We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Save
Share
24 Schroder Street, Upington 8801 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (34)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Upington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Protea Hotel Upington - Peace and Tranquillity on the banks of the Orange River. Set on the edge of the Kalahari Desert and overlooking the mighty Orange River, the Protea Hotel Upington is a welcome haven for weary travelers. Positioned in the heart of the CBD, this hotel is within walking distance of all the banks, shops and local restaurants. This hotel is an ideal base for exploring popular sites such as the Kgalagardi Trans frontier Park, Orange River Wine Cellars and the Augrabies Fall National Park. The Namibian border is a mere 120km from Upington making this hotel the ideal place to stay over. The hotel has well-appointed, fully air-conditioned rooms. Modern en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV with 16 channels, tea/coffee making facilities and mini-bar fridges are featured in all rooms. A modern cocktail bar and restaurant overlooks a courtyard with swimming pool. The hotel also has a fully kitted gym with state-of-the-art equipment and for those that want to stay in shape whilst away from home. The Courtyard Bar and Restaurant will fill your tanks at breakfast and they are open for lunch and dinner as well. You will need your energy for activities in the area like golf, canoeing, tennis, squash and watersports. Wireless connectivity is ensured throughout the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
115Reviews1Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 42
  • 29
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
halcyonbp wrote a review Apr 2021
George, South Africa166 contributions49 helpful votes
Conveniently located in the heart of town on the banks of the Orange River. Well established and well organised ( although the Reception could have been more on the ball). Elegantly under-stated decor, comfortable and clean rooms. Pleasant ambience. Restaurant has a comprehensive menu - food was tasty, well cooked and presented in substantial portions. Service was attentive and pleasant. good value all round.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Try for a River View
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your positive comments. Hope to see you back soon. Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington.
Read more
BeskyN wrote a review Mar 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa62 contributions65 helpful votes
It is a beautiful, clean and well appointed hotel with every amenity. The hotel staff were so attentive, the food was delicious and rooms were clean and substantial. We asked for more toiletries and it was not an imposition they obliged. My family loved this hotel My kids enjoyed the pool I myself loved the ambiance in the courtyard I will return All of it at a reasonable price
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Besky, thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you and your family here. We cannot wait for your return. Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Read more
Pure_Photography wrote a review Feb 2021
Cape Town, South Africa233 contributions6 helpful votes
Upon check in, we were put in a room without a balcony, the rooms air conditioning was not working, the room was grubby and not pleasant. Reception kindly moved us after along time of negotiations on the phone. Finally we moved to a room with a balcony. No chairs on the balcony? We had to call and ask for chairs, they were delivered one by one to our door! The reason for no chairs is that the previous guests broke the chairs? Not really our problem. I moved the heavy chairs to the balcony. 80% of the staff wore their masks, unfortunately the 20% didn’t, they made us feel uncomfortable and vulnerable! We had room service, was average, no glasses in the room. Lacked attention to detail and care! Only reason why we booked this hotel is because we thought being part of the Protea group it would be above average, it wasn’t! We didn’t eat breakfast. We left early. Not a word from anyone after all the issues we had. I took no pictures!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 26 Feb 2021
Dear Lauren, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We did receive your review on Bookings.com on February 6, and we have tried to get in contact with you. Firstly we would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations, furthermore we would like add: Your first room did have a balcony and was a River Facing room (as you were a Bookings.com guest we upgraded you free of charge to our best rooms). Your comments on Bookings.com only asked for a room with a balcony and did not indicate that you needed a twin room. After check-in we moved you and your mother to a twin room as requested, which also had a balcony. We have removed the chairs from all balcony's as the sun damage them, but they are available on request. Because of Covid-19 no staff may enter any guest rooms, and that is why the chairs were only delivered to your room. Lauren we would like to welcome you back to our hotel to provide you the 5 star treatment that all our guest deserves. Once again please accept our apologies for any shortfalls during your stay at our hotel. Kind Regards, Management.
Read more
BFO wrote a review Sep 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa14 contributions
We were a group of 26 and the hotel staff were very helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean, neat and well maintained. The breakfast staff were very friendly and accommodating to our halaal needs. They were also quite efficient in serving breakfast to 12 adults and 14 over excited kids. Thank you to the team for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. Much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Ivan L wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa57 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed for 2 nights. Dinner and breakfast was great. Room large and modern. Do not stay in the top floor. Heat from the roof is a problem. Close your curtains during the day. It was 43 deg C when I was there and my roomwas like a sauna. The aircon is also blowing air over the bed and is not good for your neck muscles. Hopefully they will change this. Otherwise after sunset the restaurant area is very nice for Sundowners. Staff are very friendly and helpful, although they messsed up my Marriot points allocation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Ivan thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We rely on feedback such as yours to strive to perfection. Hope to see you back soon at our hotel.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Upington
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeUpington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Zest, Mugg & Bean, and Dros Upington.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Upington.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.