We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Hotel The Winkler

R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 8 hotels in White River
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
366Reviews7Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 149
  • 80
  • 17
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ewottermann wrote a review May 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa441 contributions104 helpful votes
Beautiful setting and great layout. Disappointing service. The rooms are nice but when we wanted coffee the cups were dirty, the linen not changed and the bathroom flooded when we showered. Further the buffet dinner was expensive and most of the food was from the previous day (paying R1000 for leftovers for a family of 3 is not my idea of fun). Breakfast service was nice but the selections were more suited to a two star retaurant. Overall the stay was a huge let down
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 05 Jun 2023
Good Day Thank you for your review, Dinner is priced at R275 per person and offers a wide range of selection to cater for all walks of life We will definitely look at the issues you had with the shower but if reported im certain this would have been addressed We only change linen in the rooms after your second nights stay we unfortunately do not replace your linen everyday unless requested Im glad that the rest of your stay was pleasant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Garth-Aziz wrote a review Feb 2023
Pretoria, South Africa8 contributions2 helpful votes
We, 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 7 years old) stayed at the Winkler over a weekend in January. This is a bit of a strange review because we were literally the only people at the hotel and therefore most of the facilities were not really functioning optimally, namely, the bar and restaurant. I can recommend Picasso’s Mexican Taqueria as an eat out which is about 5 minutes away from the Hotel in the Bagdad Centre. There is sufficient parking at the hotel with secured access. The Hotel is close to many local malls and shopping areas with some decent restaurants. It also has easy access to some of the tourist sites such as God’s Window, The Pinnacle, Mac Mac Falls, Sabie Falls, and Pilgrims Rest. Check-in was good and seamless. It was really nice that the concierge escorted us to our room and showed us the various facilities at the hotel. The room we stayed in was a family room with a living area and the main bedroom. Each area had air conditioning and a TV (limited channels but we did not stay to watch TV 😊 ) mounted on the wall. The living area had a ¾ bed and a sleeper couch. The sleeper couch was big and stable enough for me to sleep on and I am 1.8m tall. It also has a dining table, sink, a kettle with tea, coffee, and milk. There is also a mini bar fridge should you wish to have some water cooled. The main bedroom had a king-size bed with two side pedestals. Each room (area) had sufficient electrical points for a two-prong plug and two USB’s. The bathroom was big and also had a decent size bath, a small shower (too small for any romantic moments 😊), twin basins, plenty of towels, and shower gel and lotions. The property, itself, is huge. As with any property, there are minor maintenance issues but nothing to lessen the enjoyment of the stay. There is a nice size pool (1m at the shallow and 2.4m at the deep end). There is also a decent play area for children with swings, a jungle gym, a trampoline, a large chess board, and a tennis court. There is also a games room with a pool board, ping pong board, and some board games (all free of charge). This was nice, especially on the day it rained. We were booked in for a bed and breakfast. The restaurant is big and can accommodate many patrons. The breakfast, as in most hotels, comes standard with the buffet (and al la carte menu). The spread included hot meals, fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, juice, and coffee. The lunch and supper menus are limited and a bit pricey. We only dined one night and being the only people present, the service was slow. I can imagine if there were many patrons at the restaurant service may be even slower. The sous chef was extremely friendly and came out to us to suggest some dishes for the children. The bar was unfortunately closed during that time. There are also some wild animals like bucks and duikers that come onto the property, and this was great for the children to see. There are many peacocks on the property – so beware of their droppings. Overall, the stay was good. The staff was friendly and more than helpful on many levels. The view is fantastic. It was definitely worth the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 04 Feb 2023
Good Day Garth Wow, what a lovely review!!!! I can see how you really took time and effort in describing your experience at The Winkler Hotel and i thank you for that I hope to see you and your family again as it was a pleasure hosting you. We have major plans for this year and look forward to impressing you on your return Have a great day further
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vacationer65359 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
We discovered this little gem. As you arrive at the hotel you are in awe with the beautiful surroundings from their well manicured lawn and gardens. The hotel is situated outside White River, approximately 3Km and it was very peaceful. The staff were very professional, helpful and extremely friendly - from the house keeper to the general manager! The rooms were spacious, clean and airy. The AC worked like a dream and the mattress was super comfortable. From our balcony we had a view of the beautiful garden. Next time, I will stay in a room facing the pool area. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was excellent! Although we didn't lunch and dine, we did have a late afternoon toasted sandwiches which were delicious! Again, the waiters and kitchen were very friendly and efficient in their service. I love, love the deck in front of the bar area and dinning area. Every morning and afternoon we were greeted by the beautiful peacocks and we saw impala and monkeys in their picturesque garden facing the pool area. Next time I will be prepared for a swim! The garden also has a play area for kids, a trampoline, tennis court and an oversized chess board and under a tree. This is definitely a hotel I will return too and recommend it to families as well as business people. On my departure date, in all my hurry, i had forgotten a few items of clothing in the hanging section. The hotel contacted us later and informed us of what we had left behind! With a team of this integrity, what else can I say but, SEE YOU NEXT TIME! KANIMANBO!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the pool area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Good Day Thank you for your lovely review, we will continue to improve and impress We look forward to your return to us
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phumlani Zwane wrote a review Nov 2021
Polokwane, South Africa1 contribution
they have a great and friendly team, with just minor challenges especially with the doors, sometimes they just don't work and you will spend time outside while they trying to fix them. otherwise, it's a nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Good Day Thank you for your review, the doors have all been reprogrammed to avoid keycard errors and I'm happy to report this has been resolved
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronald H wrote a review May 2021
San Diego, California27 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Arriving at the hotel, it's very scenic. The area where I stayed was all single story and opened to a large parklike area. Rooms were clean but dated but worked for what I needed it for...sleep. I was disappointed with the shower as the water never got above warm, although I notified the hotel. There is a large patio next to the bar that works well for relaxing at the end of the day. A Breakfast buffet was provided daily with a good complement of local foods.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on N/side are older but they are 1 story and open to the park. Newer rooms are in a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Good Day Its pleasing to hear that you found The Winkler and its surroundings visually appealing. We are glad that our rooms served your needs and that you found the large patio and breakfast to your liking. Your feedback regarding the shower temperature is noted. Our priority is to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back where we aim to provide more seamless experiences
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
david84maputo wrote a review Oct 2020
Maputo, Mozambique104 contributions39 helpful votes
I stayed at the Winkler for about a week with a discounted rate due to Covid19. The hotel is beautiful, the park in front is huge and the place is perfect for kids and adults alike. I opted not to take my breakfast and dinner there, so can't tell about the restaurant. The staff was always very helpful as in a top hotel. Beds were comfy and the bathroom is smallish but has a bath and is clean. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to have a relaxing stay in White River
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Sutherland, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Good day David, Thank you for your kind words and great review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel the Winkler. I cannot agree more regarding the gardens, two weeks of solid rain ensure a beautiful lush green lawn and Spring is most certainly n full swing now. I'll be sure to share your comments with the wonderful TEAM I am blessed to work with Thanks again for the review. Yours in Hospitality. Simon Sutherland General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
96jacobg wrote a review Sept 2020
Middelburg, South Africa23 contributions4 helpful votes
Spent the long weekend from 24th September to 26 September with my Family. The Rooms were clean but outdated. The TV is very old not working. The Staircases were full of dust. The place needs serious upgrading. It used to be owned by Protea Hotels and it was up to standard but now, nothing was done since my last visit around 2010.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Sutherland, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Good day Jaco bg. Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us Glad to see that your room was clean and up to the post Covid 'Premier Clean Standard.' On the TVs, we ae in process of replacing the current flat screen TVs to an updated version. I was not aware of any issues over the past weekend with any of them not functioning and apologies if that was the case. Had we have known I'm sure we could have dealt with it, as the maintenance TEAM were on hand throughout. Regarding the staircases, as you saw they are exterior stairs and with all the gardens and leaves around us even the slightset wind causes issues. And be assured that the entire hotel was scrubbed in the days leading up to the long weekend in preparation and awakening from the lockdown. On a positive note we have planned a refurbishment for winter next year. Which was due to have been done this year but with all that transpired we were not able to do so. Hopefully it will be completed before your next visit, and please don't keep us waiting for another ten years. Thanks again for the review. Yours in Hospitality Simon Sutherand General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ady F wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
+1
I travel alot for business and have been subjected to some strange hotels, this however probably the worst by far. So disappointing we packed up and drove home the next morning. Mrs Houston was given a free two night stay in any Premier hotel as part of a prize for work well done so we decided to book our two night stay at The Winkler in Whiteriver (we were in Hoedspruit for holiday at the time) The Hotel promises Wifi and Satellite TV in the room, yes there is wifi but only if you sit in the common area's such as the bar or restaurant. When i asked about the TV, i was told that Management have done away with it...No reason given. We could however watch SABC 1 and 2 and e'tv with BBC on one fuzzy channel. I also had issues with the fact that they dont offer sealed bottle water in the rooms, I was told that they have there own bottling facility in the Hotel and that I should use the bottle of water supplied by them, I was not convinced that the water is safe to drink based on the general state of the Hotel. The Manger eventually gave me a sealed still water...thanks The general state of the room was poor and outdated. The toilet seat was coming apart, Mrs Houston didn't want to use it as she was worried about bacteria lurking in the exposed wood...please see pictures attached No slippers or dressing gowns No emergency evacuation plan attached to the back of the door No staff on hand to helpe with luggage up to the second floor. The house keeping staff did great us as we struggled past them going up the stairs Drinks price...R30 for a small tin of dry lemon as mixer, R75 for a 500ml beer
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonS5996, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Good day 343adyf, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused during your visit and that you felt that you had to depart earlier than anticipated. We do currently provide complimentary, uncapped WiFi in the public areas, but sadly not the entire property, however we hope to have this rectified in the near future and have been engaging with various service providers to have this service. All going well by the end of February, if not sooner. Regarding the Satelite channels, we are in the process of trialing the open view system, due to the challenges currently faced with Multichoice, and you should have had access to many more channels than the ones you mentioned. On checking the TV in your room, I noticed that the tuning was out of synch and has now been resolved. The evacuation sign on the back of the door was broken by a GUEST over the festive season and as each room is customised have had to wait for the sign shop to reopen to order a new one. The chipped toilet seat has been replaced thank you. As with most hotels we use the Vivereau bottled water system as part of our conservation project and guarantee that the water used in the filling of these bottles comes from a filteration machine. However ALL our water at The Winkler is potable and checked on a monthly basis. The Slippers and gowns are not a standard at Premier Hotels, but are always available on request. The drinks prices are again an industry norm throughout South Africa, with the exception of the local craft beer, on tap that you ordered. Nationally produced beers are priced again, at industry norm prices. Once again, sincere apologies for not living up to our standards on this occasion, and would look forward to the opportunity to rectify such and show you what Winkler hospitality is about, given another opportunity to do so. Please feel free to contact myself directly at the hotel. Looking to hearing from you. Yours in kindness. Simon Sutherland General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tshinyi wrote a review Sept 2019
Middelburg, South Africa51 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Had a wonderful time. The staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms spacious, comfortable & very clean. Restaurant with variety of food to cater for all. Play area for the kids. Day visitors can come for lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 30 Sept 2019
Dear Tshinyi, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us this past weekend. Great that you enjoyed the friendly, yet efficient STAFF and the ever canging buffets dinners offered each night. Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again Yours in Kindness. Simon Sutherland Genral Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mishka M wrote a review Sept 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa53 contributions42 helpful votes
Been staying here annually for 10 years. Service poor - no care attitude or attention to clients. Rooms old and outdated - lots of broken things in room, lights flickering, TV remote broken - no attempt to fix timeously. Noisy at night, people making noise outside rooms at late hours, security shine torches into your room late at night. Lack of network and WIFI. Should be rated 2 star not 4 star. Manager made promises he could not keep and did not seem to care. Only good thing is breakfast and great service from ‘retired’ waiter that still greets us by name. Found alternative, cheaper and better accommodation close by. Will not return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler
Responded 06 Oct 2019
Dear Mishkam, Than you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us, and sincere apologies that we dropped the ball this time and failed to meet your expectations. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the rooms are in full working order, that weekend the hotel was running at full occupancy and possibly why the checkker overlooked some items, the flickering lights, we experienced high levels of interruptions from Eskom that weekend and this may have been the cause of this. On the WiFi and Cell phone signal, thia was also the same reason as the towers in our area could not provide any consistent signal, and sadly was beyond our control. As you are aware this is not the standard that the Winkler is known for and would greatly appreiciate an oppostunity to rectify and show you what we really are all about at the Winkler. Looking forward to your next visit and I assure you of my personal attention and not whichever manager it was you spoke to. Yours in kindness Simon Sutherland General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the White River area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,035 - R 1,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaWhite River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER HOTEL THE WINKLER - Now R 1 188 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶6̶6̶7̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (White River, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Hotel The Winkler
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Nearby attractions include South African National Parks (1.1 km), Casterbridge Lifestyle Centre (2.4 km), and Casterbridge Cinema (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Conveniently located restaurants include Magnolia, Oliver's, and Picasso's Mexican Taqueria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Premier Hotel The Winkler?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Premier Hotel The Winkler offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Premier Hotel The Winkler accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.