We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Hotel The Winkler

Save
Share
R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 9 hotels in White River
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
362Reviews7Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 146
  • 79
  • 17
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
715ronnieh wrote a review May 2021
San Diego, California13 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Arriving at the hotel, it's very scenic. The area where I stayed was all single story and opened to a large parklike area. Rooms were clean but dated but worked for what I needed it for...sleep. I was disappointed with the shower as the water never got above warm, although I notified the hotel. There is a large patio next to the bar that works well for relaxing at the end of the day. A Breakfast buffet was provided daily with a good complement of local foods.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on N/side are older but they are 1 story and open to the park. Newer rooms are in a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
david84maputo wrote a review Oct 2020
Maputo, Mozambique104 contributions35 helpful votes
I stayed at the Winkler for about a week with a discounted rate due to Covid19. The hotel is beautiful, the park in front is huge and the place is perfect for kids and adults alike. I opted not to take my breakfast and dinner there, so can't tell about the restaurant. The staff was always very helpful as in a top hotel. Beds were comfy and the bathroom is smallish but has a bath and is clean. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to have a relaxing stay in White River
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Sutherland, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Good day David, Thank you for your kind words and great review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel the Winkler. I cannot agree more regarding the gardens, two weeks of solid rain ensure a beautiful lush green lawn and Spring is most certainly n full swing now. I'll be sure to share your comments with the wonderful TEAM I am blessed to work with Thanks again for the review. Yours in Hospitality. Simon Sutherland General Manager
Read more
96jacobg wrote a review Sep 2020
Middelburg, South Africa17 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent the long weekend from 24th September to 26 September with my Family. The Rooms were clean but outdated. The TV is very old not working. The Staircases were full of dust. The place needs serious upgrading. It used to be owned by Protea Hotels and it was up to standard but now, nothing was done since my last visit around 2010.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Sutherland, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 29 Sep 2020
Good day Jaco bg. Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us Glad to see that your room was clean and up to the post Covid 'Premier Clean Standard.' On the TVs, we ae in process of replacing the current flat screen TVs to an updated version. I was not aware of any issues over the past weekend with any of them not functioning and apologies if that was the case. Had we have known I'm sure we could have dealt with it, as the maintenance TEAM were on hand throughout. Regarding the staircases, as you saw they are exterior stairs and with all the gardens and leaves around us even the slightset wind causes issues. And be assured that the entire hotel was scrubbed in the days leading up to the long weekend in preparation and awakening from the lockdown. On a positive note we have planned a refurbishment for winter next year. Which was due to have been done this year but with all that transpired we were not able to do so. Hopefully it will be completed before your next visit, and please don't keep us waiting for another ten years. Thanks again for the review. Yours in Hospitality Simon Sutherand General Manager
Read more
Ady F wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
+1
I travel alot for business and have been subjected to some strange hotels, this however probably the worst by far. So disappointing we packed up and drove home the next morning. Mrs Houston was given a free two night stay in any Premier hotel as part of a prize for work well done so we decided to book our two night stay at The Winkler in Whiteriver (we were in Hoedspruit for holiday at the time) The Hotel promises Wifi and Satellite TV in the room, yes there is wifi but only if you sit in the common area's such as the bar or restaurant. When i asked about the TV, i was told that Management have done away with it...No reason given. We could however watch SABC 1 and 2 and e'tv with BBC on one fuzzy channel. I also had issues with the fact that they dont offer sealed bottle water in the rooms, I was told that they have there own bottling facility in the Hotel and that I should use the bottle of water supplied by them, I was not convinced that the water is safe to drink based on the general state of the Hotel. The Manger eventually gave me a sealed still water...thanks The general state of the room was poor and outdated. The toilet seat was coming apart, Mrs Houston didn't want to use it as she was worried about bacteria lurking in the exposed wood...please see pictures attached No slippers or dressing gowns No emergency evacuation plan attached to the back of the door No staff on hand to helpe with luggage up to the second floor. The house keeping staff did great us as we struggled past them going up the stairs Drinks price...R30 for a small tin of dry lemon as mixer, R75 for a 500ml beer
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonS5996, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Good day 343adyf, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused during your visit and that you felt that you had to depart earlier than anticipated. We do currently provide complimentary, uncapped WiFi in the public areas, but sadly not the entire property, however we hope to have this rectified in the near future and have been engaging with various service providers to have this service. All going well by the end of February, if not sooner. Regarding the Satelite channels, we are in the process of trialing the open view system, due to the challenges currently faced with Multichoice, and you should have had access to many more channels than the ones you mentioned. On checking the TV in your room, I noticed that the tuning was out of synch and has now been resolved. The evacuation sign on the back of the door was broken by a GUEST over the festive season and as each room is customised have had to wait for the sign shop to reopen to order a new one. The chipped toilet seat has been replaced thank you. As with most hotels we use the Vivereau bottled water system as part of our conservation project and guarantee that the water used in the filling of these bottles comes from a filteration machine. However ALL our water at The Winkler is potable and checked on a monthly basis. The Slippers and gowns are not a standard at Premier Hotels, but are always available on request. The drinks prices are again an industry norm throughout South Africa, with the exception of the local craft beer, on tap that you ordered. Nationally produced beers are priced again, at industry norm prices. Once again, sincere apologies for not living up to our standards on this occasion, and would look forward to the opportunity to rectify such and show you what Winkler hospitality is about, given another opportunity to do so. Please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel. Looking to hearing from you. Yours in kindness. Simon Sutherland General Manager
Read more
Tshinyi wrote a review Sep 2019
Middelburg, South Africa51 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Had a wonderful time. The staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms spacious, comfortable & very clean. Restaurant with variety of food to cater for all. Play area for the kids. Day visitors can come for lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Dear Tshinyi, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us this past weekend. Great that you enjoyed the friendly, yet efficient STAFF and the ever canging buffets dinners offered each night. Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again Yours in Kindness. Simon Sutherland Genral Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaWhite River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Hotel The Winkler
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Nearby attractions include South African National Parks (1.1 km), Casterbridge Lifestyle Centre (2.4 km), and Casterbridge Cinema (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliver's, Magnolia, and 64 Coolmore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Premier Hotel The Winkler offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Premier Hotel The Winkler accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.