for our sons and their fiance' s and a finale to our fantastic South Africa trip. We had been before as day guests to Sun City, but not the Palace. We were not disappointed! It is almost impossible to prepare for the opulence within the grounds and hotel. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 333Gary
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear 333Gary Great to see staying at the Palace was such a highlight!!! Hopefully we will see you soon again Kind regards

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 3 nights in a double room on the 8th floor, spectacular! We really felt like we were staying in a royal palace - the amenities were outstanding. The buffet breakfast and afternoon tea were really special. The staff are very professional yet friendly. We loved the valet parking on arrival and our experiences just got more impressive as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyMc2212
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear PennyMc2212 thank you so much for your 'awesome" review of your stay at The Palace. Fantastic to see you had such a wonderful time here. We hope to see you soon again!! Kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean room with great amenities...very attentive staff and the food is always on point. We attended a golf tournament charity event and truly enjoyed ourselves. You must walk the golf course to see the crocs!!! You can also see the elephants walking around on the hills and other wildlife on the course including snakes!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Eric T Wonderful to see you had such a wonderful time at The Palace. Walking the pathways on the golf course is a must indeed!!! Kind regards

South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used to visit the Palace many years ago. Returned after approx 15 years. It's still iconic and beautiful. The service is top notch as it should be. From arrival to departure. Our room was upgraded. The room is exactually how it was years ago. Only the Nespresso machine is new. But was wonderful. Can only praise the staff. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirls45
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Shirls45 We appreciate your review of your stay at The Palace!! Hope to see you soon again!! Warm regards

2 765 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2262)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (704)
Viewed
Dining (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (190)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Other (838)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Luxury Family Room (78)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Pool View (71)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
The Palace Pool Deck (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
596 reviews
383.9 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
458 reviews
3.8 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
5.4 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
628 reviews
32.4 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: R3 447 - R6 961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and other travellers.
70 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (70)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on higher floors give a good view”
Ramanagg, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were great (We had 4) and all were amazing!”
333Gary, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed the room that looked towards the lagoon.”
erictE1034BW, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 379, it doesn't get any sunlight, there are no views and are obscured by the trees. Wifi non-existent at that end.”
scarletmat, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Place Room”
, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$278* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$278
Hotels.comUS$279
PricelineUS$287
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates