Little Eden St Lucia

159 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936 South Africa
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (122)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 apartments in St Lucia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Little Eden St Lucia is a 4 Star Establishment who offers Up Market and Tastefully Decorated Self Catering Pet Friendly Accommodation, nestled onto the verge of the iSimangaliso Wetland Park (formerly known as St Lucia Wetland Park) with real Hospitality, Friendly and Helpful Staff ensuring your Privacy and Comfort. Little Eden would be Delighted to host You and Your Loved Ones during your stay in St Lucia in one of our 6 Beautifully decorated, Spacious, Comfortable and Relaxing, Fully Equipped Self Catering or BNB Units. All units have a private entrance, own private BBQ area, Air-conditioned lounges and bedrooms and are Serviced Daily. Little Eden is FULLY SOLAR POWERED. Free WI-FI and Parking available. An ideal and safe location that is situated in a quiet street with easy access and walking distance to the Beach, Restaurants, Supermarkets and the rest of town, makes Little Eden St Lucia your best choice for exclusive accommodation! Whether you are spending a night or a week, we always strive to ensure that our guests leave with a smile, cherished memories and wonderful experiences of our beautiful town!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Dutch, Xhosa and 1 more

Location

159 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936 South Africa
279Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 192
  • 64
  • 18
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ann M wrote a review Jul 2023
Maputo, Mozambique13 contributions4 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Myself and 19 friends spent 4 nights at Little Eden and had an absolutely fantastic time!
The location was amazing, with views of the ocean from the pool area, nicely equipped kitchens for self catering and flowery garden atmosphere. The location is close enough for an easy walk to town, yet removed from the tourist bustle.
Eden’s staff, especially Bianca, the hostess, were awesome. Bianca was super responsive to all our questions and requests. She organized 4 fantastic tours for us, negotiating to get us good prices, arranging transport to one of the attractions, as well as transport for 15 people to Richards Bay airport. We had a wonderful stay, and would not hesitate to recommend Little Eden as lovely, reasonably priced accommodation in St. Lucia!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fantajan wrote a review Oct 2022
Pretoria, South Africa338 contributions178 helpful votes
Even though we didn't need three bedrooms, my family booked the top floor sea view apartment in large part for the view. It really is amazing given that most properties in St Lucia don't have a view of the ocean. The balcony is really big with a big table for dining out, a few reclining sunchairs and a braai. Little Eden is in a great location. It is very quiet but is only a five minute drive or a 15 minute walk from all of the shops and restaurants on McKenzie Street. The buildings on the compound are not much to look at from outside, but the units appear to have been renovated recently and are tastefully albeit sparsely decorated. Bianca and Pretty were very helpful in confirming the booking and checking us in. As others have noted, there is a huge binder full of information on St Lucia, tour companies, restaurants, and facts about the local flora and fauna. It really is a helpful resource and painstakingly assembled. The apartment was clean and comfortable and our son was very happy curled up on the couch watching TV. The kitchen is well equipped and tea, sugar, and coffee are provided. The beds are comfortable and there is good storage space (closets) in each room. The bathrooms are furnished with nice toiletries in larger bottles which is more environmentally friendly. The tap water comes from a well so needs to be boiled before drinking. We had one issue - the water was out the first morning we woke up. Pretty quickly informed us that the pump was broken and that it was being addressed. The water was back on within a few hours so we were impressed with how quickly the management fixed the problem. They also allowed us to check out an hour after the normal time so that we could go on a morning bush walk. Overall, we had no complaints and would recommend Little Eden to others looking for self-catering apartments in St. Lucia.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bianca De Gaspary, General Manager at Little Eden St Lucia
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! take care and God bless
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette de Mol wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions
A very big thank you to Bianca and her staff. We had the best two weeks ever. Our top floor unit was spotless and serviced on a daily basis. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The unit have full aircon in all the rooms and a very well equipped kitchen. 3 beautiful bedrooms and 2 spacious bathrooms. Very modern with an exquisite view of the ocean. Stacking doors opening to a spacious balcony with a built in braai and an eight seater patio set. And don't forget about the sparkling pool right underneath our balcony. We loved it so much, we have booked again for December 2022.
One again welldone and a big thank you.
Regards
Annette de Mol
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abel wrote a review Mar 2020
Ballito, South Africa34 contributions49 helpful votes
We booked Little Eden in view of its highly rated reviews. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the small space throughout in this supposedly 4-star self-catering accommodation which was on top cramped with unnecessary ornaments. The only good points were a very well-equipped kitchen and TV reception.
On our last day lunch time we decided to have a meal at the outside garden table to enjoy some more open space. In trying to open the umbrella for some cooling shade we found that the locking mechanism was broken, and we had to abandon the idea. On our way back home, I received a call from Little Eden stating that I now had to pay for the cost of a new umbrella as it had been broken by us, which I found highly uncomfortable to say the least!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bianca De Gaspary, General Manager at Little Eden St Lucia
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dearest Mr Acuna, You have received the unit that you have booked for. INYONI is our smaller 2 sleeper unit and therefore the cheapest unit as well. IMPUNZI, IMVUBU and NDLOVU units are much larger and bookable for 2 guests only as well, you could have paid a bit more if you wanted a larger unit as the sizes of the units and descriptions are all given before you book. Regarding the umbrella - As per our Inventory list in the kitchen we ask guests to please report to reception if they do see something missing or broken. Garden staff cleaned the BBQ area on Saturday before your arrival, the umbrella was closed and covered (this could not have been done if it was broken, so it was not broken by the previous guests). On the Monday when you departed, the umbrella was broken and nothing was reported when you checked out. You could have told us the afternoon when you realised it was broken and we could have at least replaced it for you that you could enjoy your afternoon meal in shade and did not have to "abandon the area". We understand that things do sometimes break and it is very unfortunate that it broke during the time that you occupied the unit. If guests say it was not them we will believe the guest and will never argue with a guest. I did not phone you to blame you, I asked you if you knew what had happened to the umbrella and if it was reported to reception (if you did report it, I would have to follow up with staff as to why no one informed me). I did not ask you for a certain sum of money or deducted any money from your card. Please understand that I am a manager at the property that have to report back to the owner if something does go wrong. I have to phone the guests and follow up. If it was a glass or a plate that broke, it would not have been so bad as we do have spare and I would just replace it. But this was an expensive cantilever umbrella, so I did have to get clarity. I do apologise that my phone call made you feel uncomfortable. Hopefully you will now understand why I did have to phone you as it is standard protocol. Have a great day further Bianca
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quest42732972765 wrote a review Jul 2023
Paris, France1 contribution
+1
Loved the peaceful, beautiful, upstairs 3 bedroom room with ocean view! Clean, comfortable beds, couches, large, modern kitchen and bathrooms. The pool was lovely although too cold for a swim. Grounds green and lush with monkeys, birds, and even an orange cat. Staff were extremely accomodating, called for rides, had recommendations and had a very reasonable laundry service. We had 19 folks in our group and they were so helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JazboOttawa wrote a review Oct 2023
Ottawa, Canada1,404 contribution140 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 weeks, which is way longer than most, but we had our plan to see the region and live in a small South African resort town. The location is impressive, one of only a few of many lodges with a view of the Indian Ocean coastal forest, sunrise, vervet monkies and many species of birds. They are on the quiet end, a quick walk o the nature trail, a little further is the boardwalk, dunes and beach. The lodge next door has a raised deck and bar you can use, great for watching humback whales. There can be issues with power and WiFi, but these are national issues for the most part. There is a generator, but it is not in constant use during the power cuts. We stayed in Impunzi, which is right next to the pool, which is in shade late afternoon. Access to activities is endless, we recommend Hluehluwe-Imfolozi, full day. Cape Vidal full day, Isamangaliso sunst and sunrise. As the units are self catering and fully equipped, it is also close to Mckenzie Street and supermarkets.
The staff are all great and ready to help.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bianca De Gaspary, General Manager at Little Eden St Lucia
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Dear DOnna and Doug Thank you for the lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and hope to welcome you back in the near future! All the best and God bless
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gerdajvdo wrote a review Oct 2022
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
The room had everything you could possible want or need on holiday, including not great cellphone signal (but that's exactly what you need on your holiday). Pretty was amazing, friendly and extremely helpful. We felt like we were away from everything in absolute bliss of nature, but still walking distance away from all the amenities of St Lucia. When we come back to St Lucia we know where we will be staying.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bianca De Gaspary, General Manager at Little Eden St Lucia
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Dear Gerda, Thank you for staying with us! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. We look forward to welcome you and your family back. Kindest regards, The Little Edn Team xx
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GillianVancouver wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom29 contributions35 helpful votes
My husband, I and our toddler stayed here for 6 weeks in Feb 2022 as my husband needed to be in the area for work. It was just perfect for our little family for a long stay!

The booking process was super easy, we just contacted them directly and Bianca the manager helped us get all set up for our trip, including finding us a full time nanny to take care of our daughter, and arranging for us to have a baby cot and a high chair! Due to Covid we had to push our arrival back three times (so annoying!) but Bianca was incredibly flexible and understanding about the situation.

Our flat (Ndlovu) was really well decorated and had everything we needed in the kitchen. We loved that we had a large back garden for our daughter to play in, and we went to the hotel pool every day. The staff were so friendly and became great friends with our little girl, and were always so accommodating if we needed anything (including laundry).

As we were both working, we were able to go next door to the linked Ndiza Lodge, where we could set up our computers and get work done with a lovely view of the sea. Really helpful for remote workers like us!

Little Eden is in a lovely quiet part of St. Lucia but only a 10 minute walk into town, with lots of restaurants and grocery stores. Plus the beach is only a 10 minute drive away! It's also got the iSimangaliso nature reserve right there, so there are lots of animals around (including some naughty monkeys!)

We so loved our stay, and we will be booking again for a long stay later this year. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John M wrote a review May 2022
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for a week in a fantastic apartment with sea views.
Great place to watch the sunrise and also see the moon rise over the ocean.
The apartment is very well equipped with all you could ever need.
Bianca and her team a very accommodating nothing is too much trouble. Can’t praise them enough.
Can throughly recommend little Eden.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dimitri0sk46 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Staying at the place was an absolute pleasure. Friendly and helpful staff , great location for family with young children,unit was clean, bright and cheerful and everything has been revamped recently so nice and new.

Nothing to do with Little Eden but you hoping to make use of Cape Vedal for beach time please note its a 35 min drive and costs around R300 to enter for a family of 4 and you expected to pay each time you leave the park in a day which did leave a sour taste about St Lucia. There is a much closer beach rather go there -ask Bianca to direct you

Also Vodacom signal is poor at the lodge - good excuse to be offline from work !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bianca De Gaspary, General Manager at Little Eden St Lucia
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we look forward to welcome you back soon! take care and God bless
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Trish S
Bristol, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, I think you will need to contact Little Eden direct for this one. I just reviewed our stay there.
MGT wrote a tip Jul 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa160 contributions8 helpful votes
"Consider buying the South African National Parks card which cost us R1.1k per annum for 5 adults. We get access to all SANPARKS game reserve"
Read full review
Discover15941776641 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
"Use the actual property address on your GPS for directions. You're welcome!"
Read full review
Bruno Nicolas V wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
"Kid friendly and some flying insects"
Read full review
FarAway45933948120 wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution
"Reception has all the info you need about st Lucia, safari tours, etc .Will do booking for you too.Breakfast and dinner menu also available"
Read full review
nomalimsomi wrote a tip Sept 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
"All rooms are in quieter area"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Lucia area.
PRICE RANGE
R 940 - R 1,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalSt Lucia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LITTLE EDEN ST LUCIA - Now R 1 120 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶3̶9̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Little Eden St Lucia
Which popular attractions are close to Little Eden St Lucia?
Nearby attractions include Amala Massage & Gifts (0.7 km), Cape Vidal Lighthouse (0.7 km), and Kosi Bay (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Little Eden St Lucia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Little Eden St Lucia?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Little Eden St Lucia?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Little Eden St Lucia?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Little Eden St Lucia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Reef and Dune, KAUAI St Lucia, and John Dory's St Lucia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Little Eden St Lucia?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Little Eden St Lucia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of St Lucia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Little Eden St Lucia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Little Eden St Lucia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Veyane Cultural Village (4.7 km).
Does Little Eden St Lucia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.