Muluwa Lodge

Curlews Road Likweti Bushveld Estate, White River 1240 South Africa
Traveller (142)
Exterior view of the Luxury Safari Tents
Room & Suite (32)
If you're into Gin and Tonics, there is a wide variety of each to choose from at the bar.
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 14 lodges in White River
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Muluwa Lodge is ideally situated in the Mpumalanga Lowveld region of South Africa, boasting incredible views out and over the valleys and mountains of the area. The view, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, as well as a wonderful array of “plains” game species that graze close by creates a wonderful “Serengeti” type ambience. Located just 10 minutes’ drive from Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport (KMI), and 4 hours from OR Tambo Interntional Airport, between the small artistic town of White River (10 minutes’ drive to the north), and the larger city of Nelspruit/Mbombela (20 minutes’ drive to the south). We are a 35minute drive from the “Numbi” Kruger Park entrance. This unique location provides the perfect base for relaxation, and exploration of some of Southern Africa’s most precious natural attractions, including the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon and the scenic and historical – Panorama Route.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
81Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 7
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Orna O wrote a review Jan 2020
Ostuni, Italy386 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from two weeks in South Africa. We decided to stay at Muluwa Lodge because of its great location: close to Nelspruit Airport; beside Kruger National Park and the private game reserves. We spent four wonderful nights at Muluwa Lodge at the beginning of our trip and loved every moment of it. It's a perfect place to unwind. Our bungalow was lovely, and we greatly enjoyed sitting out on our peaceful deck overlooking the bush, while giraffes and young Nyala wandered in the grounds. The food was good too; wholesome and plentiful, mostly served as a buffet. Only one small point: the pool so tiny that it is not possible to enjoy it if it is occupied by others. Otherwise, I would highly recommend Muluwa Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MuluwaSocialMedia, Public Relations Manager at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 06 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your review Orna. Please come back and visit again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele Bagnall wrote a review May 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Muluwa Loge for 3 days at the end of our honeymoon to relax after all the traveling and sight seeing we had done. What a wonderful, relaxing and rejuvenating stay we had there! We received champagne and chocolates in our room when we arrived and loved the indoor and outdoor shower and spa bath! The view from our balcony was stunning and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. The lodge was very clean and the food was delicious! We saw giraffe, buck, zebra, nyala, wildebeest, monkeys and ostriches on our game drives through the reserve. Thank you for making our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thandi wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We lodged at Muluwa on the 2nd of October 2020. I must really commend them for their great service, we felt soo welcomed and they ensured that we were moved to a luxurious room with my friends. Bravo to 1 of the GM Ben his business acumen is top and he also serviced us like Royalties.
How can I not mention the waiter by the restaurant Johannes who took his time to every time we asked even when we stopped talking about food but asked around about the places we can visit, he is surely an asset.

Are you visiting White River and the Surrounsings.... then you must stay at Muluwa Lodge.

By Thandi Thombeni
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David G wrote a review Sept 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa566 contributions166 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked into the tented camp at Muluwa for two nights on their weeknight special.
The tents were lovely with a peaceful outlook. Sadly the weather was chilly which was disappointing but the tents are well equipped with air conditioners / heaters and electric blankets. All in all we would give the tents 5 out of 5. But the food was seriously disappointing - hence my scoring of only three stars.
Presentation was only average and we missed the fresh ingredients available in this region.
Worst was the Boma night which was all meat and carbs - a fresh salad would have made all the difference. Staff were friendly and other than that we had a lovely break
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lize Zwanepoel, Guest Services / Front Office at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 27 Sept 2021
Dear David312587 Thank you for sharing your experience at Muluwa Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed our safari tents and made full use of the air conditioning and electric blanket to keep the chill at bay. We take note of your comments regarding the meals served during your stay. This has been investigated thoroughly, and we acknowledge that the winter menus were indeed quite unbalanced and "carb heavy". We are in the process of revising our menus, and will definitely include more nutritionally balanced options in our culinary offering going forward. We thank you for brining this to our attention, and hope that we will welcome you back soon to experience the improvements first hand! Kind regards Lize Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fhaupt545369 wrote a review May 2021
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As you entered the estate you could start to feel how the rest of the time was going to be. The grounds are beautiful. My husband was a bit hesitant about the tent but we had no complaints, everything just worked, electric blankets and Air conditioning helped with cool nights. The shower was great and the deck outside the tent was stunning for early morning coffee. No phone in room to call for reception but I managed to call the landline.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mmthet233699 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room and design is well thought and our stay was lovely, it was also my first time sleeping in tent. The staff was very warm and took care of us while the dinner was lovey since there is not set menu, we were always looking forward to the food and the Chef knows his/her way to the kictchen, I haven't enjoyed hotel breakfast in a long time. The Bar can improve with a bit of more high end staff wines/gins/whiskey:)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeoffRuthHudds wrote a review Jun 2022
Mirfield, United Kingdom105 contributions123 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It appears that the lodges operate as one business and the tents as another. The lodge facilities were closed when we stayed and we were instructed to use the tent restaurant.
There was little in the way of management. I asked the person seemingly in charge if he would kindly change the time of our airport transfer ftom 9.30 am to 10.30 am. He claimed to have called them and informed me that they could not do it later than 9.15 am as they were booked up for the rest of the day. The driver turned up at 9.00 and informed us that he was actually free all day and could have come at any time. We were misled by the so called manager.
Dinner was included in the price of our room but it was very poor indeed. We looked at breakfast but chose not to eat.
Such a pity as our rooms were excellent and the area is splendid. Unfortunately there are no nearby eating options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lize Zwanepoel, Guest Services / Front Office at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear GeoffRuthHudds Thank you for choosing Muluwa Lodge for your getaway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and the beautiful location of the Lodge! It is with concern that we take note of the transfer request that was not handled professionally, and would like to assure you that this matter has been investigated and dealt with internally, and also with the 3rd party transfer supplier concerned. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused. Our Executive Chef resigned towards the end of May - we regret that this had an impact on the quality of our culinary offering to our clients while we searched for a suitable replacement. I can now confirm that our new Executive Chef has joined the team and has already made huge strides in improving our menus. We thank you for your valuable feedback as this helps us to grow and improve. While we cannot undo the mistakes of the past, we would like to assure you of our commitment to providing exceptional service to all our clients. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Muluwa to experience the improvements first hand! Kind regards Guest Relations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stefanhattingh wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the welcome hospitality of Muluwa Lodge for a weekend breakaway from the city. Staff made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed every meal that was presented to us. We especially enjoyed the boma experience. Our room was very comfortable with an air conditioner reducing the temperature to our comfort needs. The outdoor shower was a pleasant experience. Our son did not enjoy his bed as the sleeping comfort was well below the rest of the standards of our overall experience. We also enjoyed the size of the lodge as we are not fond of too many guests around us, it felt warm and cosey. Regardless of the bad single bed, we will return to your lovely lodge for future breakaways!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lize Zwanepoel, Guest Services / Front Office at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 18 Mar 2024
Dear stefanhattingh Thank you for sharing your experience at Muluwa Lodge - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of converting some of the Superior Rooms into Family Rooms, each with proper, permanently installed beds for up to 2 children. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to experience the new Family Rooms first hand! Kind regards Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael M wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor service at the restaurant, poor variety of food especially for dinner, we had to spend money getting food somewhere else even though our room rate included dinner Front desk is always empty with no one there to help guests. No clear communication on check out process, only 2 people servicing customers during breakfast which results in long delays. Room is spacious
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are no TVs in the room, no WiFi in the room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lize Zwanepoel, Guest Services / Front Office at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear MichaelM19506, We always appreciate receiving feedback about the experience we provide but are quite disheartened by your negative perception of our restaurant food offering, service delivery, and the checkout process. For this, we would like to sincerely apologise. These issues will be addressed with all the relevant team members and the additional training offered where necessary. We always strive to be honest with our guests and to deliver exemplary service with integrity and regret that this was not evident to you, our valued guest, during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon to an improved guest experience. Kind regards, Dries Maree General Manager Muluwa Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Renee wrote a review Aug 2022
66 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a superior room, which was far more than just a room—a stand-alone cottage with a large sleeping/sitting area, kitchenette, a very comfortable king bed, bathroom with an indoor and outdoor shower and jacuzzi tub, and a private deck with a beautiful view. The staff was amazingly kind and helpful, the grounds were quiet and beautiful, and the animal sightings did not disappoint. Breakfasts and lunches were good, but the dinners were hit and miss for us (not many options, and we’re not big meat eaters). We would highly recommend the sunset picnic, as well as a day trip to Kruger National Park. Both were arranged by the staff at Muluwa, and every detail was taken care of for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lize Zwanepoel, Guest Services / Front Office at Muluwa Lodge
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear karenreneechris Thank you for sharing your review with us - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Muluwa Lodge! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from SueTerrazure
Johannesburg1 contribution
Hi there, We are thrilled that you will be staying with us, thank you! Yes, we do accept visa and mastercards for any extras that you may have. Let us know if you have any further questions. If not, safe travels to South Africa. The Muluwa Team
Answer from Liam025
London, United Kingdom141 contributions74 helpful votes
It’s about 40 mins drive to Kruger gate. You will need to arrange transport to and around Kruger. I’m sure the lodge will be able to assist. There are many game drive companies in the area.
Travel Queen wrote a tip Dec 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a private suite with a private splash pool. Worth every cent!"
Read full review
Michael M wrote a tip Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no TVs in the room, no WiFi in the room"
Read full review
Colisha wrote a tip Oct 2021
Sandton, South Africa12 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The lodge does get very busy on a weekend so if possible try and book during the week."
Read full review
Leisha B wrote a tip Sept 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa90 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a tent in the front row to get the best view"
Read full review
W7337TOpauls wrote a tip Jan 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are well placed away from each other ensuring lots of privacy ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the White River area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,013 - R 2,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaWhite River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MULUWA LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (White River, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Muluwa Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Muluwa Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Muluwa Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Muluwa Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Muluwa Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muluwa Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Da Loose Mongoose, Bundu Country Lodge Restaurant, and Time Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muluwa Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Muluwa Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Muluwa Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muluwa Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Muluwa Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All White River HotelsWhite River Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in White RiverHotels near Muluwa Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire