Road Lodge Kimberley

Road Lodge Kimberley

Golf Club Rd Flamingo Casino, Kimberley 8300 South Africa
Kimberly Big Hole
Traveller (7)
Bathroom
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#6 of 10 hotels in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Road Lodges offer a perfect blend of affordability and comfort for travellers who appreciate value-added experiences in an upper mid-scale hotel. Our properties are strategically located in South Africa as well as Windhoek, Namibia and Gaborone, Botswana, providing the essentials and more for business, leisure and bleisure travellers. Enjoy air-conditioned rooms with spacious showers; delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Eat-in restaurant; comfortable lounge and sparkling swimming pool. Town Lodge is “the easy choice”, providing a cost- effective solution for work and play. Our properties are smart and striking, feature ample parking and fast, reliable WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Casino and Gambling
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
49Reviews2Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 11
  • 18
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Climber50329795058 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
All other stuff members were helpful and always visible. They accommodated and provided a home away from home, except the evening restaurant manager Monica. She would get really angry if one requested extra food. During the evening buffet we get dished a single plate with a portion size that the ladies find suitable so it's not really a buffet I guess. You request more food and you'll be in Monica's bad books.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tcloud wrote a review Mar 2012
11 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The smoking rooms are inter-mingled with the non-smoking rooms and the smoke permeates the hotel corridors..not pleasant when walking along the corridors and through the hotel.
There is an ice-machine but it wasn't working when we stayed over...although I don't see much point since there are no cups supplied in the room so where I would put the ice I am honestly not sure.
There is no kettle or instant coffee in the rooms ...strange indeed.
There is a vending machine for drinks and snacks near the lobby but that's it.
We were given a room facing the parking )I even asked that we get moved but the clerk said "I'm sorry but I have already assigned the room to you !" ) but it was so noisy thanks to the noisy car park and music from the casino entrance all night long..so if you're hoping for a peaceful night's sleep make sure you get a room facing away from the car park !
The rooms are pokey and dark because of the small window and I think the room would seem a lot nicer if the decor (bedding and curtains) in the room was lighter.
the TV is so small too and the cupboard hardly allows for any hanging space!
Ask for more towels because they only give you two ..oh and the pillows arent comfy at all.
The air-conditioner is also noisy and the air inside the room is musty ..maybe hey could air their rooms out more by opening he windows when there are no guests in the rooms.
I also noticed that even thought there are windows in the stairwells they are always closed !
Open them !
At night by the pool they have the most horrible UV light insect killers which is so in-humane and just adds to the noise .. how silly to kill moths and the likes at night like that !! Crazy people indeed!
Another issue is that there is no elevator (lift) and the hotel consists of two floors and you have to carry your suitcases up yourself.
Another important thing is that from the car park to the hotel reception you have two climb steps ..not good if you are in a wheel chair, handicapped or elderly. There is a ramp which enters from the far left of the hotel entrance .. but it's a major long walk to access the ramp..a bad design indeed!
No dinner or lunch is served at the hotel .. We were told we could eat at the nearby SPUR steak ranch OR at the casino resturaunt which I HIGHLY recommend! It's the restaraunt located to the left of the main casino from the main entrance...when I remember the name I will review it.
Their meals are excellent and I had a fillet steak filled with crispy bacon and mushroom and smothered in the most delicious creamy dijon mustard sauce and a really delicious and generous backed potatoe..yummy!
Breakfast the next morning was more than generous and that really was the nicest part of the stay ... I recommend if you are staying here you opt for the optional breakfast !
You may get to see some meerkats .. seems there is a family from the bush bordering the hotel garden by the pool and you can sit and have breakfast overlooking the garden pool bush and damn ..nice and pleasant before your journey.
the pool is practical and clean and all in all it wasn't a bad stay..! Hence the 3 stars I am giving it..it was fit for purpose but not worth the money for a good night's rest at all!
Location is great if you want to be close to restaraunts and the casino but its quite a way out fo the town if you don't have your own transport!
To the owners..improve a few things and I think you will be well on your way to 5 star reviews all of the time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get one thats not facing the parking lot and at not on the ground floor near the bug killers!...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SharitavdW wrote a review Jun 2015
Boksburg, South Africa142 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have never stayed at a City Lodge and thought it would be something different (we stayed at various hotels during the week)
We arrived early and asked if we can check in, the Receptionist said no, I asked if we can wait there as we don't have anywhere to go, and she told us "Go see the Big Hole" I explained to her we did that the day before.
Then she started booking us in, then stopped to take a call, she kept us waiting and didn't even apologise. We were booked into room 105, I almost got sick when entering the room, it was a heavy mouldy smell. We almost checked out to go to another Hotel, but after chatting to another receptionist she swopped us to room 107.
This room was perfect and just what we expected it to be. We had a lovely evening at the Casino Restaurant and a peaceful sleep. The highlight was the lady greeting us at breakfast the next morning and being so helpful, she made our day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room thats not close to the stairs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Kimberley
Responded 28 Aug 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear about your initial reception and room experience, but we’re glad to hear that things got sorted out through a better room and good service the next morning. The management of this hotel will be notified about all that you have mentioned and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon at one of the hotels in our group.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maps19111726646 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Peaceful place to be if you love quietness.
Nicely cleaned & fresh room .
Beautiful nature to view
Pool to cool off yourself after a long day
Breakfast is to die for,,, especially their fruit salad because that's what I enjoy mostly.
Thanks a lot
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Extend the dinning area when there's too much groups so that they can be accommodated according...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover36365134660 wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff cannot manage the place or the guest properly.
Large group of unruly people took over the hotel and restaurant.
Screaming the in corridors after 10pm and before 6am.
Could not go to breakfast as there was no place to get in. people were sitting at reception eating food. Ridiculous!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't book if there are large groups booked at the same time
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scenic29620229370 wrote a review Mar 2024
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You will have to cater Halaal, for the Muslim community. The rooms was clean, and the foods was nice and fresh. The staff is always very friendly. The pool was sparkling clean and the outside area spotless. The view is nice with the flamingo's in the back ground.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: They will have to cater Halaal for the Muslim community. The pool area is very clean and the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bawinile1 wrote a review Sept 2023
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was okay except for the noise levels at the hotel. My sleep broke so many times with doors opening and closing and people talking in the corridors. Rooms were clean but carpet needs attention
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Kimberley
Responded 14 Sept 2023
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Kimberley. We were concerned about your poor review and appreciate you taking the time to discuss the matter with our general manager during your stay. As noted, we try our best to keep noise levels under control for the peace of all our guests and it was only on the one night, when we had a group of lively students in house, that we received a complaint. We appreciate your feedback and will work harder to ensure we better deliver on our service excellence promise – we know how important a good night’s sleep is. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerrit O wrote a review Sept 2015
Mbombela, South Africa5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Noisy, basic,
you pay for Coffee if you do not order breakfast, breakfast is not very healthy. No kettle in room or fridge. Curtains do not keep street lights out. Next to railway tracs or car park, so either way you will have noise. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Kimberley
Responded 11 Sept 2015
Thank you for staying with us. Road Lodge hotels are one star hotels and we provide services that live up to that standard. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bennie wrote a review Apr 2015
Kimberley, South Africa98 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Road lodges are more or less standard and you know what to expect. kimberley Road Lodge have some of the friedliest staff I have experinced in the group. Only gripe about Road Lodge is the lack of Coffee in the rooms , but being a budget hotel that is the norm
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Kimberley
Responded 21 Apr 2015
Thank you for the constructive review... We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so friendly! We will definitely forward on your compliment, as well as take your suggestion into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan M wrote a review Apr 2015
Cape Town, South Africa18 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Road Lodge Kimberley offered the most affordable room rates for a quick stop-over during a recent drive from Gaborone to Cape Town.

The reception staff were friendly and answered all my questions, and the room was comfortable and perfectly suitable for a one-night stay. The hotel comes with no frills, so don't expect more than a bed, shower and aircon, but the nearby Flamingo Casino offered suitable entertainment and a decent restaurant close at hand.

The hotel itself was quite and clean. Definitely worth a look if you're just passing through Kimberley and need a place to rest your head for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The nearby restaurant at the Flamingo Casino is affordable and has great food.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Kimberley
Responded 15 Apr 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review Jonathan! We are so glad that we were able to meet your needs and requirements and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from The_CLHG_Team
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi James! The price is R540 per room for 1/2/3 people sharing! Thanks.
Scenic29620229370 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They will have to cater Halaal for the Muslim community. The pool area is very clean and the staff is smileing / very helpfull. "
Read full review
Maps19111726646 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Extend the dinning area when there's too much groups so that they can be accommodated according in time. "
Read full review
Discover36365134660 wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book if there are large groups booked at the same time "
Read full review
Mosa M wrote a tip Jun 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just dont go there"
Read full review
LionelSylvia wrote a tip Jun 2019
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Aircon can be a bit noisy. Railway line in close proximity to hotel and therefore you can hear the goods train all hours of the night."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kimberley area.
PRICE RANGE
R 774 - R 846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeKimberley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROAD LODGE KIMBERLEY - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Kimberley
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Kimberley?
Nearby attractions include The Big Hole (5.9 km), Kimberley Mine Museum (5.8 km), and McGregor Museum (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Kimberley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Road Lodge Kimberley?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Kimberley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Kimberley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill Kimberley, The Fat Greek, and RocoMamas Kimberley.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Road Lodge Kimberley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Road Lodge Kimberley accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kimberley HotelsKimberley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KimberleyHotels near Road Lodge Kimberley
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire