We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Save
Share
1 Donkerhoek Road, Rustenburg 0300 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Rustenburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Golf course
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
102Reviews0Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 21
  • 22
  • 8
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fikilem229 wrote a review Nov 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa6 contributions
visited the lodge on the from the 2oth of November 2020 till the 23rd of November 2020, The lodge is very peaceful, my room was clean, staff and security are friendly and helpful. my car broke down and the lodge stuff assisted me with requesting a cab to transport us around, the bar was kept clean and they had almost everything/alcohol we needed. We had a great time even though it rain almost the whole weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded 03 Dec 2020
Dear Fikile, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Safari Lodge, Hotel & Convention Centre. Thank you for the 4* rating, and the positive feedback on your stay. It is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warmest regards, Safari Lodge, Hotel & Convention Centre
Read more
Asanda wrote a review Feb 2020
Cape Town, South Africa127 contributions31 helpful votes
I'm at the Orion Hotel in Rustenburg. Earlier this morning while going for breakfast and as i was entering the dinning area (but still outside in the verandah) i fell sooooo terribly hard, my back and neck are sore and i've just realised now that my phone is also slightly cracked and speaker totally damaged, i suppose from the shock of drop- all of a sudden I cannot hear anything on it anymore- not voice notes and not phone calls. It makes no sense to me that you would not put a mat so that when people walk in they do not slip and fall. The area looks like it has some grip, but it actually has none, it's just the paint they use of the floor that gives one that effect. The pain is excruciating and obviously without a phone my work will all be compromised, which is the reason i'm hear in the first place, to conduct interviews- well. i guess i cant record anything now. I need my speaker fixed before i go back to Cape Town and if my back and neck continue, you have to cover to hospital bill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded 04 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for submitting your compliant. Please provide us with your details so that we can make contact with you. Please email us on customerservice@orionhotels.co.za - we will then make contact you. Many thanks Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Read more
Linda P wrote a review Nov 2019
Rustenburg, South Africa34 contributions6 helpful votes
the food was typical buffet ... Nothing outstanding . You could eat as much as you like and great effort went into the serving of the food. This was not a bad experience but not outstanding that I would wish for more
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded 07 Nov 2019
Dear Linda, We would like to thank you for your review based on your experience with us. We are pleased to hear from you and for your honest feedback regarding our buffet and staff. We hope that you will return to our hotel in the near future for another buffet style meal served by our friendly and helpful staff. Warmest regards, Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Read more
Charmain R wrote a review Sep 2019
Uvongo, South Africa21 contributions
+1
My room had a strange smell, the furniture was old and chipped and the room not clean at all. Walls were cracked in bathroom and bedroom. Curtains and carpet were filthy. Conference facilities were not to standard, equipment would not function. Had a real baboon run down the conference facility corridor. Checked out an hour after checking in. Total waste of money, nothing like the web pictures. To be avoided at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to apologies for your experience with us at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre. We are currently in the process of renovating certain areas of our hotel which will bring about change to the overall appearance of the hotel for your future return. We are situated in a very wild part of South Africa and monkey's and baboons are a common sighting on our property. We endeavor to provide all our guests with the highest possible service and we look forward to your future return where you may witness this first-hand. Warmest regards, Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Read more
eunicem69 wrote a review Sep 2019
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions
staff very friendly, the food is nice and my children did not want to leave. Unfortunately i could not extend but it was great. They have competitions during dinner and nice soft music for all age groups.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Responded 12 Sep 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the near future. Warmest regards, Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
orion safari hotel rustenburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Orion Safari Lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceRustenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Nearby attractions include Kgaswane Nature Reserve (2.9 km), Akwaaba Predator Park (6.5 km), and Waterfall Mall (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Die Melkstal, Cape Town Fish Market, and Kenny Gee's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.