Kruger Gate Hotel

Kruger Gate Hotel

On The Sabi River At The Paul Kruger Gate R536, Kruger National Park, Skukuza 1350 South Africa
Upgraded room
Traveller (1332)
The Observation Deck
Room & Suite (183)
Abendessen
Dining (105)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Skukuza
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A Unique Kruger Safari Experience
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

On The Sabi River At The Paul Kruger Gate R536, Kruger National Park, Skukuza 1350 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport
Skukuza Airport
10.7 km
See all flights
1,484Review115Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 799
  • 446
  • 154
  • 50
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Smaug_11 wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa138 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights in a king room.

The location is fantastic, right outside kruger gate - you will have to pay an entrance fee to the park daily.

The exterior is superb with a very rustic feel. Its surrounded by bush and the pool looks into the kruger.

The staff were friendly - no problems with service.

The food was good but the buffet repeats itself so if you stay for more than 2 nights dinner becomes repetitive. If you plan to leave early, before 6.30am, they organise a breakfast pack to take with you that consists of: a boiled egg, yoghurt, juice, fruit, fruit salad, a muffin, mini cheddars, digestive biscuits, a sandwich and some cheese. I found this to be very convinient and often helped during a full day of game drives. The restaurant also made a delicious birthday cheese cake for me - thanks!

The rooms need a bit of an update, the bathrooms in particular. There is no wall stand in the shower, so there is no place to put your soap, shampoo etc while showering. The bathrooms also have a gloomy feel with low lying ceilings and little ventilation.

Overall this hotel is excellent value for money, considering the location and what you get for what you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois M, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear valued GUEST, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most our valuable GUESTS! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. We have also noted your feedback with regards to the bathroom and dinner and have shared this with the Food and Beverage Manager and the Rooms Division Manager to look into this matter. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Kruger National Park. Sincerely, NOZIPHO SHABANGU Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate nozipho.shabangu@proteahotels.com 013 735 5671
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Nov 2020
Durban, South Africa22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate was one of the finest hotel experiences I have personally experienced. Breakfast and dinner was included in the rates, and the spread of the buffets for both these meals was excellent. Accommodation was excellent, as were all facilities. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we did not actually go into the Kruger Park during the day, but opted for a night drive which was superb. The theme in the hotel was "Africa" which gave the hotel a cosy, but rustic, atmosphere. This hotel is as good as any African Pride Hotel I have stayed in! Well worth the experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, Marketing at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 07 Jan 2021
On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter most our valuable GUESTS!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review Feb 2020
Wiltshire, United Kingdom271 contributions111 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a stone's throw from the Kruger Gate entry to the national park so an ideal location for visiting. It is very busy with lots of tour groups passing though - but that's the reason you stay here, not to spend all day by the pool! Our room was very comfortable with two king size double beds, a safe, TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free WiFi. Dinner in the restaurant is buffet style self service with a good variety of salads, main courses and desserts - not sure how vegetarians would fare though. We missed out on the breakfasts because we had very early (5:30am) starts for the game drives. But that was a small sacrifice because the trips into the park, with really excellent guides, made it all worth while. Watch out for the baboons and velvet monkeys who are regular visitors around the site!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois M, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear valued GUEST, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most our valuable GUESTS! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Next time when you visit the hotel please do not miss out on the breakfast if you are going to leave very early in the morning. Kindly book a packed breakfast from reception to take with to the park. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to Kruger National Park. Sincerely, NOZIPHO SHABANGU Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate nozipho.shabangu@proteahotels.com 013 735 5671
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scraven7 wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada12 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we booked to stay here, we booked a room with 2 twin beds, but arrived to find we were given a beautifully renovated room with 1 king sized bed. After calling the front desk to have this fixed, we were "upgraded" to a chalet. If you can picture a cottage from the 1960's that hadn't been renovated, that's what we were given. It didn't have air conditioning or wifi and closely resembled the smell of a mouldy basement. We then called the front desk again and asked to be moved back to the first room and I would just sleep on the leather couch. The lady at the front desk hung up on us before offering any further help and the gentleman that moved us to the chalet was now helping us get back to the room. Now back in the room, 3 security guards met us and said they’d bring us a bed. Five minutes later (it’s now 12:30am), a king sized mattress AND bed frame showed up. It was quite the night, but all worked out in the end, thanks to the staff! Attention to detail was lacking at the front desk, but the other staff went above and beyond.

The buffet and dinner entertainment was great! It's definitely worth the extra cost.

Do NOT book a safari drive here. You’ve made it all the way to Kruger park, you should just stay at a lodge. We booked a private drive (6am-4pm) so we’d have the truck and driver to ourselves and could be on our own schedule. The location of where the driver took us was also where all of the other trucks would go, meaning every animal besides the elephants were very far away. About 3 hours into our drive, we had asked a couple of times where the hippos were and he actually complained that it was an hour away and was “too far”. Our driver had a brutal attitude and you could tell he just wanted the day to be over. I could go on but, spend the extra money and stay on a private reserve - we did and that experience made this one look like a knock-off version of Walt Disney World.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a renovated room!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois M, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 05 Jan 2020
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. We always value feedback and we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with the Reservations and Front Desk TEAM, the service you received is unacceptable as we always strive to ensure all our GUEST receives the best GUEST service at all times and this time the teams lacked. We are retraining the STAFF to ensure this does not occur again. We will also investigate about the private game drive and the guide who was doing your game drive. This will help us to prevent the same experience from occurring again in the future. We hope to welcome you whenever travels brings you back to the Kruger National Park. Sincerely, NOZIPHO SHABANGU Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate nozipho.shabangu@proteahotels.com 013 735 5671
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly wrote a review Feb 2020
United Kingdom29 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has the ‘pefect’ location overlooking Kruger Park BUT if it wants to capitalise on the huge financial investment that’s happened it needs to stop being a hotel of contrasts and respect individual travelers as much as it does the regular and frequent tour company ‘safari’ groups
Contrasts ..... well if you’re fortunate to have dinner in the stylish Lapa, it’s fabulous in every way, but because of the weather, we had 3 nights dining in the restaurant - which was like eating in a well lit small town cafe with monotonous food to match.
Breakfast staff work as a great team - at dinner in the restaurant we had to ask to get our plates cleared and apparently we could have had tea/coffee at the end of our meal, but we were simply not asked !
Room cleaning team couldn’t be more helpful - reception staff didn’t ask us if we’d had a good stay or help with our luggage when we checked out ...
And as for being Marriott Bonvoy members ... we had a tired room that was ‘sandwiched’ between 2 tour group residents who got up noisily on their 5.30 am alarm call
All sooooo disappointing from a supposedly locally rated 4 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois M, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit. We have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping and Front Desk TEAM and Food and Beverage, the service you received is unacceptable as we always strive to ensure all our GUEST receives the best GUEST service at all times and this time the teams lacked. We are retraining the STAFF to ensure this does not occur again. We hope to welcome you whenever travels brings you back to the Kruger National Park. Sincerely, NOZIPHO SHABANGU Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate nozipho.shabangu@proteahotels.com 013 735 5671
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goodlife2015 wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was privileged to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger gate this weekend.
The newly refurbished hotel is fantastic. The upgraded and new rooms are spacious, modern and beautiful decorated.
Francois, Relax and the team are doing a fantastic job. The service was great and the dining experiencing was also great and all Covid protocol was adhered to which made a guest feel very safe.
This hotel has prime location and the new pool and viewing deck make a great place to view the animals and birdlife.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms close to the reception are convenient to the restaurant spa and car park.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, Marketing at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 07 Jan 2021
It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most our valuable GUESTS! We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianna Priscylia K D wrote a review Feb 2020
Indonesia57 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I booked our stay for 02-03 February, we arrived there after 4 hours drive from Mozambique. We were glad to be arrived safely, receptionist was really helpful, I booked my room for one person as I did not pay attention during reservation via Marriot Bonvoy App & she changed my rsvp for two persons. Room was brand new, great design & we really enjoy the pool area. Food was ok, not amazing.

However, we had a situation with the water. We could not take shower because the water was orangy browny and muddy. We called the reception & they sent the maintenance guy to see what happen in our brand new room. He said we had to let the water out so we did.

After about 2 hrs, it did not change so we left to dinner & hope that the water will be better after we back. Unfortunately it did not really change, just getting yellowish muddy & you definitely don’t want to take shower with that. So we went to the reception & the receptionist invited us to see another room for us if we would like to change. So we did, but the water was the same. Then, we came back again to the reception & asked to speak with the hotel’s General Manager (btw, we haven’t taken shower even after the pool so it was quite uncomfortable).

My husband asked him to meet in person to explain the situation & fix this problem. He told us that maintenance has been trying to fix it but we have to wait until tomorrow morning (which means no shower today) & he also told us to leave if we don’t want to stay here & get our money back. So we did! There were other guests checked out together with us, it was around 9pm!

We are super disappointed with the General Manager’s attitude. We completely understand that sometimes we cannot handle situation that beyond our control, but I believe there’s a better way to communicate it, such as meeting your guests. In fact, he denied to see us & told us to go away.

This property has potential but sadly we cannot recommend it to anyone after what we have experienced! I will never go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois M, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 04 Feb 2020
Dear Valued GUEST, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate. Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit. We have shared your feedback with the entire hotel TEAM, the service you received is unacceptable as we always strive to ensure all our GUEST receives the best GUEST service at all times and this time the teams lacked. We are retraining the STAFF to ensure this does not occur again. We hope to welcome you whenever travels brings you back to the Kruger National Park. Sincerely, NOZIPHO SHABANGU Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate nozipho.shabangu@proteahotels.com 013 735 5671
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
elizarenn wrote a review Jun 2022
Chattanooga, Tennessee390 contributions234 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is really a 4.5 review …
Pros:
— Perfect location, right outside Kruger Gate
— Great for families, with a variety of on-site activities (mini golf, swimming, game room, etc)
— It feels like you’re in a Swiss Family Robinson type treehouse the whole time, with elevated walkways among the flora and fauna, surrounded by wildlife. The property seems to bridge the gap between a standard hotel and a luxury lodge.
— Wildlife, such as various antelope, birds, and even a bush baby, can be spotted right on the property as you walk to your room.
— A variety of cozy and accommodating common areas are available (indoors, outdoors, couches, swings, funky chairs, etc)
— Buffet dinner atmosphere is like a post-safari braai, with open fires and grilled meats.
— Clean room, comfortable bed, nice patio
— Front desk will book game drives for you

Cons:
— On a busy night, dinner can feel very hectic, with a line at the door to the restaurant to be checked in and a crowd to get to the buffet.
— While the variety and quantity are impressive, the quality of the food isn’t always the highest. With so much to choose from, though, there will be something to eat for everyone. The Yorkshire pudding was some of the best I’ve ever had!
— Our last night was spoiled due to the people next door getting high on their patio. We had left our windows open when we were at dinner and came back to a room that smelled like weed. Just be aware that you might be next to smokers.

In all, it was a delightful experience. If the hotel doesn’t allow smoking on the patios, there should be signs posted, especially for marijuana. If the hotel does allow smoking on the patios, guests should also be made aware. Maybe setting aside rooms with smoking vs. non-smoking patios could be helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, Marketing at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Dear Elizarenn, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. We are really sorry to see your feedback abut the smokers in the room next door, this is not the feedback we would like to get as we pride ourselves on offering a comfortable stay for everyone of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your stay, we hope you will consider our hotel on your next visit to the area so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve. The Protea Hotel Kruger Gate team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deeandkonsti wrote a review Aug 2022
Frankfurt, Germany108 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After 6 years ( included 2 years of the pandemic) we decided return to the Protea Hotel to celebrate our 10 years anniversary. This hotel did not disappoint! It is so obvious they the staff is making every effort possible to accommodate the guests! They are very attentive to details and are really trying their utmost to make guests happy. If you are looking for a relaxed place to stay with excellent customer service, look no further!
We would like to thank Chef Florence for her wonderful cooking and service and our waiters Pelon and Qhenyi for making our stay even more enjoyable! Well done to all the staff for doing such a great job!
For improvement, we think that the rooms need to be updated and refreshed, despite the fact that they are still very comfortable. We will come back for sure.
Diane and Konstantin.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, Marketing at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear Deeandkonsti, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! The Protea Hotel Kruger Gate team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RaeidNamaste wrote a review Feb 2021
Dusseldorf, Germany217 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This newly refurbished hotel is one of its kind. As a digital nomad (staying in hotels most of the time) I have very high expectations. And to be honest I was blown away by service, location and the modern and aesthetic interior and design. Thanks to Chef Marvin! Food was excellent. The new rooms are modern and practically designed. The Spa is unique with its view into the Kruger. Sports facilities (Tennis, Basketball, MiniGolf,...) are modern with even spotlight. Book a official Kruger Game Drive during your stay - they pick u up at the hotel and you just pay the regular price at the Entry. The two pools are clean and refreshing. I stayed one night longer as i planned and I will be back soon. Only downside was that we had a load shedding on one for three hours, electricity was still there, but Internet was gone. All in all definitely worth 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, Marketing at Kruger Gate Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Dear RaeidNamaste On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellen M asked a question 02 May
5 contributions
Does the hotel provide hairdryers?
Answer from Miguel F
Skukuza, South Africa1 contribution
Hi Ellen, Yes we do provide hairdryers in all our room types KInd Regards, Sarah Guest Relations Manager
Answer from Miguel F
Skukuza, South Africa1 contribution
Hi Sarah, We have other payment gateways to make payment if you are unsure about providing your card details We can send you a 3rd party paystack link which takes you to a secured gateway to make payment through Please could you email our Rooms Division Manager 0137355671 Refilwe She will be happy to assist with any queries you have regarding making payments Kind Regards, Miguel Farinha
Answer from krugergatehotel
Skukuza, South Africa6 contributions
Please view the Safari Game Drive prices on our website. Please ensure you make your booking with our safari desk at least 48hrs in advance to guarantee availability. Guests can make their booking with our safari travel desk via email or telephone or click the contact link on the website. You are able to book a private vehicle or a shared safari game drive. MAX 10 guests allowed on each vehicle. there is no MIN. PAX for a booking.
Answer from Jim B
Kruger National Park, South Africa15 contributions2 helpful votes
We took a Type M adapter to connect our USA style plugs. Ordered it on Amazon
keiththebass wrote a tip Yesterday
Gloucester, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"May was a wonderful time to visit - hot in the day but not too cold at night. Would recommend flying into Skukuza airport and hiring a car."
Read full review
Excursion58797720422 wrote a tip 09 May
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The drive on the R536 is long and boring, do yourself a favor and enter at phabeni gate and rather travel the 37km through the park"
Read full review
Esther S wrote a tip Apr 2024
25 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to the Kruger Gate Hotel entrance. - Had a great hot stone massage!"
Read full review
Mike B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom290 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Advised to keep winsdows and doors shut - the local baboons are veryu inquisitive. "
Read full review
Lawrence B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sydney, Australia1,214 contribution286 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book morning safaris. Have a massage"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Skukuza area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,294 - R 5,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea kruger gate hotel skukuza, protea kruger gate skukuza, protea hotel kruger gate, kruger gate hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaSkukuza
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KRUGER GATE HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Skukuza, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kruger Gate Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kruger Gate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lapa Restaurant, Pool Bar & Viewing Deck, and Shilovo Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kruger Gate Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Kruger Gate Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kruger Gate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kruger Gate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kruger Gate Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Kruger Gate Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Skukuza HotelsSkukuza Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SkukuzaHotels near Kruger Gate Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire