Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (34)
Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#2 of 7 hotels in Upington
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

24 Schroder Street, Upington 8801 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Upington Airport
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
138Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 47
  • 31
  • 12
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BFO wrote a review Sept 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 26 and the hotel staff were very helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean, neat and well maintained.
The breakfast staff were very friendly and accommodating to our halaal needs. They were also quite efficient in serving breakfast to 12 adults and 14 over excited kids.
Thank you to the team for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. Much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
halcyonbp wrote a review Apr 2021
George, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Conveniently located in the heart of town on the banks of the Orange River. Well established and well organised ( although the Reception could have been more on the ball). Elegantly under-stated decor, comfortable and clean rooms. Pleasant ambience. Restaurant has a comprehensive menu - food was tasty, well cooked and presented in substantial portions. Service was attentive and pleasant. good value all round.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try for a River View
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Apr 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your positive comments. Hope to see you back soon. Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monadevi wrote a review Aug 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Protea has all the amenities for a convenient stopover to the Kgalagadi Park. It is clean, perfectly located and provides excellent service. The restaurant has the best lamp chops and we returned to the hotel only to have it again for lunch! Anthea and Andre were so friendly, obliging and efficient...a definite credit to the restaurant! We will definitely return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Excellent food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 22 Sept 2021
Dear Monadevi, thank you for your positive contribution. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests and we're looking forward to your next stay with us. Regards the Protea Hotel team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pure_Photography wrote a review Feb 2021
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon check in, we were put in a room without a balcony, the rooms air conditioning was not working, the room was grubby and not pleasant. Reception kindly moved us after along time of negotiations on the phone.

Finally we moved to a room with a balcony. No chairs on the balcony? We had to call and ask for chairs, they were delivered one by one to our door! The reason for no chairs is that the previous guests broke the chairs? Not really our problem.

I moved the heavy chairs to the balcony. 80% of the staff wore their masks, unfortunately the 20% didn’t, they made us feel uncomfortable and vulnerable!

We had room service, was average, no glasses in the room.

Lacked attention to detail and care! Only reason why we booked this hotel is because we thought being part of the Protea group it would be above average, it wasn’t!

We didn’t eat breakfast. We left early. Not a word from anyone after all the issues we had.

I took no pictures!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 26 Feb 2021
Dear Lauren, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We did receive your review on Bookings.com on February 6, and we have tried to get in contact with you. Firstly we would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations, furthermore we would like add: Your first room did have a balcony and was a River Facing room (as you were a Bookings.com guest we upgraded you free of charge to our best rooms). Your comments on Bookings.com only asked for a room with a balcony and did not indicate that you needed a twin room. After check-in we moved you and your mother to a twin room as requested, which also had a balcony. We have removed the chairs from all balcony's as the sun damage them, but they are available on request. Because of Covid-19 no staff may enter any guest rooms, and that is why the chairs were only delivered to your room. Lauren we would like to welcome you back to our hotel to provide you the 5 star treatment that all our guest deserves. Once again please accept our apologies for any shortfalls during your stay at our hotel. Kind Regards, Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan D wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome stay at this establishment 28/12 - 2/1, from the hassle free booking with Terence, who communicated my booking options professionally, and handled them in an expeditious manner.... To the front staff (Grace), always courteous and cordial... To restaurant staff, at the ready to assist with buffet/meal choices.
And to the cleaning staff, who are unintrusive in their duties, and friendly manner, made me feel right at home.

With staff this well trained and appointed, one has to say that this hotel is an asset to the town, and it's owner. Well done. Definitely will see me again should I require accommodation in Upington.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 10 Jan 2023
Good day Juan D We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. Receiving warm and friendly service from our staff sets the tone for a great stay, and we are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back once your travels bring you through our town again. Kind regards the Protea Hotel Upington team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy B wrote a review Jun 2022
Pretoria, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was quick to accept my booking but room provided was of poor standard and with lots of noise. Also not effectively cleaned.
Dinner was bad. Tasteless food reheated.
Receptionist require etiquette training. Rude!!
Won’t stay here again.
Not worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Cindy, We apologise that your stay with us this time, was not a positive one. Unfortunately due to high occupancy, we were unable to afford any of our regular guests a complimentary upgrade, but were satisfied that we had allocated you the best room at your special Government rate. We have taken up your comments about the food with our in-house outsourced restaurant, as well as those about the reception with the receptionist who was one duty. We have also ensured that front office enforces the rule of not checking in guests, despite their own insistence, to rooms that have not been signed off as ready rooms. We do hope that we will see you again and please feel free to contact me at any time in order for me to afford you a special rate when wanting to upgrade. best regards from Peet and the Team , Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WH wrote a review Jan 2022
Upington, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When visiting Upington never miss out on the Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington. It has great service with the best views of the orange river. Client service and a top class restaurant is always on the menu. Rooms are luxurious and spacious. It is always a winner
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for the time taken to review our hotel and for your positive comments. We are glad to see that you had a great experience, and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards all at Protea Hotel Upington
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
889raymondh wrote a review Jan 2022
Mafikeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Totally revamped, staff friendly and very relaxed at,osphere. Food was a shocker - had room service and it was the best meal on our holiday and very reasonably priced. In the middle of no where, this is a must stop over. Great bath as well which I really enjoyed after a long road trip! Well done to the staff!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Location is relevant to the area and some rooms have a stunning river view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 04 Jan 2022
Dear Raymond, thank you for choosing our hotel on your journey and for taking the time to write us such a positive review. Its always welcome to receive guest feedback like yours. It was a pleasure hosting you and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Regards all at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivan L wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 2 nights.

Dinner and breakfast was great.

Room large and modern.

Do not stay in the top floor. Heat from the roof is a problem. Close your curtains during the day. It was 43 deg C when I was there and my roomwas like a sauna. The aircon is also blowing air over the bed and is not good for your neck muscles. Hopefully they will change this.

Otherwise after sunset the restaurant area is very nice for Sundowners.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, although they messsed up my Marriot points allocation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger Group, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Ivan thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We rely on feedback such as yours to strive to perfection. Hope to see you back soon at our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fadil wrote a review Feb 2023
Vryburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Broke our journey to Augrabies Falls and spent a night at this Hotel. Being a Marriott Rewards member , I was quite impressed. Ideally situated in the middle of the CBD of town. You can make out its a old hotel. Family room was huge overlooking the great Orange River. Windows were dirty & the room was a bit stuffy when we checked in. Breakfast was superb. Friendly staff but didn't get a porter service. Upington mall nearby for Halaal foods , McDonald's & KFC only.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ample secure parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willie Burger, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Good morning Fadil, thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay experience. It was a pleasure hosting you, we sincerely apologize for failing to meet all your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the associates, and as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities in the service they provide. We hope you choose to stay with us again, whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Kind regards Peet Janse van Rensburg, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Upington, South Africa
Some of our rates includes breakfast.
Andile M wrote a tip Jun 2023
Thohoyandou3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Train the staff in customer care... Fix the water temperature"
Read full review
Fadil wrote a tip Feb 2023
Vryburg, South Africa1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample secure parking "
Read full review
889raymondh wrote a tip Jan 2022
Mafikeng6 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is relevant to the area and some rooms have a stunning river view."
Read full review
Michael F wrote a tip Sept 2021
Windhoek, Namibia272 contributions131 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"get a room with view onto the river"
Read full review
Monadevi wrote a tip Aug 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa42 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent food"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Upington area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,329 - R 1,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Upington
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeUpington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PROTEA HOTEL BY MARRIOTT UPINGTON | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Nearby attractions include The Murray House (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Zest, Mugg & Bean, and O'Hagans Irish Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington have airport transportation?
Yes, Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Upington.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
All Upington HotelsUpington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UpingtonHotels near Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire